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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 
published quarterly, and the last index of the year is cumulative. The 
Virginia Register has several functions. The new and amended sections 
of regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by 
law to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 
Register is a source of other information about state government, 
including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 
orders issued by the Governor, the Virginia Tax Bulletin issued 
periodically by the Department of Taxation, and notices of public 
hearings and open meetings of state agencies. 
ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 
An agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal regulations must first 
publish in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 
analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 
agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 
giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 
text of the proposed regulation. 
Following publication of the proposal in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 
days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is 
necessary to protect the public health, safety and welfare, and if it is 
clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to 
comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be transmitted 
to the agency and the Registrar no later than 15 days following the 
completion of the 60-day public comment period. The Governor’s 
comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia Register. Not less 
than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment 
period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 
The Joint Commission of Administrative Rules (JCAR) or the 
appropriate standing committee of each house of the General Assembly 
may meet during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an 
objection with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection 
will be published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt 
by the agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response 
with the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 
When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 
publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 
final publication in the Virginia Register. 
The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 
addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 
suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 
of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 
signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 
and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 
regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register. If the 
Governor finds that changes made to the proposed regulation have 
substantial impact, he may require the agency to provide an additional 
30-day public comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional 
public comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 
The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days when it 
receives requests from 25 or more individuals to solicit additional public 
comment, unless the agency determines that the changes have minor or 
inconsequential impact. 
A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 
adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 
agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 
the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 
period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 
provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 
for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 
Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 
regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 
unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 
be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 
earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 
Proposed regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating 
agency at any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 
Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an exemption from 
certain provisions of the Administrative Process Act for agency 
regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial.  To use this 
process, Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be 
provided to certain legislative committees.  Fast-track regulations will 
become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if no 
objections to using the process are filed in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 
If an agency demonstrates that (i) there is an immediate threat to the 
public’s health or safety; or (ii) Virginia statutory law, the appropriation 
act, federal law, or federal regulation requires a regulation to take effect 
no later than (a) 280 days from the enactment in the case of Virginia or 
federal law or the appropriation act, or (b) 280 days from the effective 
date of a federal regulation, it then requests the Governor’s approval to 
adopt an emergency regulation. The emergency regulation becomes 
operative upon its adoption and filing with the Registrar of Regulations, 
unless a later date is specified. Emergency regulations are limited to 
addressing specifically defined situations and may not exceed 12 months 
in duration. Emergency regulations are published as soon as possible in 
the Register. 
During the time the emergency status is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations through the usual 
procedures. To begin promulgating the replacement regulation, the 
agency must (i) file the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action with the 
Registrar within 60 days of the effective date of the emergency 
regulation and (ii) file the proposed regulation with the Registrar within 
180 days of the effective date of the emergency regulation. If the agency 
chooses not to adopt the regulations, the emergency status ends when the 
prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 
The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 
2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 
examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 
The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 
18:23 VA.R. 2997-3011 July 29, 2002, refers to Volume 18, Issue 23, 
pages 2997 through 3011 of the Virginia Register issued on July 29, 
2002. 
The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 
(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
Members of the Virginia Code Commission: R. Steven Landes, 
Chairman; John S. Edwards, Vice Chairman; Ryan T. McDougle; 
Robert Hurt; Robert L. Calhoun; Frank S. Ferguson; E.M. Miller, 
Jr.; Thomas M. Moncure, Jr.; James F. Almand; S. Bernard 
Goodwyn. 
Staff of the Virginia Register: Jane D. Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations; 
June T. Chandler, Assistant Registrar. 
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2006 through September 2007 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

FINAL INDEX - Volume 22  October 2006 

23:6 November 8, 2006 November 27, 2006 

23:7 November 21, 2006 (Tuesday) December 11, 2006 

INDEX 1 Volume 23  January 2007 

23:8 December 6, 2006 December 25, 2006 

23:9 December 19, 2006 (Tuesday) January 8, 2007 

23:10 January 3, 2007 January 22, 2007 

23:11 January 17, 2007 February 5, 2007 

23:12 January 31, 2007 February 19, 2007 

23:13 February 14, 2007 March 5, 2007 

23:14 February 28, 2007 March 19, 2007 

INDEX 2 Volume 23  April 2007 

23:15 March 14, 2007 April 2, 2007 

23:16 March 28, 2007 April 16, 2007 

23:17 April 11, 2007 April 30, 2007 

23:18 April 25, 2007 May 14, 2007 

23:19 May 9, 2007 May 28, 2007 

23:20 May 23, 2007 June 11, 2007 

INDEX 3 Volume 23  July 2007 

23:21 June 6, 2007 June 25, 2007 

23:22 June 20, 2007 July 9, 2007 

23:23 July 3, 2007 (Tuesday) July 23, 2007 

23:24 July 18, 2007 August 6, 2007 

23:25 August 1, 2007 August 20, 2007 

23:26 August 15, 2007 September 3, 2007 

FINAL INDEX - Volume 23  October 2007 

24:1 August 29, 2007 September 17, 2007 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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The table printed below lists regulation sections, by Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) title, that have been amended, 
added or repealed in the Virginia Register since the regulations were originally published or last supplemented in VAC (the 
Fall 2006 VAC Supplement includes final regulations published through Virginia Register Volume 22, Issue 22, dated July 
10, 2006). Emergency regulations, if any, are listed, followed by the designation “emer,” and errata pertaining to final 
regulations are listed. Proposed regulations are not listed here. The table lists the sections in numerical order and shows 
action taken, the volume, issue and page number where the section appeared, and the effective date of the section. 

CUMULATIVE TABLE OF VIRGINIA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SECTIONS ADOPTED, AMENDED, OR REPEALED 

SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
Title 1. Administration 
1 VAC 50-10-10 through 1 VAC 50-10-50 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4083 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-10-60 through 1 VAC 50-10-150 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4084-4085 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-1 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4085 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-5 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4085 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-10 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4086 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-20 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4086 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-30 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4086 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-40 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4086 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-50 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4086 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-60 through 1 VAC 50-20-90 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4086-4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-100 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-110 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-120 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-130 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-140 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-142 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4087 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-150 through 1 VAC 50-20-180 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4088 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-190 through 1 VAC 50-20-220 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4088 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-230 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-240 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-250 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-260 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-270 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-280 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-290 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4089 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-300 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-310 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-320 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-330 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-340 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-350 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-360 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4090 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-370 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4091 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-380 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4091 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-382 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4091 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-384 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4091 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-390 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4091 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-400 through 1 VAC 50-20-530 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4091-4093 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-540 through 1 VAC 50-20-600 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4093-4098 10/4/06 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
1 VAC 50-20-601 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4098 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-605 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4099 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-610 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4100 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-612 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4101 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-614 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4101 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-616 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4102 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-620 through 1 VAC 50-20-670 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4102-4105 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-680 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4105 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-690 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4105 10/4/06 
1 VAC 50-20-700 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4105 10/4/06 
1 VAC 55-30-10 through 1 VAC 55-30-90 Added 23:3 VA.R. 334-337  
Title 2. Agriculture 
2 VAC 5-195-10 through 2 VAC 5-195-180 Added 22:25 VA.R 3872-3876 8/21/06 
2 VAC 5-210-10 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3579 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-20 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3579 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-30 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3579 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-40 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3580 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-41 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3580 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-50 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3580 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-210-60 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3581 7/19/06 
2 VAC 5-330-30 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3587 9/7/06 
2 VAC 20-40-10 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4105 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-20 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4106 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-40 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4107 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-60 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4107 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-65 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4107 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-70 through 2 VAC 20-40-110 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4107-4109 10/5/06 
2 VAC 20-40-120 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4109 10/5/06 
Title 4. Conservation and Natural Resources 
4 VAC 20-20-20 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 574 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-20-50 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 574 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-150-70 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3277 6/28/06 
4 VAC 20-252-30 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3277 7/1/06 
4 VAC 20-252-50 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3278 7/1/06 
4 VAC 20-252-115 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3278 7/1/06 
4 VAC 20-566-30 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3877 8/1/06 
4 VAC 20-610-30 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 575 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-610-40 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 576 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-610-60 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 576 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-20 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 578 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-40 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 579 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-50 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 579 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-60 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 580 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-70 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 580 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-75 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 580 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-80 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 580 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-720-100 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 581 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-900-10 through 4 VAC 20-900-30 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3279-3280 7/1/06 
4 VAC 20-1090-20 Repealed 23:4 VA.R. 581 10/1/06 
4 VAC 20-1090-30 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 582 10/1/06 
4 VAC 25-130-816.11 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3587 9/6/06 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
4 VAC 25-130-816.64 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3588 9/6/06 
Title 6. Criminal Justice and Corrections 
6 VAC 20-120-80 Amended 22:20 VA.R 2704 7/12/06 
6 VAC 20-190-10 through 6 VAC 20-190-200 Repealed 22:10 VA.R. 1556-1559 2/22/06 
6 VAC 20-210-10 through 6 VAC 20-210-110 Repealed 22:10 VA.R. 1561-1562 2/22/06 
6 VAC 20-220-20 through 6 VAC 20-220-80 Repealed 22:10 VA.R. 1559-1560 2/22/06 
6 VAC 20-240-10 through 6 VAC 20-240-120 Added 22:11 VA.R. 1764-1768 3/8/06 
6 VAC 20-260-10 through 6 VAC 20-260-360 emer Added 22:12 VA.R. 2044-2053 2/20/06-2/19/07 
6 VAC 35-10-10 through 6 VAC 35-10-50 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 25-26 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-60 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 26 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-70 through 100 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 26-27 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-105 Added 23:1 VA.R. 27 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-110 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 28 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-120 through 6 VAC 35-10-150 Added 23:1 VA.R. 28 10/18/06 
6 VAC 35-10-120 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 28 10/18/06 
6 VAC 40-10-10 through 6 VAC 40-10-90 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3746-3747 10/25/06 
6 VAC 40-50-10 through 6 VAC 40-50-80 emer Added 22:23 VA.R. 3406-3407 7/1/06-6/30/07 
Title 8. Education 
8 VAC 20-21-10 through 8 VAC 20-21-730 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 337 11/28/06 
8 VAC 20-22-10 through 8 VAC 20-22-760 Added 23:3 VA.R. 344-376 11/28/06 
8 VAC 20-131-5 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3589 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-10 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3590 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-20 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3591 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-30 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3591 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-40 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3592 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-50 through 8 VAC 20-131-110 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3592-3598 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-140 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3598 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-150 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3598 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-160 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3599 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-170 through 8 VAC 20-131-210 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3599-3600 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-240 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3600 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-260 through 8 VAC 20-131-310 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3601-3607 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-315 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3607 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-320 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3608 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-325 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3608 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-330 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3608 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-340 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3608 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-350 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3609 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131-360 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3609 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-131, Appendix I Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3609 9/7/06 
8 VAC 20-521-30 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4110 10/4/06 
8 VAC 20-541-10 through 8 VAC 20-541-60 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 376 11/29/06 
8 VAC 20-542-10 through 8 VAC 20-542-600 Added 23:3 VA.R. 376-434 11/29/06 
8 VAC 40-30 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3281 8/24/06 
8 VAC 40-31-10 through 8 VAC 40-31-320 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3281-3298 8/24/06 
Title 9. Environment 
9 VAC 5-20-21 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4111 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-20-21 Erratum 23:5 VA.R. 791 -- 
9 VAC 5-20-203 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3299 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-20-204 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3299 9/1/06 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
9 VAC 5-20-206 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4114 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-250 Amended 23:5 VA.R. 737 12/15/06 
9 VAC 5-40-300 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4115 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-300 Repealed 23:5 VA.R. 737 12/15/06 
9 VAC 5-40-310 Repealed 23:5 VA.R. 738 12/15/06 
9 VAC 5-40-311 Repealed 23:5 VA.R. 739 12/15/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5060 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4115 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5200 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4116 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5600 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5610 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 29 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5620 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 31 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5630 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 31 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5631 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 33 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5641 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 33 10/18/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5641 Erratum 23:5 VA.R. 791 -- 
9 VAC 5-40-5700 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4116 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5720 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4117 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-5750 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4118 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-6970 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4118 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7050 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4118 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7120 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4119 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7130 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4119 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7140 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4122 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7140 Erratum 23:5 VA.R. 791 -- 
9 VAC 5-40-7210 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4124 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7240 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4124 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7250 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4124 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7260 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4125 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7260 Erratum 23:5 VA.R. 791 -- 
9 VAC 5-40-7270 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4136 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7300 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4139 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7330 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4140 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7360 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4140 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7370 through 9 VAC 5-40-7540 Added 23:5 VA.R. 740-745 12/15/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7800 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4141 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-40-7880 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4141 10/4/06 
9 VAC 5-50-250 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3301 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-50-270 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3302 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-50-280 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3302 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1100 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3302 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1110 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3303 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1310 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3308 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1605 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3309 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1615 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3310 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1625 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3321 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1635 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3321 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1645 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3322 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1655 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3322 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1665 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3322 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1675 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3322 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1685 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3322 9/1/06 
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9 VAC 5-80-1695 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3323 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1700 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1705 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1710 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1715 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1720 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1725 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1730 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1735 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3324 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1740 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1745 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1750 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1755 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1760 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1765 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3325 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1770 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3327 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1775 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3327 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1780 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3328 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1785 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3328 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1790 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1795 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1800 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1805 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1810 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1815 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1820 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1825 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3329 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1830 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3330 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1835 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3330 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1840 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3332 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1845 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3332 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1850 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3334 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1855 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3334 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1860 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3335 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1865 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3335 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1870 through 9 VAC 5-80-1920 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3340 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1925 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3340 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1930 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3341 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1935 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3341 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1940 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3341 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1945 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3341 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1950 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1955 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1960 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1965 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1970 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1975 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3342 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1985 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3343 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-1995 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3343 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2000 through 9 VAC 5-80-2020 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3343-3355 9/1/06 
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9 VAC 5-80-2040 through 9 VAC 5-80-2070 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3355-3358 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2090 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3358 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2091 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3358 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2110 through 9 VAC 5-80-2140 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3359-3362 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2141 through 9 VAC 5-80-2143 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3362-3366 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2144 Added 22:23 VA.R 3367 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2180 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3372 9/1/06 
9 VAC 5-80-2200 through 9 VAC 5-80-2240 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3373-3375 9/1/06 
9 VAC 20-60-18 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3375 8/23/06 
9 VAC 20-85-20 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 584 11/29/06 
9 VAC 20-85-30 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 585 11/29/06 
9 VAC 20-85-40 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 585 11/29/06 
9 VAC 20-85-60 through 9 VAC 20-85-170 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 585-589 11/29/06 
9 VAC 25-31-10 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3610 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-30 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3619 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-80 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3620 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-100 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3620 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-165 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3637 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-220 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3651 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-290 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3656 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-770 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3657 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-780 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3658 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-790 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3662 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-800 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3667 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-840 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3670 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-31-870 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3677 9/6/06 
9 VAC 25-260-5 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 41 ∗ 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4142 * 
9 VAC 25-260-30 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 38 * 

9 VAC 25-260-50 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 42 * 

9 VAC 25-260-187 Added 23:1 VA.R. 42 * 

9 VAC 25-260-310 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 44 * 

9 VAC 25-260-480 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 46 * 
9 VAC 25-660-90 Erratum 22:23 VA.R. 3424 -- 
9 VAC 25-680-70 Erratum 22:23 VA.R. 3424 -- 
9 VAC 25-680-90 Erratum 22:23 VA.R. 3424 -- 
9 VAC 25-690-70 Erratum 22:23 VA.R. 3424 -- 
9 VAC 25-820-10 through 9 VAC 25-820-70 Added 23:2 VA.R. 231-251 11/1/06 
Title 11. Gaming 
11 VAC 5-20-200 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3907 11/6/06 
11 VAC 5-20-210 through 11 VAC 5-20-520 Repealed 22:25 VA.R. 3907-3914 11/6/06 
11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3916 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-20 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4144 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-30 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3917 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-30 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4144 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-40 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3917 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-40 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4144 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-50 Repealed 22:25 VA.R. 3917 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-50 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4144 9/4/06-11/3/06 

                                                           
∗ Upon filing notice of EPA approval with the Registrar of Regulations. 
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11 VAC 10-70-60 through 11 VAC 10-70-90 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3917-3918 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-60 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4144 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-70 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4145 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-80 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-90 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-70-170 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3918 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-70-170 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-90-10 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3919 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-90-10 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-90-30 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3919 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-90-30 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
11 VAC 10-90-50 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3919 11/4/06 
11 VAC 10-90-50 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4146 9/4/06-11/3/06 
Title 12. Health 
12 VAC 5-31-1610 Amended 23:5 VA.R. 745 12/13/06 
12 VAC 5-60-10 through 12 VAC 5-60-260 Repealed 23:5 VA.R. 745 12/13/06 
12 VAC 5-480-10 through 12 VAC 5-480-8920 Repealed 22:25 VA.R. 3877 9/20/06 
12 VAC 5-481-10 through 12 VAC 5-481-3670 Added 22:25 VA.R. 3877 9/20/06 
12 VAC 5-585-70 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 438 11/9/06 
12 VAC 5-585-510 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 438 11/9/06 
12 VAC 5-585-600 through 12 VAC 5-585-630 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 442-450 11/9/06 
12 VAC 5-590-10 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3677 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-370 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3683 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-410 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3708 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-440 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3711 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-505 Added 23:1 VA.R. 47 10/18/06 
12 VAC 5-590, Appendix N Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3717 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-545 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3712 9/6/06 
12 VAC 5-590-820 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3717 9/6/06 
12 VAC 30-40-10 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3376 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-40-290 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3377 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-40-300 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3379 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-40-360 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3385 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-50-190 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3386 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-70-221 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4183 9/4/06-9/3/07 
12 VAC 30-70-291 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3388 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-70-301 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3921 11/6/06 
12 VAC 30-70-425 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3389 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-70-426 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3390 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-80-20 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3390 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-80-30 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3393 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-90-19 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3395 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-110-90 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4168 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-110-370 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4168 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-110-710 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3385 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-110-960 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3385 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-120-215 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3718 9/6/06 
12 VAC 30-120-280 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4170 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-120-290 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4172 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-120-310 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4172 11/20/06 
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12 VAC 30-120-320 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4173 11/20/06 
12 VAC 30-120-380 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3386 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-120-720 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3721 9/6/06 
12 VAC 30-120-920 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3724 9/6/06 
12 VAC 30-141-10 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4147 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-40 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4149 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-100 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4150 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-160 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4151 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-170 Repealed 22:26 VA.R. 4152 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-175 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4153 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-200 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3387 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-141-200 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4155 10/4/06 
12 VAC 30-141-500 Amended 22:16 VA.R. 2385 7/3/06 
12 VAC 30-141-500 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3387 8/23/06 
12 VAC 30-150-40 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3924 11/6/06 
12 VAC 30-150-50 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3925 11/6/06 
12 VAC 30-150-70 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3925 11/6/06 
12 VAC 30-150-80 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3926 11/6/06 
12 VAC 30-150-90 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3926 11/6/06 
12 VAC 35-115-10 through 12 VAC 35-115-150 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 50-79 10/18/06 
12 VAC 35-115-145 Added 23:1 VA.R. 76 10/18/06 
12 VAC 35-115-146 Added 23:1 VA.R. 77 10/18/06 
12 VAC 35-115-160 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 79 10/18/06 
12 VAC 35-115-170 through 12 VAC 35-115-250 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 79-91 10/18/06 
Title 13. Housing 
13 VAC 10-50-10 through 13 VAC 10-50-100 Repealed 23:5 VA.R. 746 11/1/06 
13 VAC 10-120-10 through 13 VAC 10-120-80 Amended 23:5 VA.R. 746-748 11/1/06 
Title 14. Insurance 
14 VAC 5-30-20 Erratum 22:24 VA.R. 3755 -- 
14 VAC 5-30-80 Erratum 22:24 VA.R. 3755 -- 
14 VAC 5-260 (Forms) Erratum 22:24 VA.R. 3756 -- 
14 VAC 5-260-10 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 253 10/2/06 
14 VAC 5-260-20 Repealed 23:2 VA.R. 253 10/2/06 
14 VAC 5-260-30 through 14 VAC 5-260-60 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 253-257 10/2/06 
14 VAC 5-260-80 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 257 10/2/06 
14 VAC 5-260-90 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 257 10/2/06 
14 VAC 5-260-110 Added 23:2 VA.R. 258 10/2/06 
Title 16. Labor and Employment 
16 VAC 25-60-10 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3878 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-30 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3879 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-40 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3879 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-80 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3879 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-90 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3880 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-100 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3881 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-120 through 16 VAC 25-60-150 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3882-3883 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-190 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3883 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-260 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3884 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-300 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3885 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-320 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3885 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-60-340 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3886 9/21/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.95 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
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16 VAC 25-90-1910.134 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.178 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.266 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.441 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1000 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1001 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1017 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1018 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1020 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1025 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1027 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1028 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1029 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1030 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1043 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1045 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1047 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1048 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1050 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1051 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1052 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-90-1910.1450 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-100-1915.1001 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.60 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.62 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.754 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1092 Repealed 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1101 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
16 VAC 25-175-1926.1127 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3396 9/1/06 
Title 18. Professional and Occupational Licensing 
18 VAC 10-20-10 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 96  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-15 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 97  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-17 Added 23:1 VA.R. 97  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-20 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 97  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-25 Added 23:1 VA.R. 98  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-30 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 98 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-60 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 99 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-35 through 18 VAC 10-20-55 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 98-99 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-70 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 99  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-75 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 99  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-80 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 99 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-85 Added 23:1 VA.R. 99 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-90 through 18 VAC 10-20-420 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 99-110 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-440 through 18 VAC 10-20-560 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 110-113  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-565 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 114 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-570 through 18 VAC 10-20-620 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 113-116  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-625 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 116 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-630 through 18 VAC 10-20-660 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 116-117  2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-665 Repealed 23:1 VA.R. 117 2/1/07 
18 VAC 10-20-670 through 18 VAC 10-20-795 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 117-122  2/1/07 
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18 VAC 15-20-20 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 451 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-30 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 453 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-31 Added 23:3 VA.R. 454 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-32 Added 23:3 VA.R. 454 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-33 Added 23:3 VA.R. 457 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-33 Erratum 23:5 VA.R. 791 -- 
18 VAC 15-20-34 Added 23:3 VA.R. 458 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-40 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 459 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-50 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 459 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-51 Added 23:3 VA.R. 459 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-52 Added 23:3 VA.R. 459 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-53 Added 23:3 VA.R. 459 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-60 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 460 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-70 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 460 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-80 through 18 VAC 15-20-150 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 461 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-250 through 18 VAC 15-20-361 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 461-463 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-400 through 18 VAC 15-20-451 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 464-466 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-453 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 466 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-456 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 466 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-459.6 through 18 VAC 15-20-460 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 466-468 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-461 Added 23:3 VA.R. 468 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-462 Added 23:3 VA.R. 468 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-463 Added 23:3 VA.R. 469 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-464 Added 23:3 VA.R. 469 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-20-470 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 469 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-30 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 471 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-40 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 471 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-50 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 471 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-51 through 18 VAC 15-30-54 Added 23:3 VA.R. 472-475 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-100 through 18 VAC 15-30-330 Repealed 23:3 VA.R. 475-481 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-161 through 18 VAC 15-30-167 Added 23:3 VA.R. 477-479 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-332 Added 23:3 VA.R. 481 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-334 Added 23:3 VA.R. 481 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-420 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 481 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-510 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 482 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-810 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 483 12/1/06 
18 VAC 15-30-820 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 484 12/1/06 
18 VAC 25-21-70 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4155 11/1/06 
18 VAC 25-21 (Forms) Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4155 -- 
18 VAC 30-20-80 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4186 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 30-20-170 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4186 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 30-20-171 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4186 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 41-30-10 through 18 VAC 41-30-250 Added 23:1 VA.R. 124-131 11/1/06 
18 VAC 41-50-10 through 18 VAC 41-50-420 Added 22:25 VA.R. 3887-3900 10/1/06 
18 VAC 50-22-40 emer Amended 23:1 VA.R. 131 8/21/06-8/20/07 
18 VAC 50-22-50 emer Amended 23:1 VA.R. 132 8/21/06-8/20/07 
18 VAC 50-22-60 emer Amended 23:1 VA.R. 133 8/21/06-8/20/07 
18 VAC 50-22-300 through 18 VAC 50-22-350 emer Added 23:1 VA.R. 134 8/21/06-8/20/07 
18 VAC 60-20-10 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3397 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-20 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3398 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-71 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3399 8/23/06 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
18 VAC 60-20-100 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3749 10/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-105 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3399 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-106 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3399 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-108 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4175 11/18/06 
18 VAC 60-20-210 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3400 8/23/06 
18 VAC 60-20-230 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3400 8/23/06 
18 VAC 70-20-30 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4156 11/1/06 
18 VAC 70-20-50 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4156 11/1/06 
18 VAC 70-20 (Forms) Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4156 -- 
18 VAC 76-20-10 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3402 8/23/06 
18 VAC 76-20-20 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3402 8/23/06 
18 VAC 76-20-30 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3402 8/23/06 
18 VAC 76-20-50 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3402 8/23/06 
18 VAC 76-20-60 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3402 8/23/06 
18 VAC 76-20-70 Added 22:23 VA.R. 3403 8/23/06 
18 VAC 85-20-22 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4187 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-20-122 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4157 10/4/06 
18 VAC 85-20-226 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4188 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-20-330 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3901 9/20/06 
18 VAC 85-40-35 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4189 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-40-67 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4190 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-50-35 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4190 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-50-61 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4191 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-80-26 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4191 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-80-73 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4191 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-101-25 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4192 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-101-153 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4192 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-110-35 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4193 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 85-110-161 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4193 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 90-25-15 through 18 VAC 90-25-80 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 487-492 11/14/06 
18 VAC 90-25-71 Added 23:3 VA.R. 491 11/14/06 
18 VAC 90-25-72 Added 23:3 VA.R. 491 11/14/06 
18 VAC 90-25-81 Added 23:3 VA.R. 492 11/14/06 
18 VAC 90-25-100 through 18 VAC 90-25-130 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 492-494 11/14/06 
18 VAC 90-30-10 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4194 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 90-30-80 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4177 11/18/06 
18 VAC 90-30-120 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4195 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 90-30-121 emer Added 22:26 VA.R. 4195 9/1/06-8/31/07 
18 VAC 95-20-220 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4157 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-221 Added 22:26 VA.R. 4158 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-310 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4158 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-330 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4158 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-340 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4159 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-380 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4159 10/4/06 
18 VAC 95-20-390 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4159 10/4/06 
18 VAC 105-20-20 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4159 10/4/06 
18 VAC 110-20-20 Amended 22:15 VA.R. 2321 5/3/06 
18 VAC 110-20-20 Erratum 22:16 VA.R. 2399 -- 
18 VAC 110-20-20 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3726 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-20-20 Erratum 22:25 VA.R. 3935 -- 
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18 VAC 110-20-20 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 635 11/29/06 
18 VAC 110-20-70 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3751 10/23/06 
18 VAC 110-20-630 Amended 22:24 VA.R. 3728 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-20-640 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3728 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-20-660 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3728 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-20-670 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3728 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-20-720 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 634 11/29/06 
18 VAC 110-30-15 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 637 11/29/06 
18 VAC 110-50-10 through 18 VAC 110-50-150 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3729-3735 9/6/06 
18 VAC 110-50-20 Amended 23:4 VA.R. 637 11/29/06 
18 VAC 112-20-50 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3404 8/23/06 
18 VAC 112-20-65 Amended 22:23 VA.R. 3404 8/23/06 
18 VAC 120-30-100 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 497 12/11/06 
18 VAC 155-20-10 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4160 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20-110 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4161 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20-120 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4161 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20-160 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4162 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20-220 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4163 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20-280 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4166 11/1/06 
18 VAC 155-20 (Forms) Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4166 -- 
18 VAC 160-20-10 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 136 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-74 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 137 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-76 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4179 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-90 Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4180 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-95 Added 23:1 VA.R. 137 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-104 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 137 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-106 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 137 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-109 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 138 12/1/06 
18 VAC 160-20-140 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 139 12/1/06 
Title 20. Public Utilities and Telecommunications 
20 VAC 5-315 (Form) Amended 23:4 VA.R. 639 -- 
20 VAC 5-315-10 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 500 9/26/06 
20 VAC 5-315-20 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 500 9/26/06 
20 VAC 5-315-30 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 500 9/26/06 
20 VAC 5-315-40 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 501 9/26/06 
20 VAC 5-413-5 Added 23:3 VA.R. 504 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-10 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 504 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-20 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 505 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-25 Added 23:3 VA.R. 505 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-30 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 505 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-35 Added 23:3 VA.R. 506 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-40 Amended 23:3 VA.R. 506 12/1/06 
20 VAC 5-413-50 Added 23:3 VA.R. 506 12/1/06 
Title 22. Social Services 
22 VAC 40-35-10 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4196 9/1/06-8/31/07 
22 VAC 40-35-80 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4198 9/1/06-8/31/07 
22 VAC 40-35-90 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4198 9/1/06-8/31/07 
22 VAC 40-35-100 emer Amended 22:26 VA.R. 4199 9/1/06-8/31/07 
22 VAC 40-72-789 Erratum 22:26 VA.R. 4207 -- 
22 VAC 40-72-1060 Erratum 22:26 VA.R. 4207 -- 
22 VAC 40-325-10 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3901 10/1/06 
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SECTION NUMBER ACTION CITE EFFECTIVE DATE 
22 VAC 40-325-20 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3902 10/1/06 
22 VAC 40-745-10 through 22 VAC 40-745-70 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 140-145 11/1/06 
22 VAC 40-745-90 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 145 11/1/06 
22 VAC 40-745-100 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 145 11/1/06 
22 VAC 40-745-110 Amended 23:1 VA.R. 145 11/1/06 
22 VAC 40-901-10 Amended 22:25 VA.R. 3903 10/1/06 
22 VAC 40-901-40 through 22 VAC 40-901-90 Added 22:25 VA.R. 3903-3905 10/1/06 
Title 24. Transportation and Motor Vehicles 
24 VAC 30-271-10 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 259 11/1/06 
24 VAC 30-271-20 Amended 23:2 VA.R. 259 11/1/06 
24 VAC 30-550 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3736 9/6/06 
24 VAC 30-551-10 through 24 VAC 30-551-100 Added 22:24 VA.R. 3736-3744 9/6/06 
24 VAC 30-600 Repealed 22:24 VA.R. 3736 9/6/06 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 85-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry 
and Chiropractic. 

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner:  Dr. William Ward on behalf of the 
Virginia Chiropractic Association. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request:  Require applicants for 
licensure in chiropractic after July 1, 2010, to have a 
bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university 
prior to enrolling in chiropractic school. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request:  The board will 
receive public comment on the petition for rulemaking until 
December 27, 2006, and will consider any public comment 
and the petition at its meeting on February 23, 2007. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 27, 2006. 

Agency Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 
Virginia Board of Medicine, 6603 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-7423, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-19; Filed October 31, 2006, 11:17 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Initial Agency Notice 
Title of Regulation:  18 VAC 110-20. Regulations 
Governing the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority:  § 54.1-2400 and Chapters 33 (§ 54.1-
3300 et seq.) and 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner:  Suthar Paresh on behalf of Cavalier 
Pharmacare. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request:  Amend regulations to permit 
telepharmacy - one pharmacist to support multiple remote 
facilities. 

Agency's Plan for Disposition of Request:  The board will 
receive public comment on the petition for rulemaking until 
December 27, 2006, and will review the petition and any 
comment at its meeting on March 29, 2007, to make decision 
on whether to initiate rulemaking. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 27, 2006. 

Agency Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, 6603 West Broad Street, Richmond, VA 
23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9911, FAX (804) 662-
9313, or email scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-20; Filed October 31, 2006, 11:17 a.m. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled 9 VAC 25-120, 
General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) Permit for Discharges from Petroleum 
Contaminated Sites and Hydrostatic Tests. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to amend, as necessary, and reissue the 
general VPDES permit covering point source discharges for 
petroleum contaminated sites and hydrostatic tests, which 
expires on February 26, 2008. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR 
Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on December 
13, 2006. 

Contact: James Barnett, State Lead Program Manager, 
Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 629 E. 
Main St., Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4289, 
FAX (804) 698-4266, or email jsbarnett@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-21; Filed October 19, 2006, 9:25 a.m. 

† Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled 9 VAC 25-193, 
General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) Permit for Concrete Products Facilities. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to amend, as necessary, and 
reissue the general VPDES permit covering point source 
discharges for concrete products facilities. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR 
Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on December 
28, 2006. 

Contact: Michael B. Gregory, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 629 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4065, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 
email mbgregory@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-33; Filed November 7, 2006, 9:45 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends 
to consider adopting regulations entitled 9 VAC 25-860, 
General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(VPDES) Permit for Potable Water Treatment Plants. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to establish appropriate and 
necessary permitting requirements for discharges of 
wastewater from potable water treatment plants. The 
proposed regulation will set forth standard language for 
effluent limitations and monitoring requirements necessary to 
regulate this category of dischargers. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia and 
§ 402 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC 1251 et seq.). 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on November 
30, 2006. 

Contact: George E. Cosby, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 629 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4067, FAX (804) 698-4032, or 
email gecosby@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-12; Filed October 10, 2006, 2:00 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Health Professions 
intends to consider amending regulations entitled 18 VAC 
76-30, Public Participation Guidelines. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to follow recommendations of a periodic 
review of regulations to update and clarify the regulations.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  
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Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007 and 54.1-2400 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on December 
13, 2006.   

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Senior Policy Analyst, Department 
of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor,  
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX 
(804) 662-9114, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-28; Filed October 26, 2006, 3:42 p.m. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 
Embalmers intends to consider amending regulations entitled 
18 VAC 65-10, Public Participation Guidelines. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to clarify and update the 
guidelines for public participation in the promulgation of 
regulations.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 
proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007 and 54.1-2400 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on December 
13, 2006.   

Contact: Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Board of 
Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor,  Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9907, FAX (804) 662-9943, or 
email elizabeth.young@dhp.virginia.gov.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-27; Filed October 26, 2006, 3:42 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board intends 
to consider amending regulations entitled 24 VAC 22-20, 
Motor Vehicle Dealer Fees. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to adjust the fee schedule that dealers follow. The 
regulation sets maximum fee levels. The current fee schedule 
was established about 10 years ago. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 
action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 46.2-1506 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 1, 2006. 

Contact: Bruce Gould, Executive Director, Motor Vehicle 
Dealer Board, 2201 W. Broad St., Suite 104, Richmond, VA 
23220, telephone (804) 367-1100, FAX (804) 367-1053, toll-
free 1-877-270-0203, or email 
bruce.gould@mvdb.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-13; Filed October 11, 2006, 12:08 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The Department of Conservation 
and Recreation is claiming an exemption from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
1 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes agency orders or 
regulations fixing rates or prices. The Department of 
Conservation and Recreation will receive, consider and 
respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 
respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 5-36. Standard Fees for Use of 
Department of Conservation and Recreation Facilities, 
Programs and Services (amending 4 VAC 5-36-50, 4 VAC 
5-36-60, 4 VAC 5-36-70, 4 VAC 5-36-90 through 4 VAC 5-
36-120, 4 VAC 5-36-150, 4 VAC 5-36-170, 4 VAC 5-36-200 
and 4 VAC 5-36-210). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-104 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2007. 

Agency Contact: David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and 
Budget Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 
203 Governor Street, Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include changes to the parking and 
launch fees, admission fees, swimming fees, camping fees, 
cabin fees, picnic shelter fees, amphitheater and gazebo 
fees, interpretive and educational tours and program fees, 
hunting fees, miscellaneous rental fees, and conference 
center fees. 

Increases to these rates and prices represent changes to 
maintain fair market value, the addition of new facilities 
and offerings, updates to ensure consistency with the 
private sector, and revisions to reflect private 
concessionaires' new seasonal prices. 

4 VAC 5-36-50. Parking and launch fees. 

PARKING FEES (NONTAXABLE) 
 

 WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS
Daily Parking for Passenger Vehicles: 
Applies to cars, trucks, vans (up to 15 
passenger), and motorcycles. 

 
 

All parks unless listed below. $2.00 $3.00 
Parks under construction and 
having only limited facilities and 
services. 

$2.00 $2.00 

First Landing, Fairy Stone, 
Raymond R. “Andy” Guest Jr. 
Shenandoah River, Smith 
Mountain Lake, Claytor Lake, 
Lake Anna, Leesylvania, 
Pocahontas, Kiptopeke, 
Westmoreland, Mason Neck, Sky 
Meadows 

$3.00 $4.00 

Leesylvania $3.00 $5.00 
York River Croaker Landing/Pier 
Area (also requires boat launch fee 
for all vehicles) 

$3.00 $3.00 

Horse Trailer Parking Fee (also 
requires vehicle parking fee.) All parks 
unless listed below. 

$3.00 per 
trailer 

$3.00 per 
trailer 

Lake Anna $4.00 per 
trailer 

$4.00 per 
trailer 

Surcharge for additional horse in 
same trailer. 

$2.00 per 
horse 

$2.00 per 
horse 

Other Trailer Parking Fee: Applies to 
other trailers not covered by camping, 
horse trailer and boat launch fee. (Add 
to daily parking fee.) 

$2.00 per 
trailer 

$2.00 per 
trailer 

Daily Bus Parking: All Seasons. Applies to vehicles with 16 or more 
passenger capacity. 

All parks unless listed below. $10 $10 
Claytor Lake, Hungry Mother, 
Leesylvania, Mason Neck, New 
River Trail 

$12 $12 

First Landing, Kiptopeke, Lake 
Anna, Pocahontas, Westmoreland 

$15 $15 

Natural Area Preserve Parking Fees for 
any Vehicle: The department may 
charge these fees at any Natural Area 
Preserve. 

$2.00 $2.00 

Boat Launch Fees: Required to use park boat ramps on bodies of 
water where motorboats are permitted. Required for all vehicles 
using York River Croaker Landing/Pier Area. May not apply to 
small “car-top” launch facilities (facilities at which boats may only 
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be launched by hand carrying them to the water). The fee is 
normally added to the parking fee to create a combined park/launch 
payment. 
 
Daily Launch Fees: All Seasons 

All parks unless listed below. $3.00 $3.00 
Claytor Lake $2.00 $2.00 
First Landing, Kiptopeke (with 
Marine Fishing License), Lake 
Anna 

$4.00 $4.00 

Kiptopeke (without Marine Fishing 
License), Leesylvania 

$8.00 $8.00 

Leesylvania $7.00 $6.00 
Surcharge for second boat on same 
trailer: jet ski 

$2.00 $2.00 

Overnight parking at boat launch: 
where available 

$10 $10 

Camper’s Boat Launch Fee Kiptopeke: 
Does not apply if camper parks trailer 
at campsite. 

$3.00 $3.00 

 
 FEE 
Annual and Lifetime Parking Fees: 
Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus: Lifetime 
admission and parking pass to all state parks, plus 10% 
discount on camping, all state park merchandise, 
equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$275 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus: 12-month from date of 
purchase admission and parking pass to all state parks, 
plus 10% discount on camping, all state park 
merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$55 

Naturally Yours Parking Passport: 12-month from date of 
purchase admission and parking pass to park of purchase. 

$33 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus: See 
Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus above. 

$100 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus: See Naturally 
Yours Passport Plus above. 

$30 

Senior Naturally Yours Parking Passport: See Naturally 
Yours Parking Passport above. 

$20 

Golden Disability Pass: Available to persons with 
disabilities as verified by U.S. Social Security 
Administration’s (SSA) “Benefit Verification Letter.” 
Pass remains in effect unless SSA withdraws eligibility. 

No 
Charge 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: 12-months from date 
of purchase admission and park pass, including horse 
trailer, good at all parks. 

$72 

Annual Horse Trailer-Vehicle Pass: Occoneechee and 
Staunton River Only 

$33 

Annual and Lifetime Park/Launch Fees: 
Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters: 
Lifetime admission, parking, and launch pass to all state 
parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all state park 
merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter rentals. 

$385 

Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters: 12-month 
from date of purchase admission, parking, and launch 

$138 

pass to all state parks, plus 10% discount on camping, all 
state park merchandise, equipment rentals, and shelter 
rentals. 
Park/Launch Passport: 

12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, 
and launch pass to all state parks including 
Leesylvania. 

$116 

12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, 
and launch pass to First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake 
Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$88 

12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, 
and launch pass to park of purchase other than 
Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$72 

Senior Lifetime Naturally Yours Passport Plus for 
Boaters: Good at all parks. 

$285 

Senior Naturally Yours Passport Plus for Boaters: Annual 
permit for all parks including Leesylvania. 

$110 

Senior Park/Launch Passport: 
12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, 
and launch pass to all state parks including 
Leesylvania. 

$99 

12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, 
and launch pass to First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake 
Anna. Good only at park of purchase. 

$72 

12-month from date of purchase admission, parking, 
and launch pass to park of purchase other than 
Leesylvania, First Landing, Kiptopeke, or Lake Anna. 

$60 

Buggs Island Lake Special Annual Pass: Good only at 
Occoneechee and Staunton River State Parks. 

$33 

Leesylvania Annual Overnight Boating/Parking Pass. $61 
Handicapped Visitor Annual Boat Launch Pass (in 
addition to handicapped tags). 

$40 

Parks and Trails Passport: 
In conjunction with the purchase of an annual parking 
pass 

$10 

Without the purchase of an annual parking pass $15 

 
Special Event Fees: EVENT FEE 
Standard Special Event Parking Fee: Applies 
to all parks and events that utilize parking 
fees unless noted below. 

$10 per vehicle 

Community Event Fee: May be used by 
any park as a condition of a Special Use 
Permit for a community event provided 
by a nonprofit group or organization or 
government agency or entity. 

$1.00 per vehicle 

James River: James River Raft Race $5.00 per vehicle 
Sky Meadows: Strawberry Festival. 

Advance payment $15 per vehicle 
Day of Event $20 per vehicle 

New River Trail: Wythe County 
Heritage Day. Grayson Highlands Fall 
Festival. Hungry Mother Arts and Crafts 
Festival. 

$6.00 per vehicle 
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Claytor Lake Arts and Crafts Festival: 
Free parking with canned food donation 
on designated day. 

$5.00 per vehicle 
$9.00 per two-day 
pass 
$12 per three-day 
pass 

Kiptopeke: Eastern Shore Birding 
Festival. 

Parking Fee waived 
to registered festival 
guests; otherwise 
standard fees apply 

Chippokes Plantation Pork, Peanut, and 
Pine Festival. 

$6.00 per vehicle 

Smith Mountain Lake: special 
park/launch rate for boaters participating 
in fishing tournaments if the tournament 
sponsor has also rented the Tournament 
Headquarters Building. 

$4.00 $5.00 per 
vehicle/ boat 
combination 

Standard Special Event Per Person 
Entrance Fee: Applies to all parks and 
events that utilize per person admission 
fees unless noted below. 

$4.00 per adult 
$3.00 per child, 6 
through 12 years 
Children under 6 free

Sailor’s Creek Battlefield: Battle of 
Sailor’s Creek Reenactment. 

$5.00 per person  
Children under 6 free
$10 maximum per 
vehicle 
$50 per bus (16 
passenger +) 

Chippokes Plantation Steam and Gas 
Engine Show. 

$5.00 per person  
Children under 12 
free 

Chippokes Plantation Christmas. $5.00 per person 
Chippokes Gospel Explosion $10 per person 

$7.00 for advance 
ticket purchase 
Children under 12 
free 

Grayson Highlands Wayne C. 
Henderson Music Festival. 

$10 per person 
Children under 12 
free 

York River Estuaries Day. $2.00 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and 
over) 

Natural Tunnel Special Event Parking 
Fee. 

$2.00 per person 
$6.00 per vehicle 

Occoneechee Pow Wow $5.00 per person 
Seniors (62 and 
over) free  
Children under 4 free

Occoneechee Pow Wow School 
Groups 

$3.00 $4.00 per 
student Teachers and 
Chaperones free 

Notes on parking fees: 

1. Weekend rates apply on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, 
and Labor Day holidays. 

2. No parking fee is required for up to two vehicles per 
campsite and per cabin. Vehicles in excess of two shall pay 
the prevailing daily parking fee for each day that the 
vehicle is parked in the park. 

3. Except as otherwise noted, boat launching shall be free 
for up to one boat per vehicle per campsite or cabin. 

4. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle displaying 
handicapped license plates or temporary handicapped 
parking identification issued by any state or the federal 
government. 

5. Parking fees are waived for any vehicle occupied solely 
by students and/or teachers and/or assisting personnel 
participating in an official activity of a bona fide school or 
institution of higher learning. Parks may require that 
individuals in vehicles other than those marked as a school 
bus verify their official activity by letter from the school or 
approved field trip form. 

6. Parking fees are waived for official vehicles of federal, 
state, and local governments while on official business; 
vehicles making deliveries to the park; contractor and 
business vehicles performing work in the park; and 
emergency vehicles while conducting official business, 
including training. 

7. Parking fees are waived for park employees during time 
of employment, including family and household members 
of staff occupying staff residences; visitors to staff 
residences, and park volunteers entering the park to 
perform volunteer duties. 

8. Parking fees may be waived for vehicles conducting 
research or collecting activities provided such waiver is 
included in the language of the Research and Collection 
Permit. 

9. The period covered by a daily parking fee shall be 
midnight to midnight. Park guests utilizing overnight 
parking when and where available (e.g., backpackers, 
overnight fisherman, etc.) will be required to pay the 
applicable daily parking fee for each calendar day that their 
vehicle is in the parking lot (partial days included). 

10. Annual permits shall be valid for 12 months from the 
date of purchase, unless otherwise noted. 

11. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park 
for the sole purpose of dining at the park restaurant at 
Douthat and Hungry Mother State Parks. 

12. Parking fees are waived at state parks for participants in 
Walk for Parks, Fall River Renaissance, Envirothons, 
March for Parks, Operation Spruce-Up Day, Stewardship 
Virginia, and National Trails Day and other park-
sanctioned public service events as approved by the 
Director. 
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13. Daily parking fees are reduced to $1.00 for vehicles 
occupied by participants in fund-raising events sponsored 
by nonprofit organizations (Walk-A-Thons, etc.) provided 
the sponsor has obtained a special use permit from the park 
that contains provisions for the identification of participants 
in the event. 

14. Parking fees shall be waived for persons using park 
roads to gain legal access to their private residence and 
guests to such residences; and for vehicles passing through, 
but not stopping in, a park on a public roadway. 

15. Revenue collected from special event parking and/or 
admission fees may be divided between the park and the 
event sponsor if so designated and approved in the special 
event permit following a determination made by the 
director that the revenue split is in the benefit of the 
Commonwealth. 

16. Annual Park/Launch pass also covers the park entrance 
or parking fee for horse trailers or other allowable trailers. 
Annual and Lifetime parking-only passes do not include 
trailers. 

17. Parking fees are waived for service vehicles such as 
tow trucks when entering the park to service a visitor 
vehicle. 

18. Parking fees are waived for visitors entering the park to 
attend a performance by a U.S. military band if this is a 
required condition for the band’s performance. 

19. Parking fees are included in the rental fees for meeting 
facilities, up to the capacity of the facility and provided that 
this waiver of fee is included in the rental agreement for the 
facility. 

20. Parking fees are waived for a period of up to 15 
minutes for persons entering the park to deposit materials 
in community recycling collection containers. 

21. Parking fees are waived for vehicles occupied entirely 
by persons attending fee interpretive programs. 

22. Annual parking passes that do not include boat launch 
require payment of daily launch fee if launching boat at any 
park or for all vehicles using Croaker Landing/Pier Area at 
York River State Park. 

23. Annual parking pass holders are not guaranteed the 
parking privileges of the pass should parking places be 
unavailable. 

4 VAC 5-36-60. Admission fees. 

ADMISSION FEES (NONTAXABLE) 
 

 DAILY ADMISSION 
PER PERSON (Weekdays 

and Weekends unless 
otherwise noted.) 

ANNUAL PASS 
(Good for 12 

months from date of 
purchase.) 

Shot Tower Free NA 

$1.50 (Groups of 10 or 
more any age) 

$3.00 (age 6 through 
12) per year 

$2.00 (Ages 6 through 12) $5.00 (age 13 and 
over) per year 

Southwest VA 
Museum 

$3.00 (Age 13 and up) $15 (family: up to 2 
adults and 2 children) 
per year 

Chippokes Plantation: 
Chippokes Mansion 

$2.00 (Age 6 through 12) 
$4.00 (Age 13 and over) 
$2.00 group rate (10 or 
more) 

NA 

Chippokes Plantation: 
Farm and Forestry 
Museum 

$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 
$2.00 (Age 6 through 12) 
$2.00 group rate (10 or 
more) 

NA 

Chippokes Plantation: 
Combination Pass 

$6.00 (Age 13 and over) 
$3.00 (Age 6 through 12) 

NA 

Kiptopeke Fishing Pier 
Fishing Fee 

$1.00 (Age 6 through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and over) 

NA 

Kiptopeke Fishing Pier 
Fishing Fee: Coupon 
book good for 10 visits 

$20 per 10 Passes NA 

Annual Night Fishing: 
All parks where 
available (also requires 
parking fee) 

$15 per person per year  

Late Night Fishing: All 
parks where available 
(also requires parking 
fee) 

$3.00 per person per night  

   
 ADMISSION 
Natural Tunnel Chairlift: 

Children under age 6 Free 
Round trip per person $3.00 
One-way per person $2.00 
Group Rate Round Trip per person (10 or more)  $2.00 
Season Pass $20 
Daily Pass (Good for unlimited trips on date of 
issue, good for one person only) $6.00 

Archery Range: All parks where available; per 
person user fee 

$2.00 per day (over 
15) 
$1.00 per day (under 
15) 
$15 per year (any 
age) 

New River Challenge Registration Fees 
Early Registration Fee: $35 per person 

$90 per team 
Late Registration Fee: $45 per person 

$110 per team 
James River: River Raft Race Registration $15 per person 
Park Sponsored Special Event Vendor Fees. All 
parks where available unless otherwise noted. 

$100 $125 per 
merchandise vendor
$125 $150 per food 
vendor 
$50 late fee 

Mason Neck Harvest Festival Event. $50 per vendor 

Notes on admission/entrance fees: 

1. Fees are waived at Natural Tunnel for use of the chairlift 
on one designated “Customer Appreciation Day” per year. 
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2. Museum entrance fees are waived at the Southwest 
Virginia Museum during the “Festival of Trees” event for 
members of groups who submitted trees for the display. 

3. For park museums and historic features that charge an 
entrance fee, visitors participating in the Time Travelers 
program of the Virginia Association of Museums shall be 
charged the existing per person group rate for that facility. 

4 VAC 5-36-70. Swimming fees. 

SWIMMING (NONTAXABLE) 

Daily Swimming Fees WEEKDAYS WEEKENDS 
All parks with fee swimming 

areas unless noted. 
Under age 3 
Free 
$2.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Under age 3 
Free 
$2.00 $3.00 
(Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 $4.00 
(Age 13 and 
over) 

Staunton River, Lake 
Anna, Westmoreland 

Under age 3 
Free 
$2.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Under age 3 
Free 
$3.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$4.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Hungry Mother, Claytor 
Lake 

Under age 3 
Free 
$3.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Under age 3 
Free 
$3.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Pocahontas Under age 3 
Free 
$5.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$6.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Under age 3 
Free 
$7.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$8.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Group campers utilizing 
primitive group camps. All 
parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$1.00 (all 
ages) 

$1.00 (all 
ages) 

Pocahontas (Group Cabin 
Guests) 

$3.00 (all 
ages) 

 $3.00 (all 
ages) 

Chippokes Plantation: 
Recreation/Education Fun 
Package: Swimming, 
Mansion, and Farm & 
Forestry Museum 
(Memorial Day – Labor 
Day: Wed. – Sun.) 

$3.50 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$6.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

$3.50 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$6.00 (Age 13 
and over) 

Deposit on all locker keys: Refunded 
when key is returned. 

$2.00 each 

Swimming Coupon Book: (Age 3 and 
over). All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$18 per 10 coupons 
$35 per 20 coupons 

Pocahontas $35 per 10 coupons 
$68 per 20 coupons 

Group Swimming: per person (10 
persons or more). All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted, except 
Pocahontas. 

$1.50 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$2.50 (Age 13 and 
over) 

Pocahontas Group Swimming (20 
persons or more). Five-day 
advanced registration required. 

$3.00 (all ages) 

Season Swimming Permit: All parks 
where available unless otherwise noted. 

$40 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$50 (Age 13 and over) 

Pocahontas $60 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$70 (Age 13 and over) 

After-Hours Exclusive Use of Pool or 
Swimming Area: All parks where 
available. Requires prior reservation. 
Rental period of approximately 1-2 
hours, depending upon operating 
schedule and amount of available 
daylight. Cancellation fee charged if 
reservation is cancelled less than 3 days 
before the date of event unless 
cancellation is for inclement weather or 
cancelled by the park. 

$100 (up to 25 
persons) 
$125 (26 to 50 
persons) 
$175 (51 to 75 
persons) 
$200 (76 to 100 
persons) 
$35 to open food 
concessions with 
rental 
$50 cancellation fee 

Swimming lessons. All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 
Package of eight 45-minute lessons 
(includes parking) 

$30 per person 
$25 per person if two 
or more from same 
family 

Notes on swimming fees: 

1. Nonswimming adults in street clothes admitted to 
swimming areas free when supervising children age 12 and 
under. 

2. Raincheck Rain check Policy for Swimming: All state 
parks will issue a raincheck rain check, good for a period of 
12 months from the date of issue, to any paying customer 
(does not apply to free swimming vouchers) if the 
swimming area is forced to close for 40 minutes or more 
due to inclement weather. Rainchecks Rain checks may be 
issued only to patrons present at the swimming area at the 
time of closure. 

3. A full refund is available for a group reservation only if 
the park or swimming area contractor is notified three days 
in advance of the time of the reservation. In the event that 
the group is unable to complete their reservation due to 
inclement weather, rainchecks rain checks will be issued to 
the individual members of the group in the same manner as 
other park patrons. 

4. All Season Swimming Permits include parking during 
the swimming season only. 
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4 VAC 5-36-90. Camping fees. 

CAMPING FEES (TAXABLE, Price here does not include 
tax) 

Camping fees include free use of dump station and 
free swimming and boat launching for members of 
the camping party during their stay at the property, 
when and where available, except that at Kiptopeke 
State Park guest is subject to applicable launch fee 
unless the trailer is returned to the campsite 
immediately after launching. The number of 
campers per campsite is limited to six individuals 
except when all campers are members of the same 
household. 

ALL 
SEASONS 

(Per site fees) 
Standard Sites: No hookup; access to bathhouse and restrooms. 

All parks with standard sites unless noted 
below. 

$15 per night 

Chippokes Plantation, Hungry Mother, 
Grayson Highlands, Staunton River, 
Westmoreland, Occoneechee (nonwaterfront), 
Claytor Lake, Raymond R. “Andy” Guest, Jr. 
Shenandoah River, Smith Mountain Lake. 

$19 per night 

Occoneechee Waterfront Sites $22 per night 
Douthat, Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna. $23 per night 

Water and Electric Sites: Access to water and electric hookups; 
access to bathhouse and restrooms. 

All parks where available unless noted below. $21 per night 
Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake, Douthat, 
Fairy Stone, Grayson Highlands, Hungry 
Mother, Occoneechee (nonwaterfront), 
Staunton River, Westmoreland, Pocahontas, 
Smith Mountain Lake, Belle Isle, James River. 

$24 per night 

Occoneechee Waterfront Sites $27 per night 
Kiptopeke, First Landing, Lake Anna. $29 per night 

Water, Electric, and Sewage Sites: Access to water, 
electric, and sewage hookups; access to bathhouse 
and restrooms. 

 

Kiptopeke $33 per night 
Hungry Mother $27 per night 

Primitive Camping Sites: primitive restrooms; no showers. 
All parks where available unless noted below. $10 per night 
Grayson Highlands (November, March, and 
April when bathhouses are closed), James 
River, Sky Meadows. 

$12 per night 

Grayson Highlands: Sites with electricity 
(November, March and April when bathhouses 
are closed) 

$14 per night 

New River Trail Primitive camping sites at 
Foster Falls and Cliffview 

$14 per night 

New River Trail Water Trail Camping (no 
potable water) 

$11 per night 

Horse Camping 
Horse Stall Fee: All horses must be in stalls. $7.00 per 

night (Outside 
Stalls) 
$9.00 per 

night (Inside 
Stall) 

Standard Group Camping: Unless otherwise noted, 
groups camping in the regular park campground 
pay the existing rate for sites in that campground. 

Standard 
Rates 

Primitive Group Camp Rental (camping in special primitive group 
areas) All parks where available. 

Up to 20 campers. $58 for entire 
area per night 

Up to 30 campers. $87 for entire 
area per night 

31 or more campers, up to maximum capacity 
of group camp area. 

$116 for 
entire area per 
night 

Grayson Highlands: Primitive camping is 
available in the stable area November, March, 
and April. 

$14 per site 
per night 

Special Group Camping Areas: 

Fairy Stone Group Campsites. $19 per site 
per night 

Twin Lakes, Cedar Crest Group Camping 
Area. 

$200 for 
entire area per 
night  

Chippokes Plantation: All 4 Sites; Group Rate; 
24 persons maximum. 
Natural Tunnel Group Area. 
Grayson Highlands Group Area. 
James River Group Area. 
Shenandoah Group Area. 

$64 per night 
(only 
available as 
entire group 
area) 

Westmoreland Group Area. $116 per 
night 

Standard Buddy Sites: All parks where 
available unless noted below. 

$74 per night 

Douthat Buddy Sites. $92 per night 
James River Equestrian Group Area. $87 per night 

Camping – Other Fees 
Pop-up Camper Rentals (this fee is in addition 
to the camping site fee). 

$50 per night 

Pet Fees $3.00 per pet 
per night 

Dump Station Fee: Free to state park campers 
during stay. 

$5.00 per use 

Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee 
Individual Site. 

$10 per 
reservation 

Camping Reservation Cancellation Fee Group 
Sties Sites. 

$30 per 
reservation 

Hiker or noncamper Shower Fee at Virginia 
State Parks. 

$5.00 per 
person 

Notes on camping: 

1. Check-out time is 3 p.m. and check-in time is 4 p.m. 

2. Camping Transfer/Cancellation/Early Departure Policy. 

a. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the 
applicable cancellation fee(s). 
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b. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will 
be refunded to the original credit card charged. 

c. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation 
center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by 
state check. 

d. A customer may move a camping reservation to 
another date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 
reservation center only, and prior to 4 p.m. on the 
scheduled date of arrival. If the reservation center will 
not be open again prior to the start date of the 
reservation, transferring is not an option. There is no fee 
to transfer. 

e. A camping reservation may be canceled until 4 p.m. on 
the scheduled date of arrival but campers will be charged 
the cancellation fee. This cancellation fee applies to each 
separate reservation made. 

f. Once the 4 p.m. check-in time is reached on the 
scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation 
is considered an early departure. 

g. After the check-in time is reached, the first night is 
considered used whether the site is occupied or not. 

h. There is a one-night penalty, deducted from any 
amount available for refund, for early departure. 

3. Campers are allowed two vehicles per campsite per day 
without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles, beyond 
two, must pay the prevailing parking fee in effect at the 
park for each day that the vehicle(s) is parked in the park. 
The number of vehicles allowed to park on the campsite 
varies according to site design and size of other camping 
equipment. No vehicles shall park on a campsite in other 
than the designated area for this purpose. Camper vehicles 
that do not fit on the site, whether or not they require the 
special camper vehicle fee, must park in the designated 
overflow parking area. 

4. Each member of the camping party, except in primitive 
group areas, up to the maximum allowable per site, may 
receive an entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on 
the basis of one pass per night of camping. Passes only 
issued during days and seasons of operation of the 
swimming facility and only good during the members 
registered stay. 

5. Damage to campsites, not considered normal wear and 
tear, will be billed to the person registered for the campsite 
on an itemized cost basis. 

6. At honor collection sites, the stated camping fees on this 
list shall be considered as having tax included. Honor 
collection is defined as the payment of the camping fee on-
site at the park at a nonelectronic collection point at which 
the payment is placed in a box or safe provided for that 
purpose. 

4 VAC 5-36-100. Cabin fees. 

CABIN RENTALS (TAXABLE, Price here does not include 
tax) 

 BASE RATE VIRGINIA 
RESIDENTS 

PRIME SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 
Efficiency $80 $478 $71 $429 
One Bedroom, Standard $93 $561 $84 $504 
One Bedroom, Waterfront 
or Water View 

$103 $621 $92 $554 

One Bedroom, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$108 $653 $99 $588 

Two Bedroom, Standard, 
all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$107 $648 $97 $584 

Two Bedroom, Claytor 
Lake, Bear Creek Lake, 
James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$112 $679 $101 $612 

Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, all parks where 
available unless noted 
below 

$119 $713 $107 $642 

Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Claytor Lake, Bear 
Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$124 $747 $112 $672 

Two Bedroom, First 
Landing, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$126 $753 $113 $678 

Three Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks where 
available unless noted 
below 

$123 $734 $110 $659 

Three Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation, Bel 
Air Guest House 

$142 $855 $128 $770 

Three Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Claytor Lake, Bear 
Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna, 
Southwest Virginia 
Museum Poplar Hill 
Cottage 

$142 $846 $124 $760 

Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $159 $954 $143 $859 
Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy 
Stone), Creasy Lodge 
(Douthat), Bel Air 
Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$287 $1,716 $257 $1,545 
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Douthat Lodge (Douthat), 
Hungry Mother Lodge 
(Hungry Mother), 
Potomac River Retreat 
(Westmoreland) 

$337 $2,023 $303 $1,822 

6-Bedroom Lodge, Water 
View: Kiptopeke, James 
River, Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear Creek 
Lake, Lake Anna. 

$353 $2,120 $318 $1,909 

MID-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 
Efficiency $70 $425 $64 $382 
One Bedroom, Standard $83 $498 $76 $448 
One Bedroom, Waterfront 
or Water View 

$91 $547 $82 $494 

One Bedroom, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$87 $522 $79 $470 

Two Bedroom, Standard, 
all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$96 $576 $87 $519 

Two Bedroom, Claytor 
Lake, Bear Creek Lake, 
James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$100 $604 $91 $543 

Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, all parks where 
available unless noted 
below 

$106 $634 $95 $570 

Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Claytor Lake, Bear 
Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna  

$111 $664 $99 $597 

Two Bedroom, First 
Landing, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$101 $603 $90 $542 

Three Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks where 
available unless noted 
below 

$108 $653 $99 $588 

Three Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation, Bel 
Air Guest House 

$114 $684 $103 $615 

Three Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Claytor Lake, Bear 
Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna, 
Southwest Virginia 
Museum Poplar Hill 
Cottage 

$120 $716 $108 $645 

Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $142 $849 $127 $764 

Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy 
Stone), Creasy Lodge 
(Douthat), Bel Air 
Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$254 $1,527 $229 $1,373 

Douthat Lodge (Douthat), 
Hungry Mother Lodge 
(Hungry Mother), 
Potomac River Retreat 
(Westmoreland) 

$300 $1,802 $270 $1,621 

6-Bedroom Lodge, Water 
View: Kiptopeke, James 
River, Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear Creek 
Lake, Lake Anna 

$315 $1,888 $283 $1,698 

OFF-SEASON CABIN AND LODGE RATES 

Cabin/Lodge Type 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Week 
Rental 

Fee 
Efficiency $59 $354 $54 $319 
One Bedroom, Standard $69 $415 $62 $373 
One Bedroom, Waterfront 
or Water View 

$77 $455 $68 $411 

One Bedroom, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$66 $392 $59 $353 

Two Bedroom, Standard, 
all parks where available 
unless noted below 

$80 $480 $71 $432 

Two Bedroom, Claytor 
Lake, Bear Creek Lake, 
James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$84 $503 $75 $452 

Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, all parks where 
available unless noted 
below 

$88 $528 $79 $475 

Two Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Claytor Lake, Bear 
Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna 

$92 $553 $83 $497 

Two Bedroom, First 
Landing, Chippokes 
Plantation 

$76 $452 $68 $406 

Three Bedroom, 
Standard, all parks where 
available unless noted 
below 

$90 $543 $81 $488 

Three Bedroom, 
Chippokes Plantation, Bel 
Air Guest House 

$85 $512 $78 $462 
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Three Bedroom, 
Waterfront or Water 
View, Claytor Lake, Bear 
Creek Lake, James River, 
Occoneechee, Lake Anna, 
Southwest Virginia 
Museum Poplar Hill 
Cottage 

$89 $537 $81 $484 

Hill Lodge (Twin Lakes) $118 $706 $106 $635 
Fairy Stone Lodge (Fairy 
Stone), Creasy Lodge 
(Douthat), Bel Air 
Mansion (Belle Isle) 

$211 $1,269 $191 $1,142 

Douthat Lodge (Douthat), 
Hungry Mother Lodge 
(Hungry Mother), 
Potomac River Retreat 
(Westmoreland)) 

$250 $1,498 $226 $1,348 

6-Bedroom Lodge, Water 
View: Kiptopeke, James 
River, Claytor Lake, 
Occoneechee, Bear Creek 
Lake, Lake Anna 

$262 $1,570 $237 $1,412 

CAMPING CABINS, 
CAMPING LODGES, 
YURTS, AND TRAVEL 
TRAILERS (camping cabins, 
camping lodges, yurts, and 
travel trailers located in 
campgrounds and operated in 
conjunction with the 
campground) 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-Week
Rental 

Fee 

Per-
Night 
Rental 

Fee 

Per-Week
Rental 

Fee 

Camping Cabin rental rate: (2-
night minimum rental 
required) 

$53 NA $46 NA 

Yurt rental: Standard fee $93 $561 $84 $504 
Travel Trailers: 25-30’ 
Standard fee 

$93 $561 $84 $504 

Camping Lodges: 
Standard fee 

$93 $561 $84 $504 

Additional Cabin Fees: 
Additional Bed Rentals $3.00 per rental night 
Additional linens $6.00 per bed set 
Cabin Cancellation Fee $20 per cancellation period: See 

note 6 and 7 in the Cabin 
Transfer/Cancellation/Early 
Departure Policy Note. 

Pet Fee $5.00 per pet per night 
Pocahontas Group Cabins DAY WEEK 

Dining Hall: When rented 
alone; 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. 

$225 $1,125 

Dining Hall: When rented 
with a minimum of two 
cabins. 

$100 $500 

Cabin Units: per night – two 
units minimum in ecology 
camp. 

 

One Unit – Capacity: 28 $92 $462 
Two Units – Capacity: 56 $150 $751 
Three Units – Capacity: 
84 

$196 $982 

Four Units – Capacity: 
112 

$231 $1,155 

Complete Camp (Ecology 
Camp) 

$347 $1,733 

Complete Camp (Group 
Camp #3) 

$266 $1,328 

Refundable security deposit 
charged for all reservations $100 per reservation 

Notes on Pocahontas Group Cabins: 

Pocahontas Group Cabins: Reservations of more than $200 
require a 25% prepayment, due within 14 days of making the 
reservation, to hold a reservation. Balance of fees is due 60 
days prior to the reservation start date. Reservations of less 
than $200 require payment in full to confirm the reservation. 

Notes on cabins: 

1. Seasonal cabin rates shall be in effect according to the 
following schedule, except for camping cabins, camping 
lodges, yurts, and travel trailers, which operate on the same 
schedule and season as the campground at that particular 
park. In the event that a weekly rental period includes two 
seasonal rates, the higher rate will apply for the entire 
weekly rental period. 

PARK PRIME 
SEASON MID-SEASON OFF-

SEASON 
Bear Creek 
Lake*** 
Belle Isle 
Chippokes 
Plantation 
First Landing 
Kiptopeke*** 
Lake Anna*** 
Occoneechee***
Southwest 
Virginia 
Museum 
Staunton River 
Twin Lakes 
Westmoreland 

Friday night 
prior to 
Memorial Day 
through the 
Sunday night 
prior to Labor 
Day 

April 1 through 
the Thursday 
night prior to 
Memorial Day, 
and Labor Day 
through 
November 30 

December 
1 through 
March 31 

Claytor Lake 
Douthat 
Fairy Stone 
Hungry Mother 
James River*** 
Smith Mountain 
Lake 

Friday night 
prior to 
Memorial Day 
through the 
Sunday night 
prior to Labor 
Day, and 
October 1 
through 
October 31 

April 1 through 
the Thursday 
night prior to 
Memorial Day, 
and Labor Day 
through 
September 30, 
and November 1 
through 
November 30 

December 
1 through 
March 31 
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***Cabin or lodge facilities will be added; exact dates of 
completion unknown. 

2. All dates refer to the night of the stay; checkout time is 
10 a.m. and check-in time is 3 p.m. 

3. The following holiday periods are charged prime season 
weekend rates: the Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and 
Saturday period that includes Thanksgiving Day; and 
Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; and New Year's Eve 
and New Year's Day. 

4. Cabin guests are allowed two vehicles per cabin per day 
without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles must 
pay the prevailing parking fee for each day that the vehicle 
is parked in the park. The number of vehicles allowed to 
park at the cabin varies according to site design and other 
factors. All vehicles must park in designated parking areas, 
either at the cabin or in the designated overflow parking 
area. 

5. Lodge guests are allowed six vehicles per lodge per day 
without charge of parking fee. Additional vehicles must 
pay the prevailing vehicle parking fee for each day the 
vehicle is parked in the park. The number of vehicles 
allowed to park at the lodge varies according to site design 
and other factors. All vehicles must park in designated 
parking areas, either at the lodge or in the designated 
overflow parking area. 

6. Damage to cabins, not considered normal wear and tear, 
may be billed to the person registered for the cabin on an 
itemized cost basis. 

7. Each member of the cabin rental party, up to the 
maximum allowable for the rented unit, may receive an 
entrance pass to the park's swimming facility on the basis 
of one pass per night of rental. Passes are only issued 
during days and seasons of operation of the swimming 
facility and are only good during the member's registered 
stay. 

Notes on cabin transfer/cancellation/early departure policy: 

1. Any fees to be refunded are calculated less the applicable 
cancellation fees listed below. 

2. Fees paid to the reservation center by credit card will be 
refunded to the original credit card charged. 

3. Fees paid by check or money order to the reservation 
center, or by any method at the park, will be refunded by 
state check. 

4. A customer may move a cabin reservation to another 
date or park, referred to as a transfer, through the 
reservation center only, and prior to the official check-in 
time on the scheduled date of arrival. 

5. If the reservation center will not be open again prior to 
the start of the reservation, transferring is not an option. If 

the transfer is not for the same number of nights, the 
cancellation policy may apply. Otherwise, there is no fee to 
transfer. 

6. Once the reservation is paid for, a customer may cancel 
in full with payment of the required $20 cancellation fee if 
there are more than 30 days before the scheduled arrival 
date. As long as the reservation is not during the one-week 
minimum stay requirement period, the length of stay may 
be reduced without a fee as long as there are more than 30 
days before the scheduled arrival. However, the length of 
stay cannot be less than two nights. During the 30 days 
prior to the scheduled arrival date, the $20 cancellation fee 
is charged for each night cancelled or reduced from the 
stay. Once the official check-in time on the scheduled 
arrival date is reached, the cancellation policy is no longer 
in effect and the early departure policy applies. 

7. Once the 3 p.m. check-in time is reached on the 
scheduled day of arrival, any adjustment to a reservation is 
considered an early departure. There is a two night 
minimum charge associated with all cabin stays. Reducing 
the total nights stayed will incur a $20 per night fee. If the 
original reservation was for a week, the weekly discount 
will no longer be valid and the fee will be adjusted to the 
nightly rate before any refunds are calculated. 

4 VAC 5-36-110. Picnic shelters fees. 

PICNIC SHELTERS (TAXABLE) 

Two reservation periods are available per 
day, per shelter. 

HALF-
DAY 

FULL-
DAY 

Standard Small Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: 
Bear Creek Lake, Belle Isle, Caledon, 
Chippokes Plantation, Claytor Lake 
(including gazebo), Douthat, Holliday Lake, 
Hungry Mother (half shelter), Lake Anna, 
Natural Tunnel, New River Trail, 
Occoneechee, Pocahontas, Smith Mountain 
Lake, Twin Lakes, Westmoreland, York 
River, and all other small park picnic 
shelters. 

$30 $50 

Standard Large Picnic Shelter Rental Fee: 
Belle Isle, Chippokes Plantation, Claytor 
Lake, Douthat Fairy Stone, First Landing, 
Grayson Highlands, Hungry Mother (full 
shelter), James River, Kiptopeke, Lake 
Anna, Natural Tunnel, Occoneechee, 
Pocahontas, Shenandoah, Smith Mountain 
Lake (Pavilion), Staunton River, Staunton 
River Battlefield, Twin Lakes, 
Westmoreland, York River, and all other 
large park picnic shelters. 

$45 $80 

Shenandoah Large Group Shelter $50 $90 
York River: Plus Package: Fee for use of concession rental 
equipment and picnic shelter. 

Small Shelter: Up to 25 people 
Large Shelter: Up to 40 people 

$90 
$135 

$105 
$160 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 27, 2006 

855 

Each additional person over 25 people for 
the small shelter and over 40 people for 
the large shelter. 

$3.25 $3.25 

Leesylvania Shelter Rental $60 $120 
Leesylvania: Lee’s Landing Picnic Area 
Rental 

$30 $55 

Leesylvania: Lee's Landing Picnic Shelter $200 $300 
With 15 tables and 100 chairs $600 $700 

Mason Neck Picnic Area Rental 
Without tent shelter $30 $55 
With tent shelter (seasonably available) $60 $120 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter 
(with kitchen) 

$100 per 
function 

$100 per 
function 

Chippokes Plantation Conference Shelter 
(without kitchen) 

$60 per 
function 

$60 per 
function 

Mini-Shelter: All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

N/A $20 

Event Tent Rental: Full day in-park rental only. Price includes set up 
and take down. 

Standard fee: All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

NA $0.38 per 
square 
foot 

Chippokes Plantation, Douthat, 
Kiptopeke, Lake Anna, Pocahontas, 
Shenandoah River, Sky Meadows, Smith 
Mountain Lake, York River. 

NA $0.45 per 
square 
foot 

False Cape, First Landing, Leesylvania, 
Mason Neck. 

NA $0.50 per 
square 
foot 

White String Lights for Tent NA $0.80 per 
foot 

Side Panels for Tent NA $1.50 per 
foot 

Standard Shelter Cancellation Fee: 
Cancellation fee deducted from refund if 
refund is made more than 14 days prior to 
the reservation date. No refunds if 
cancellation made within 14 days prior to 
date. Shelter reservation may be transferred 
without penalty if the change is made 
through the reservations center prior to 
scheduled use. 

$10 $10 

Notes on shelters: 

1. Full-day shelter rental period shall be from park opening 
until park closing, for day use, unless otherwise specified. 

2. Morning half-day shelter rental period shall be from park 
opening until 2 p.m., unless otherwise specified. 

3. Afternoon half-day shelter rental period shall be from 
3 p.m. until park closing unless otherwise specified. 

 

4 VAC 5-36-120. Amphitheater and gazebo fees. 

AMPHITHEATERS AND GAZEBOS (TAXABLE, Price 
here does not include tax) 

Amphitheater or Gazebo Rental Fee: HALF-
DAY 

FULL-
DAY 

Leesylvania, Fairy Stone, Staunton River, 
Kiptopeke and all other amphitheaters and 
gazebos unless noted below. 

$15 $30 

Claytor Lake (gazebo), Hungry Mother, 
Occoneechee, Westmoreland, New River 
Trail, Shenandoah River (overlook). 

$30 $50 

Smith Mountain Lake, Natural Tunnel 
(gazebo at Cove Ridge), James River, First 
Landing (gazebo at Chesapeake Bay 
Center). 

$40 $70 

York River and Douthat N/A $100 
Natural Tunnel and First Landing 
Amphitheaters: Private group or company 
rate: 

$150 $300 

Natural Tunnel and First Landing 
Amphitheaters: Educational group. 

$75 $150 

Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Wedding 
Package: Three consecutive half-day rental 
periods. 

N/A $400 per 
package 

First Landing: Courtyard at Chesapeake 
Bay Center; includes amphitheater and 
gazebo. 

$400 $750 

First Landing: Additional hourly charge for 
hours beyond 10 p.m. for gazebo. 

$10 per 
hour 

$10 per 
hour 

First Landing: Additional hourly charge for 
hours beyond 10 p.m. for Courtyard. 

$50 per 
hour 

$50 per 
hour 

Fishing Tournament Staging. All parks 
where available. 

$25 $25 

Pocahontas Amphitheater Area: Without 
Heritage Center. Includes Amphitheater, 
Exhibit Area, Restrooms and use of sound 
system. 

NA $600 

Pocahontas Amphitheater Area Plus 
Heritage Center 

NA $800 

Parking Attendant (per attendant). NA $10 per 
hour 

Law Enforcement Officer (per officer). NA $25 per 
hour 

Natural Tunnel: Rental of Observation 
Deck at mouth of tunnel for dinner parties. 
Includes use of chairlift for transportation 
of guests and supplies and set-up/take-
down of tables and chairs. 

$300 
per 4 
hours 

 

Natural Tunnel Amphitheater Concession 
Building 

N/A $40 

Natural Tunnel: Sound System Rental N/A $30 
Stage Cover Rental: 

Occoneechee $25 $25 
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Standard Amphitheater/Gazebo Cancellation 
Fee: Cancellation fee deducted from refund if 
refund is made more than 14 days prior to the 
reservation date. No refunds if cancellation 
made within fourteen days prior to date. 

$10 $10 

All parks unless listed below. $10 $10 
Pocahontas Amphitheater or First Landing 
Courtyard 

$100 $100 

4 VAC 5-36-150. Interpretive and educational tours and 
program fees. 

INTERPRETIVE AND EDUCATIONAL TOURS AND 
PROGRAMS (NONTAXABLE) 

Interpretive and Educational Tours and Programs 
PARK PROGRAM FEE 

Standard Interpretive 
Program: (Fee does not 
apply to informational 
programs such as campfire 
programs or roving 
interpretation). 

$2.00 per person 
$6.00 per family 

Standard Night Hike or 
Evening Program 

$3.00 per person 
$8.00 per family 

Standard Wagon Ride 
Program 

$3.00 per person 
$8.00 per family 
$25 exclusive group 

Extended or Special Event 
Wagon Ride Program 

$4.00 per person 
$10 per family 

Park Outreach Program: 
Price per park staff 
member conducting 
program 

$10 for under 2 
hours 
$25 for 2 to 3 hours
$50 for 4 hours plus 

Standard Junior Ranger 
Program: 4-day program. 
All parks unless noted 
below. 

$10 full program 
$3.00 per day 

All parks unless 
otherwise 
noted: 

Haunted Hike $1.00 (Age 3 
through 12) 
$3.00 (Age 13 and 
over) 

Nature Camps $50 per 3-hour day 
for one week 
$100 per 6-hour day 
for one week 

Pocahontas 

Curious Kids $3.00 per program 

Nature and Discovery 
Programs (School/Groups 
Outreach) 

$40 per hour at park
$60 per 1 and one-
half hours at park 
$80 per 2 hours at 
park 
$50 per hour at 
school 
$70 per 1 and one-
half hours at school 
$90 per 2 hours at 
school 
$15 additional if 
over 30 miles from 
park 

Music Program $5.00 per person Sky Meadows 
A Day in Wildflower 
Woods 

$8.00 per person 

How Our Ancestors Lived 
(9-Week Children’s Series) 

$10 per person for 
entire series 
$2.00 per person for 
individual program 

Workshop (Adult) $10 per person 

Southwest 
Virginia 
Museum 

Workshop (Children) $5.00 per person 
Caledon Eagle Tours $6.00 per person 

$50 Flat Rate 
(minimum: 10; 
maximum: 20) 

All Group Programs up to 
2 hours long 

$5.00 per person 

Haunted Hay Ride $12 per person 
Caledon Junior Ranger 
Program  

$15 per person 

Caledon 

Special Program Bus Fee: 
Programs involving 
transportation within the 
natural area. 

$3.00 per person 

Guided Programs $25 per program 
(Maximum 30 
participants) 
$25 facility fee (If 
applicable) 

Environmental Education 
(Children’s Activities) 

$25 per program 
(Maximum 30 
participants) 
$25 facility fee (If 
applicable) 

3 or More Activities $15 per program 
$25 facility fee (If 
applicable) 

Environmental Education 
(Adult Facilitation) 

$15 per person 

Natural Tunnel: 
Cove Ridge 

Field Trips Per program charge 
with use of center; 
chairlift passes, if 
required for 
program, included 
in cost 
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Hungry Mother/ 
Hemlock Haven 

Junior Naturalist Program $4.00 per person per 
week 
$12 unlimited 
participation in 
interpretive season 

Birding Program (Hawk 
observatory/bird banding 
station) 

$4.00 per person Kiptopeke 

Birding Program (Group 
Rates) 

$35 (Corporate) 
$25 (Nonprofit) 

Guided Adventure 
Programs 

$4.00 per person 
$40 per group 
(Minimum 12 
persons) 

York River 

York River Children’s 
Programs  
 
 
"Nature Party": Nature 
Themed Birthday Party for 
Children 

$2.00 per person, 
single program 
$10 unlimited 
participation 
throughout 
Interpretive Season 

$10 per person 
 

Westmoreland Guided Program Fee $25 per person 
Junior Ranger Program 
(Includes T-Shirt) 

$35 per person 

Standard Wagon Ride 
Program 

$50 Exclusive 
Group Reservation 

Ranger Led Programs – 
Groups 

$3.00 per person 

Hay Wagon and Hot Dog 
Roast $10 per person 

Bike Tours - 2 hours $10 per person 
Extended Bike Tours - 4 
hours $15 per person 

Canoe and Bike Tour - 4 
hours $20 per person 

Halloween Haunted 
House/Hay Wagon Ride $5.00 per person 

Mason Neck, 
Natural Tunnel 

Canoe/Hay Wagon Ride $12 (Age 3 through 
12) 
$15 (Age 13 and 
over) 

Field Archaeology 
Workshop $25 per person Holliday Lake 

Junior Ranger Program (3 
half-day workshop) (Ages 
6 to 13) 

$25 per child 

False Cape Wildlife Watch Tour – Per 
Person $6.00 per person 

Junior Ranger Program $4.00 per session 
Interpretive Craft $2.00 per person 
Down A Lazy River 
Guided Canoe Trip 

$6.00 per child 
$8.00 per adult 

Staunton River 

Hayride $1.00 per person 

Fall Friends $5.00 per person per 
class 
$25 per person for 
all classes 

Junior Ranger Program $25 per person 

First Landing 

Kritter Kids $25 per person 
Bear Creek 
Lake 

Interpretive bike tours $3.00 per person 

Junior Ranger Program $25 $35 per person 
Halloween Haunted Hike $2.00 per person 

$5.00 $6.00 per 
group (4 person 
maximum) 

Interpretive Programs $2.00 per person 

Leesylvania 

Kids Fishing Tournament $2.00 per child 
Pannel Cave Tour $10 per person 

$7.00 per person 
(Family-Group; 8-
person minimum) 

Bolling Cave Tours $15 per person 
$12 per person 
(Family-Group; 8-
person minimum) 

Natural Tunnel

Stock Creek Tunnel Tour $5.00 per person 
Westmoreland Orienteering Program $3.00 per person 

$25 per group (20 
maximum) 

New River Trail Seniors 
Van Tour Full Day $25 per person New River Trail

New River Trail Seniors 
Van Tour Half Day $15 per person 

James River Haunted Wagon Ride $5.00 per person 
(Age 7 and over) 
Children 6 and 
under free 

Notes on interpretive and educational tours and programs: 

Additional costs for supplies and materials may apply. 

4 VAC 5-36-170. Hunting fees. 

HUNTING (NONTAXABLE) 
 

Hunting: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 
(Does not apply to open hunting 
areas at Fairy Stone, Hungry 
Mother, Grayson Highlands, 
Occoneechee, and Pocahontas) 

FEE 

Standard Daily Hunting Fee for 
reservation-type managed 
hunts (No separate application 
fee required). 

$15 per hunter per day 

Standard Daily Hunting Fee for 
lottery-type managed hunts 
(Paid in addition to any 
applicable application fee). 

$10 per hunter per day 
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Lottery Hunt Application Fee $5.00 per application 

Chippokes Plantation: Southern 
Heritage Deer Hunt 

$325 per adult, or youth 16 
through 17 with a separate 
stand 

$200 per youth ages 12 through 
17, requires shared stand with 
a paying adult 

$50 per nonhunting companion 

Notes on hunting fees: 

At parks where there is a "standby" process, no additional 
daily fee for that hunting season shall be charged if the 
hunter has already paid at least one previous daily hunting 
fee for that park's hunting season. 

4 VAC 5-36-200. Miscellaneous rental fees. 

RENTALS (TAXABLE; Price here does not include tax) 

Bike Rentals (includes helmet) FEE 
All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted  

$3.00 per hour 
$8.00 per half-day
$15 per full-day 

Claytor Lake $4.00 per hour 
$25 per day 

New River Trail, James River $5.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$18 per day 

First Landing $5.00 per hour 
$16 per day 

Bike Helmet without bike rental $1.00 
Child Cart for bike $5.00 
Boat Rentals 
Standard Paddle Boat Rental: 

All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted  

$4.00 per half-
hour 
$6.00 per hour 

Smith Mountain Lake: Paddleboat $10 per half-hour
$15 per one hour 
$60 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for 
each day after 
first day 

Standard Canoe Rental: 
All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$8.00 per hour 
$15 per half-day 
$25 per full-day 
$40 for 24 hours 
$100 per week 

Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half-
hour 
$12 per one hour 
$60 for 24 hours 
$30 additional for 
each day after 
first day 

Claytor Lake $8 per hour 
$25 per half-day 
$40 per day 
$50 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake, Leesylvania, Mason Neck $12 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 
$60 per 24 hours 

James River $10 per hour 
(does not include 
shuttle) 
$40 per day (does 
not include 
shuttle) 
$120 per week 
(does not include 
shuttle) 
$12 per half hour 
past return time 

Standard Float Trips: 
Shenandoah River $5.00 per person 
James River 

Bent Creek to Canoe Landing: 
Canoe $45 Max 3 people 
Single Kayak $35 per kayak 
Double Kayak $45 per kayak 

Canoe Landing to Dixon Landing: 
Tubes $10 per tube 

Group of four or more $8.00 per tube 
Canoe $15 per canoe 
Single Kayak $15 per kayak 
Double Kayak $15 per kayak 

Bent Creek to Dixon Landing: 
Canoe $50 per canoe 
Single Kayak $40 per kayak 
Double Kayak $50 per kayak 

Shuttle Service Only: 
Bent Creek Shuttle $5.00 per boat 

(canoe/kayak) 
$5.00 per person 

Tubes $5.00 per 
person/Bent 
Creek Shuttle 
$2.00 between 
landings in park 

Late Fee $12 per half hour 
past return time 

New River Trail $7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 
$35 per half-day, 
includes canoe 
rental and shuttle 
$50 per full day, 
includes canoe 
rental and shuttle 
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Canoe Rental (includes shuttle) 
Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $35 per canoe 
Trip B: Ivanhoe to Austinville $45 per canoe 
Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $50 per canoe 
Trip D: Foster Falls to Route 100 $45 per canoe 
Trip E: Route 100 to Allisonia $50 per canoe 
Trip F: Foster Falls to Allisonia $55 per canoe 

Kayak Rental (includes shuttle) 
Trip A: Austinville to Foster Falls $25 per kayak 
Trip B: Ivanhoe to Austinville $35 per kayak 
Trip C: Ivanhoe to Foster Falls $40 per kayak 
Trip D: Foster Falls to Route 100 $35 per kayak 
Trip E: Route 100 to Allisonia $40 per kayak 
Trip F: Foster Falls to Allisonia $45 per kayak 

Standard Rowboat Rental, without motor: 
All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted 

$6.00 per hour 
$12 per half-day 
$22 per full-day 
$36 per 24 hours 
$80 per week 

Hungry Mother: Rowboats $4.00 per hour 
$15 per day 
$40 per week 

New River Trail: Rafts and flat-bottom 
boats 

$7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Standard Rowboat Rental with electric motor 
and battery: All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted 

$10 per hour 
$20 per 4 hours 
$36 per day 
$100 per 4 days 
$150 per week 

Standard Motorboat Rental, 16-foot console 
steering, 25-45 horsepower outboard. All 
parks where available. 

$18 per hour 
$90 per day 

Standard Fishing Boat Rental with gasoline 
motor and one tank of fuel: All parks where 
available. 

$10 per hour (2-
hour minimum) 
$50 per day 

Pedal Craft Rental: (Hydro-Bike, Surf-Bike, etc.) All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

One person. $6.00 per hour 
Two person. $8.00 per hour 
Smith Mountain Lake: Hydro Bike  $8.00 per half 

hour 
$12 per hour 
$4.00 additional 
per hour after first 
hour 
$60 per 24 hours 
$30 additional per 
day after first day 

Barracuda Boat. All parks where 
available 

$10 per hour 

Solo Kayak Rental: 

All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted  

$8.00 per hour 
$15 per half-day 
$25 per full-day 
$40 for 24 hours 
$100 per week 

Smith Mountain Lake $8.00 per half 
hour 
$12 per hour 
$60 per 24 hours 
$30 additional per 
day after first day 

Claytor Lake, Mason Neck $10 per hour 
$35 per half-day 
$50 per day 
$60 per 24 hours 

New River Trail $7.00 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per day 

James River $7.00 per hour 
(does not include 
shuttle) 
$20 per day (does 
not include 
shuttle) 
$80 per week 
(does not include 
shuttle) 
$12 per half hour 
past return time 

Tandem Kayak Rental: 
All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$10 per hour 
$20 per half-day 
$30 per full-day 
$45 for 24 hours 
$120 per week 

James River $10 per hour 
(does not include 
shuttle) 
$35 per day (does 
not include 
shuttle) 
$120 per week 
(does not include 
shuttle) 
$12 per half hour 
past return time 

Smith Mountain Lake: 14-foot fishing boat 
with 5 hp (3 person capacity). Rental does not 
include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $200 
required. 

$50 for 3-hours 
$10 additional per 
hour after first 3 
hours 
$150 for 24 hours
$30 additional per 
day after first day 

Claytor Lake: 14-foot Jon boat with 8 hp 
motor 
Damage deposit of $40 required 

$15 per hour 
$45 per half-day 
$65 per day 
$78 per 24 hours 
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Claytor Lake: 14.5-foot fishing boat with 9.9 
hp motor 
Damage deposit of $40 required 

$17 per hour 
$50 per half-day 
$75 per day 
$90 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake: 14-foot v-hull boat with 25 hp 
motor 
Damage deposit of $75 required 

$25 per hour 
$65 per half-day 
$100 per day 
$120 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake: 17-foot v-hull with 140 hp 
motor 
Damage deposit of $150 required 

$45 per hour 
$110 per half-day
$175 per day 
$210 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake: 21" 21-foot pontoon boat with 
50 hp motor. 
Damage deposit of $150 required 

$45 per hour 
$110 per half-day
$175 per day 
$210 per 24 hours 

Claytor Lake: 20" 20-foot bowrider. 
Damage deposit of $150 required 

$60 per hour 
$135 per half day
$210 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water Sports Package $45 (Age 16 and 
over) 
$35 (Age 15 and 
under) 

Claytor Lake: Water Sports Pontoon and 
Equipment Package: Includes 24-foot pontoon 
boat, 2 kayaks, tubing, and ski vests. 

$300 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water Sports Speed Boat and 
Equipment Package: Includes 17-foot 
bowrider, water skis, kneeboard, towrope, ski 
ropes, and ski vests. 

$250 per day 

Occoneechee: 17-1/2' 17-1/2-foot fishing boat. 
Rental includes 30 gallons of fuel. 
Damage deposit of $200 required 

$85 per hour 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 
hour 
$175 per 8 hours 
$875 per 7 day 
week 

Occoneechee: 20'- 20-foot pontoon boat with 
motor (8 person capacity) Rental includes 30 
gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 
required. 

$85 per hour 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 
hour 
$175 per 8 hours 
$875 per 7 day 
week 

Occoneechee: 22' 22-foot pontoon boat with 
motor (10 person capacity) Rental includes 30 
gallons of fuel. Damage deposit of $200 
required. 

$95 per hour 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 
hour 
$185 per 8 hours 
$925 per 7 day 
week 

Smith Mountain Lake: 18-20-foot Runabout 
with 190 hp (8 person capacity). Rental does 
not include fuel and oil. Damage deposit of 
$200 required. 

$150 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 3 
hours 
$240 per 8 hours 
$305 for 24 hours
$100 additional 
per day after first 
day 

Claytor Lake: 18-foot pontoon boat (7 person 
capacity) 
Damage deposit of $100 required 

$35 per hour 
$90 $95 per 4 
hours 
$150 $160 per 8 
hours 
$180 $192 per 24 
hours 

Claytor Lake: 22-foot pontoon boat (11 
person capacity) 
Damage deposit of $150 required 

$55 per hour 
$125 per 4 hours 
$200 per 8 hours 
$240 per 24 hours 

Smith Mountain Lake: 24-foot pontoon boat 
with 40 hp (10-12 person capacity). 

$80 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 3 
hours 
$160 per 8 hours 
$200 for 24 hours
$80 additional 
each day after 
first day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Watercraft 
(Waverunner 700). Rental does not include 
fuel and oil. Damage deposit of $500 required. 

$150 for 3 hours 
$20 additional per 
hour after first 3 
hours 
$240 per 8 hours 
$305 for 24 hours
$100 additional 
per day after first 
day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat less than 25 horsepower 
(6 gallons of fuel included, 2 hour minimum) 

$15 per hour 
$90 per day 

Belle Isle: Motorboat 25-49 horsepower (11 
gallons of fuel included, 2 hour minimum) 

$22 per hour 
$110 per day 

Standard Damage/Replacement Fees: All 
parks where available unless otherwise noted. 
Not required for damage due to normal wear 
and tear. 

 

Paddle $20 
Anchor/Rope $40 
Fuel Tank/Hose $60 
Fire Extinguisher $25 
Throw Cushion $10 
Propeller (small) $100 
Propeller (large) $135 

Other Rentals: 
Personal Flotation Device (PFD): When 
separate from boat rental. 

$1.00 per day 
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Smith Mountain Lake, James River: Personal 
Floatation Device, type II. 

$5.00 for first day
$1.00 additional 
days 

Smith Mountain Lake: Personal Floatation 
Device, type III 

$7.00 for first day
$2.00 additional 
days 

Canoe/Kayak Paddles: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$5.00 per day 

New River Trail: Float Tubes $10 per day 
James River: 

Cooler Tubes $3.00 per day 
Seat Backs (kayaks) $3.00 per day 
Tubes $8.00 per hour 

(does not include 
shuttle) 
$20 per day (does 
not include 
shuttle) 
$12 per half hour 
past return time 

Claytor Lake: 2-person tow tube and towrope 
(with rental of boat only) 

$20 per 2 hours 
$25 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Water skis and towrope (with 
rental of boat only) 

$20 per 2 hours 
$25 per half-day 
$30 per day 

Claytor Lake: Kneeboard and towrope (with 
rental of boat only) 

$15 per 2 hours 
$20 per half-day 
$25 per day 

Smith Mountain Lake: Tow tube; Water Skis; 
Knee Board 

$15 per day with 
boat rental 
$25 per day 
without boat 
rental 

Smith Mountain Lake: Wake Board $25 per day with 
boat rental 
$30 per day 
without boat 
rental 

Mobile Pig Cooker: All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$40 per day 

Volleyball Net and Ball Rental: All parks 
where available. 

$10 

Binocular Rentals (2 hours): All parks where 
available. 

$2.00 

Beach Floats: All parks where available. $1.00 per hour 
$3.00 for 4-hours 
$5.00 for full-day 

Surf Lounge Floating Chair Rental. All parks 
where available. 

$2.00 per hour, 
single chair 
$5.00 per half-
day, single chair 
$7.00 per full day, 
single chair 
$3.00 per hour, 
double chair 
$7.00 per half-
day, double chair 
$10 per full day, 
double chair 

Body Board: First Landing $6.00 per day 
Beach Umbrella: All parks where available 
unless otherwise noted. 

$3.00 per hour 
$8.00 for 4 hours 
$15 for full-day 

First Landing $6.00 per day 
Kiptopeke $5.00 per 4 hours

$8.00 per 8 hours 
Beach Chair: All parks where available $5.00 per day 

First Landing $6.00 per day 
Fishing Rods: All parks where available 

unless otherwise noted. 
$5.00 per half-day 

First Landing $6.00 per day 
$3.00 per rod per 
fishing program 

Tents with a group camp reservation. All parks where available. 
2-person tent  $12 per day 
3-person tent $20 per day 
4-person tent $25 per day 
5-person tent $30 per day 

Coin-Operated Washing Machine: All parks 
where available unless otherwise noted. 

$1.00 $1.25 per 
load, tax included 

First Landing $1.25 per load, 
tax included 

Coin Operated Dryer: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$0.75 $1.25 per 
load, tax included 

First Landing $0.25 per 15 
minutes (large), 
tax included 
$1.25 per 45 
minutes (small), 
tax included 

6-Foot Table (Includes 6 chairs) 
Additional chairs: 

$10 $20 per rental 
period 
$2.50 $3.00 each 
per rental period 

Pump Out: All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$5.00 

Horse Rentals: 
All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$20 per one-hour 
ride 
$40 per two-hour 
ride 
$100 per full day 
ride 
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Sky Meadows $30 per one-hour 
ride 
$55 per two-hour 
ride 
$45 per 1.5-hour 
theme ride 
$10 pony rides, 
includes photo 
$250 per week, 
day camp (10% 
family discount) 

Pony Rides: All parks where available unless 
otherwise noted. 

$5.00 per 15 
minutes 

Horseback Riding Lessons: All parks where 
available unless otherwise noted. 

$25 per lesson on 
group basis 
$30 per lesson for 
individual 

Horseback Summer Day Camp: All parks 
where available unless otherwise noted. 

$180 per person 
per week 

Horseshoe or Croquet Rental for Campers. All 
parks where available. 

$1.00 per hour 
$5.00 per day 
$20 deposit 

4 VAC 5-36-210. Conference center fees. 

CONFERENCE CENTERS (TAXABLE) 

Prices may be discounted and/or 
waived by the director when 
necessary to create competitive 
bids for group sales. 

FEE 

Hemlock Haven Conference Center at Hungry Mother 
Main Hall (Capacity: 375) $250 per day 
Upper Level (Capacity: 50) $150 per day 
Redbud Room: (Capacity 35) $50 per day 
Laurel Room (Capacity: 20) $35 per day 
Entire Meeting Room 
Complex 

$400 per day 

Day Use Recreational Package (Includes all outside 
recreational facilities) 

0 – 250 Persons $250 per half-day 
$500 per full-day 

250 – 500 Persons $375 per half-day 
$750 per full-day 

500 + persons $500 per half-day 
$1,000 per full-day 

Cedar Crest Conference Center at Twin Lakes 
Complex: Doswell Hall with 
deck, grounds, volleyball, 
horseshoes; Kitchen, Latham 
and Hurt Rooms NOT 
included. 

$218 per 4 hours 
$437 per day 
$50 each extra hour 

Doswell Meeting Room: 
Meeting Room Only; no 
kitchen or dining room. 

$156 per room per 4 hours 
$312 per room per day 
$35 each extra hour 

Small breakout rooms with 
main room: Latham and Hurt. 

$62 per room per 4 hours 
$125 per room per day 
$20 each extra hour 

Small breakout rooms without 
main room. 

$93 per room per 4 hours 
$187 per room per day 
$35 each extra hour 

Picnic Shelter or Gazebo at 
Cedar Crest. 

$65 per 4 hours 
$125 per day 
$10 each extra hour 

Kitchen rental Only available 
with complex rental. 

$100 per event 

Kitchen Cleaning Fee: 
Deposit. 

$150 per event 

Chippokes Plantation Meeting, Conference, and Special Use 
Facilities 

Mansion Conference Room. $25 per hour 
Mansion or Historic Area 
Grounds (Includes parking for 
party rental). 

$500 per 4 hours 

Mansion Board Room $100 per 4 hours 
Program Options: Wagon Tour 
(24 Maximum). 

$48 

Program Options: Canoe Tour: 
Approx. 2 hours (12-person 
minimum; 22-person 
maximum). 

$48 

Chippokes Plantation 
Conference Shelter (Available 
on reservation basis only). 

$100 per 4 hours 

Wedding Package (includes 
historic area grounds, gardens, 
tent set up and take down, 10 
60-inch round tables, 10 
standard size rectangle tables, 
100 folding chairs, Wedding 
Coordinator, changing room 
for bride and groom, Mansion 
kitchen area, boardroom, no 
fee for wedding rehearsal). 

$995 $1,345 per 4 hours 
$1,625 $1,975 per 8 hours 
$50 nonrefundable reservation 
fee 

Southwest Virginia Museum – 
Victorian Parlor Room Rental 
(Based on 4-hour rental) 

DAY EVENING 

Option #1: Victorian 
Parlor – Basic Room 
Package (Includes 
tables with linen and 
chairs) 

Up to 22 People (6 
tables – 22 chairs) 

$30 $55 

23 to 30 People (8 
tables – 30 chairs) OR 
Up to 50 people (50 
chairs and head table) 

$40 $65 
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Option #2: Victorian 
Parlor – Executive 
Room Package 
(Includes tables with 
linen and chairs, water 
pitcher with glasses, 
coffeepot with cups 
(coffee not included), 
AV equipment, and 
presentation aids) 

Up to 22 People (6 
tables – 22 chairs) 

$50 $75 

23 to 30 People (8 
tables – 30 chairs) OR 
Up to 50 people (50 
chairs and head table) 

$65 $90 

Option #3: Additional 
meeting rooms: 
Victorian Parlor must 
be rented in order to 
rent additional rooms.  

Hallway (downstairs) 
(Includes two existing 
tables with linens) 

$10 $10 

Each Additional Table 
with Linens 

$10 $10 

Small Parlor: AV room 
or Big Stone Gap Photo 
room (Includes 1 table 
with linens and 6-8 
chairs) 

$30 $30 

Big Stone Gap 
Development Room 
(Includes 1 table with 
linens and 6-8 chairs) 

$40 $40 

Additional Hours $5.00 per 
hour 

$5.00 per hour 

Wedding Portraits $50 per 2 
hours 

$75 per 2 hours 

Wilderness Road (Mansion and Ground Rental) 
Mansion or Lawn: separately $60 for 4 hours 
Mansion and Lawn: combined $100 for 4 hours 
Additional hours beyond 
scheduled operating hours 

$10 per hour 

Cove Ridge Center at Natural 
Tunnel:  

PRIVATE 
FEE 

EDUCATIONA
L FEE 

Cove Ridge Center Annual 
Membership: Membership 
entitles organization to a 
25% discount on facility 
rental fees and group rates 
on all programming offered 
through the center. 

$1,000 per 
year 

$500 per year 

Day Use: Exclusive use of the 
auditorium, meeting room, 
resource library, catering 
kitchen, great room with stone 
fireplace and deck for two 
consecutive half-day rental 
periods, and parking passes. 

$300 $200 

Exclusive Overnight Use of 
one dorm: Entire center 
auditorium, classrooms, 
catering kitchen, resource 
library, deck, great room with 
stone fireplace, dorm, 
swimming (in-season), use of 
conference AV equipment, 
guest information and 
hospitality packet, parking 
passes. Includes Day Use 
Package plus one dorm rooms 
for one night and swimming 
(in season). 

$600 $650 
per night 

$400 $475 per 
night 

Exclusive Overnight Use of 
both dorms: Entire center 
auditorium, classrooms, 
catering kitchen, resource 
library, deck, great room with 
stone fireplace, dorms, 
swimming (in-season), use of 
conference AV equipment, 
guest information and 
hospitality packet, parking 
passes. Includes Day Use 
Package plus two dorm rooms 
for one night and swimming 
(in season). 

$800 $850 
per night 

$600 $625 per 
night 

Exclusive Day Use: Same as 
above excluding dorm(s) 

$300 per 
day 

$200 per day 

Wedding Package Day Use: 
Includes exclusive use of the 
center for three consecutive 
rental periods. Exclusive use 
of the auditorium, meeting 
room, resource library, 
catering kitchen, great room 
with stone fireplace and deck 
for three consecutive half-day 
rental periods, and parking 
passes. 

$450 $500 NA 

Wedding Package Overnight: 
Includes Day Use Package 
plus one dorm for one night 
and swimming (in season). 

$850 $875 NA 

Wedding Package Overnight: 
Includes Day Use Package 
plus both dorms for one night 
and swimming (in season). 

$950 
$1,050 

NA 
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Wedding Package with 
Amphitheater: Rental of the 
park amphitheater in 
conjunction with any of the 
above wedding packages. 

$225 for 
the rental 
period 

NA 

Removal of furniture from 
great room (only available 
with exclusive use of the 
center). 

$40 $40 

Additional seating on deck 
(only available with exclusive 
use of the center). 

$40 $0 

Auditorium (half-day) $110 $120 
per half 
day 
$220 per 
full day 

$80 $95 per half 
day 
$175 per full day 

Classroom – Library (half-day) $60 $30 
Dorm (Only) nightly One 
dorm: Overnight lodging for 
up to 30, includes swimming 
(in season) and parking passes. 

$400 per 
night 
April 1-
October 31 
$360 per 
night 
November 
1-March 
31 

$300 per night 
April 1-October 
31 
$270 per night 
November 1-
March 31 

Both Dorms (Only) Nightly: 
Overnight lodging for up to 
60, includes swimming (in 
season) and parking passes. 

$500 $600 
per night 
April 1-
October 31 
 
$540 per 
night 
November 
1-March 
31 

$400 $450 per 
night April 1-
October 31 
 
$405 per night 
November 1-
March 31 

Per Person Student Rate for 
Overnight Dorm Use 

$12.50 per 
person 

$12.50 per 
person 

Kitchen Use (when not 
included in package) 

$25 per 
event 

$25 per event 

Heritage Center at Pocahontas: 
All reservations require 50% 
down at time of reservation 
(Nonrefundable within 14 days of 
event) 

PRIVATE 
FEE 

EDUCATIONA
L FEE 

Large Room (Capacity: seated 
at tables 50; reception style 
125, auditorium 80: includes 
tables, chairs and warming 
kitchen) 

$125 per 4 
hours 
$225 per 
full-day 
$25 each 
extra hour 

$75 per 4 hours 
$135 per full-
day 
$15 each extra 
hour 

Refundable damage deposit in 
the form of a check made out 
to: Treasurer of Virginia prior 
to occupancy. 

$100 $100 

Westmoreland FEE 
Meeting and Events Facility 
Tayloe and Helen Murphy 
Hall Meeting Facility 

$125 (Up to 6 hours) 
$225 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

Wedding Package - Includes 
half-day rental for wedding 
rehearsal, and a full-day rental 
for wedding/reception 

$300 

Potomac River Retreat: Table 
and Chair Set-up 

$40 

Fairy Stone 
Fayerdale Hall Meeting 
Facility 

$225 (8 a.m. to 10 p.m.) 

Wedding Package - Includes 
full-day rental for wedding 
rehearsal, and a full-day rental 
for wedding/reception. 

$300 

Douthat 
Restaurant (includes table 
set-up) 

$225 

Allegheny Room: Up to 30 
persons. 

$150 per day 

Wedding Package: Conference 
room and amphitheater (see 
“amphitheater section”) on day 
of wedding, plus an extra half-
day amphitheater for rehearsal. 

$275 

First Landing 
Trail Center Conference Room 
(Capacity: 45) 

$40 per half-day 
$60 per full-day 

Lake Anna 
Visitor Center $30 per half-day 

$50 per full day 
Bear Creek Lake  

Meeting facility $225 per day 
$125 per four hours 
$25 each extra hour 

Wedding Package $300 per day 
 

Claytor Lake  
Marina Meeting Facility $350 per day 

 
Wedding Package: Includes 
rental of facility for two 
consecutive days (8 a.m. to 10 
p.m.), chairs and tables.  
Linens are not included in the 
rental package. 

$650 

Meeting Package: Includes 
rental of facility for three 
consecutive days (8 a.m. to 10 
p.m.), all usage of audiovisual 
equipment.  Linens are not 
included in the rental package. 

$950 
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Leesylvania Wedding/Function 
Package: Includes Rental of: 
Lee's Landing Picnic Shelter, 100 
Chairs, 15 Tables, and Parking 
for up to 50 vehicles 

$800 per half-day 
$900 per full-day 

Mason Neck 
Wedding Package: 20 foot by 
40 foot tent, 100 chairs, 
parking for up to 50 cars  

$750 per event 

Parking Attendant $50 per 4 hours 
Smith Mountain Lake 

Meeting room at Visitor 
Center 

$150 per day 

Exceeding approved hours. All 
parks unless otherwise noted 
below. 

$20 per hour 

Equipment and Services Associated with Meetings and Rentals: 
Microphone/Podium Rental $15 per day 

Linen Rentals: 
Table cloth only 
Place settings 

$3.00 per table 
$2.00 each 

Twin Lakes 
Overlay $1.25 per table 
Napkins $0.40 per napkin 

Fax First 2 pages free 
$2.00 each extra page 

Copies Single copy free 
$0.15 each extra copy 

Lost Key Fee $10 
Easels $5.00 per day 
Overhead Projector $10 per day 
TV with VCR $10 
Second TV $10 
Overhead Projector with 
Screen 

$10 

Slide Projector with Screen $10 
Flip Chart $10 

Notes on conference and meeting facilities fees: 

Conference and meeting facilities require a 30% 
prepayment due 10 days after making reservation, and 
payment of the full balance prior to or on the first day of 
the reservation. Cancellations made 14 or more days prior 
to the first day of the reservation shall be charged the lesser 
of 10% of the total fee or $100. Cancellations made less 
that 14 days prior to the first date of the reservation shall be 
charged 30% of the total fee. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-34; Filed November 8, 2006, 8:23 a.m. 

 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR’S NOTICE:  The following regulation filed by 
the Marine Resources Commission is exempt from the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 
12 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 
required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4 VAC 20-910. Pertaining to Scup 
(Porgy) (amending 4 VAC 20-910-45). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 1, 2006. 

Agency Contact: Brandy L. Battle, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
3rd Floor, Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-
2248, FAX (757) 247-2002 or email 
brandy.battle@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment increases the commercial possession limit 
for scup from 3,000 pounds to 6,500 pounds from 
November 1 through December 31 of each year. 

4 VAC 20-910-45. Possession limits and harvest quotas. 

A. During the period January 1 through April 30 of each year, 
it shall be unlawful for any person to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia more than 30,000 
pounds of scup. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 30,000 pounds of 
scup during each consecutive 14-day landing period, with 
the first 14-day period beginning on January 2. 

B. When it is projected and announced that 80% of the 
coastwide quota for this period has been attained, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to possess aboard any vessel or to 
land in Virginia more than a total of 1,000 pounds of scup. 

C. During the period November 1 through December 31 of 
each year, it shall be unlawful for any person to possess 
aboard any vessel or to land in Virginia more 3,000 6,500 
pounds of scup. 

D. During the period May 1 through October 31 of each year, 
the commercial harvest and landing of scup in Virginia shall 
be limited to 7,862 pounds. 

E. For each of the time periods set forth in this section, the 
Marine Resources Commission will give timely notice to the 
industry of calculated poundage possession limits and quotas 
and any adjustments thereto. It shall be unlawful for any 
person to possess or to land any scup for commercial 
purposes after any winter period coastwide quota or summer 
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period Virginia quota has been attained and announced as 
such. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive any 
scup after any commercial harvest or landing quota has been 
attained and announced as such. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 
line, rod and reel, spear, gig or other recreational gear to 
possess more than 50 scup. When fishing is from a boat or 
vessel where the entire catch is held in a common hold or 
container, the possession limit shall be for the boat or vessel 
and shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally 
eligible to fish multiplied by 50. The captain or operator of 
the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel 
possession limit. Any scup taken after the possession limit 
has been reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-30; Filed November 1, 2006, 11:11 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  9 VAC 25-720. Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (amending 9 VAC 25-
720-70). 

Statutory Authority:  § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 33 
USC 1313(e) of the Clean Air Act. 

Public Hearing Date:  January 4, 2007 - 1 p.m. 
Public comments may be submitted until 5 p.m. on January 
26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 26, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  John M. Kennedy, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4312, or email 
jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  The scope and purpose of the State Water Control 
Law is to protect and to restore the quality of state waters, to 
safeguard the clean waters from pollution, to prevent and to 
reduce pollution and to promote water conservation.  The 
State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.15(10) of the Code of 
Virginia) mandates the board to adopt such regulations as it 
deems necessary to enforce the general water quality 
management program of the board in all or part of the 
Commonwealth.   In addition, § 62.1-44.15(14) of the Code 
of Virginia requires the board to establish requirements for 
the treatment of sewage, industrial wastes and other wastes 
that are consistent with the purposes of this chapter.  The 

specific effluent limits needed to meet the water quality goals 
are discretionary. 

The correlation between the proposed regulatory action and 
the legal authority identified above is that the amendments 
being considered are modifications of the current 
requirements for the treatment of wastewater that will 
contribute to the attainment of the Virginia Water Quality 
Standards. 

Purpose:  The purpose of this rulemaking is to amend the 
total nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load allocations for 
the Fredericksburg Wastewater Treatment Facility, reflecting 
use of an updated design flow figure in the underlying 
calculation of these allocations.  It is the responsibility of the 
board to protect state waters by adopting regulations that are 
technically correct, necessary and reasonable.  The effect of 
this regulatory action is to establish permit limitations for two 
nutrients – total nitrogen and total phosphorus - for certain 
dischargers within Virginia's portion of the Chesapeake Bay 
watershed.  Resulting permit limitations will be expressed 
principally as annual waste load allocations, and also as 
technology-based annual average concentrations where 
appropriate and authorized.  These actions are needed because 
nutrients discharged from wastewater treatment plants 
contribute to the overall, excessive loading of nitrogen and 
phosphorus to the Bay and its tributaries.  These nutrients 
have been identified as pollutants contributing to adverse 
impacts on large portions of the Bay and its tidal rivers, 
which are included in the list of impaired waters required 
under § 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:5 of 
the Code of Virginia.  Waters not meeting standards will 
require development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL), 
also required under the same sections of federal and state law.  
In May 1999, EPA Region III included most of Virginia's 
portion of the Bay and extensive sections of several tidal 
tributaries on Virginia's impaired waters list.  The 
Chesapeake 2000 Agreement commits Virginia to the goal of 
removing the Bay and its tidal tributaries from the list of 
impaired waters by 2010.  Thus, the development of a TMDL 
for the entire Bay is not being scheduled until 2010, 
anticipating that the Chesapeake Bay Program partners can 
cooperatively achieve water quality standards by that time 
making a Baywide TMDL unnecessary.  These regulatory 
actions will help to meet the goals of the Chesapeake 2000 
Agreement. 

Achievement of the point source effluent limitations governed 
by the proposed amendments will aid in compliance with 
Virginia’s new tidal water quality standards and are 
reasonably expected to contribute to the attainment or 
maintenance of such water quality. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  The proposed 
amendments are expected to be noncontroversial, and 
therefore justify using the fast-track process.  The total 
nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load allocations assigned 
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to significant dischargers under the amendments to 9 VAC 
25-720 adopted by the board in 2005 used a consistent 
approach of coupling full design flow with stringent nutrient 
reduction technology.  In the case of Fredericksburg WWTF, 
the physical capacity to treat 4.5 MGD has been in place 
since an upgrade project was completed in 1994, and it only 
remained for the VPDES permit to authorize this design flow 
so it could be used in the calculation of nutrient waste load 
allocations.  That authorization was given by DEQ in 
December 2005 with a reissued Discharge Monitoring Report 
form, and use of this updated design flow figure will make 
the basis for Fredericksburg’s nutrient waste load allocations 
consistent with the other significant dischargers affected by 
9 VAC 25-720. 

Substance:  In 9 VAC 25-720-70 C, for the Fredericksburg 
WWTF (VA0025127), revise the total nitrogen (TN) waste 
load allocation figure from 42,638 to 54,820 pounds per year, 
and the total phosphorus (TP) waste load allocation figure 
from 3,198 to 4,112 pounds per year.  Also revise the total 
basin TN waste load allocation figure from 602,062 to 
614,245 pounds per year, and the total basin TP waste load 
allocation figure from 45,155 to 46,068 pounds per year. 

Issues:  The public will benefit, as these amendments will 
result in the discharge of reduced amounts of nitrogen and 
phosphorus in the Chesapeake Bay watershed.  This, in turn, 
will aid in water quality restoration in the Bay and its 
tributary rivers, and assist in meeting the water quality 
standards necessary for protection of the living resources that 
inhabit the Bay.  The City of Fredericksburg will benefit, 
being able to fully utilize the investment made in treatment 
capacity for the 1994 upgrade project, and making the basis 
for the facility’s nutrient waste load allocations consistent 
with the other significant dischargers affected by 9 VAC 25-
720.  There is no disadvantage to the agency or the 
Commonwealth that will result from the adoption of these 
amendments. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the proposed regulation.  The State Water 
Control Board (the board) proposes to revise the nutrient 
waste load allocations for the Fredericksburg Wastewater 
Treatment Facility (WWTF) in the existing Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (9 VAC 25-720). The 
revised nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations will 
reflect the facility’s current design flow capacity of 4.5 
millions gallons per day (MGD).  

Results of Analysis.  There is insufficient data to accurately 
compare the magnitude of the benefits versus the costs.  
Detailed analysis of the benefits and costs can be found in the 
next section. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  The existing Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation (9 VAC 25-720), which 

was amended in November 2005,  has listed nutrient waste 
load allocations for significant dischargers in several 
Chesapeake Bay river basins in order to restore the 
Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers.  The nutrient waste load 
allocations are calculated based on a combination of stringent 
treatment technology (concentration-based performance) and 
each facility’s design flow, which is defined as the capacity 
authorized by the VPDES1 permit and certified for operation 
under the Sewage Collection and Treatment Regulations 
(9 VAC 25-790-50). The Watershed General Permit 
Regulation2 (WGPR) now under development proposes that 
compliance with the waste load allocations shall be achieved 
as soon as possible after the effective date of the WGPR 
regulation, but no later than January 1, 2011.  

Fredericksburg WWTF, which is one of the significant 
dischargers to the Rappahannock river basin, completed an 
upgrade in 1994. A Certificate to Operate was issued for a 4.5 
MGD capacity of sewage treatment, but the facility was 
authorized by the VPDES permit to discharge at a design 
flow capacity of 3.5 MGD.  Therefore, the nutrient waste load 
allocations for Fredericksburg WWTF in the existing Water 
Quality Management Planning Regulation is based on a 
design flow capacity of 3.5 MGD, which are 42,638 lbs/year 
for nitrogen and 3,198 lbs/year for phosphorus.  Subsequent 
re-issuance of the VPDES permit authorized the discharge of 
4.5 MGD, but only after repeal of the 208 Water Quality 
Management Plan3. In 2003 the 208 Plan was repealed.  Now 
that the Fredericksburg WWTF has a 4.5 MGD design flow 
certified for operation and authorized by the VPDES permit, 
the board proposes to adjust their nutrient waste load 
allocations based on the updated design flow of 4.5 MGD. 
The total nitrogen waste load allocation for Fredericksburg 
WWTF will be increased from 42,638 lbs/year to 54,820 
lbs/year and the total phosphorus waste load allocation will 
be increased from 3,198 lbs/year to 4,112 lbs/year.  

The adjustment of nutrient waste load allocations based on 
the updated design flow will allow the Fredericksburg 
WWTF to make full use of its sewage treatment equipment 
and investments in capacity and will benefit the facility. On 
the other hand, the increase in nitrogen and phosphorus waste 
load allocations for the Fredericksburg WWTF will very 
likely result in less reduction in nitrogen and phosphorus 
discharges and less restoration of water quality in the 
Rappahannock river than the 2005 Water Quality 
Management Planning Regulation amendments could 

                                                           
1 VPDES: Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
2 General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Watershed Permit 
Regulation for Total Nitrogen and Total Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient Trading in 
the Chesapeake Bay Watershed in Virginia (9 VAC 25-820). 
3 In accordance with Section 208 and Section 303(e) of the Clean Water Act, the State 
Water Control Board has developed 18 water quality management plans. Many were 
developed in the 1970s. Although some have been amended and updated to reflect 
current conditions, many have now become outdated.  
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otherwise achieve.4 This may, to some extent, reduce the 
benefit that the 2005 Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation amendments could otherwise provide for public 
health, commercial fisheries, tourism and recreation in the 
Rappahannock river basin. Since the increases in waste load 
allocation, which is 12,182 lbs/year for total nitrogen and 934 
lbs/year for total phosphorus, are about 2% of the total annual 
nutrient waste load allocations for Rappahannock river basin, 
the reduced benefit from the proposed amendment will likely 
be small.  Because the lost benefit from less nutrient 
reductions is not easily quantifiable and the gained benefit for 
Fredericksburg WWTF is not available, it is not known 
whether the net benefit is positive or not.  

Businesses and Entities Affected.  Fredericksburg WWTF 
will benefit from the proposed regulatory change by being 
able to make full use its sewage treatment equipment and 
investments in capacity.  On the other hand, the revised 
nutrient waste load allocations may result in less reduction of 
nitrogen and phosphorus discharges and less improvement of 
water quality in the Rappahannock than the current waste 
load allocations could achieve. This may cause slight benefit 
reduction that the 2005 Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation amendments could otherwise generate for 
businesses and entities involved in industries such as 
commercial fisheries, tourism and recreation, and boat 
building and repair in Rappahannock river. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  The City of Fredericksburg 
will be particularly affected by the proposed regulatory 
changes.  

Projected Impact on Employment.  The adjustment of nutrient 
waste load allocations based on the updated design flow will 
allow the Fredericksburg WWTF to make full use its sewage 
treatment equipment and may increase the number of people 
employed by the facility. On the other hand, the proposed 
regulatory change may have a slight negative effect on the 
employment in industries such as commercial fisheries, 
tourism and recreation, and boat building and repair 
compared with the current waste load allocations. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
revised nutrient waste load allocations will likely result in 
less reduction of nutrients discharges and thus less 
improvement in the Rappahannock river, which may have a 
slight negative impact on the asset value of businesses in 
commercial fisheries, tourism and recreation, boat building 
and repair, as well as the value of residential properties in 
surrounding areas. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
regulation will likely not have any significant direct impact 
on small businesses. However, small businesses involved in 

                                                           
4 According to the Department of Environmental Quality, total nitrogen discharges by 
the Fredericksburg WWTF were 63,830 lbs/year in 2004, before the 2005 adoption of 
the Water Quality Management Planning Regulation amendments. 

commercial fisheries, tourism and recreation, boat building 
and repair may be slightly affected due to less reduction of 
nutrients discharges to the Rappahannock river. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed regulatory change revises the 
nutrient waste load allocations for Fredericksburg WWTF 
based on the facility’s current design flow capacity and may 
slightly affect small businesses involved in commercial 
fisheries, tourism and recreation, boat building and repair in 
the Rappahannock river. There is no alternative that can have 
a smaller adverse impact.  

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The department has 
reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 
Department of Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments revise the total nitrogen and 
total phosphorus waste load allocations for the 
Fredericksburg Wastewater Treatment Facility 
(VA0025127) located in the Rappahannock basin.  At the 
Board’s September 21, 2005, meeting, nutrient waste load 
allocations were adopted for significant dischargers in 
several Chesapeake Bay river basins, including the 
Rappahannock.  The basis for the allocations was a 
combination of each facility’s design flow coupled with 
stringent nutrient reduction treatment.  Design flow was 
defined as the capacity authorized by the VPDES permit 
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and certified for operation by the state under 9 VAC 25-
790-50.  The Fredericksburg WWTF was assigned nutrient 
waste load allocations (WLA) based on these values: 
 

Design 
Flow 

(MGD) 

Annual Avg 
TN 

Concen-
tration 
(mg/L) 

TN WLA 
(lbs/yr) 

Annual Avg 
TP 

Concen-
tration 
(mg/L) 

TP WLA 
(lbs/yr) 

3.50 4.0 42,638 0.3 3,198 

In 1994, Fredericksburg completed an upgrade of their 
wastewater treatment plant that was authorized to 
discharge at a design flow of 3.5 million gallons per day 
(MGD).  A Certificate to Operate was issued that read in 
part, “The project included a 4.5 MGD sewage treatment 
works...”. Subsequent reissuance of the VPDES permit 
authorized the discharge of 4.5 MGD but only after repeal 
of the 208 Water Quality Management Plan, which only 
addressed a 3.5 MGD plant. The 208 Plan was repealed in 
2003.  Since issuance of a revised Discharge Monitoring 
Report form in December 2005, the Fredericksburg WWTF 
has a 4.5 MGD design flow certified for operation and 
authorized by the VPDES permit.  Therefore, nutrient 
waste load allocations for this discharge should be based 
on a design flow of 4.5 MGD, rather than 3.5 MGD, as 
follows: 

 

 

Design 
Flow 
(MGD) 

Annual Avg 
TN 
Concen-
tration 
(mg/L) 

TN WLA 
(lbs/yr) 

Annual Avg 
TP 
Concen-
tration 
(mg/L) 

TP 
WLA 
(lbs/yr) 

4.50 4.0 54,820 0.3 4,112 

9 VAC 25-720-70. Rappahannock River Basin. 

A. Total maximum Daily Load (TMDLs). 

B. Stream segment classifications, effluent limitations 
including water quality based effluent limitations, and waste 
load allocations. 

9 VAC 25-720-70 Rappahannock Area Development 
Commission (RADCO) 208 Area Wide Waste Treatment 
Management Plan And Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin 
303(e) Water Quality Management Plan is included in The 
Potomac River Basin section.  

C. Nitrogen and phosphorus waste load allocations to restore 
the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. 

The following table presents nitrogen and phosphorus waste 
load allocations for the identified significant dischargers and 
the total nitrogen and total phosphorus waste load allocations 
for the listed facilities.  

 

Virginia 
Waterbody ID Discharger Name 

VPDES 
Permit No. 

Total Nitrogen 
(TN) 

Waste Load 
Allocation 

(lbs/yr) 

Total 
Phosphorus 

(TP) 
Waste Load 
Allocation 

(lbs/yr) 
E09R Culpeper WWTP  (1) VA0061590 54,820 4,112 
E02R Marshall WWTP VA0031763 7,797 585 
E09R Mountain Run STP (2) VA0090212 30,456 2,284 
E13R Orange STP VA0021385 36,547 2,741 
E11R Rapidan STP VA0090948 7,309 548 
E02R Remington WWTP (3) VA0076805 30,456 2,284 
E02R Clevengers Corner  STP 

(4) 
VA0080527 10,964 822 

E02R Warrenton Town STP VA0021172 30,456 2,284 
E18R Wilderness WWTP VA0083411 15,228 1,142 
E20E FMC WWTF VA0068110 65,784 4,934 
E20E Fredericksburg WWTF VA0025127 42,638 54,820 3,198 4,112 
E21E Haymount WWTF (5) VA0089125 11,695 877 
E24E Haynesville CC WWTP VA0023469 2,802 210 
E21E Hopyard Farms STP VA0089338 6,091 457 
E20E Little Falls Run WWTF VA0076392 97,458 7,309 
E20E Massaponax WWTF VA0025658 97,458 7,309 
E23R Montross Westmoreland 

WWTP 
VA0072729 1,584 119 

E21E Oakland Park STP VA0086789 1,706 128 
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E23E Tappahannock WWTP VA0071471 9,746 731 
E26E Urbanna WWTP VA0026263 1,218 91 
E21R US Army -Ft. A P Hill 

WWTP 
VA0032034 6,457 484 

E23E Warsaw Aerated Lagoons VA0026891 3,655 274 
C01E Omega Protein - 

Reedville 
VA0003867 21,213 1,591 

C01E Reedville Sanitary District VA0060712 2,436 183 
C01E Kilmarnock WTP VA0020788 6,091 457 

 TOTALS:  602,062 614,245 45,155 46,068 

NOTE: (1) Town of Culpeper WWTP waste load allocations 
(WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 4.5 million 
gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 
4.5 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the 
WLAs will decrease to TN = 36,547 lbs/yr; TP = 2,741 lbs/yr, 
based on a design flow capacity of 3.0 MGD.  

(2) Mountain Run STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based 
on a design flow capacity of 2.5 million gallons per day 
(MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 2.5 MGD design 
flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will decrease 
to TN = 18,273 lbs/yr; TP = 1,371 lbs/yr, based on a design 
flow capacity of 1.5 MGD.  

(3) Fauquier Co. W&SA-Remington STP: waste load 
allocations (WLAs) based on a design flow capacity of 2.5 
million gallons per day (MGD). If plant is not certified to 
operate at 2.5 MGD design flow capacity by December 31, 
2010, the WLAs will decrease to TN = 24,364 lbs/yr; TP = 
1,827 lbs/yr, based on a design flow capacity of 2.0 MGD.  

(4) Clevengers Corner STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) 
based on a design flow capacity of 0.9 million gallons per day 
(MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 0.9 MGD design 
flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will decrease 
to TN = 7,309 lbs/yr; TP = 548 lbs/yr, based on a design flow 
capacity of 0.6 MGD.  

(5) Haymount STP: waste load allocations (WLAs) based on 
a design flow capacity of 0.96 million gallons per day 
(MGD). If plant is not certified to operate at 0.96 MGD 
design flow capacity by December 31, 2010, the WLAs will 
decrease to TN = 7,066 lbs/yr; TP = 530 lbs/yr, based on a 
design flow capacity of 0.58 MGD.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-35; Filed November 7, 2006, 3:57 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE:  The State Board of Health is 
claiming an exclusion from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 
changes in Virginia statutory law where no agency discretion 
is involved.  The State Board of Health will receive, consider 
and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 
with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12 VAC 5-31. Virginia Emergency 
Medical Services Regulations (amending 12 VAC 5-31-10, 
12 VAC 5-31-50, 12 VAC 5-31-60, 12 VAC 5-31-110, 
12 VAC 5-31-140, 12 VAC 5-31-190, 12 VAC 5-31-220 and 
12 VAC 5-31-230; repealing 12 VAC 5-31-200 through 
12 VAC 5-31-2260). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-111.4 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 13, 2006. 

Agency Contact: Michael D. Berg, Manager, Regulation and 
Compliance, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Suite 
UB-55, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7600, 
FAX (804) 864-7580 or email 
michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove regulatory oversight for 
wheelchair interfacility transport agencies in conformance 
with Chapter 788 of the 2005 Acts of Assembly and remove 
early defibrillation service registration requirements in 
conformance with Chapters 632 and 686 of the 2005 Acts 
of Assembly. 

12 VAC 5-31-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise.  
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"Abandonment" means the termination of a health care 
provider-patient relationship without assurance that an equal 
or higher level of care meeting the assessed needs of the 
patient's condition is present and available.  

"Acute" means a medical condition having a rapid onset and a 
short duration.  

"Acute care hospital" means any hospital that provides 
emergency medical services on a 24-hour basis.  

"Administrative Process Act" or "APA" means Chapter 40 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Advanced life support" or "ALS" means the application by 
EMS personnel of invasive and noninvasive medical 
procedures or the administration of medications that is 
authorized by the Office of Emergency Medical Services, or 
both.  

"Advanced life support certification course" means a training 
program that allows a student to become eligible for a new 
ALS certification level. Programs must meet the educational 
requirements established by the Office of EMS as defined by 
the respective advanced life support curriculum. Initial 
certification courses include:  

1. Emergency Medical Technician-Enhanced;  

2. EMT-Enhanced to EMT-Intermediate Bridge;  

3. Emergency Medical Technician-Intermediate;  

4. EMT-Intermediate to EMT-Paramedic Bridge;  

5. Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic;  

6. Registered Nurse to EMT-Paramedic Bridge; and  

7. Other programs approved by the Office of EMS.  

"Advanced life support (ALS) coordinator" means a person 
who has met the criteria established by the Office of EMS to 
assume responsibility for conducting ALS training programs.  

"Advanced life support transport" means the transportation of 
a patient who is receiving ALS level care.  

"Affiliated" means a person who is employed by or a member 
of an EMS agency, early defibrillation service or wheelchair 
interfacility transport service.  

"Air medical specialist" means a person trained in the concept 
of flight physiology and the effects of flight on patients 
through documented completion of a program approved by 
the Office of EMS. This training must include but is not 
limited to aerodynamics, weather, communications, safety 
around aircraft/ambulances, scene safety, landing zone 
operations, flight physiology, equipment/aircraft 
familiarization, basic flight navigation, flight documentation, 
and survival training specific to service area.  

"Ambulance" means (as defined by § 32.1-111.1 of the Code 
of Virginia) any vehicle, vessel or craft that holds a valid 

permit issued by the Office of EMS and that is specially 
constructed, equipped, maintained and operated, and intended 
to be used for emergency medical care and the transportation 
of patients who are sick, injured, wounded, or otherwise 
incapacitated or helpless. The word "ambulance" may not 
appear on any vehicle, vessel or aircraft that does not hold a 
valid EMS vehicle permit.  

"Approved locking device" means a mechanism that prevents 
removal or opening of a medication kit by means other than 
securing the medication kit by the handle only.  

"Assistant director" means the Assistant Director of the 
Office of Emergency Medical Services.  

"Attendant-in-charge" or "AIC" means the certified or 
licensed person who is qualified and designated to be 
primarily responsible for the provision of emergency medical 
care.  

"Attendant" means a certified or licensed person qualified to 
assist in the provision of emergency medical care.  

"Basic life support" or "BLS" means the application by EMS 
personnel of invasive and noninvasive medical procedures or 
administration of medications that is authorized by the Office 
of EMS.  

"BLS certification course" means a training program that 
allows a student to become eligible for a new BLS 
certification level. Programs must meet the educational 
requirements established by the Office of EMS as defined by 
the respective basic life support curriculum. Initial 
certification courses include:  

1. EMS First Responder;  

2. EMS First Responder Bridge to EMT;  

3. Emergency Medical Technician; and  

4. Other programs approved by the Office of EMS.  

"Board" or "state board" means the State Board of Health.  

"Bypass" means to transport a patient past a commonly used 
medical care facility to another hospital for accessing a more 
readily available or appropriate level of medical care.  

"CDC" means the United States Centers for Disease Control 
and Prevention.  

"Certification" means a credential issued by the Office of 
EMS for a specified period of time to a person who has 
successfully completed an approved training program.  

"Certification candidate" means a person seeking EMS 
certification from the Office of EMS.  

"Certification examiner" means an individual designated by 
the Office of EMS to administer a state certification 
examination.  
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"Certification transfer" means the issuance of certification 
through reciprocity, legal recognition, challenge or 
equivalency based on prior training, certification or licensure.  

"Chief executive officer" means the person authorized or 
designated by the agency or service as the highest in 
administrative rank or authority.  

"Chief operations officer" means the person authorized or 
designated by the agency or service as the highest operational 
officer.  

"Commercial mobile radio service" or "CMRS" as defined in 
§§ 3 (27) and 332 (d) of the Federal Telecommunications Act 
of 1996, 47 USC § 151 et seq., and the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1993, Public Law 103-66, 107 USC 
§ 312. It includes the term "wireless" and service provided by 
any wireless real time two-way voice communication device, 
including radio-telephone communications used in cellular 
telephone service or personal communications service (e.g., 
cellular telephone, 800/900 MHz Specialized Mobile Radio, 
Personal Communications Service, etc.).  

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner, the 
commissioner's duly authorized representative, or in the event 
of the commissioner's absence or a vacancy in the office of 
State Health Commissioner, the Acting Commissioner or 
Deputy Commissioner.  

"Course" means a basic or advanced life support training 
program leading to certification or award of continuing 
education credit hours.  

"Critical criteria" means an identified essential element of a 
state practical certification examination that must be properly 
performed to successfully pass the station.  

"Defibrillation" means the discharge of an electrical current 
through a patient's heart for the purpose of restoring a 
perfusing cardiac rhythm. For the purpose of these 
regulations, defibrillation includes cardioversion.  

"Defibrillator - automated external" or "AED" means an 
automatic or semi-automatic device, or both, capable of 
rhythm analysis and defibrillation after electronically 
detecting the presence of ventricular fibrillation and 
ventricular tachycardia, approved by the United States Food 
and Drug Administration.  

"Defibrillator - combination unit" means a single device 
designed to incorporate all of the required capabilities of both 
an Automated External Defibrillator and a Manual 
Defibrillator.  

"Defibrillator - manual" means a monitor/defibrillator that has 
no capability for rhythm analysis and will charge and deliver 
a shock only at the command of the operator. For the purpose 
of compliance with these regulations, a manual defibrillator 
must be capable of synchronized cardioversion and 
noninvasive external pacing. A manual defibrillator must be 

approved by the United States Food and Drug 
Administration.  

"Designated emergency response agency" means an EMS 
agency recognized by an ordinance or a resolution of the 
governing body of any county, city or town as an integral part 
of the official public safety program of the county, city or 
town with a responsibility for providing emergency medical 
response.  

"Director" means the Director of the Office of Emergency 
Medical Services.  

"Diversion" means a change in the normal or established 
pattern of patient transport at the direction of a medical care 
facility.  

"Early defibrillation service" or "EDS" means a person who is 
registered to provide care to victims of cardiac arrest and who 
wishes to employ or retain personnel within its organization 
who are trained in the use of automated external defibrillation 
and related patient care. An early defibrillation service is not 
an EMS agency.  

"Emergency medical services" or "EMS" means the services 
used in responding to an individual's perceived needs for 
immediate medical care in order to prevent loss of life or 
aggravation of physiological or psychological illness or injury 
including any or all of the services that could be described as 
first response, basic life support, advanced life support, 
neonatal life support, communications, training and medical 
control.  

"EMS Advisory Board" means the Emergency Medical 
Services Advisory Board as appointed by the Governor.  

"Emergency medical services agency" or "EMS agency" 
means a person licensed by the Office of EMS to engage in 
the business, service, or regular activity, whether or not for 
profit, of transporting or rendering immediate medical care to 
persons who are sick, injured, or otherwise incapacitated.  

"EMS agency status report" means a report submitted on 
forms specified by the Office of EMS that documents the 
operational capabilities of an EMS agency or wheelchair 
interfacility transport service including data on personnel, 
vehicles and other related resources.  

"Emergency medical services communications plan" or "EMS 
communications plan" means the state plan for the 
coordination of electronic telecommunications by EMS 
agencies as approved by the Office of EMS.  

"Emergency medical services personnel" or "EMS personnel" 
means a person, affiliated with an EMS agency, responsible 
for the provision of emergency medical services including 
any or all persons who could be described as an attendant, 
attendant-in-charge, operator or operational medical director.  

"Emergency medical services physician" or "EMS physician" 
means a physician who holds current endorsement from the 
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Office of EMS and may serve as an EMS agency operational 
medical director or training program physician course 
director.  

"Emergency medical services provider" or "EMS provider" 
means a person who holds a valid certification issued by the 
Office of EMS.  

"Emergency medical services system" or "EMS system" 
means a system that provides for the arrangement of 
personnel, facilities, equipment, and other system 
components for the effective and coordinated delivery of 
emergency medical services in an appropriate geographical 
area that may be local, regional, state or national.  

"Emergency medical services vehicle" or "EMS vehicle" 
means any vehicle, vessel, aircraft, or ambulance that holds a 
valid emergency medical services vehicle permit issued by 
the Office of EMS that is equipped, maintained or operated to 
provide emergency medical care or transportation of patients 
who are sick, injured, wounded, or otherwise incapacitated or 
helpless.  

"Emergency medical services vehicle permit" means an 
authorization issued by the Office of EMS for any vehicle, 
vessel or aircraft meeting the standards and criteria 
established by regulation for emergency medical services 
vehicles.  

"Emergency operations plan" means the Commonwealth of 
Virginia Emergency Operations Plan.  

"Emergency vehicle operator's course" or "EVOC" means an 
approved course of instruction for EMS vehicle operators that 
includes safe driving skills, knowledge of the state motor 
vehicle code affecting emergency vehicles, and driving skills 
necessary for operation of emergency vehicles during 
response to an incident or transport of a patient to a health 
care facility. This course must include classroom and driving 
range skill instruction.  

"Exam series" means a sequence of opportunities to complete 
a certification examination with any allowed retest.  

"FAA" means the U.S. Federal Aviation Administration.  

"FCC" means the U.S. Federal Communications Commission.  

"Financial Assistance Review Committee" or "FARC" means 
the committee appointed by the EMS Advisory Board to 
administer the Rescue Squad Assistance Fund.  

"Fund" means the Virginia Rescue Squad Assistance Fund.  

"Grant administrator" means the Office of EMS personnel 
directly responsible for administration of the Rescue Squad 
Assistance Fund program.  

"Instructor" means the teacher for a specific class or lesson of 
an EMS training program.  

"License" means an authorization issued by the Office of 
EMS to provide emergency medical services in the state as an 
EMS agency or wheelchair interfacility transport service.  

"Local EMS resource" means a person recognized by the 
Office of EMS to perform specified functions for a designated 
geographic area. This person may be designated to perform 
one or more of the functions otherwise provided by regional 
EMS councils.  

"Local EMS response plan" means a written document that 
details the primary service area, the unit mobilization interval 
and responding interval standards as approved by the local 
government, the operational medical director and the Office 
of EMS.  

"Major medical emergency" means an emergency that cannot 
be managed through the use of locally available emergency 
medical resources and that requires implementation of special 
procedures to ensure the best outcome for the greatest number 
of patients as determined by the EMS provider in charge or 
incident commander on the scene. This event includes local 
emergencies declared by the locality's government and states 
of emergency declared by the Governor.  

"Medic" means an EMS provider certified at the level of 
EMT-Cardiac, EMT-Intermediate or EMT-Paramedic.  

"Medical care facility" means (as defined by § 32.1-123 of 
the Code of Virginia) any institution, place, building or 
agency, whether licensed or required to be licensed by the 
board or the State Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services Board, whether operated for profit 
or nonprofit and whether privately owned or privately 
operated or owned or operated by a local governmental unit, 
by or in which health services are furnished, conducted, 
operated or offered for the prevention, diagnosis or treatment 
of human disease, pain, injury, deformity or physical 
condition, whether medical or surgical.  

"Medical community" means the physicians and allied 
healthcare specialists located and available within a definable 
geographic area.  

"Medical control" means the direction and advice provided 
through a communications device (on-line) to on-site and in-
transit EMS personnel from a designated medical care facility 
staffed by appropriate personnel and operating under 
physician supervision.  

"Medical direction" means the direction and supervision of 
EMS personnel by the Operational Medical Director of the 
EMS agency with which he is affiliated.  

"Medical emergency" means the sudden onset of a medical 
condition that manifests itself by symptoms of sufficient 
severity, including severe pain, that the absence of immediate 
medical attention could reasonably be expected by a prudent 
layperson who possesses an average knowledge of health and 
medicine to result in (i) serious jeopardy to the mental or 
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physical health of the individual, (ii) danger of serious 
impairment of the individual's bodily functions, (iii) serious 
dysfunction of any of the individual's bodily organs, or (iv) in 
the case of a pregnant woman, serious jeopardy to the health 
of the fetus.  

"Medical practitioner" means a physician, dentist, podiatrist, 
licensed nurse practitioner, licensed physician's assistant, or 
other person licensed, registered or otherwise permitted to 
distribute, dispense, prescribe and administer, or conduct 
research with respect to, a controlled substance in the course 
of professional practice or research in this Commonwealth.  

"Medical protocol" means preestablished written physician 
authorized procedures or guidelines for medical care of a 
specified clinical situation based on patient presentation.  

"Mutual aid agreement" means a written document specifying 
a formal understanding to lend aid to an EMS agency.  

"Neonatal life support" means a sophisticated and specialized 
level of out-of-hospital and interfacility emergency and 
stabilizing care that includes basic and advanced life support 
functions for the newborn or infant patient.  

"Nonprofit" means without the intention of financial gain, 
advantage, or benefit as defined by federal tax law.  

"OSHA" means the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration or Virginia Occupational Safety and Health, 
the state agency designated to perform its functions in 
Virginia.  

"Office of EMS" means the Office of Emergency Medical 
Services within the Virginia Department of Health.  

"Operational medical director" or "OMD" means an EMS 
physician, currently licensed to practice medicine or 
osteopathic medicine in the Commonwealth, who is formally 
recognized and responsible for providing medical direction, 
oversight and quality improvement to an EMS agency.  

"Operator" means a person qualified and designated to drive 
or pilot a specified class of permitted EMS vehicle.  

"Patient" means a person who needs immediate medical 
attention or transport, or both, whose physical or mental 
condition is such that he is in danger of loss of life or health 
impairment, or who may be incapacitated or helpless as a 
result of physical or mental condition or a person who 
requires medical attention during transport from one medical 
care facility to another.  

"Person" means (as defined in the Code of Virginia) any 
person, firm, partnership, association, corporation, company, 
or group of individuals acting together for a common purpose 
or organization of any kind, including any government 
agency other than an agency of the United States government.  

"Physician" means an individual who holds a valid, 
unrestricted license to practice medicine or osteopathy in the 
Commonwealth.  

"Physician assistant" means an individual who holds a valid, 
unrestricted license to practice as a Physician Assistant in the 
Commonwealth.  

"Physician course director" or "PCD" means an EMS 
physician who is responsible for the clinical aspects of 
emergency medical care training programs, including the 
clinical and field actions of enrolled students.  

"Prehospital patient care report" or "PPCR" means a 
document used to summarize the facts and events of an EMS 
incident and includes, but is not limited to, the type of 
medical emergency or nature of the call, the response time, 
the treatment provided and other minimum data items as 
prescribed by the board. "PPCR" includes any supplements, 
addenda, or other related attachments that document patient 
information or care provided.  

"Prehospital patient data report" or "PPDR" means a 
document designed to be optically scanned that may be used 
to report to the Office of EMS, the minimum patient care data 
items as prescribed by the board.  

"Primary service area" means the specific geographic area 
designated or prescribed by a locality (county, city or town) 
in which an EMS agency provides prehospital emergency 
medical care or transportation. This designated or prescribed 
geographic area served must include all locations for which 
the EMS agency is principally dispatched (i.e., first due 
response agency).  

"Private Mobile Radio Service" or "PMRS" as defined in 
§ 20.3 of the Federal Communications Commission's Rules, 
47 CFR 20.3. (For purposes of this definition, PMRS includes 
"industrial" and "public safety" radio services authorized 
under Part 90 of the Federal Communications Commission's 
Rules, 47 CFR 90.1 et seq., with the exception of certain for-
profit commercial paging services and 800/900 MHz 
Specialized Mobile Radio Services that are interconnected to 
the public switched telephone network and are therefore 
classified as CMRS.)  

"Program site accreditation" means the verification that a 
training program has demonstrated the ability to meet criteria 
established by the Office of EMS to conduct basic or 
advanced life support certification courses.  

"Public safety answering point" or "PSAP" means a facility 
equipped and staffed on a 24-hour basis to receive requests 
for emergency medical assistance for one or more EMS 
agencies.  

"Quality management program" or "QM" means the 
continuous study of and improvement of an EMS agency or 
system including the collection of data, the identification of 
deficiencies through continuous evaluation, the education of 
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personnel and the establishment of goals, policies and 
programs that improve patient outcomes in EMS systems.  

"Recertification" means the process used by certified EMS 
personnel to maintain their training certifications.  

"Reentry" means the process by which EMS personnel may 
regain a training certification that has lapsed within the last 
two years.  

"Regional EMS council" means an organization designated 
by the board that is authorized to receive and disburse public 
funds in compliance with established performance standards 
and whose function is to plan, develop, maintain, expand and 
improve an efficient and effective regional emergency 
medical services system within a designated geographical 
area pursuant to § 32.1-111.11 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Regional trauma triage plan" means a formal written plan 
developed by a regional EMS council or local EMS resource 
and approved by the commissioner that incorporates the 
region's geographic variations, trauma care capabilities and 
resources for the triage of trauma patients pursuant to § 32.1-
111.3 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Registered nurse" means an individual who holds a valid, 
unrestricted license to practice as a registered nurse in the 
Commonwealth.  

"Regulated medical device" means equipment or other items 
that may only be purchased or possessed upon the approval of 
a physician and that the manufacture or sale of which is 
regulated by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).  

"Regulated waste" means liquid or semi-liquid blood or other 
potentially infectious materials; contaminated items that 
would release blood or other potentially infectious materials 
in a liquid or semi-liquid state if compressed; items that are 
caked with dried blood or potentially infectious materials and 
are capable of releasing these materials during handling; 
items dripping with liquid product; contaminated sharps; 
pathological and microbiological waste containing blood or 
other potentially infectious materials.  

"Regulations" means (as defined in the Code of Virginia) any 
statement of general application, having the force of law, 
affecting the rights or conduct of any person, promulgated by 
an authorized board or agency.  

"Rescue" means a service that may include the search for lost 
persons, gaining access to persons trapped, extrication of 
persons from potentially dangerous situations and the 
rendering of other assistance to such persons.  

"Rescue vehicle" means a vehicle, vessel or aircraft that is 
maintained and operated to assist with the location and 
removal of victims from a hazardous or life-threatening 
situation to areas of safety or treatment.  

"Responding interval" means the elapsed time in minutes 
between the "dispatch" time and the "arrive scene" time (i.e., 
when the wheels of the EMS vehicle stop).  

"Responding interval standard" means a time standard in 
minutes for the responding interval, established by the EMS 
agency, the locality and OMD, in which the EMS agency will 
comply with 90% or greater reliability.  

"Response obligation to locality" means a requirement of a 
designated emergency response agency to lend aid to all other 
designated emergency response agencies within the locality 
or localities in which the EMS agency is based.  

"Revocation" means the permanent removal of an EMS 
agency license, early defibrillation service registration, 
wheelchair interfacility transport service license, vehicle 
permit, training certification, ALS coordinator endorsement, 
EMS physician endorsement or any other designation issued 
by the Office of EMS.  

"Special conditions" means a notation placed upon an EMS 
agency, early defibrillation service or wheelchair interfacility 
transport service's license, registration, variance or exemption 
documents that modifies or restricts specific requirements of 
these regulations.  

"Specialized air medical training" means a course of 
instruction and continuing education in the concept of flight 
physiology and the effects of flight on patients that has been 
approved by the Office of EMS. This training must include 
but is not limited to aerodynamics, weather, communications, 
safety around aircraft/ambulances, scene safety, landing zone 
operations, flight physiology, equipment/aircraft 
familiarization, basic flight navigation, flight documentation, 
and survival training specific to service area.  

"Standard of care" means the established approach to the 
provision of basic and advanced medical care that is 
considered appropriate, prudent and in the best interests of 
patients within a geographic area as derived by consensus 
among the physicians responsible for the delivery and 
oversight of that care. The standard of care is dynamic with 
changes reflective of knowledge gained by research and 
practice.  

"Standard operating procedure" or "SOP" means 
preestablished written agency authorized procedures and 
guidelines for activities performed by affiliated EMS agency 
or wheelchair interfacility transport service personnel.  

"Supplemented transport" means an interfacility transport for 
which the sending physician has determined that the 
medically necessary care and equipment needs of a critically 
injured or ill patient is beyond the scope of practice of the 
available EMS personnel of the EMS agency.  

"Suspension" means the temporary removal of an EMS 
agency license, early defibrillation service registration, 
wheelchair interfacility transport service license, vehicle 
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permit, training certification, ALS coordinator endorsement, 
EMS physician endorsement or any other designation issued 
by the Office of EMS.  

"Test site coordinator" means an individual designated by the 
Office of EMS to coordinate the logistics of a state 
certification examination site.  

"Trauma center" means a specialized hospital facility 
distinguished by the immediate availability of specialized 
surgeons, physician specialists, anesthesiologists, nurses, and 
resuscitation and life support equipment on a 24-hour basis to 
care for severely injured patients or those at risk for severe 
injury. In Virginia, trauma centers are designated by the 
Virginia Department of Health as Level I, II or III.  

"Trauma center designation" means the formal recognition by 
the board of a hospital as a provider of specialized services to 
meet the needs of the severely injured patient. This usually 
involves a contractual relationship based on adherence to 
standards.  

"Triage" means the process of sorting patients to establish 
treatment and transportation priorities according to severity of 
injury and medical need.  

"Unit mobilization interval" means the elapsed time (in 
minutes) between the "dispatched" time of the EMS agency 
and the "responding" time (the wheels of the EMS vehicle 
start moving).  

"Unit mobilization interval standard" means a time standard 
(in minutes) for the unit mobilization interval, established by 
a designated emergency response agency, the locality and 
OMD, in which the EMS agency will comply.  

"USDOT" means the United States Department of 
Transportation.  

"Vehicle operating weight" means the combined weight of 
the vehicle, vessel or craft, a full complement of fuel, and all 
required and optional equipment and supplies.  

"Virginia Statewide Trauma Registry" or "Trauma Registry " 
means a collection of data on patients who receive hospital 
care for certain types of injuries. The collection and analysis 
of such data is primarily intended to evaluate the quality of 
trauma care and outcomes in individual institutions and 
trauma systems. The secondary purpose is to provide useful 
information for the surveillance of injury morbidity and 
mortality.  

"Wheelchair" means a chair with wheels specifically designed 
and approved for the vehicular transportation of a person in 
an upright, seated (Fowler's) position.  

"Wheelchair interfacility transport service" means a person 
licensed to engage in the business, service, or regular activity, 
whether or not for profit, of transporting wheelchair bound 
passengers between medical facilities. A wheelchair 
interfacility transport service is not an EMS agency.  

"Wheelchair interfacility transport service personnel" means a 
person affiliated with a wheelchair interfacility transport 
service who is responsible for the provision of interfacility 
transport of wheelchair bound passengers.  

"Wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle" means a vehicle 
that holds a valid permit issued by the Office of EMS that is 
maintained or operated to provide nonemergency 
transportation of wheelchair bound passengers between 
medical facilities. Wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle 
excludes any vehicle that could be described as an 
ambulance.  

"Wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle permit" means an 
authorization issued by the Office of EMS for any vehicle 
meeting the standards and criteria established by regulation 
for wheelchair interfacility transport vehicles.  

12 VAC 5-31-50. Variances.  

A. The Office of EMS is authorized to grant variances for any 
part or all of these regulations in accordance with the 
procedures set forth herein. A variance permits temporary 
specified exceptions to these regulations. An applicant, 
licensee, or permit or certificate holder may file a written 
request for a variance with the Office of EMS on specified 
forms. If the applicant, licensee, or permit or certificate 
holder is an EMS agency or wheelchair interfacility transport 
service, the following additional requirements apply:  

1. The written variance request must be submitted for 
review and recommendations to the governing body of the 
locality in which the principal office of the EMS agency, 
early defibrillation service or wheelchair interfacility 
transport service is located prior to submission to the Office 
of EMS.  

2. An EMS agency operating in multiple localities will be 
required to notify all other localities in writing of 
conditions of approved variance requests.  

3. Issuance of a variance does not obligate other localities 
to allow the conditions of such variance if they conflict 
with local ordinances or regulations.  

B. Both the written request and the recommendation of the 
governing body must be submitted together to the Office of 
EMS.  

12 VAC 5-31-60. Issuance of a variance.  

A request for a variance may be approved and issued by the 
Office of EMS provided all of the following conditions are 
met:  

1. The information contained in the request is complete and 
correct;  

2. The agency, service, vehicle or person concerned is 
licensed, permitted or certified by the Office of EMS;  
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3. The Office of EMS determines the need for such a 
variance is genuine, and extenuating circumstances exist;  

4. The Office of EMS determines that issuance of such a 
variance would be in the public interest and would not 
present any risk to, or threaten or endanger the public 
health, safety or welfare;  

5. If the request is made by an EMS agency, early 
defibrillation service or wheelchair interfacility transport 
service, the Office of EMS will consider the 
recommendation of the governing body provided all of the 
above conditions are met; and  

6. The person making the request will be notified in writing 
of the approval and issuance within 30 days of receipt of 
the request unless the request is awaiting approval or 
disapproval of a license or certificate. In such case, notice 
will be given within 30 days of the issuance of the license 
or certificate.  

12 VAC 5-31-110. Exemptions.  

A. The board is authorized to grant exemptions from any part 
or all of these regulations in accordance with the procedures 
set forth herein. An exemption permits specified or total 
exceptions to these regulations for an indefinite period.  

B. Request. A person may file a written request for an 
exemption with the Office of EMS on specified forms. If the 
request is made by an EMS agency, early defibrillation 
service or wheelchair interfacility transport service, the 
following additional requirements apply:  

1. The written request for exemption must be submitted for 
review and recommendation to the governing body of the 
locality in which the principal office of the EMS agency, 
early defibrillation service or wheelchair interfacility 
transport service is located before submission to the Office 
of EMS.  

2. The written request must be submitted to the Office of 
EMS a minimum of 30 days before the scheduled review 
by the governing body. At the time of submission, the 
agency or service must provide the Office of EMS with the 
date, time and location of the scheduled review by the 
governing body.  

12 VAC 5-31-140. Issuance of an exemption.  

A. A request for an exemption may be approved and an 
exemption issued provided all of the following conditions are 
met:  

1. The information contained in the request is complete and 
correct.  

2. The need for such an exemption is determined to be 
genuine.  

3. The issuance of an exemption would not present any risk 
to, threaten or endanger the public health, safety or welfare 
of citizens.  

B. If the request is made by an EMS agency, early 
defibrillation service or wheelchair interfacility transport 
service, the board may accept the recommendation of the 
governing body provided all of the conditions in subsection A 
of this section are met.  

C. The person making the request will be notified in writing 
of the approval or denial of a request.  

12 VAC 5-31-190. General exemptions from these 
regulations.  

The following are exempted from these regulations except as 
noted:  

1. A person or privately owned vehicle not engaged in the 
business, service, or regular activity of providing medical 
care or transportation of persons who are sick, injured, 
wounded, or otherwise disabled;  

2. A person or vehicle assisting with the rendering of 
emergency medical services or medical transportation in 
the case of a major medical emergency as reasonably 
necessary when the EMS agencies, vehicles, and personnel 
based in or near the location of such major emergency are 
insufficient to render the services required;  

3. An EMS agency, early defibrillation service or 
wheelchair interfacility transport service operated by the 
United States government within this state. Any person 
holding a United States government contract is not exempt 
from these regulations unless the person only provides 
services within an area of exclusive federal jurisdiction;  

4. A medical care facility, but only with respect to the 
provision of emergency medical services within such 
facility;  

5. Personnel employed by or associated with a medical care 
facility that provides emergency medical services within 
that medical care facility, but only with respect to the 
services provided therein;  

6. An EMS agency based in a state bordering Virginia 
when requested to respond into Virginia for the purpose of 
providing mutual aid in the primary service area of a 
designated emergency response agency with the following 
conditions:  

a. This agency must comply with the terms of a written 
mutual aid agreement with the EMS agency; and  

b. This agency must comply with applicable EMS 
regulations of its home state.  

7. An EMS agency that operates in Virginia for the 
exclusive purpose of interstate travel.  
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12 VAC 5-31-220. Suspension of a license, permit, 
certificate, endorsement or designation.  

A. The Office of EMS may suspend an EMS license, permit, 
certificate, endorsement or designation without a hearing, 
pending an investigation or revocation procedure.  

1. Reasonable cause for suspension must exist before such 
action is taken by the Office of EMS. The decision must be 
based upon a review of evidence available to the Office of 
EMS.  

2. The Office of EMS may suspend an agency or service 
license, vehicle permit, personnel certificate, endorsement 
or designation for failure to adhere to the standards set 
forth in these regulations.  

3. An EMS agency, early defibrillation service or 
wheelchair interfacility transport service license or 
registration may be suspended if the agency, service or any 
of its vehicles or personnel are found to be operating in a 
manner that presents a risk to, or threatens, or endangers 
the public health, safety or welfare.  

4. An EMS vehicle permit may be suspended if the vehicle 
is found to be operated or maintained in a manner that 
presents a risk to, threatens, or endangers the public health, 
safety or welfare, or if the EMS agency, early defibrillation 
service or wheelchair interfacility transport service license 
has been suspended.  

5. EMS personnel may be suspended if found to be 
operating or performing in a manner that presents a risk to, 
or threatens, or endangers the public health, safety or 
welfare.  

6. An EMS training certification may be suspended if the 
certificate holder is found to be operating or performing in 
a manner that presents a risk to, or threatens, or endangers 
the public health, safety or welfare.  

B. Suspension of an EMS agency, early defibrillation service 
or wheelchair interfacility transport service license shall result 
in the simultaneous and concurrent suspension of the vehicle 
permits.  

C. The Office of EMS will notify the licensee, or permit or 
certificate holder of the suspension in person or by certified 
mail to his last known address.  

D. A suspension takes effect immediately upon receipt of 
notification unless otherwise specified. A suspension remains 
in effect until the Office of EMS further acts upon the license, 
permit, certificate, endorsement or designation or until the 
order is overturned on appeal as specified in the 
Administrative Process Act.  

E. The licensee, or permit or certificate holder shall abide by 
any notice of suspension and shall return all suspended 
licenses, permits and certificates to the Office of EMS within 
10 days of receipt of notification.  

F. The Office of EMS may invoke any procedure set forth in 
this part to enforce the suspension.  

12 VAC 5-31-230. Revocation of a license, permit or 
certificate.  

A. The Office of EMS may revoke an EMS license, permit, 
certificate, endorsement or designation after a hearing or 
waiver thereof.  

1. Reasonable cause for revocation must exist before such 
action by the Office of EMS.  

2. The Office of EMS may revoke an EMS agency license, 
early defibrillation service registration, wheelchair 
interfacility transport service license, EMS vehicle permit, 
vehicle permit, certification, endorsement or designation 
for failure to adhere to the standards set forth in these 
regulations.  

3. The Office of EMS may revoke an EMS agency license, 
early defibrillation service registration or wheelchair 
interfacility transport service license, an EMS vehicle 
permit, or EMS personnel certificate for violation of a 
correction order or for engaging in or aiding, abetting, 
causing, or permitting any act prohibited by these 
regulations.  

4. The Office of EMS may revoke an EMS training 
certificate for failure to adhere to the standards as set forth 
in these regulations and the "Training Program 
Administration Manual" in effect for the level of 
instruction concerned, or for lack of competence at such 
level as evidenced by lack of basic knowledge or skill, or 
for incompetent or unwarranted acts inconsistent with the 
standards in effect for the level of certification concerned.  

5. The Office of EMS may revoke an EMS agency license, 
early defibrillation service registration or wheelchair 
interfacility transport service license for violation of federal 
or state laws resulting in a civil monetary penalty.  

B. Revocation of an EMS agency license, early defibrillation 
service registration or wheelchair interfacility transport 
service license shall result in the simultaneous and concurrent 
revocation of vehicle permits.  

C. The Office of EMS will notify the holder of a license, 
certification, endorsement or designation of the intent to 
revoke by certified mail to his last known address.  

D. The holder of a license, certification, endorsement or 
designation will have the right to a hearing.  

1. If the holder of a license, certification, endorsement or 
designation desires to exercise his right to a hearing, he 
must notify the Office of EMS in writing of his intent 
within 10 days of receipt of notification. In such cases, a 
hearing must be conducted and a decision rendered in 
accordance with the Administrative Process Act.  
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2. Should the holder of a license, certification, endorsement 
or designation fail to file such notice, he will be deemed to 
have waived the right to a hearing. In such case, the Office 
of EMS may revoke the license or certificate.  

E. A revocation takes effect immediately upon receipt of 
notification unless otherwise specified. A revocation order is 
permanent unless and until overturned on appeal.  

F. The holder of a license, certification, endorsement or 
designation shall abide by any notice of revocation and shall 
return all revoked licenses, permits and certificates to the 
Office of EMS within 10 days of receipt of the notification of 
revocation.  

G. The Office of EMS may invoke any procedures set forth in 
this part to enforce the revocation.  

PART V. 
WHEELCHAIR INTERFACILITY TRANSPORT 

SERVICES, VEHICLES AND PERSONNEL 
STANDARDS. 

12 VAC 5-31-2000. Wheelchair interfacility transport 
service licensure. (Repealed.) 

A. General provisions.  

1. No person may establish operate, maintain, advertise or 
represent himself or herself, any service or any 
organization as a wheelchair interfacility transport service 
without a valid license or in violation of the terms of a 
valid license issued by the Office of EMS.  

2. A person holding a wheelchair interfacility transport 
service license must operate, at a minimum, one wheelchair 
interfacility transport vehicle.  

3. Wheelchair interfacility transport services, vehicles, or 
personnel based outside this Commonwealth receiving a 
person within this Commonwealth for transportation to a 
location within this Commonwealth must comply with the 
regulations.  

4. These regulations have general application throughout 
the Commonwealth for wheelchair interfacility transport 
services and applicants for wheelchair interfacility 
transport service licensure.  

B. A person may not apply to conduct business under a name 
that is the same as, or misleadingly similar to, the name of a 
person licensed or registered by the Office of EMS. Further, 
no person may advertise for services other than those for 
which the wheelchair interfacility transport service is 
licensed, or imply such services in the service name.  

C. Each wheelchair interfacility transport service shall 
provide for a publicly listed telephone number to receive calls 
for service from the public within its regular operating area. 
This number is required to be answered by a person during all 

periods when the wheelchair interfacility transport service has 
advertised its availability or has vehicles in operation.  

Exception: any wheelchair interfacility transport service that 
limits its services to scheduled transports between specified 
health care facilities are not required to provide for a publicly 
listed telephone number. However, the wheelchair 
interfacility transport service shall provide for a telephone 
number and must make this number known to the unique 
population it serves.  

D. A wheelchair interfacility transport service providing 
service to the public shall ensure that service is available 
during all periods when the wheelchair interfacility transport 
service has advertised its availability.  

E. A wheelchair interfacility transport service must not 
discriminate due to the passenger's race, creed, gender, color, 
national origin, location or medical condition or any other 
reason.  

12 VAC 5-31-2010. Application and issuance of 
wheelchair interfacility transport service license.  
(Repealed.) 

A. An applicant for a wheelchair interfacility transport service 
license must file a written application specified by the Office 
of EMS.  

B. The Office of EMS may use whatever means of 
investigation necessary to verify any or all information 
contained in the application.  

C. The Office of EMS will determine whether an applicant or 
licensee is qualified for licensure based upon the following:  

1. Any applicant or licensee must meet the personnel 
requirements found in these regulations.  

2. If the applicant is a company or corporation, as defined 
in § 12.1-1 of the Code of Virginia, it must clearly disclose 
the identity of its owners, officers and directors.  

3. Any previous record of performance in the provision of 
wheelchair interfacility transport service or any other 
related licensure, registration, certification or endorsement 
within or outside Virginia.  

4. Availability of sufficient resources (such as personnel 
and equipment) for the provision of the proposed service in 
compliance with these regulations.  

5. A statement of approval for the wheelchair interfacility 
transport service's operations from the governing body of 
the jurisdiction where the service maintains its primary 
office. Evidence of the governing body's approval to 
operate within its jurisdiction may take the form of a valid 
business license, permit, franchise or other documentation 
of operating authority. If a wheelchair interfacility transport 
service maintains its primary office outside of the 
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Commonwealth, the service must maintain a place of 
operations in the Commonwealth.  

D. All places of operation must be subject to and available for 
inspection by the Office of EMS for compliance with these 
regulations. This inspection may be in addition to any other 
federal, state, or local inspections required by law. The 
inspection may include any or all of the following:  

1. All fixed places of operations, including all offices, 
stations, repair shops or training facilities.  

2. All applicable records maintained by the applicant 
service;  

3. All wheelchair interfacility transport vehicles used by the 
applicant service.  

E. Issuance.  

1. A wheelchair interfacility transport service license may 
be issued by the Office of EMS provided both of the 
following conditions are met:  

a. All information contained in the application is 
complete and correct.  

b. The applicant is determined by the Office of EMS to 
be qualified for licensure in accordance with these 
regulations.  

2. The applicant will be notified in writing of the 
disposition of the application upon receipt of the completed 
application and required supporting documents.  

3. The issuance of a license does not authorize any service 
to operate any vehicle without a franchise or permit in any 
county or municipality that has enacted an ordinance 
requiring one.  

F. The wheelchair interfacility transport service license will 
include the following information:  

1. The name and address of the wheelchair interfacility 
transport service;  

2. The expiration date of the license; and  

3. Any special conditions that may apply.  

G. Wheelchair interfacility transport service licenses will be 
issued and remain valid with the following conditions:  

1. Wheelchair interfacility transport service licenses are 
valid for a period of two years from the last day of the 
month of issuance unless and until revoked or suspended 
by the Office of EMS.  

2. Wheelchair interfacility transport service licenses are not 
transferable.  

H. A wheelchair interfacility transport service license renewal 
may be granted following an inspection as set forth in these 
regulations based on the following conditions:  

1. The renewal inspection results demonstrate that the 
service complies with these regulations.  

2. There have been no documented violations of these 
regulations that preclude renewal.  

I. Should the Office of EMS be unable to take action on an 
application for renewal of a license prior to expiration, the 
license will remain in effect until such time as the Office of 
EMS completes processing of the renewal application.  

J. An application for new wheelchair interfacility transport 
service licensure or renewal of a wheelchair interfacility 
transport service license may be denied by the Office of EMS 
if the applicant or service does not comply with these 
regulations.  

K. Termination of service by a wheelchair interfacility 
transport service requires the service to surrender the 
wheelchair interfacility transport service license.  

A wheelchair interfacility transport service must notify the 
Office of EMS at least 30 days in advance of its intention to 
discontinue service. Written notice of intent to terminate 
service shall include verification that a notice of its intent to 
discontinue service has been published in a newspaper of 
general circulation in its service area.  

L. Within 30 days following the termination of service, the 
wheelchair interfacility transport service must:  

1. Return the wheelchair interfacility transport service 
license and all associated vehicle permits to the Office of 
EMS.  

2. Remove all signage or insignia that advertise the 
availability of wheelchair interfacility transport services to 
include but not be limited to facility and roadway signs, 
vehicle markings and uniform items.  

3. Provide for maintenance and secure storage of required 
service records for a minimum of five years from the date 
of termination of service.  

M. Failure of a wheelchair interfacility transport service to 
comply with these regulations may result in the denial of a 
future application for wheelchair interfacility transport 
service licensure or an enforcement action, or both.  

12 VAC 5-31-2020. General requirements governing 
service operations. (Repealed.) 

A. The wheelchair interfacility transport service is 
responsible for ensuring that all wheelchair interfacility 
transport vehicles and associated wheelchair interfacility 
transport service personnel comply with these regulations, the 
Motor Vehicle Code, the Child Labor Laws and the Virginia 
Occupational Safety and Health Law.  

B. All wheelchair interfacility transport services must comply 
with the following requirements.  
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1. The service must maintain a fixed physical location. Any 
change in the address of this location requires notification 
to the Office of EMS before relocation of the office space.  

2. The following sanitation measures are required at each 
place of operation in accordance with standards established 
by the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and the Virginia 
Occupational Safety and Health Law:  

a. All areas used for storage of equipment and supplies 
must be kept neat, clean and sanitary.  

b. All soiled supplies and used disposable items must be 
stored or disposed of in plastic bags, covered containers 
or compartments provided for this purpose. Regulated 
waste must be stored in a red or orange bag or container 
clearly marked with a biohazard label.  

C. A wheelchair interfacility transport service is responsible 
for the preparation and maintenance of the following:  

1. Records and reports must be stored in a manner to assure 
reasonable safety from water and fire damage and from 
unauthorized disclosure to persons other than those 
authorized by law.  

2. The following records must be maintained at the primary 
place of operation or a secured storage facility, for a period 
of not less than five years:  

a. Current personnel records, including a file for each 
wheelchair interfacility transport service member or 
employee, that provide documentation of qualifications 
for the positions held.  

b. Records for each vehicle currently in use to include 
maintenance reports, valid vehicle registration, safety 
inspections, vehicle insurance coverage, and any 
reportable motor vehicle collision as defined by the 
Motor Vehicle Code.  

c. Records of wheelchair interfacility transport service 
activity including call reports that specifically identify 
the vehicle operator, dispatch records and summary data 
for a period of not less than five years.  

3. Each wheelchair interfacility transport service must 
submit a complete service status report to the Office of 
EMS providing requested information within 30 days of 
request on a form prescribed by the Office of EMS. The 
form will include the following and other information as 
required:  

This report must list all personnel affiliated to include 
name, social security number or equivalent federal 
identification number, mailing address, home telephone 
numbers and other electronic addresses. The list must 
specifically identify the chief executive officer and chief 
operations officer and include, if applicable, their work 
numbers.  

4. Each wheelchair interfacility transport service must have 
readily available a current copy of these regulations for 
reference use by its officers and personnel.  

E. Insurance.  

1. Each wheelchair interfacility transport service must have 
in effect and be able to furnish proof on demand of 
contracts for vehicular insurance coverage that must meet 
or exceed the minimum requirements as set forth in § 46.2-
472 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. Nothing in this section prohibits authorized 
governmental agencies from participating in authorized 
"self-insurance" programs as long as the programs provide 
for the minimum coverage levels specified.  

F. Display of license. The wheelchair interfacility transport 
service license must be publicly displayed in the primary 
office space of the wheelchair interfacility transport service 
and a copy displayed in each other fixed place of operations.  

12 VAC 5-31-2030. Wheelchair interfacility transport 
vehicle permitting. (Repealed.) 

A. No person may operate or maintain any motor vehicle as a 
wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle without a valid 
permit or in violation of the terms of a valid permit.  

B. The wheelchair interfacility transport service must file 
written application for a permit on forms specified by the 
Office of EMS.  

C. The Office of EMS may verify any or all information 
contained in the application before issuance.  

D. The Office of EMS will inspect the wheelchair interfacility 
transport vehicle for compliance with these regulations.  

E. A wheelchair interfacility transport permit will be issued as 
follows:  

1. The application may be approved and a permit may be 
issued for the wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle by 
the Office of EMS provided all of the following conditions 
are met:  

a. All information contained in the application is 
complete and correct;  

b. The applicant is a wheelchair interfacility transport 
service licensed by the Office of EMS;  

c. The wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle is 
registered or permitted by the Department of Motor 
Vehicles; and  

d. The inspection meets the minimum requirements as 
defined in these regulations.  

2. The issuance of a permit does not authorize any person 
to operate a wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 27, 2006 

882 

without a franchise in any county or municipality that has 
enacted an ordinance requiring it.  

F. The wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle permit will 
include but not be limited to the following information:  

1. The name and address of the Service;  

2. The expiration date of the permit; and  

3. Any special conditions that may apply.  

G. Wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle permits will be 
issued and remain valid with the following conditions:  

1. A regularly issued wheelchair interfacility transport 
vehicle permit is valid for a period coincident with the 
wheelchair interfacility transport service license unless and 
until revoked or suspended by the Office of EMS.  

2. Wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle permits are not 
transferable under any circumstances.  

H. Renewal of a wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle 
permit may be granted without reapplication if the wheelchair 
interfacility transport service and wheelchair interfacility 
transport vehicle comply with these regulations.  

Should the Office of EMS be unable to take action on 
renewal of a wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle 
permit before expiration, the permit will remain in effect 
until the Office of EMS completes processing of the 
renewal application.  

I. The permit must be affixed on the vehicle to be readily 
visible and in a location and manner specified by the Office 
of EMS. A wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle may not 
be operated without a properly displayed permit.  

J. A wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle may not be 
marked to indicate a type of service other than that for which 
it is permitted.  

12 VAC 5-31-2040. Denial of a wheelchair interfacility 
transport vehicle permit. (Repealed.) 

A. An application for a wheelchair interfacility transport 
vehicle permit will be denied by the Office of EMS if any 
conditions of these regulations fail to be met.  

B. In the event that a permit is denied, the Office of EMS will 
notify the applicant or licensee of the denial in writing.  

12 VAC 5-31-2050. Wheelchair interfacility transport 
vehicle requirements. (Repealed.) 

A. Each wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle must be 
maintained in good repair and safe operating condition and 
shall meet the same motor vehicle safety requirements as 
apply to all vehicles in Virginia:  

1. State motor vehicle safety inspection must be current.  

2. Exterior surfaces of the vehicle including windows, 
mirrors, warning devices and lights must be kept clean of 
dirt and debris.  

B. All occupants must use mechanical restraints while the 
vehicle is in motion as required by the Code of Virginia.  

All equipment and supplies must be secured in place to 
prevent movement while the vehicle is in motion.  

C. The following requirements for sanitary conditions and 
supplies apply to all wheelchair interfacility transport vehicles 
in accordance with recommendations and standards 
established by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
(CDC) and the Virginia Occupational Safety and Health Law:  

1. The interior of the wheelchair interfacility transport 
vehicle, including all storage areas, equipment, and 
supplies must be kept clean and sanitary.  

2. Waterless antiseptic handwash must be available on the 
unit.  

3. Following transport and before being occupied by 
another passenger, all contaminated surfaces must be 
cleaned and disinfected using a method recommended by 
the Centers for Disease Control. Cleaning and disinfection 
supplies must be carried on each vehicle.  

4. All soiled supplies and used disposable items must be 
stored or disposed of in plastic bags, covered containers or 
compartments provided for this purpose. Red or orange 
bags must be used for regulated waste.  

D. All wheelchair interfacility transport vehicles are subject 
to, and available for, inspection by the Office of EMS or its 
designee, for compliance with these regulations. Inspections 
are in addition to other federal, state, or local inspections 
required for the wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle by 
law. The Office of EMS may conduct inspection at any time 
and without prior notification.  

12 VAC 5-31-2070. General personnel requirements and 
standards of conduct. (Repealed.) 

A. All wheelchair interfacility transport personnel must meet 
and maintain compliance with the general requirements 
specified in subsections B through D of this section.  

B. Personnel shall:  

1. Be a minimum of 18 years of age.  

2. Be clean and neat in appearance.  

3. Be proficient in reading, writing and speaking the 
English language. English proficiency must be sufficient to 
allow the individual to clearly communicate with a 
passenger, family or bystanders. Personnel shall be able to 
read, write and speak the English language as necessary to 
perform all assigned duties.  
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4. Have no physical impairment that would render him or 
her unable to perform all required skills.  

5. Have never been convicted or found guilty of any crime 
involving sexual misconduct where the lack of affirmative 
consent by the victim is an element of the crime, such as 
forcible rape.  

6. Have never been convicted or found guilty of any crime 
(including abuse, neglect, theft from, or financial 
exploitation of a person entrusted to his care or protection) 
in which the victim is a patient or is a resident of a health 
care facility.  

7. Not have been convicted or found guilty of any crime 
involving the use, possession, or distribution of illegal 
drugs except that the person is eligible for affiliation five 
years after the date of final release if no additional crimes 
of this type have been committed during that time.  

8. Not have been convicted or found guilty of any other act 
that is a felony except that the felon is eligible for 
affiliation five years after the date of final release if no 
additional felonies have been committed during that time.  

9. Not act as an operator if he has been convicted upon a 
charge of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, 
convicted of a felony or assigned to any alcohol safety 
action program or driver alcohol rehabilitation program 
pursuant to § 18.2-271.1 of the Code of Virginia, hit and 
run or operating on a suspended or revoked license within 
the past five years. Personnel having such a conviction, in 
Virginia or another state, are eligible for reinstatement after 
five years, without further convictions.  

10. Not currently be under any disciplinary or enforcement 
action from the Office of EMS or another state EMS office, 
state regulatory agency or other recognized state or national 
healthcare provider licensing or certifying body. Personnel 
having this disciplinary or enforcement action may be 
eligible for service provided there have been no further 
disciplinary or enforcement actions for five years.  

11. Have never been subject to a permanent revocation of 
license or certification by the Office of EMS or another 
state EMS office, state regulatory agency or other 
recognized state or national healthcare provider licensing or 
certifying body.  

12. References to criminal acts or convictions under this 
section refer to substantially similar laws or regulations of 
any other state or the United States. When used in these 
regulations, a conviction includes prior adult convictions 
and juvenile convictions and adjudications of delinquency 
based on an offense that would have been, at the time of 
conviction, a felony conviction if committed by an adult 
within or outside the Commonwealth.  

C. Standards of conduct.  

1. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel shall comply 
with the requirements of these regulations.  

2. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel shall comply 
with all federal, state, and local laws applicable to their 
wheelchair interfacility transport operations.  

3. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel may not be 
addicted to or under the influence of any drugs or 
intoxicating substances while on duty;  

4. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel may not 
share or disclose medical information concerning the 
names, treatment or conditions of passengers transported. 
This information is confidential and may be disclosed only 
to:  

a. Provide for the continuing medical care of the 
passenger;  

b. Collect insurance payments due and then only to the 
extent necessary and authorized by the passenger or his 
representative;  

c. Provide continuing education of wheelchair 
interfacility transport personnel who provide this 
assistance; and  

d. Assist investigations conducted by the board, 
department or Office of EMS.  

5. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel may not 
represent themselves as authorized to perform any level of 
patient care.  

6. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel may not 
obtain or aid another person in obtaining a license, permit, 
certification, endorsement or designation through fraud, 
deceit, forgery or deliberate misrepresentation or 
falsification of information.  

7. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel may not 
make false statements, misrepresentations to or willfully 
conceal information from the board, department, or Office 
of EMS.  

8. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel may not 
possess, remove, use or administer any narcotics, drugs, 
supplies or equipment from any EMS agency or wheelchair 
interfacility transport service, EMS or wheelchair 
interfacility transport vehicle, health care facility, academic 
institution or other location, without proper authorization.  

9. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel may not 
discriminate in the provision of service based on race, 
gender, religion, age, national origin, location or medical 
condition or any other reason.  

10. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel may not 
under any circumstances engage in sexual harassment of 
passengers or coworkers. Sexual harassment includes 
making unwelcome sexual advances, requesting sexual 
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favors, and engaging in other verbal or physical conduct of 
a sexual nature as a condition of:  

a. The provision or denial of services to a passenger;  

b. The provision or denial of employment;  

c. The provision or denial of promotions to a coworker;  

d. For the purpose or effect of creating an intimidating, 
hostile or offensive environment for the passenger, or 
unreasonably interfering with a passenger's ability to 
recover; or  

e. For the purpose or effect of creating an intimidating, 
hostile, or offensive working environment or 
unreasonably interfering with a coworker's ability to 
perform his work.  

D. Provision of services. Wheelchair interfacility transport 
personnel are expected to provide consistently high quality 
transportation to all passengers.  

1. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel are 
responsible for providing only those services allowed 
within the scope of licensure of the wheelchair interfacility 
transport service with which they are operating.  

2. During transportation, the passenger shall be transported 
in the passenger compartment of the vehicle involved.  

3. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel may not 
leave a passenger unattended at the destination facility 
without properly informing the facility staff of the 
passenger's arrival and location.  

4. Wheelchair interfacility transport personnel may not 
leave a passenger unattended except while loading or 
unloading another passenger.  

12 VAC 5-31-2080. Wheelchair interfacility transport 
vehicle personnel. (Repealed.) 

The following minimum wheelchair interfacility transport 
vehicle personnel requirements apply to all wheelchair 
interfacility transport vehicles:  

1. Personnel serving as the operator of a wheelchair 
interfacility transport vehicle must be a minimum of 18 
years of age.  

2. It is the responsibility of each wheelchair interfacility 
transport service to ensure that adequate numbers of trained 
wheelchair interfacility transport personnel are available to 
perform all essential tasks necessary for provision of timely 
and appropriate transportation for all passengers.  

12 VAC 5-31-2090. Exemptions. (Repealed.) 

A. A wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle on January 1, 
2003, must meet the requirements for vehicle construction in 
effect at the time the wheelchair interfacility transport vehicle 
was permitted.  

B. On January 1, 2003, a medical wheelchair transport 
vehicle (Class E) may be reclassified as a wheelchair 
interfacility transport vehicle.  

C. Existing forms, licenses, certificates and other materials 
may be used by the Office of EMS or modified as considered 
necessary by the Office of EMS until existing stocks are 
depleted.  

PART VI.  
EARLY DEFIBRILLATION SERVICE REGISTRATION. 

12 VAC 5-31-2100. Requirement for early defibrillation 
service registration. (Repealed.) 

A. A person may not operate or maintain an automated 
external defibrillator for use on or to provide service to the 
public without an early defibrillation service registration 
unless specifically exempted by § 32.1-111.2 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

B. A person obtaining an AED for use on the public shall 
register it with the Office of EMS, unless specifically 
exempted, before placing the AED in use.  

C. An early defibrillation service shall not provide emergency 
medical services.  

12 VAC 5-31-2110. [Reserved] (Repealed.) 

12 VAC 5-31-2120. Specific exemptions of registration. 
(Repealed.) 

The following are exempted from registration under these 
regulations:  

1. A vehicle used by an interstate commercial passenger 
carrier regulated by an agency of the United States 
government. This exemption includes but is not limited to a 
commercial airline, an interstate bus service and passenger 
rail service.  

2. A person conducting research into the effectiveness of an 
early defibrillation program provided he complies with 
state and federal human research guidelines and has 
obtained approval from the Office of EMS.  

12 VAC 5-31-2130. Application and issuance of early 
defibrillation service registration. (Repealed.) 

A. An applicant for early defibrillation service registration 
shall submit a complete application to the Office of EMS. 
The application must include a registration fee of $25 for 
each distinct geographic location where an AED is to be 
maintained or based.  

B. The Office of EMS may use whatever means of 
investigation necessary to verify information contained in the 
application.  

C. The Office of EMS will determine qualification for 
registration based upon the applicant's or registrant's:  



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 27, 2006 

885 

1. Meeting the personnel qualifications in these regulations.  

2. Previous record of performance as an EMS agency or 
early defibrillation service in or outside of Virginia.  

3. Availability of sufficient resources needed to comply 
with these regulations.  

D. The location of an AED shall be subject to and available 
for inspection by the Office of EMS.  

E. Issuance.  

1. An early defibrillation service registration may be issued 
by the Office of EMS provided the following conditions are 
met:  

a. Information contained in the application is complete 
and correct;  

b. An applicant is determined by the Office of EMS to be 
qualified and suitable for registration.  

2. An applicant will be notified in writing of the disposition 
of the application upon receipt of the completed application 
and required supporting documents.  

3. The issuance of a registration does not authorize a 
registrant to operate an AED without a franchise or permit 
in any county or municipality that has enacted an ordinance 
requiring one.  

F. The early defibrillation service registration may include the 
following information:  

1. The name and address of the early defibrillation service;  

2. The expiration date of the registration;  

3. The serial number and the manufacturer of each AED 
operated and maintained by the early defibrillation service; 
and  

4. Any special conditions that may apply.  

G. An early defibrillation service registration may be issued 
and remain valid with the following conditions:  

1. An early defibrillation service registration is valid for a 
period of four years from the date of issuance unless and 
until revoked or suspended by the Office of EMS.  

2. An early defibrillation service registration is not 
transferable.  

12 VAC 5-31-2140. Renewal of a registration. (Repealed.) 

A. Renewal of an early defibrillation service registration may 
be issued based upon the following conditions:  

1. An application for renewal shall be submitted a 
minimum of 60 days prior to expiration of the current 
registration;  

2. The application for renewal shall include a registration 
fee of $25 for each distinct geographic location where an 
AED is to be maintained or based.  

B. If the Office of EMS is unable to take action on renewal of 
a registration before expiration, the registration will remain in 
effect until the Office of EMS completes processing of the 
renewal application.  

12 VAC 5-31-2150. Modification of a registration. 
(Repealed.) 

A. An early defibrillation service registration shall be 
modified whenever there is a change in the location where the 
AED is based, the number of AEDs or the ownership of the 
early defibrillation service.  

B. The procedure for modification of a registration is as 
follows:  

1. A registrant shall request the modifications in writing;  

2. The Office of EMS may use the full provisions of these 
regulations in processing the request; and  

3. A registrant will be notified in writing of the disposition 
of the request.  

12 VAC 5-31-2160. Denial of a registration. (Repealed.) 

A. An application for an early defibrillation service 
registration or renewal of registration may be denied by the 
Office of EMS if any of the conditions of these regulations 
are not met.  

B. A request for modification of any early defibrillation 
service registration may be denied by the Office of EMS if 
any of the conditions of these regulations are not met.  

C. In the event that a registration or application is denied, the 
Office of EMS will notify the applicant or registrant of the 
denial in writing.  

12 VAC 5-31-2170. Termination of early defibrillation 
service. (Repealed.) 

A. An early defibrillation service intending to discontinue 
service shall:  

1. Notify the Office of EMS, in writing, of its intent to 
terminate service and verify that the local public safety 
agencies have been notified of its intent to discontinue 
service at least 30 days in advance.  

2. Provide for secure storage of required service records for 
a minimum of five years from the date of termination of 
service.  

B. An early defibrillation service shall surrender its early 
defibrillation service registration in order to terminate service.  
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12 VAC 5-31-2180. General requirements for early 
defibrillation service. (Repealed.) 

A. An early defibrillation service must provide service only at 
a specified geographic location, except as follows:  

1. A law-enforcement agency, as defined in § 9.1-165 of 
the Code of Virginia, may provide early defibrillation 
service to the public within the agency's jurisdiction.  

2. A fire company or fire department as defined under § 27-
8 of the Code of Virginia that is not an EMS agency, may 
provide early defibrillation service if the agency is not 
dispatched for a medical emergency or otherwise 
prohibited by these regulations.  

3. An early defibrillation service may transport an AED for 
the purpose of having the device available to service 
personnel at remote locations. A vehicle transporting an 
AED for this purpose may not be used to respond to 
medical emergencies.  

B. An early defibrillation service and its personnel must 
maintain each automated external defibrillator and required 
equipment in compliance with manufacturer's 
recommendations and federal, state or local laws and 
regulations.  

The following equipment and supplies must be available for 
each automated external defibrillator in use:  

1. Pocket mask or other CPR barrier device.  

2. CDC-recommended protective gloves, four pairs.  

C. An early defibrillation service must comply with the 
following:  

1. Equipment, supplies and storage areas must be kept 
clean and sanitary.  

2. Any soiled supplies or infectious waste generated must 
be disposed of in compliance with current CDC guidelines.  

3. Devices inserted into the patient's nose or mouth that are 
single-use must be disposed of after use. Reusable items 
must be sterilized or high-level disinfected according to 
current CDC guidelines before reuse. If not individually 
wrapped, these items must be stored in a closed container 
or bag.  

4. Waterless antiseptic handwash must be available with 
the AED if other handwashing facilities are not available.  

D. The early defibrillation service coordinator and the 
medical director must provide sufficient training to personnel 
for optional first aid equipment used by the service.  

E. An early defibrillation service must maintain the following 
records:  

1. A personnel record for each personnel including 
documentation of training.  

2. The following records must be maintained at the primary 
place of operation or a secured storage facility, for a period 
of not less than five years to insure reasonable safety from 
water and fire damage and from disclosure to persons other 
than those authorized by law:  

a. Maintenance records for each automated external 
defibrillator in use.  

b. Records of early defibrillation service activity 
including call reports that specifically identify service 
personnel, dispatch records and summary data.  

3. An early defibrillation service must complete an 
"incident report" for each instance where the AED is 
deployed and eventually applied to an actual or potential 
patient. This report form, provided by the Office of EMS, 
will consist of an original and two copies to be distributed 
as follows:  

a. Original shall be maintained by the early defibrillation 
service as prescribed in this section;  

b. Copy 2 shall be forwarded to the Office of EMS for 
review not more than five days following the patient care 
incident;  

c. Copy 3 shall be provided to the responding EMS 
agency that assumed care for the patient. This copy of the 
completed report may be provided either during the 
patient care incident or at a later time, not more than five 
days following the patient care incident.  

F. The registration must be publicly displayed in the 
headquarters of the early defibrillation service.  

G. No person may advertise for services other than those for 
which the early defibrillation service is registered, or imply 
such services in the business' name.  

12 VAC 5-31-2190. Registration identification. (Repealed.) 

An early defibrillation service shall be registered under the 
name of the sponsoring organization and the specific 
geographical location where it is maintained or based.  

12 VAC 5-31-2200. Notification of public safety. 
(Repealed.) 
An early defibrillation service shall notify local public safety 
agencies as required by these regulations.  

12 VAC 5-31-2210. Availability of service. (Repealed.) 

An early defibrillation service shall be available to the 
service's population within its regular operating areas and 
hours.  

12 VAC 5-31-2220. Nondiscrimination. (Repealed.) 

No early defibrillation service may refuse to provide required 
services based on the inability of the patient to provide means 
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of payment or based on the race, creed, color, national origin, 
location or medical condition or any other reason.  

12 VAC 5-31-2230. Communication capability. 
(Repealed.) 

An early defibrillation service shall have telephone or radio 
service available at all times to notify the local EMS agency 
in the event of a medical emergency at the location of the 
AED. This requirement may be satisfied by availability of a 
public telephone.  

12 VAC 5-31-2240. Communication responsibilities with 
public safety. (Repealed.) 

An early defibrillation service shall notify the following local 
public safety agencies of current information about the 
location and extent of its operations:  

1. The EMS agencies with primary responsibility for 
providing emergency response and patient transport 
service.  

2. The Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) responsible 
for dispatch of EMS response. (The PSAP may be a 
municipal dispatch center, law-enforcement, fire or 
independent EMS agency with primary EMS dispatch 
responsibility.)  

12 VAC 5-31-2250. Early defibrillation service medical 
direction. (Repealed.) 

A. An early defibrillation service shall have a medical 
director.  

1. The medical director shall be a physician and meet the 
following qualifications:  

a. The physician shall hold valid, unrestricted licensure to 
practice in Virginia.  

b. The physician shall provide proof of licensure with the 
service registration materials.  

c. The physician shall provide proof of having completed 
training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and automated 
external defibrillation equal to that required of the early 
defibrillation service personnel.  

2. An early defibrillation service shall report current 
information about the name, address, and telephone number 
of the medical director to the Office of EMS  

B. The responsibilities of the medical director include but are 
not limited to the following:  

1. Functioning as a resource to the service in planning, 
scheduling, and delivery of training and continuing 
education programs for the service's personnel;  

2. In consultation with the coordinator, developing and 
monitoring a mechanism to ensure the continued 
competency of the service's personnel to include periodic 

training and AED operation review at least every six 
months;  

3. Reviewing and evaluating periodic reviews of the 
service's activities to ensure an effective patient care 
quality assurance program; and  

4. Establishing and maintaining policies and procedures 
needed to ensure the delivery of proper patient care within 
the early defibrillation service's scope of practice.  

12 VAC 5-31-2260. Personnel requirements and standards 
of conduct. (Repealed.) 

A. Early defibrillation service personnel shall comply with 
the requirements to serve as an "AED Operator" as specified 
in subsections B through D of this section.  

B. Personnel qualifications:  

1. Be a minimum of 16 years of age.  

2. Have successfully completed training in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the use of automated 
external defibrillators in a course or courses approved by 
the Office of EMS. Any person certified by the Office of 
EMS as an EMS First Responder, Emergency Medical 
Technician or an equivalent approved by the Office of 
EMS, without restriction of EMS certification, meets this 
training requirement.  

3. Be capable of performing all assigned duties necessary 
for the performance of cardiopulmonary resuscitation and 
automated external defibrillation.  

C. Standards of conduct.  

1. Early defibrillation service personnel shall comply with 
the requirements of these regulations.  

2. Early defibrillation service personnel shall comply with 
all federal, state or local laws applicable to early 
defibrillation service operations.  

3. Early defibrillation service personnel may not share or 
disclose medical information concerning the names, 
treatment or conditions of patients treated. This information 
is confidential and may be disclosed only to:  

a. Provide for continuing medical care of the patient;  

b. The extent necessary and authorized by the patient or 
his representative in order to collect insurance payments;  

c. Provide continuing education of early defibrillation 
service personnel who provide patient care;  

d. Assist investigations conducted by the board, 
department or Office of EMS.  

4. Early defibrillation service personnel may not represent 
themselves as qualified to perform a level of care for which 
they are not trained or qualified to provide.  
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5. Early defibrillation service personnel may not leave a 
patient in need of medical care without assuring that care is 
available from EMS or other trained medical personnel 
who are present at the scene.  

D. Personnel are expected to provide consistently high quality 
care to all patients.  

1. Early defibrillation service personnel shall provide 
automated external defibrillation consistent with their 
levels of training and within the scope of the early 
defibrillation service with which they may be affiliated.  

2. Early defibrillation service personnel are permitted to 
perform only those procedures, treatments or techniques for 
which they are trained to perform.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-29; Filed November 2, 2006, 8:55 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  14 VAC 5-321. Use of the 2001 CSO 
Mortality Table in Determining Reserve Liabilities and 
Nonforfeiture Benefits (amending 14 VAC 5-321-10, 
14 VAC 5-321-20, 14 VAC 5-321-30, adding 14 VAC 5-
321-70). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  If requested. 
Public comments may be submitted until December 7, 
2006. 

Agency Contact:  Racquel C. Pino-Moreno, Principal 
Insurance Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or email 
raquel.pino-moreno@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed revisions identify the new mortality table in 
14 VAC 5-322 as being applicable pursuant to 14 VAC 5-
321.  Additional clarifying amendments delete citations to 
annuity sections of the Code of Virginia, delete citations to 
sections of the Code of Virginia that exclude certain life 
insurance policies, update a web address, and add a new 
severability section. 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 2, 2006 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
At the relation of the 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2006-00291 

Ex Parte:  In the matter of Adopting Revisions to  
Rules Governing Use of the 2001 CSO Mortality 
Table in Determining Reserve Liabilities and  
Nonforfeiture Benefits  

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall have 
the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia provides 
that the Commission may issue any rules and regulations 
necessary or appropriate for the administration and 
enforcement of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission pursuant 
to § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia are set forth in Title 14 
of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 
Commission proposed revisions to the rules set forth in 
Chapter 321 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code 
and entitled "Use of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table in 
Determining Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture Benefits," 
which amend the rules at 14 VAC 5-321-10 through 14 VAC 
5-321-30 and set forth a new rule at 14 VAC 5-321-70. 

The proposed revisions to the rules amend references to 
certain sections of the Code of Virginia and Chapter 319 of 
Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code.  The proposed 
revisions are necessary to reflect the applicability of a new 
mortality table set forth in the proposed new Chapter 322 of 
Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled "Use of 
the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table in 
Determining Reserve Liabilities," the proposed adoption of 
which is the subject of Commission Case No. INS-2006-
00292. 

In addition, it is proposed that a section entitled "Severability 
clause" be added as a new rule at 14 VAC 5-321-70. 

The Commission is of the opinion that the proposed revisions 
submitted by the Bureau should be considered for adoption 
with an effective date of January 1, 2007. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed revised rules entitled "Use of the 2001 
CSO Mortality Table in Determining Reserve Liabilities 
and Nonforfeiture Benefits," which amend the rules at 
14 VAC 5-321-10 through 14 VAC 5-321-30 and set forth 
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a new rule at 14 VAC 5-321-70, be attached hereto and 
made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in 
support of or in opposition to, or to request a hearing to 
oppose the adoption of, the proposed revised rules shall file 
such comments or hearing request on or before December 
7, 2006, in writing with the Clerk of the Commission, 
Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 
Virginia 23218 and shall refer to Case No. INS-2006-
00291. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposed 
revised rules is filed on or before December 7, 2006, the 
Commission, upon consideration of any comments 
submitted in support of or in opposition to the proposed 
revised rules, may adopt the proposed revised rules as 
submitted by the Bureau. 

(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 
the proposed revised rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy 
Commissioner Douglas C. Stolte, who forthwith shall give 
further notice of the proposed adoption of the revised rules 
by mailing a copy of this Order, together with the proposed 
revised rules, to all life insurers and all other persons 
licensed or authorized by the Commission pursuant to Title 
38.2 of the Code of Virginia to write or reinsure any form 
of life insurance, and certain interested parties designated 
by the Bureau. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 
proposed revised rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 
Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations and shall make available 
this Order and the attached proposed revised rules on the 
Commission's website, 
http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm. 

(6) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 
an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 
paragraph (4) above. 

14 VAC 5-321-10. Authority. 

This chapter is promulgated by the commission, pursuant to 
§ 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with 
§§ 38.2-3130, 38.2-3131, 38.2-3206, 38.2-3207, 38.2-3208, 
through 38.2-3209, and 38.2-4120 of the Code of Virginia 
and 14 VAC 5-319-40, to approve, recognize, permit, and 
prescribe the use of the 2001 Commissioners Standard 
Ordinary (CSO) Mortality Table by and for insurers 
transacting the business of insurance in this Commonwealth. 

14 VAC 5-321-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"2001 CSO Mortality Table" means that mortality table, 
which is included in the Proceedings of the NAIC (2nd 
Quarter 2002), consisting of separate rates of mortality for 
male and female lives, developed by the American Academy 
of Actuaries CSO Task Force from the Valuation Basic 
Mortality Table developed by the Society of Actuaries 
Individual Life Insurance Valuation Mortality Task Force, 
and adopted by the NAIC in December 2002. Unless the 
context indicates otherwise, the "2001 CSO Mortality Table" 
includes both the ultimate form of that table and the select 
and ultimate form of that table and includes both the smoker 
and nonsmoker mortality tables and the composite mortality 
tables. It also includes both the age-nearest-birthday and age-
last-birthday bases of the mortality tables. The 2001 CSO 
Mortality Table may be accessed via the American Academy 
of Actuaries' website, 
http://www.actuary.org/life/cso_0702.htm 
http://www.actuary.org/life/cso/appendix_a_jun02.xls. 

"2001 CSO Mortality Table (F)" means that mortality table 
consisting of the rates of mortality for female lives from the 
2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

"2001 CSO Mortality Table (M)" means that mortality table 
consisting of the rates of mortality for male lives from the 
2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Composite mortality tables" means mortality tables with 
rates of mortality that do not distinguish between smokers 
and nonsmokers. 

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners. 

"Smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables" means mortality 
tables with separate rates of mortality for smokers and 
nonsmokers. 

14 VAC 5-321-30. 2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

A. At the election of the insurer for any one or more specified 
plans of insurance and subject to the conditions stated in this 
chapter, the 2001 CSO Mortality Table may be used as the 
minimum standard for policies issued on or after July 1, 2004, 
and before the date specified in subsection B of this section to 
which subsections A and B of 14 VAC 5-319-40 and 
subdivision 3 1 of § 38.2-3130 and § 38.2-3209 of the Code 
of Virginia are applicable. If the insurer elects to use the 2001 
CSO Mortality Table, it shall do so for both valuation and 
nonforfeiture purposes. 

B. Subject to the conditions stated in this chapter, the 2001 
CSO Mortality Table shall be used in determining minimum 
standards for policies issued on and after January 1, 2009, to 
which subdivision 3 1 of § 38.2-3130 and § 38.2-3209 of the 
Code of Virginia and subsections A and B of 14 VAC 5-319-
40 are applicable. 
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C. A table from the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure 
Mortality Table used in place of a 2001 CSO Mortality Table, 
pursuant to the requirements of 14 VAC 5-322, will be 
treated as part of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table only for 
purposes of reserve valuation pursuant to the requirements of 
this chapter. 

14 VAC 5-321-70. Severability clause. 

If any provision of this chapter or the application thereof to 
any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be 
invalid, the remainder of the chapter and the application of 
the provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-31; Filed November 6, 2006, 2:22 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  14 VAC 5-322. Use of the 2001 CSO 
Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table in Determining 
Reserve Liabilities (adding 14 VAC 5-322-10 through 
14 VAC 5-322-50). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  If requested. 
Public comments may be submitted until December 7, 
2006. 

Agency Contact:  Racquel C. Pino-Moreno, Principal 
Insurance Analyst, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 371-9511, or email 
raquel.pino-moreno@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed rules identify the new mortality table that 
may be used in place of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table 
established in 14 VAC 5-321.  These rules are based on the 
NAIC Model Regulation Permitting the Recognition of 
Preferred Mortality Tables for Use in Determining 
Minimum Reserve Liabilities. 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 2, 2006 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
At the relation of the 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2006-00292 

Ex Parte:  In the matter of Adopting Rules 
Governing Use of the 2001 CSO Preferred 
Class Structure Mortality Table in Determining 
Reserve Liabilities 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia provides that the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall have 

the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 
enforcement and administration of all laws within its 
jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia provides 
that the Commission may issue any rules and regulations 
necessary or appropriate for the administration and 
enforcement of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission pursuant 
to § 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia are set forth in Title 14 
of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 
Commission proposed rules to be designated as Chapter 322 
of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code and entitled 
"Use of the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality 
Table in Determining Reserve Liabilities," which set forth 
new rules at 14 VAC 5-322-10 through 14 VAC 5-322-50. 

The proposed rules create a new chapter (14 VAC 5-322) that 
authorizes life insurers to use the 2001 Commissioners 
Standard Ordinary (CSO) Preferred Class Structure Mortality 
Table in determining reserve liabilities for certain life 
insurance policies. This new chapter is based on a model 
regulation adopted in September 2006 by the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners ("NAIC").  The 
NAIC model reflects differences in mortality in determining 
the minimum liabilities for certain life insurance products and 
is considered to be an interim step toward a principles-based 
reserving system. 

The Commission is of the opinion that the proposed rules 
submitted by the Bureau should be considered for adoption 
with an effective date of January 1, 2007. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed rules designated as Chapter 322 of Title 
14 of the Virginia Administrative Code and entitled "Use 
of the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table 
in Determining Reserve Liabilities," which set forth new 
rules at 14 VAC 5-322-10 through 14 VAC 5-322-50, be 
attached hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in 
support of or in opposition to, or to request a hearing to 
oppose the adoption of, the proposed rules shall file such 
comments or hearing request on or before December 7, 
2006, in writing with the Clerk of the Commission, 
Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 
Virginia 23218 and shall refer to Case No. INS-2006-
00292. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposed rules 
is filed on or before December 7, 2006, the Commission, 
upon consideration of any comments submitted in support 
of or in opposition to the proposed rules, may adopt the 
rules proposed by the Bureau. 

(4) AN ATTESTED COPY hereof, together with a copy of 
the proposed rules, shall be sent by the Clerk of the 
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Commission to the Bureau in care of Deputy 
Commissioner Douglas C. Stolte, who forthwith shall give 
further notice of the proposed adoption of the rules by 
mailing a copy of this Order, together with the proposed 
rules, to all life insurers and all persons licensed or 
authorized by the Commission pursuant to Title 38.2 of the 
Code of Virginia to write or reinsure any form of life 
insurance, and certain interested parties designated by the 
Bureau. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 
proposed rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 
Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations and shall make available this Order 
and the attached proposed rules on the Commission's 
website, http://www.scc.virginia.gov/caseinfo.htm. 

(6) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 
an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 
paragraph (4) above. 

CHAPTER 322. 
USE OF THE 2001 CSO PREFERRED CLASS 

STRUCTURE MORTALITY TABLE IN DETERMINING 
RESERVE LIABILITIES. 

14 VAC 5-322-10. Authority. 

This chapter is promulgated by the commission, pursuant to 
§ 38.2-223 of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with 
§ 38.2-3130 of the Code of Virginia and 14 VAC 5-319-40, 
to approve, recognize, permit, and prescribe the use of the 
2001 Commissioners Standard Ordinary (CSO) Preferred 
Class Structure Mortality Table by and for insurers 
transacting the business of insurance in this Commonwealth. 

14 VAC 5-322-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"2001 CSO Mortality Table" means that mortality table, 
consisting of separate rates of mortality for male and female 
lives, developed by the American Academy of Actuaries CSO 
Task Force from the Valuation Basic Mortality Table 
developed by the Society of Actuaries Individual Life 
Insurance Valuation Mortality Task Force, and adopted by the 
NAIC in December 2002. The 2001 CSO Mortality Table is 
included in the Proceedings of the NAIC (2nd Quarter 2002) 
and supplemented by the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure 
Mortality Table. Unless the context indicates otherwise, the 
"2001 CSO Mortality Table" includes both the ultimate form 
of that table and the select and ultimate form of that table and 
includes both the smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables and 
the composite mortality tables. It also includes both the age-
nearest-birthday and age-last-birthday bases of the mortality 
tables. The 2001 CSO Mortality Table may be accessed via 

the American Academy of Actuaries' website, 
http://www.actuary.org/life/cso/appendix_a_jun02.xls. 
Mortality tables in the 2001 CSO Mortality Table include the 
following: 

1. "2001 CSO Mortality Table (F)" means that mortality 
table consisting of the rates of mortality for female lives 
from the 2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

2. "2001 CSO Mortality Table (M)" means that mortality 
table consisting of the rates of mortality for male lives from 
the 2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

3. "Composite mortality tables" means mortality tables 
with rates of mortality that do not distinguish between 
smokers and nonsmokers. 

4. "Smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables" means 
mortality tables with separate rates of mortality for smokers 
and nonsmokers. 

"2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table" means 
mortality tables with separate rates of mortality for Super 
Preferred Nonsmokers, Preferred Nonsmokers, Residual 
Standard Nonsmokers, Preferred Smokers, and Residual 
Standard Smoker splits of the 2001 CSO Nonsmoker and 
Smoker tables as described in the Tillinghast Report dated 
January 30, 2006, and adopted by the NAIC in June 2006. 
The 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table is 
included in the Proceedings of the NAIC (1st Quarter 2006). 
Unless the context indicates otherwise, the “2001 CSO 
Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table” includes both the 
ultimate form of that table and the select and ultimate form of 
that table. It includes both the smoker and nonsmoker 
mortality tables. It includes both the male and female 
mortality tables and the gender composite mortality tables. It 
also includes both the age-nearest-birthday and age-last-
birthday bases of the mortality table.  

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners. 

"Statistical agent" means an entity with proven systems for 
protecting the confidentiality of individual insured and 
insurer information; demonstrated resources for and history of 
ongoing electronic communications and data transfer 
ensuring data integrity with insurers, which are its members 
or subscribers; and a history of and means for aggregation of 
data and accurate promulgation of the experience 
modifications in a timely manner. 

14 VAC 5-322-30. 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure 
Mortality Table. 

At the election of the insurer, for each calendar year of issue, 
for any one or more specified plans of insurance and subject 
to satisfying the conditions stated in this chapter, the 2001 
CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table may be 
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substituted in place of the 2001 CSO Smoker or Nonsmoker 
Mortality Table as the minimum valuation standard for 
policies issued on or after January 1, 2007. No such election 
shall be made until the insurer demonstrates at least 20% of 
the business to be valued on this table is in one or more of the 
preferred classes. A table from the 2001 CSO Preferred Class 
Structure Mortality Table used in place of a 2001 CSO 
Mortality Table, pursuant to the requirements of this chapter, 
will be treated as part of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table only 
for purposes of reserve valuation pursuant to the requirements 
of the rules entitled "Use of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table In 
Determining Minimum Reserve Liabilities And Nonforfeiture 
Benefits" (14 VAC 5-321). 

14 VAC 5-322-40. Conditions. 

A. For each plan of insurance with separate rates for Preferred 
and Standard Nonsmoker lives, an insurer may use the Super 
Preferred Nonsmoker, Preferred Nonsmoker, and Residual 
Standard Nonsmoker tables to substitute for the Nonsmoker 
mortality table found in the 2001 CSO Mortality Table to 
determine minimum reserves. At the time of election and 
annually thereafter, except for business valued under the 
Residual Standard Nonsmoker Table, the appointed actuary 
shall certify that: 

1. The present value of death benefits over the next 10 
years after the valuation date, using the anticipated 
mortality experience without recognition of mortality 
improvement beyond the valuation date for each class, is 
less than the present value of death benefits using the 
valuation basic table corresponding to the valuation table 
being used for that class.  

2. The present value of death benefits over the future life of 
the contracts, using anticipated mortality experience 
without recognition of mortality improvement beyond the 
valuation date for each class, is less than the present value 
of death benefits using the valuation basic table 
corresponding to the valuation table being used for that 
class. 

B. For each plan of insurance with separate rates for Preferred 
and Standard Smoker lives, an insurer may use the Preferred 
Smoker and Residual Standard Smoker tables to substitute for 
the Smoker mortality table found in the 2001 CSO Mortality 
Table to determine minimum reserves. At the time of election 
and annually thereafter, for business valued under the 
Preferred Smoker Table, the appointed actuary shall certify 
that: 

1. The present value of death benefits over the next 10 
years after the valuation date, using the anticipated 
mortality experience without recognition of mortality 
improvement beyond the valuation date for each class, is 
less than the present value of death benefits using the 
Preferred Smoker valuation basis table corresponding to the 
valuation table being used for that class. 

2. The present value of death benefits over the future life of 
the contracts, using anticipated mortality experience 
without recognition of mortality improvement beyond the 
valuation date for each class, is less than the present value 
of death benefits using the Preferred Smoker valuation 
basic table. 

C. Unless exempted by the commission, every authorized 
insurer having elected to substitute the 2001 CSO Preferred 
Class Structure Mortality Table pursuant to this chapter shall 
file annually with a statistical agent designated by the NAIC 
and acceptable to the commission, statistical reports showing 
mortality and such other information as the commission may 
deem necessary or expedient for the administration of the 
provisions of this chapter. The commission shall require the 
use of a statistical report form established by the NAIC or by 
a statistical agent designated by the NAIC and acceptable to 
the commission. 

14 VAC 5-322-50. Severability clause. 

If any provision of this chapter or the application thereof to 
any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be 
invalid, the remainder of the chapter and the application of 
the provision to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected thereby. 

DOCUMENT INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

American Council of Life Insurers, Preferred Version of 2001 
CSO Mortality Tables, January 30, 2006. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-32; Filed November 6, 2006, 2:24 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations:  22 VAC 40-71. Standards and 
Regulations for Licensed Assisted Living Facilities 
(Repealed). 

22 VAC 40-72. Standards for Licensed Assisted Living 
Facilities (adding 22 VAC 40-72-10 through 22 VAC 40-
72-1160). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1732 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  December 28, 2006. 

Agency Contact:  Richard Martin, Manager, Office of 
Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, Department of Social 
Services, 7 North Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7902, FAX (804) 726-7906, or email 
richard.martin@dss.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The regulatory action is a joint action to repeal the existing 
regulation, 22 VAC 40-71, and establish a new regulation, 
22 VAC 40-72, for licensed assisted living facilities. The 
new regulation includes additional requirements for 
assisted living facilities in the following areas: care and 
services to residents; staff qualifications, training, and 
responsibilities; management of the facility; physical plant 
features; coordination with mental health systems; 
disclosure of information; and emergency preparedness. 
The standards emphasize resident-centered care and 
services. The standards include requirements that strive for 
a more homelike environment for residents. 

The changes in the regulation from publication of the 
proposed include the deletion of standards on risk 
management, quality improvement, and high risk behavior.  
Additionally, details were omitted from several standards 
so that the requirements would be broader and less 
prescriptive, including standards related to incident 
reports, staffing, and mental health evaluation.  Revisions 
were made to assure compliance with regulations of other 
state agencies, in particular the Department of Health 
Professions, the Department of Health, and the Department 
of Housing and Community Development.  Other changes 
were made to improve the care and services provided to 
residents and for clarification purposes. 

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:  A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

CHAPTER 72. 
STANDARDS FOR LICENSED ASSISTED LIVING 

FACILITIES. 

PART I. 
GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

22 VAC 40-72-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living (ADLs)" means bathing, dressing, 
toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control and 
eating/feeding. A person's degree of independence in 
performing these activities is a part of determining 
appropriate level of care and services. 

"Administer medication" means to open a container of 
medicine or to remove the [ prescribed ordered ] dosage and 
to give it to the resident for whom it is [ prescribed ordered ]. 

"Administrator" means the licensee or a person designated by 
the licensee who [ is responsible for the general 
administration of an assisted living facility and who ] 

oversees the day-to-day operation of the facility, including 
compliance with all regulations for licensed assisted living 
facilities. 

"Advance directive" means [ , as defined in § 54.1-2982 of 
the Code of Virginia, ] (i) a witnessed written document, 
voluntarily executed by the declarant in accordance with the 
requirements of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) a 
witnessed oral statement, made by the declarant subsequent to 
the time he is diagnosed as suffering from a terminal 
condition and in accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-
2983 of the Code of Virginia.  The individual or his legal 
representative can rescind the document at any time.  

[ NOTE: See § 54.1-2985 of the Code of Virginia regarding 
rescinding an advance directive and § 54.1-2987.1 of the 
Code of Virginia regarding rescinding a Durable Do Not 
Resuscitate Order. ] 

"Ambulatory" means the condition of a resident who is 
physically and mentally capable of self-preservation by 
evacuating in response to an emergency to a refuge area as 
defined by 13 VAC 5-63, the Virginia [ Uniform ] Statewide 
Building Code, without the assistance of another person, or 
from the structure itself without the assistance of another 
person if there is no such refuge area within the structure, 
even if such resident may require the assistance of a 
wheelchair, walker, cane, prosthetic device, or a single verbal 
command to evacuate. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by an 
assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 
mental impairments and require at least moderate assistance 
with the activities of daily living. Included in this level of 
service are individuals who are dependent in behavior pattern 
(i.e., abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented on the 
uniform assessment instrument. 

"Assisted living facility" means, as defined in § 63.2-100 of 
the Code of Virginia, any congregate residential setting that 
provides or coordinates personal and health care services, 24-
hour supervision, and assistance (scheduled and unscheduled) 
for the maintenance or care of four or more adults who are 
aged, infirm or disabled and who are cared for in a primarily 
residential setting, except (i) a facility or portion of a facility 
licensed by the State Board of Health or the Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, but including any portion of such facility not so 
licensed; (ii) the home or residence of an individual who 
cares for or maintains only persons related to him by blood or 
marriage; (iii) a facility or portion of a facility serving infirm 
or disabled persons between the ages of 18 and 21, or 22 if 
enrolled in an educational program for the handicapped 
pursuant to § 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such 
facility is licensed by the department as a children's 
residential facility under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of 
Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, but including any portion 
of the facility not so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for 
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persons 62 years of age or older or the disabled that provides 
no more than basic coordination of care services and is 
funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 
Development, by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, or by 
the Virginia Housing Development Authority. Included in 
this definition are any two or more places, establishments or 
institutions owned or operated by a single entity and 
providing maintenance or care to a combined total of four or 
more aged, infirm or disabled adults. Maintenance or care 
means the protection, general supervision and oversight of the 
physical and mental well-being of an aged, infirm or disabled 
individual. 

[ NOTE: ] Assuming responsibility for the well-being of 
residents, either directly or through contracted agents, is 
considered "general supervision and oversight." 

[ "Behavior management" means those principles and 
methods employed by a provider to help an individual 
receiving services to achieve a positive outcome and to 
address and correct inappropriate behavior in a constructive 
and safe manner. Behavior management principles and 
methods must be employed in accordance with the 
individualized service plan and written policies and 
procedures governing service expectations, treatment goals, 
safety and security.  

“Behavioral health authority” means the organization, 
appointed by and accountable to the governing body of the 
city or county that established it, that provides mental health, 
mental retardation, and substance abuse services through its 
own staff or through contracts with other organizations and 
providers. ] 

"Building" means a structure with exterior walls under one 
roof. 

"Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)" means an emergency 
procedure consisting of external cardiac massage and 
artificial respiration; the first treatment for a person who has 
collapsed and has no pulse and has stopped breathing; and 
attempts to restore circulation of the blood and prevent death 
or brain damage due to lack of oxygen. 

"Case management" means multiple functions designed to 
link clients to appropriate services. Case management may 
include a variety of common components such as initial 
screening of needs, comprehensive assessment of needs, 
development and implementation of a plan of care, service 
monitoring, and client follow-up. 

"Case manager" means an employee of a public human 
services agency who is qualified and designated to develop 
and coordinate plans of care. 

"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug that 
is used for discipline or convenience and not required to treat 
the resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from mental 

illness or mental retardation, that prohibits an individual from 
reaching his highest level of functioning. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 
his designee or authorized representative. 

"Community services board" or "CSB" means a citizens' 
board established pursuant to § 37.2-501 of the Code of 
Virginia that provides mental health, mental retardation and 
substance abuse programs and services within the political 
subdivision or political subdivisions participating on the 
board. 

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 
responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 
incapacitated person and, where the context plainly indicates, 
includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 
conservator." The term includes a local or regional program 
designated by the Department for the Aging as a public 
conservator pursuant to Article 2 (§ 2.2-711 et seq.) of 
Chapter 7 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Continuous licensed nursing care" means around-the-clock 
observation, assessment, monitoring, supervision, or 
provision of medical treatments provided by a licensed nurse. 
Residents requiring continuous licensed nursing care may 
include: 

1. Individuals who have a medical instability due to 
complexities created by multiple, interrelated medical 
conditions; or 

2. Individuals with a health care condition with a high 
potential for medical instability. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social Services. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 
designee of the State Department of Social Services, acting as 
an authorized agent of the Commissioner of Social Services. 

[ "Dietary supplement” means a product intended for 
ingestion that supplements the diet, is labeled as a dietary 
supplement, is not represented as a sole item of a meal or diet, 
and contains a dietary ingredient(s), i.e., vitamins, minerals, 
amino acid, herbs or other botanicals, dietary substances 
(such as enzymes), and concentrates, metabolites, 
constituents, extracts, or combinations of the preceding types 
of ingredients.  Dietary supplements may be found in many 
forms, such as tablets, capsules, liquids, or bars. ] 

"Direct care staff" means supervisors, assistants, aides, or 
other employees of a facility who assist residents in the 
performance of personal care and daily living activities. 
Examples are likely to include nursing staff, activity staff, 
geriatric or personal care assistants, medication aides, and 
mental health workers but are not likely to include waiters, 
chauffeurs, cooks, and dedicated housekeeping, maintenance 
and laundry personnel. 
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"Discharge" means the movement of a resident out of the 
assisted living facility. 

"Emergency" means, as it applies to restraints, a situation that 
may require the use of a restraint where the resident's 
behavior is unmanageable to the degree an immediate and 
serious danger is presented to the health and safety of the 
resident or others. 

"Emergency placement" means the temporary status of an 
individual in an assisted living facility when the person's 
health and safety would be jeopardized by [ not permitting 
denying ] entry into the facility until the requirements for 
admission have been met. 

[ "Employees" mean personnel working at a facility who are 
compensated or have a financial interest in the facility, 
regardless of role, service, age, function or duration of 
employment at the facility. Employees also include those 
individuals hired through a contract to provide services for 
the facility. ] 

"Good character and reputation" means findings have been 
established and knowledgeable, reasonable, and objective 
people agree that the individual (i) maintains business or 
professional, family, and community relationships that are 
characterized by honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and 
dependability; and (ii) has a history and pattern of behavior 
that demonstrates the individual is suitable and able to 
administer a program for the care, supervision, and protection 
of adults. Relatives by blood or marriage and persons who are 
not knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent 
acquaintances, may not act as references. 

"Guardian" means a person who has been legally invested 
with the authority and charged with the duty of taking care of 
the person, managing his property and protecting the rights of 
the person who has been declared by the circuit court to be 
incapacitated and incapable of administering his own affairs. 
The powers and duties of the guardian are defined by the 
court and are limited to matters within the areas where the 
person in need of a guardian has been determined to be 
incapacitated. 

"Habilitative service" means activities to advance a normal 
sequence of motor skills, movement, and self-care abilities or 
to prevent [ unnecessary avoidable ] additional deformity or 
dysfunction. 

"Health care provider" means a person, corporation, facility 
or institution licensed by this Commonwealth to provide 
health care or professional services such as a physician or 
hospital, dentist, pharmacist, registered or licensed practical 
nurse, optometrist, podiatrist, chiropractor, physical therapist, 
physical therapy assistant, clinical psychologist, or health 
maintenance organization. This list is not all inclusive. 

[ "High risk behavior" means any behavior, including an 
expressed intent, that exposes, or has the potential to expose, 

the person exhibiting the behavior, or those being exposed to 
the behavior, to harm. Examples of high risk behaviors 
include, but are not limited to, the following: physically 
assaulting others or gesturing, making suicidal attempts, 
verbalizing a threat to harm self or others, verbalizing an 
unrealistic fear of being harmed by others, destroying 
property that exposes self or others to harm, wandering in or 
outside of the facility, being intrusive in the personal space of 
others, putting objects or liquids in the mouth that are 
mistaken as food or consumable fluids, increased physical 
activity such as floor pacing that might indicate anxiety or 
stress, increased or confusing speech pattern or 
communications that might indicate a disorder of thought 
process, decreased physical activity such as staying in bed, 
not eating, or not communicating that might indicate 
depression. ] 

"Household member" means any person domiciled in an 
assisted living facility other than residents or [ employees 
staff ]. 

"Imminent physical threat or danger" means clear and present 
risk of sustaining or inflicting serious [ to or ] life threatening 
injuries.  

"Independent clinical psychologist" means a clinical 
psychologist who is chosen by the resident of the assisted 
living facility and who has no financial interest in the assisted 
living facility, directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer or 
employee or as an independent contractor with the facility. 

"Independent living environment" means one in which the 
resident or residents perform all activities of daily living and 
instrumental activities of daily living for themselves without 
requiring the assistance of another person [ and take 
medication without requiring the assistance of another 
person ]. 

"Independent living status" means that the resident is assessed 
as capable of performing all activities of daily living and 
instrumental activities of daily living for himself without 
requiring the assistance of another person [ and is assessed as 
capable of taking medications without the assistance of 
another person ]. (If the policy of a facility dictates that 
medications are administered or distributed centrally without 
regard for the residents' capacity, this [ policy ] shall not be 
considered in determining independent status.) 

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen by 
the resident of the assisted living facility and who has no 
financial interest in the assisted living facility, directly or 
indirectly, as an owner, officer, or employee or as an 
independent contractor with the facility.  

[ NOTE: "Physician" is defined later in this section. ] 

"Individualized service plan (ISP)" means the written 
description of actions to be taken by the licensee, including 
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coordination with other services providers, to meet the 
assessed needs of the resident. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living (IADLs)" means meal 
preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing money. A 
person's degree of independence in performing these 
activities is a part of determining appropriate level of care and 
services. 

"Intermittent intravenous therapy" means therapy provided by 
a licensed health care professional at medically predictable 
intervals for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 
basis. 

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible for 
representing or standing in the place of the resident for the 
conduct of his affairs. This may include a guardian, 
conservator, attorney-in-fact under durable power of attorney, 
trustee, or other person expressly named by a court of 
competent jurisdiction or the resident as his agent in a legal 
document that specifies the scope of the representative’s 
authority to act. A legal representative may only represent or 
stand in the place of a resident for the function or functions 
for which he has legal authority to act. 

[ NOTE: ] A resident is presumed competent and is 
responsible for making all health care, personal care, 
financial, and other personal decisions that affect his life 
unless a representative with legal authority has been 
appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction or has been 
appointed by the resident in a properly executed and signed 
document. A resident may have different legal representatives 
for different functions. 

[ NOTE: ] For any given standard, the term legal 
representative applies solely to the legal representative with 
the authority to act in regard to the function or functions 
relevant to that particular standard.  

"Licensed health care professional" means any health care 
professional currently licensed by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia to practice within the scope of his profession, such 
as a nurse practitioner, registered nurse, licensed practical 
nurse, (nurses may be licensed or hold multistate licensure 
pursuant to § 54.1-3000 of the Code of Virginia), clinical 
social worker, dentist, occupational therapist, pharmacist, 
physical therapist, physician, physician assistant, 
psychologist, and speech-language pathologist. 

[ NOTE: ] Responsibilities of physicians [ contained within 
referenced in ] this chapter may be implemented by nurse 
practitioners or physician assistants [ as assigned by the 
supervising physician and within the parameters of 
professional licensing in accordance with their protocols or 
practice agreements with their supervising physicians and in 
accordance with the law ]. 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership [ or , ] 
corporation [ , company or public agency ] to whom the 
license is issued. 

"Manager" means a designated person who serves as a 
manager pursuant to 22 VAC 40-72-220 and 22 VAC 40-72-
230. 

"Mandated reporter" means the following persons acting in 
their professional capacity who have reason to suspect abuse, 
neglect or exploitation of an adult: 

1. Any person licensed, certified, or registered by health 
regulatory boards listed in § 54.1-2503 of the Code of 
Virginia, with the exception of persons licensed by the 
Board of Veterinary Medicine; 

2. Any mental health services provider as defined in § 54.1-
2400.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. Any emergency medical services personnel certified by 
the Board of Health pursuant to § 32.1-111.5 of the Code of 
Virginia; 

4. Any guardian or conservator of an adult; 

5. Any person employed by or contracted with a public or 
private agency or facility and working with adults in an 
administrative, supportive or direct care capacity; 

6. Any person providing full, intermittent or occasional 
care to an adult for compensation, including but not limited 
to companion, chore, homemaker, and personal care 
workers; and  

7. Any law-enforcement officer. 

This is pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Maximum physical assistance" means that an individual has 
a rating of total dependence in four or more of the seven 
activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 
assessment instrument.  

[ NOTE: ] An individual who can participate in any way with 
performance of the activity is not considered to be totally 
dependent. 

"Medication aide" means a staff person who has successfully 
completed (i) one of the five requirements specified in 22 
VAC 40-72-250 C 1 through 5 [ , with an exception allowed 
if responsible for medication administration prior to (insert 
the effective date of these standards), (See 22 VAC 40-72-
660 for exception), ] and (ii) the medication training program 
developed by the department and approved by the Board of 
Nursing. 

[ This definition expires one year after the effective date of 
regulations promulgated by the Board of Nursing for the 
registration of medication aides.  Thereafter, medication aides 
shall mean those persons who have current registration by the 
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Board of Nursing to administer drugs that would otherwise be 
self-administered to residents in an assisted living facility. ] 

"Mental impairment" means a disability that reduces an 
individual's ability to reason [ logically ], make [ appropriate ] 
decisions, or engage in purposeful behavior. 

[ "Mentally ill" means any person afflicted with mental 
disease to such an extent that for his own welfare or the 
welfare of others he requires care and treatment, or with 
mental disorder or functioning classifiable under the 
diagnostic criteria from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual 
of Mental Disorders of the American Psychiatric Association, 
Fourth Edition, Text Revision, 2000, or subsequent editions, 
that affects the well-being or behavior of an individual. 

"Mentally retarded" means substantial subaverage general 
intellectual functioning that originates during the 
development period and is associated with impairment in 
adaptive behavior. It exists concurrently with related 
limitations in two or more of the following applicable 
adaptive skill areas: communication, self-care, home living, 
social skills, community use, self-direction, health and safety, 
functional academics, leisure, and work. ] 

[ “Mental illness” means a disorder of thought, mood, 
emotion, perception, or orientation that significantly impairs 
judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to 
address basic life necessities and requires care and treatment 
for the health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the 
safety of others.  

“Mental retardation” means disability, originating before the 
age of 18 years, characterized concurrently by (i) significantly 
subaverage intellectual functioning as demonstrated by 
performance on a standardized measure of intellectual 
functioning, administered in conformity with accepted 
professional practice, that is at least two standard deviations 
below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in adaptive 
behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and practical 
adaptive skills. ] 

"Minimal assistance" means dependency in only one activity 
of daily living or dependency in one or more of the 
instrumental activities of daily living as documented on the 
uniform assessment instrument. 

"Moderate assistance" means dependency in two or more of 
the activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 
assessment instrument. 

"Nonambulatory" means the condition of a resident who by 
reason of physical or mental impairment is not capable of 
self-preservation without the assistance of another person. 

"Nonemergency" means, as it applies to restraints, 
circumstances that may require the use of a restraint for the 
purpose of providing support to a physically weakened 
resident. 

"Outbreak" means a sudden rise in the incidence of a disease 
or symptoms above expected levels, or the occurrence of a 
large number of cases of a disease or symptoms in a short 
period of time. There is not a specific number or percentage 
that always constitutes an outbreak because the level of risk is 
dependent upon the severity of the disease or the intensity of 
the symptoms. 

"Physical impairment" means a condition of a bodily or 
sensory nature that reduces an individual's ability to function 
or to perform activities. 

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical or 
mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or 
adjacent to the resident's body that the resident cannot remove 
easily, which restricts freedom of movement or access to his 
body. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice medicine 
[ or osteopathic medicine ] in any of the 50 states or the 
District of Columbia. 

[ "Prescriber" means a practitioner who is authorized pursuant 
to §§ 54.1-3303 and 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia to 
issue a prescription. ] 

"Private pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 
facility is not eligible for benefits under the Auxiliary Grants 
Program. 

"Psychopharmacologic drug" means any drug prescribed or 
administered with the intent of controlling mood, mental 
status or behavior. Psychopharmacologic drugs include not 
only the obvious drug classes, such as antipsychotic, 
antidepressants, and the antianxiety/hypnotic class, but any 
drug that is prescribed or administered with the intent of 
controlling mood, mental status, or behavior, regardless of the 
manner in which it is marketed by the manufacturers and 
regardless of labeling or other approvals by the [ United 
States ] Food and Drug Administration. 

"Public pay" means that a resident of an assisted living 
facility is eligible for benefits under the Auxiliary Grants 
Program. 

"Qualified" means having appropriate training and experience 
commensurate with assigned responsibilities; or if referring to 
a professional, possessing an appropriate degree or having 
documented equivalent education, training or experience. 

[ NOTE: Specific definitions for qualified assessor and 
qualified mental health professional are included in this 
section. ] 

"Qualified assessor" means an individual who is authorized to 
perform an assessment, reassessment, or change in level of 
care for an applicant to or resident of an assisted living 
facility. For public pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an 
employee of a public human services agency trained in the 
completion of the uniform assessment instrument [ (UAI) ]. 
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For private pay individuals, a qualified assessor is an 
employee of the assisted living facility trained in the 
completion of the UAI or an independent private physician or 
a qualified assessor for public pay individuals. 

"Qualified mental health professional" means a [ clinician in 
the health professions behavioral health professional ] who is 
trained and experienced in providing psychiatric or mental 
health services to individuals who have a psychiatric 
diagnosis, including and limited to (i) a physician [ : a doctor 
of medicine or osteopathy; (ii) a psychiatrist: a doctor of 
medicine or osteopathy, specializing in psychiatry and ] 
licensed in Virginia; [ (iii) (ii) ] a psychologist: an individual 
with a master's degree in psychology from a college or 
university accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. 
Secretary of Education, with at least one year of clinical 
experience; [ (iv) (iii) ] a social worker: an individual with at 
least a [ bachelor's master's ] degree in human services or 
related field (social work, psychology, psychiatric 
rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, vocational 
rehabilitation, or human services counseling) from [ an a ] 
college or university accredited by an association recognized 
by the U.S. Secretary of Education, with at least one year of 
clinical experience providing direct services to persons with a 
diagnosis of mental illness; [ (v) (iv) ] a Registered 
Psychiatric Rehabilitation Provider (RPRP) registered with 
the International Association of Psychosocial Rehabilitation 
Services (IAPSRS); [ (vi) (v) ] a [ registered nurse clinical 
nurse specialist or psychiatric nurse practitioner ] licensed in 
the Commonwealth of Virginia with at least one year of 
clinical experience working in a mental health treatment 
facility or agency; [ (vii) (vi) ] any other licensed mental 
health professional; or (viii) any other person deemed by the 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services as having qualifications equivalent 
to those described in this definition. [ Any unlicensed person 
who meets the requirements contained in this definition shall 
either be under the supervision of a licensed mental health 
professional or employed by an agency or organization 
licensed by the Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services. ] 

"Rehabilitative services" means activities that are ordered by 
a physician or other qualified health care professional that are 
provided by a rehabilitative therapist (physical therapist, 
occupational therapist or speech-language pathologist). These 
activities may be necessary when a resident has demonstrated 
a change in his capabilities and are provided to [ enhance 
restore ] or improve his level of functioning. 

"Resident" means any adult residing in an assisted living 
facility [ for the purpose of receiving maintenance or care ]. 

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided by 
an assisted living facility for adults who may have physical or 
mental impairments and require only minimal assistance with 
the activities of daily living. Included in this level of service 

are individuals who are dependent in medication 
administration as documented on the uniform assessment 
instrument. This definition includes the services provided by 
the facility to individuals who are assessed as capable of 
maintaining themselves in an independent living status. 

"Respite care" means services provided for maintenance and 
care of aged, infirm or disabled adults for temporary periods 
of time, regularly or intermittently. Facilities offering this 
type of care are subject to this chapter. 

"Restorative care" means activities designed to assist the 
resident in reaching or maintaining his level of potential. 
These activities are not required to be provided by a 
rehabilitative therapist and may include activities such as 
range of motion, assistance with ambulation, positioning, 
assistance and instruction in the activities of daily living, 
psychosocial skills training, and reorientation and reality 
orientation. 

[ "Risk management" means a planned set of strategies 
intended to eliminate or reduce potential or actual harm to 
persons from risks to their person or well-being, including but 
not limited to, environmental and physical hazards, harm 
from others or from self. ] 

"Safe, secure environment" means a self-contained special 
care unit for individuals with serious cognitive impairments 
due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of dementia who 
cannot recognize danger or protect their own safety and 
welfare. Means of egress that lead to unprotected areas must 
be monitored or secured through devices that conform to 
applicable building and fire safety standards, including but 
not limited to door alarms, cameras, constant [ employee 
staff ] oversight, security bracelets that are part of an alarm 
system, pressure pads at doorways, delayed egress 
mechanisms, locking devices or perimeter fence gates. There 
may be one or more self-contained special care units in a 
facility or the whole facility may be a special care unit. 
[ NOTE: ] Nothing in this definition limits or contravenes the 
privacy protections set forth in § 63.2-1808 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

"Sanitizing" means treating in such a way to remove bacteria 
and viruses through using a disinfectant solution (e.g., bleach 
solution or commercial chemical disinfectant) or physical 
agent (e.g., heat). 

"Serious cognitive impairment" means severe deficit in 
mental capability of a chronic, enduring or long-term nature 
that affects areas such as thought processes, problem-solving, 
judgment, memory, and comprehension and that interferes 
with such things as reality orientation, ability to care for self, 
ability to recognize danger to self or others, and impulse 
control. Such cognitive impairment is not due to acute or 
episodic conditions, nor conditions arising from treatable 
metabolic or chemical imbalances or caused by reactions to 
medication or toxic substances. 
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"Significant change" means a change in a resident’s condition 
that is expected to last longer than 30 days. It does not 
include short-term changes that resolve with or without 
intervention, a short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a 
well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs 
and symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed 
condition where an appropriate course of treatment is in 
progress. 

"Skilled nursing treatment" means a service ordered by a 
physician [ or other prescriber ] that is provided by and within 
the scope and practice of a licensed nurse. 

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 
curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 
interventions. These interventions break down complex 
objectives for role performance into simpler components, 
including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 
learning and competency. 

[ "Staff" or "staff person" means personnel working at a 
facility who are compensated or have a financial interest in 
the facility, regardless of role, service, age, function or 
duration of employment at the facility.  Staff or staff person 
also includes those individuals hired through a contract to 
provide services for the facility. ] 

"Substance abuse" means the use, without compelling 
medical reason, of alcohol or other legal or illegal drugs that 
results in psychological or physiological dependency or 
danger to self or others as a function of continued use in such 
a manner as to induce mental, emotional or physical 
impairment and cause socially dysfunctional or socially 
disordering behavior. 

"Systems review" means a physical examination of the body 
to determine if the person is experiencing problems or 
distress, including cardiovascular system, respiratory system, 
gastrointestinal system, urinary system, endocrine system, 
musculoskeletal system, nervous system, sensory system and 
the skin. 

"Transfer" means movement of a resident to a different 
assigned living area within the same licensed facility. 

"Uniform assessment instrument (UAI)" means the 
department designated assessment form. There is an alternate 
version of the form that may be used for private pay residents. 
Social and financial information that is not relevant because 
of the resident's payment status is not included on the private 
pay version of the form. 

22 VAC 40-72-20. Legal base and applicability. 

A. Chapters 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) and 18 (§ 63.2-1800 et 
seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia include 
requirements of law relating to licensure, including licensure 
of assisted living facilities. 

B. This regulation applies to assisted living facilities as 
defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia and in 22 VAC 
40-72-10. 

1. Each assisted living facility shall comply with Parts I 
(22 VAC 40-72-10 et seq.) through IX (22 VAC 40-72-930 
et seq.) of this regulation. 

2. An assisted living facility that cares for adults with 
serious cognitive impairments who cannot recognize 
danger or protect their own safety and welfare shall also 
comply with Part X (22 VAC 40-72-980 et seq.) of this 
regulation. 

22 VAC 40-72-30. Dedicated hospice facilities. 

A. Providers operating an assisted living facility that is a 
dedicated hospice facility shall maintain compliance with 
both the department’s regulations for the licensure of assisted 
living facilities and the Department of Health’s regulations 
for the licensure of hospice.  

B. When applicable regulations for licensure of assisted living 
facilities and licensure of hospice are similar, the more 
stringent regulation shall take precedence. 

C. At the time of submission of a renewal application for an 
assisted living facility license, providers operating a dedicated 
hospice facility shall include a copy of all inspection reports 
and plans of correction for the licensed hospice for the 
previous assisted living facility licensure period. These 
reports may be taken into consideration in the department’s 
decision to renew an assisted living facility’s license. 

[ D. The administration of medications to residents of 
dedicated hospice facilities shall comply with 12 VAC 5-391-
430 A and B.  The use of medication aides is prohibited. 

E. The health care oversight stipulated in 22 VAC 40-72-480 
shall be conducted by a registered nurse, licensed physician, 
or a nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant acting as 
assigned by the supervising physician and within the 
parameters of professional licensing. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-40. Program of care. 

There shall be a program of care that: 

1. Meets the resident population's physical, mental, 
emotional, and psychosocial needs; 

2. Provides protection, guidance and supervision; 

3. Promotes a sense of security and self-worth; 

4. Promotes the resident's involvement with appropriate 
community resources; and 

5. Meets the objectives of the service plan.  
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PART II. 
ADMINISTRATION AND ADMINISTRATIVE 

SERVICES. 

22 VAC 40-72-50. Licensee. 

A. The licensee shall ensure compliance with all regulations 
for licensed assisted living facilities and terms of the license 
issued by the department; with relevant federal, state or local 
laws and other relevant regulations; and with the facility's 
own policies and procedures. 

B. The licensee shall meet the following requirements: 

1. The licensee shall give evidence of financial 
responsibility. 

2. The licensee shall be of good character and reputation. 

[ NOTE: ] Character and reputation investigation includes, 
but is not limited to, background checks as required by 
§§ 63.2-1702 and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. The licensee shall meet the requirements specified in the 
Regulation for Background Checks for Assisted Living 
Facilities and Adult Day Care Centers (22 VAC 40-90). 

4. The licensee shall protect the physical and mental 
well-being of residents. 

5. The licensee shall exercise general supervision over the 
affairs of the licensed facility and establish policies [ and 
procedures ] concerning its operation in conformance with 
applicable law, these regulations, and the welfare of the 
residents. 

6. The licensee shall develop and maintain an operating 
budget, including resident care, dietary, and physical plant 
maintenance allocations and expenditures. The budget shall 
be sufficient to ensure adequate funds in all aspects of 
operation. 

7. The licensee shall ensure that the facility [ keep keeps ] 
such records, [ make makes ] such reports and [ maintain 
maintains ] such plans, schedules, and other information as 
required by this chapter for licensed assisted living 
facilities. The facility shall submit, or make available, to 
the department’s representative, records, reports, plans, 
schedules, and other information necessary to establish 
compliance with this chapter and applicable law. Such 
records, reports, plans, schedules, and other information 
shall be maintained at the facility and may be inspected at 
any reasonable time by the department’s representative. 

8. The licensee shall meet the qualifications of and 
requirements for the administrator if he serves as the 
administrator of the facility. 

C. An assisted living facility sponsored by a religious 
organization, a corporation or a voluntary association shall be 
controlled by a governing board of directors that shall fulfill 
the duties of the licensee. 

D. Upon initial application for an assisted living facility 
license, any person applying to operate such a facility who 
has not previously owned or managed or does not currently 
own or manage a licensed assisted living facility shall be 
required to undergo training by the commissioner or his 
designated agents. Such training shall be required of those 
owners and currently employed administrators of an assisted 
living facility at the time of initial application for a license. 

1. The commissioner may also approve training programs 
provided by other entities and allow owners or 
administrators to attend such approved training programs in 
lieu of training by the department. 

2. The commissioner may [ at his discretion ] also approve 
for licensure applicants who meet requisite experience 
criteria as established by the board. 

3. The training programs shall focus on the health and 
safety regulations and resident rights as they pertain to 
assisted living facilities and shall be completed by the 
owner or administrator prior to the granting of an initial 
license. 

4. The commissioner may, at his discretion, issue a license 
conditioned upon the owner or administrator's completion 
of the required training. 

E. If there are plans for a facility to be voluntarily closed or 
sold, the licensee shall notify the licensing office of intent to 
close or sell the facility no less than 60 days prior to the 
closure or sale date. The following shall apply: 

1. No less than 60 days prior to the planned closure or sale 
date, the licensee shall notify the residents, legal 
representatives, and designated contact persons of the 
intended closure or sale of the facility and the date for such, 
and the requirements of 22 VAC 40-72-420 shall apply. 

2. If the facility is to be sold, at the time of notification of 
residents of such, the licensee shall explain to each 
resident, legal representative, and at least one designated 
contact person that unless provided otherwise by the new 
licensee, the resident has a choice as to whether to stay or 
to relocate and that if a resident chooses to stay, there must 
be a new agreement/acknowledgment between the resident 
and the new licensee that meets the specifications of 
22 VAC 40-72-390. 

3. The licensee shall provide updates regarding the closure 
or sale of the facility to the licensing office, as requested. 

EXCEPTION: If plans are made at such time that 60-day 
notice is not possible, the licensee shall notify the licensing 
office, the residents, legal representatives, and designated 
contact persons as soon as the intent to close or sell the 
facility is known. 
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22 VAC 40-72-60. Disclosure. 

A. The assisted living facility shall prepare and provide a 
statement to the prospective resident and his legal 
representative, if any, that discloses information about the 
facility. The statement shall be on a form developed by the 
department and shall: 

1. Disclose information fully and accurately in plain 
language; 

2. Be provided to the prospective resident and his legal 
representative at least five days in advance of the planned 
admission date, and prior to signing an admission 
agreement or contract; 

[ EXCEPTION: If circumstances are such that resident 
admission to a facility prevents disclosure of the information 
at least five days in advance, then the information shall be 
disclosed at the earliest possible time prior to signing an 
admission agreement or contract. The circumstances causing 
the delay shall be documented. ] 

3. Be provided to a resident or his legal representative upon 
request; and 

4. Disclose the following information, which shall be kept 
current: 

a. Name of the facility; 

b. Name of the licensee; 

c. Names of any other [ assisted living ] facilities for 
which the licensee has [ been issued ] a [ current ] license 
[ issued ] by the Commonwealth of Virginia; 

d. Ownership structure of the facility, i.e., individual, 
partnership, corporation, limited liability company, 
unincorporated association or public agency; 

[ e. Owner of the property, if it is leased; 

f. e. ] Name of management company that operates the 
facility, if other than the licensee; 

[ g. f. ] Licensed capacity of the facility and description 
of the characteristics of the resident population; 

[ h. g. ] Description of all accommodations, services, and 
care that the facility offers; 

[ i. h. ] Fees charged for accommodations, services, and 
care, including clear information about what is included 
in the base fee and any fees for additional 
accommodations, services, and care; 

[ j. i. ] Policy regarding increases in charges and length 
of time for advance notice of intent to increase charges; 

[ k. j. ] Amount of an advance or deposit payment and 
refund policy for such payment; 

[ l. k. ] Criteria for admission to the facility and any 
restrictions on admission; 

[ m. l. ] Criteria for transfer to a different living area 
within the same facility, including transfer to another 
level [ , gradation, or type ] of care within the same 
facility or complex; 

[ n. m. ] Criteria for discharge, including the actions, 
circumstances, or conditions that would result or [ might 
may ] result in the resident’s discharge from the facility; 

[ o. n. ] Requirements or rules regarding resident conduct 
and other restrictions and special conditions; 

[ p. o. ] Range, categories, frequency, and number of 
activities provided for residents;  

[ q. p. ] General number, functions, and qualifications of 
staff on each shift;  

[ r. ] [ Indication of whether contractors are used to 
provide any essential services to residents and, if used, 
provide names of contractors upon request 
 q. Notification that names of contractors providing 
essential services to residents are available upon 
request ]: and  

[ s. r. ] Address of the website of the department, with a 
note that additional information about the facility may be 
obtained from the website, including type of license, 
special services, and compliance history that includes 
information after July 1, 2003. 

B. If a prospective resident is admitted to the facility, written 
acknowledgement of the receipt of the disclosure by the 
resident or his legal representative shall be retained in his 
record. 

[ EXCEPTION: If circumstances are such that resident 
admission to a facility prevents disclosure of the information 
at least five days in advance, then the information shall be 
disclosed at the earliest possible time prior to signing an 
admission agreement or contract. The circumstances causing 
the delay shall be documented. ] 

C. The information required in this section shall also be 
available to the general public. 

22 VAC 40-72-70. [ Risk management. (Reserved.) ] 

[ The licensee or his designee shall develop, implement, 
monitor, and evaluate a risk management plan for the facility 
that addresses risk to residents, employees, volunteers and 
visitors. The plan shall be in writing and shall include 
procedures for identifying, monitoring, and preventing or 
minimizing risks associated with, but not limited to, injuries, 
errors in medication administration or documentation, dermal 
ulcers, infections, falls, wandering, aggression, suicide and 
suicide attempts, assaults, resident abuse, procedure errors, 
and environmental and physical hazards.   
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22 VAC 40-72-80. [ Quality improvement. (Reserved.) ] 

[ A. Each assisted living facility shall develop and implement 
an ongoing quality improvement program to evaluate 
objectively and systematically the quality of resident care and 
services, pursue opportunities to improve care and services, 
and resolve identified problems. 

B. Each facility shall perform a comprehensive, integrated, 
self-assessment of the quality and appropriateness of care 
provided to meet the needs of residents, including services 
provided under contract or agreement. The administrator shall 
involve in the assessment direct care staff and any other 
employees as deemed appropriate. The self-assessment shall 
be performed at least quarterly and shall include, but not be 
limited to, an examination of the following: 

1. Appropriateness of services provided to residents; 

2. Results of resident care;  

3. Degree of individual resident participation in decisions 
regarding the care and services provided to him; 

4. Unacceptable or unexpected trends or occurrences; 

5. Degree of satisfaction of residents and their families; 

6. Appropriateness of complaint resolution; 

7. Employee concerns; 

8. Findings and recommendations from the health care 
oversight required by 22 VAC 40-72-480 and actions taken 
as a result; 

9. Incident reports and other occurrences as required in 22 
VAC 40-72-100; and 

10. Findings of department inspections and actions taken to 
correct violations. 

C. The facility shall use the findings of the self-assessment to 
improve the quality and appropriateness of care and services 
to residents. The facility shall develop and implement 
appropriate plans of action to: 

1. Correct identified deficiencies and their causes; 

2. Resolve systemic problems; 

3. Revise policies and practices, as necessary; and 

4. Improve overall care and services. 

D. The facility shall document compliance with these 
requirements and the outcomes of the plans of action. 
Relevant dates and the signature of the administrator 
indicating review of the documentation shall be included. The 
documentation for at least the most recent three-year period 
shall be maintained at the facility. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-90. Infection control program. 

A. The assisted living facility shall establish and maintain an 
infection control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, 
and comfortable environment and to prevent the development 
and transmission of disease and infection.  

B. The infection control program shall [ encompass include 
all staff and services and ] the entire physical plant and 
grounds [ and all services ]. 

C. The infection control program addressing the surveillance, 
prevention and control of infections shall include:  

1. Establishing procedures to isolate the infecting 
organism; 

2. Providing easy access to handwashing equipment for all 
[ employees staff ] and volunteers; 

3. Training for and supervisory monitoring of all 
[ employees staff ] and volunteers in proper handwashing 
techniques, according to accepted professional standards, to 
prevent cross contamination; 

4. Training for all [ employees staff ] and volunteers in 
appropriate implementation of standard precautions; 

5. Prohibiting [ employees staff ] and volunteers with 
communicable diseases or infections from direct contact 
with residents or their food, if direct contact may transmit 
disease; 

6. Monitoring [ employees’ and volunteers’ ] performance 
of infection control practices [ by staff and volunteers ]; 

7. Handling, storing, processing and transporting linens, 
supplies and equipment in a manner that prevents the 
spread of infection;  

8. Handling, storing, processing and transporting medical 
waste in accordance with applicable regulations;  

9. Maintaining an effective pest control program; and  

10. Providing [ employee staff ] and volunteer education 
regarding infection risk-reduction behavior.  

D. The methods utilized for infection control shall be 
described in a written document that shall be available to all 
staff. 

22 VAC 40-72-100. Incident [ and occurrence ] reports. 

A. Each facility shall report to the licensing office by the next 
working day any major incident that has negatively affected 
[ or could threaten or that threatens ] the life, health, safety or 
welfare of any resident.  

[ B. Each facility shall report to the licensing office by the 
next working day the following occurrences: 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 27, 2006 

903 

1. Absence/elopement of a resident from the facility when 
the resident cannot be located or has left the premises and 
there is sufficient reason to question his whereabouts;  

2. An outbreak of a contagious disease or condition among 
residents, or an outbreak of food poisoning among 
residents; 

3. Significant physical damage to the facility, disruption of 
utilities services, call to the fire department or evacuation 
of the building or any rooms in the building due to a fire, 
natural disaster or other emergency; 

4. An occurrence that requires the services of a law-
enforcement agency. 

C. B. ] The report required in [ subsections A and B 
subsection A ] of this section shall include (i) the name of the 
facility, (ii) the name(s) of the resident(s) involved in the 
incident [ or occurrence ], (iii) the name of the person making 
the report, (iv) the date of the incident [ or occurrence ], [ (iv) 
(v) ] a description of the incident [ or occurrence ], and [ (v) 
(vi) ] the actions taken in response to the incident [ or 
occurrence ]. 

[ D. C. ] The facility shall submit a written report of each 
incident [ or occurrence ] specified in [ subsections A and B 
subsection A ] of this section to the licensing office within 
seven days after the incident [ or occurrence ] took place. The 
report shall be signed and dated by the administrator and 
include the following information: 

1. Name and address of the facility; 

2. Name of the resident(s) involved in the incident [ or 
occurrence ]; 

3. Date and time of the incident [ or occurrence ]; 

4. Name, title, and signature of the person making the 
report; 

5. Date of completion of the report; 

6. Type of incident [ or occurrence ]; 

7. Description of the incident [ or occurrence ], the 
circumstances under which it happened, and when 
applicable, extent of injury or damage; 

8. Location of the incident [ or occurrence ]; 

9. Actions taken in response to the incident [ or 
occurrence ]; 

10. Outcome resolution of the incident [ or occurrence ], 
and if applicable follow-up actions or care; 

11. Name of [ employee staff person ] in charge at the time 
of the incident [ or occurrence ]; 

12. Names, telephone numbers and addresses of witnesses 
to the incident [ or occurrence ], if any. 

[ E. D. ] The facility shall submit [ to the licensing office ] 
amendments to the written report when circumstances 
require, such as when [ substantial ] additional actions are 
taken [ , significant new information becomes available, ] or 
there is resolution of the incident [ or occurrence ] after 
submission of the report [ or significant new information 
becomes available ]. 

[ F. E. ] A copy of the written report of each incident [ or 
occurrence ] shall be maintained by the facility for at least 
two years. 

22 VAC 40-72-110. [ Provision of data. (Reserved.) ] 

[ As requested by the department, but not more than twice 
annually, the facility shall provide the department with 
demographic and clinical data on its residents. Such data may 
include, but shall not be limited to, the average age of persons 
in care, number of private pay persons and number of public 
pay persons, and the number of persons meeting certain major 
medical and psychiatric diagnostic categories. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-120. Conservator or guardian. 

The facility licensee/operator, facility administrator, relatives 
of the licensee/operator or administrator, or facility 
[ employees staff ] shall not act as, seek to become, or 
become the conservator or guardian of any resident unless 
specifically so appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction 
pursuant to Article 1 (§ 37.2-1000 et seq.) of Chapter 10 of 
Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

22 VAC 40-72-130. Management and control of resident 
funds. 

Pursuant to § 63.2-1808 A 3 of the Code of Virginia, unless a 
conservator or guardian of a resident has been appointed (see 
22 VAC 40-72-120), the resident shall be free to manage his 
personal finances and funds; provided, however, that the 
facility may assist the resident in such management in 
accordance with 22 VAC 40-72-140 and 22 VAC 40-72-150. 

22 VAC 40-72-140. Resident accounts. 

The facility shall provide to each resident [ or the resident's 
conservator or guardian, if one has been appointed, ] a 
monthly statement or itemized receipt of the resident's 
account and shall [ also ] place a copy [ also ] in the resident's 
record. The monthly statement or itemized receipt shall 
itemize any charges made and any payments received during 
the previous 30 days or during the previous calendar month 
and shall show the balance due or any credits for 
overpayment on the resident's account. 

22 VAC 40-72-150. Safeguarding residents' funds. 

A. If the resident delegates the management of personal funds 
to the facility, the following standards apply: 

1. Residents' funds shall be held separately from any other 
moneys of the facility. Residents' funds shall not be 
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borrowed, used as assets of the facility, or used for 
purposes of personal interest by the licensee/operator, 
administrator, or facility [ employee staff ]. 

2. If the facility's accumulated residents' funds are 
maintained in a single interest-bearing account, each 
resident shall receive interest proportionate to his average 
monthly account balance. The facility may deduct a 
reasonable cost for administration of the account. 

3. If any personal funds are held by the facility for 
safekeeping on behalf of the resident, a written accounting 
of money received and disbursed, showing a current 
balance, shall be maintained. Residents' funds and the 
accounting of the funds shall be made available to the 
resident or the legal representative or both upon request. 

B. No facility administrator or [ employee staff person ] shall 
act as either attorney-in-fact or trustee unless the resident has 
no other preferred designee and the resident himself expressly 
requests such service by or through facility personnel. Any 
facility administrator or [ employee staff person ] so named 
shall be accountable at all times in the proper discharge of 
such fiduciary responsibility as provided under Virginia law, 
shall provide a quarterly accounting to the resident, and, upon 
termination of the power of attorney or trust for any reason, 
shall return all funds and assets, with full accounting, to the 
resident or to his legal representative or to another responsible 
party expressly designated by the resident. See also 
22 VAC 40-72-120 regarding conservators or guardians 
appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

PART III. 
PERSONNEL. 

22 VAC 40-72-160. Personnel policies and procedures. 

A. The facility shall develop and keep current a written job 
description for each position in the facility. The job 
description shall include: 

1. Job title; 

2. Duties and responsibilities required of the position; 

3. Job title of the immediate supervisor; and 

4. Minimum knowledge, skills and abilities, experience, or 
educational or professional qualifications required for entry 
level. 

B. Each [ employee staff person ] shall be given a copy of his 
current job description and of the facility’s current 
organizational chart. 

C. The facility shall develop and implement procedures for 
verifying current professional licensing, registration, or 
certification and training of [ employees staff ]. 

D. The facility shall develop and implement procedures for 
annually evaluating [ employee staff ] performance. 

E. Individual training needs and plans shall be a part of the 
performance evaluation. 

22 VAC 40-72-170. [ Employee Staff ] general 
qualifications. 

A. All [ employees staff ] shall: 

1. Be of good character and reputation;  

2. Be physically and mentally capable of carrying out 
assigned responsibilities;  

3. Be considerate and respectful of the rights, dignity and 
sensitivities of aged and disabled persons;  

4. Be clean and well-groomed; and 

5. Meet the requirements specified in the Regulation for 
Background Checks for Assisted Living Facilities and 
Adult Day Care Centers (22 VAC 40-90). 

B. All [ employees staff ] shall be able to communicate 
effectively in English both orally and in writing as applicable 
to their job responsibilities.  

22 VAC 40-72-180. [ Employee Staff ] orientation. 

A. The training and orientation required in subsections B [ , 
and ] C [ and D ] of this section shall occur within the first 
seven days of employment [ , ] and unless under the sight 
supervision of a trained direct care staff person or 
administrator, prior to assuming job responsibilities.  

B. All [ employees staff ] shall be trained in: 

1. The purpose of the facility; 

2. The services provided; 

3. The daily routines;  

4. The facility’s policies and procedures; 

5. Specific duties and responsibilities of their positions; and 

6. Required compliance with regulations for assisted living 
facilities as it relates to their duties and responsibilities. 

C. All [ employees staff ] shall be trained in the relevant laws, 
regulations, and the facility's policies and procedures 
sufficiently to implement the following: 

1. Emergency and disaster plans for the facility; 

2. Techniques of complying with emergency and disaster 
plans including evacuating residents when applicable; 

3. Procedures for the handling of resident emergencies; 

4. Use of the first aid kit and knowledge of its location; 

5. Handwashing techniques, standard precautions, infection 
risk-reduction behavior, and other infection control 
measures specified in 22 VAC 40-72-90; 

6. Confidential treatment of personal information; 
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7. Observance of the rights and responsibilities of residents; 

8. Requirements and procedures for detecting and reporting 
suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of residents and 
for mandated reporters, the consequences for failing to 
make a required report. ( [ NOTE: ] Section 63.2-1606 of 
the Code of Virginia specifies requirements and procedures 
for reporting and consequences for not reporting.) 
[ (NOTE: See 22 VAC 40-72-10 for a definition of 
mandated reporter); ] 

9. Procedures for reporting and documenting incidents 
[ and other occurrences ] as required in 22 VAC 40-72-100; 

10. Methods of [ easing adjustment difficulties 
for alleviating ] common adjustment problems that may 
occur when a resident moves from one residential 
environment to another; and 

11. For direct care staff, the needs, preferences and routines 
of the residents for whom they will provide care. 

22 VAC 40-72-190. Administrator provisions and 
responsibilities. 

A. Each facility shall have an administrator of record. This 
does not prohibit the administrator from serving as the 
administrator of record for more than one facility.  

B. The licensee shall notify the licensing office in writing 
within 10 working days of a change in a facility's 
administrator including, but not limited to, the resignation of 
an administrator, appointment of an acting administrator, and 
appointment of a new administrator.  

C. When an administrator terminates employment, the 
licensee shall hire a new administrator within 90 days from 
the date of termination. Unless a new administrator is 
employed immediately, a qualified acting administrator shall 
be appointed when the administrator terminates employment.  

D. [ It shall be the duty of the administrator to The 
administrator shall be responsible for the general 
administration of the facility and shall ] oversee the 
day-to-day operation of the facility. This shall include, but 
shall not be limited to, responsibility for: 

1. Developing and implementing all policies and services 
as required by this chapter; 

2. Ensuring [ employees staff ] and volunteers comply with 
residents' rights;  

3. Maintaining buildings and grounds; 

4. Recruiting, hiring, training, and supervising [ employees 
staff ] ; and 

5. Ensuring the development, implementation, and 
monitoring of an individualized service plan for each 
resident, except that a plan is not required for a resident 
with independent living status. 

E. Either the administrator or a designated assistant who 
meets the qualifications of the administrator shall be awake 
and on duty on the premises at least 40 hours per week with 
no fewer than 24 of those hours being during the day shift on 
week days. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

1. 22 VAC 40-72-220 allows a shared administrator for 
smaller facilities. 

2. In facilities licensed for both residential and assisted 
living care, if the designated assistant is performing as an 
administrator for fewer than 15 of the 40 hours or for fewer 
than four weeks due to the vacation or illness of the 
administrator, the requirements of 22 VAC 40-72-200 D 
shall be acceptable. 

F. The facility shall maintain a written schedule of the on-site 
presence of the administrator and, if applicable, the 
designated assistant or, as provided for in 22 VAC 40-72-220 
and 22 VAC 40-72-230, the manager. 

1. Any changes shall be noted on the schedule.  

2. The facility shall maintain a copy of the schedule for two 
years. 

22 VAC 40-72-200. Administrator qualifications. 

A. The administrator shall be at least 21 years of age. 

B. The administrator shall be able to read and write, and 
understand this chapter. 

C. The administrator shall be able to perform the duties and 
carry out the responsibilities required by this chapter. 

D. For facilities licensed for residential living care only, the 
administrator shall: 

1. Be a high school graduate or shall have a General 
Education Development (GED) Certificate;  

2. (i) Have successfully completed at least 30 credit hours 
of postsecondary education from a college or university 
accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. 
Secretary of Education or (ii) have successfully completed 
a department-approved course specific to the 
administration of an assisted living facility; and 

3. Have at least one year of administrative or supervisory 
experience in caring for adults in a group care facility. 

[ EXCEPTION EXCEPTIONS ]:  

1. A licensed nursing home administrator who meets the 
qualifications under § 54.1-3103 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. A licensed nurse who meets the experience requirements 
in subdivision [ 4 3 ] of this subsection; 

3. An administrator of an assisted living facility employed 
prior to [ (insert the effective date of these standards) 
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December 28, 2006, ] who met the requirements in effect 
when employed [ and who has been continuously employed 
as an assisted living facility administrator ]. 

E. [ For Until the provisions of this subsection expire as 
specified in subsection F of this section, for ] facilities 
licensed for both residential and assisted living care, the 
administrator shall: 

1. Be a graduate of a four-year college or university 
accredited by an association recognized by the U.S. 
Secretary of Education; or 

2. Have successfully completed at least 60 credit hours of 
courses in human services or group care administration, 
from a college or university accredited by an association 
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education; or 

EXCEPTION: Ten or fewer of the 60 credit hours may be 
in business courses. 

3. Have successfully completed at least 30 credit hours of 
courses in human services or group care administration 
from a college or university accredited by an association 
recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education and have 
successfully completed a department-approved course 
specific to the administration of an assisted living facility; 
and  

4. Have completed at least one year of administrative or 
supervisory experience in caring for adults in a group care 
facility. 

EXCEPTIONS:  

1. A licensed nursing home administrator who meets the 
qualifications under § 54.1-3103 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. A licensed [ registered ] nurse who meets the experience 
requirements in subdivision 4 of this subsection; 

3. An administrator of an assisted living facility employed 
prior to [ (insert the effective date of these standards), 
December 28, 2006, ] who met the requirements in effect 
when employed and who has been continuously employed 
as an assisted living facility administrator. 

EXCEPTION: An administrator employed prior to 
February 1, 1996, who met the exception to the standards 
effective February 1, 1996, shall successfully complete 
within one year a department-approved course specific to 
the administration of an assisted living facility.  

[ F. The provisions of subsection E of this section expire one 
year after the effective date of regulations promulgated by the 
Board of Long-Term Care Administrators for the licensure of 
assisted living facility administrators.  Thereafter, assisted 
living administrators for facilities licensed for both residential 
and assisted living care shall meet the qualifications for 
licensure and be licensed by the Board of Long-Term Care 

Administrators within the Virginia Department of Health 
Professions. ] 

[ F. G. ] The administrator [ , designated assistant 
administrator, or acting administrator ] shall not be a resident 
of the facility. 

22 VAC 40-72-210. Administrator training. 

A. The administrator shall attend at least 20 hours of training 
related to management or operation of a residential facility for 
adults or relevant to the population in care within 12 months 
from the date of employment and annually thereafter from 
that date. When adults with mental impairments reside in the 
facility, at least five of the required 20 hours of training shall 
focus on topics related to residents’ mental impairments. 
Documentation of attendance shall be retained at the facility 
and shall include title of course, name of the [ institution 
entity ] that provided the training, date and number of hours. 

B. Any administrator who has not previously undergone the 
training specified in 22 VAC 40-72-50 D shall be required to 
complete that training within two months of employment as 
administrator of the facility. The training may be counted 
toward the annual training requirement for the first year. 

EXCEPTION: Administrators employed prior to [ (insert the 
effective date of these standards) December 28, 2006, ] are 
not required to complete this training. 

C. Administrators shall be required to complete [ refresher ] 
training [ when on ] standards [ when they ] are revised, 
unless the department determines that such training is not 
necessary. 

D. If medication is administered to residents by medication 
aides as allowed in 22 VAC 40-72-660 1 b [ and c ], the 
administrator shall successfully complete a medication 
training program approved by the Board of Nursing. The 
training shall be completed within four months of 
employment as an administrator and may be counted toward 
the annual training requirement for the first year. 
[ Administrators employed prior to December 28, 2006, have 
six months from December 28, 2006, to successfully 
complete the medication training program. ] The following 
exceptions apply: 

1. The administrator is licensed by the Commonwealth of 
Virginia to administer medications; or 

2. Medication aides are supervised by an individual 
employed full time at the facility who is licensed by the 
Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications.  

22 VAC 40-72-220. Shared administrator for smaller 
facilities. 

The administrator may be awake and on duty on the premises 
for fewer than the minimum 40 hours per week, without a 
designated assistant, under the following conditions: 
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1. In facilities licensed for 10 or fewer residents: 

a. The administrator shall be awake and on duty on the 
premises of each facility for at least 10 hours a week; and  

b. The administrator shall serve no more than four 
facilities. 

2. In facilities licensed for 11-19 residents: 

a. The administrator shall be awake and on duty on the 
premises of each facility for at least 20 hours a week; and 

b. The administrator shall serve no more than two 
facilities. 

3. In facilities licensed for 10 or fewer residents as 
specified in subdivision 1 of this section and in facilities 
licensed for 11-19 residents as specified in subdivision 2 of 
this section: 

a. The administrator shall serve as a full time 
administrator, i.e., shall be awake and on duty on the 
premises of more than one assisted living facility for at 
least 40 hours a week; 

b. Each of the facilities served shall be within a 30-
minute average travel time of the other facilities; 

c. When not present at a facility, the administrator shall 
be on call to that facility during the hours he is working 
as an administrator and shall maintain such accessibility 
through suitable communication devices; 

d. A designated assistant may act in place of the 
administrator during the required minimum of 40 hours 
only if the administrator is ill or on vacation and for a 
period of time that shall not exceed four weeks. The 
designated assistant shall meet the qualifications of the 
administrator; 

e. There shall be a designated person who shall serve as 
manager and who shall be awake and on duty on the 
premises of each facility for the remaining part of the 40 
required hours when the administrator is not present at 
the facility and who shall be supervised by the 
administrator. The manager shall meet the following 
minimum qualifications and requirements: 

(1) The manager shall be at least 21 years of age. 

(2) The manager shall be able to read and write, and 
understand this chapter. 

(3) The manager shall be able to perform the duties 
and to carry out the responsibilities of his position. 

(4) The manager shall:  

(a) Be a high school graduate or shall have a General 
Education Development (GED) Certificate; [ and ]  

(b) Have successfully completed [ (i) ] at least 30 credit 
hours of postsecondary education from a college or 

university accredited by an association recognized by the 
U.S. Secretary of Education [ ; ] or [ (c) Have successfully 
completed (ii) ] a department-approved course [ of 40 or 
fewer hours ] specific to the [ administration 
management ] of an assisted living facility; and 

[ (d) (c) ] Have at least one year of administrative or 
supervisory experience in caring for adults in a group care 
facility.  

[ EXCEPTION: A licensed nurse who meets the 
experience requirements in subdivision (c) of this 
subdivision (4). ] 

(5) The manager shall not be a resident of the facility; 

f. The manager shall complete the training specified in 
22 VAC 40-72-50 D within two months of employment 
as manager. The training may be counted toward the 
annual training requirement for the first year; 

g. Managers shall be required to complete [ refresher ] 
training [ on standards ] when [ standards they ] are 
revised, unless the department determines that such 
training is not necessary; 

h. The manager shall attend at least 16 hours of training 
related to management or operation of a residential 
facility for adults or relevant to the population in care 
within each 12-month period. When adults with mental 
impairments reside in the facility, at least four of the 
required 16 hours of training shall focus on topics related 
to residents’ mental impairments. Documentation of 
attendance shall be retained at the facility and shall 
include title of course, name of the [ institution entity ] 
that provided the training, date and number of hours; 

i. There shall be a written management plan for each 
facility that includes written policies and procedures that 
describe how the administrator shall oversee the care and 
supervision of the residents and the day-to-day operation 
of the facility; 

[ j. Each facility shall maintain a schedule that specifies 
for both the administrator and the manager the days and 
times each shall be awake and on duty on the premises. 
Any changes shall be noted on the schedule, which shall 
be retained for two years;  

k. j. ] The minimum of 40 hours required for the 
administrator or manager to be awake and on duty on the 
premises of a facility shall include at least 24 hours 
[ being ] during the day shift on week days. 

4. This section shall not apply to an administrator who 
serves both an assisted living facility and a nursing home, 
as provided for in 22 VAC 40-72-230. 
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22 VAC 40-72-230. Administrator of both assisted living 
facility and nursing home. 

A. Any person meeting the qualifications for a licensed 
nursing home administrator pursuant to § 54.1-3103 of the 
Code of Virginia may serve as the administrator of both an 
assisted living facility and a licensed nursing home, provided 
the assisted living facility and licensed nursing home are part 
of the same building and the requirements of subsections B 
and C of this section are met. 

B. Whenever an assisted living facility and a licensed nursing 
home have a single administrator, there shall be a written 
management plan that addresses the care and supervision of 
the assisted living facility residents. The management plan 
shall include, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. Written policies and procedures that describe how the 
administrator will oversee the care and supervision of the 
residents and the day-to-day operation of the facility; 

2. If the administrator does not provide the direct 
management of the assisted living facility or only provides 
a portion thereof, the plan shall specify a designated 
individual who shall serve as manager and who shall be 
supervised by the administrator. 

C. The manager referred to in subdivision B 2 of this section 
shall be on-site and meet the following minimum 
qualifications and requirements: 

1. The manager shall be at least 21 years of age. 

2. The manager shall be able to read and write, and 
understand this chapter. 

3. The manager shall be able to perform the duties and 
carry out the responsibilities of his position. 

4. The manager shall: 

a. Be a high school graduate or shall have a General 
Education Development (GED) Certificate;  

b. (i) Have successfully completed at least 30 credit 
hours of postsecondary education from a college or 
university accredited by an association recognized by the 
U.S. Secretary of Education or (ii) have successfully 
completed a department-approved course [ of 40 or fewer 
hours ] specific to the [ administration management ] of 
an assisted living facility; and  

c. Have at least one year of administrative or supervisory 
experience in caring for adults in a group care facility. 

[ EXCEPTION EXCEPTIONS ]: 

[ 1. A licensed nurse who meets the experience 
requirements in subdivision c of this subdivision 4; 

2. ] A manager employed prior to [ (insert the effective 
date of these standards) December 28, 2006, ] who met 

the requirements in effect when employed and who has 
been continuously employed as a manager. 

5. The manager shall not be a resident of the facility. 

6. The manager shall complete the training specified in 
22 VAC 40-72-50 D within two months of employment as 
manager. The training may be counted toward the annual 
training requirement for the first year. 

EXCEPTION: Managers employed prior to [ (insert the 
effective date of these standards) December 28, 2006, ] are 
not required to complete this training. 

7. Managers shall be required to complete [ refresher  ] 
training [ on standards ] when [ standards they ] are 
revised, unless the department determines that such training 
is not necessary. 

8. The manager shall attend at least 16 hours of training 
related to management or operation of a residential facility 
for adults or relevant to the population in care within each 
12-month period. When adults with mental impairments 
reside in the facility, at least four of the required 16 hours 
of training shall focus on residents who are mentally 
impaired. Documentation of attendance shall be retained at 
the facility and shall include title of course, name of the 
[ institution entity ] that provided the training, date and 
number of hours. 

22 VAC 40-72-240. Designated staff person in charge. 

A. When the administrator or designated assistant who meets 
the qualifications of the administrator or the manager who 
meets the qualifications specified in 22 VAC 40-72-220 or 
22 VAC 40-72-230 is not awake and on duty on the premises, 
there shall be a designated direct care staff member in charge 
[ on the premises ], who has specific duties and 
responsibilities as determined by the administrator. 

[ EXCEPTION: When no residents are present at the facility, 
the designated staff person in charge does not have to be on 
the premises. ] 

B. Prior to being placed in charge, the staff member shall be 
informed of and receive training on his duties and 
responsibilities, and be provided written documentation of 
such duties and responsibilities. 

C. The staff member shall be awake and on duty on the 
premises while in charge. 

D. The staff member in charge shall be capable of protecting 
the physical and mental well-being of the residents. 

E. The administrator shall ensure that the staff member in 
charge is prepared to carry out his duties and responsibilities 
and respond appropriately in case of an emergency. 

F. The staff member in charge shall not be a resident of the 
facility. 
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[ G. There shall be a written schedule of when the designated 
staff person is in charge that includes the name of the person 
in charge.   

1. Any changes shall be noted on the schedule. 

2. The facility shall maintain a copy of the schedule for two 
years. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-250. Direct care staff qualifications. 

A. Direct care staff shall be at least 18 years of age unless 
certified in Virginia as a nurse aide.  

B. Direct care staff who are responsible for caring for 
residents with special health care needs shall only provide 
services within the scope of their practice and training.  

C. In facilities licensed for both residential and assisted living 
care, all direct care staff who care for residents who meet the 
criteria for assisted living care shall have satisfactorily 
completed, or within 30 days of employment shall enroll in 
and successfully complete within two months of employment, 
a training program consistent with department requirements, 
except as noted in subsections D and E of this section. 
Department requirements shall be met in one of the following 
five ways: 

1. Registration in Virginia as a certified nurse aide. 

2. Graduation from a Virginia Board of Nursing-approved 
educational curriculum from a Virginia Board of Nursing 
accredited institution for nursing assistant, geriatric 
assistant or home health aide. 

3. Graduation from a personal care aide training program 
approved by the Virginia Department of Medical 
Assistance Services. 

4. Graduation from a department-approved educational 
curriculum for nursing assistant, geriatric assistant or home 
health aide. The curriculum is provided by a hospital, 
nursing facility, or educational institution not approved by 
the Virginia Board of Nursing, e.g., out-of-state 
curriculum. To obtain department approval: 

a. The facility shall provide to the department’s 
representative an outline of the course content, dates and 
hours of instruction received, the name of the [ institution 
entity ] that provided the training, and other pertinent 
information. 

b. The department will make a determination based on 
the above information and provide written confirmation 
to the facility when the course meets department 
requirements. 

5. Successful completion of the department-approved 40-
hour direct care staff training provided by a licensed health 
care professional acting within the scope of the 
requirements of his profession.  

D. Licensed health care professionals acting within the scope 
of the requirements of their profession are not required to 
complete the training in subsection C of this section. 

E. Direct care staff of the facility employed prior to February 
1, 1996, shall not be required to complete the training in 
subsection C of this section if they (i) have been continuously 
employed as direct care staff in the facility since then and (ii) 
have demonstrated competency on a skills checklist dated and 
signed no later than February 1, 1997, by a licensed health 
care professional acting within the scope of the requirements 
of his profession.  

F. In respect to the requirements of subsection C of this 
section, the facility shall obtain a copy of the certificate 
issued to the certified nurse aide, the nursing assistant, 
geriatric assistant or home health aide, personal care aide, or 
documentation indicating the department-approved 40-hour 
direct care staff training has been successfully completed. The 
copy of the certificate or the appropriate documentation shall 
be retained in the staff member's file.  

G. The administrator shall develop and implement a written 
plan for supervision of direct care staff who have not yet 
successfully completed the training program as allowed for in 
subsection C of this section. 

22 VAC 40-72-260. Direct care staff training. 

A. In facilities licensed for residential living care only, 
[ commencing no later than 60 days after employment, ] all 
direct care staff shall attend at least eight hours of training 
annually (in addition to required first aid and CPR training). 
[ Training for the first year shall commence no later than 60 
days after employment. ] 

1. The training shall be relevant to the population in care 
and shall be provided [ by a qualified individual ] through 
in-service training programs or institutes, workshops, 
classes, or conferences. 

2. When adults with mental impairments reside in the 
facility, at least two of the required eight hours of training 
shall focus on the resident who is mentally impaired. 

3. Documentation of the type of training received, the 
entity that provided the training, number of hours of 
training, and dates of the training shall be kept by the 
facility in a manner that allows for identification by 
individual [ employee staff person ] and is considered part 
of the staff member’s record. 

B. In facilities licensed for both residential and assisted living 
care, [ commencing no later than 60 days after employment, ] 
all direct care staff shall attend at least 16 hours of training 
annually (in addition to first aid and CPR training). [ Training 
for the first year shall commence no later than 60 days after 
employment. ] 
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1. The training shall be relevant to the population in care 
and shall be provided through in-service training programs 
or institutes, workshops, classes, or conferences. 

2. When adults with mental impairments reside in the 
facility, at least four of the required 16 hours of training 
shall focus on the resident who is mentally impaired. 

3. Documentation of the type of training received, the 
entity that provided the training, number of hours of 
training, and dates of the training shall be kept by the 
facility in a manner that allows for identification by 
individual [ employee staff person ] and is considered part 
of the [ employee’s staff person's ] record.  

EXCEPTION: Direct care staff who are licensed health care 
professionals or certified nurse aides shall attend at least 12 
hours of annual training. 

22 VAC 40-72-270. [ Employee Staff ] duties performed 
by residents. 

A. Any resident who performs any [ employee staff ] duties 
shall meet the personnel and health requirements for that 
position. 

B. There shall be a written agreement between the facility and 
any resident who performs [ employee staff ] duties. 

1. The agreement shall specify duties, hours of work, and 
compensation. 

2. The agreement shall not be a condition for admission or 
continued residence. 

3. The resident shall enter into such an agreement 
voluntarily. 

22 VAC 40-72-280. Volunteers. 

A. Any volunteers used shall:  

1. Have qualifications appropriate to the services they 
render; and  

2. Be subject to laws and regulations governing 
confidential treatment of personal information.  

B. No volunteer shall be permitted to serve in an assisted 
living facility without the permission of or unless under the 
supervision of a person who has received a criminal record 
clearance pursuant to § 63.2-1720 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The facility shall maintain the following written 
documentation on volunteers: 

1. Name. 

2. Address. 

3. Telephone number. 

4. Emergency contact information. 

D. Duties and responsibilities of all volunteers shall be clearly 
differentiated from those of persons regularly filling 
[ employee staff ] positions.  

E. At least one [ employee staff person ] shall be assigned 
responsibility for overall selection, supervision and 
orientation of volunteers.  

F. Prior to beginning volunteer service, all volunteers shall 
attend an orientation including information on their duties and 
responsibilities, resident rights, confidentiality, emergency 
procedures, infection control, the name of their supervisor, 
and reporting requirements. 

G. All volunteers shall be under the direct supervision of a 
designated [ employee staff person ] when residents are 
present.  

22 VAC 40-72-290. [ Employee Staff ] records and health 
requirements. 

A. A record shall be established for each [ employee staff 
person ]. It shall not be destroyed until at least two years after 
employment is terminated. 

B. All [ employee staff ] records shall be retained at the 
facility, treated confidentially, kept in a locked area, and 
made available for inspection by the department's 
representative upon request. 

EXCEPTION: Emergency contact information required by 
subdivision C 14 of this section shall also be kept in an easily 
accessible place.  

C. Personal and social data to be maintained on [ employees 
staff ] and included in the [ employee staff ] record are as 
follows: 

1. Name; 

2. Birthdate; 

3. Current address and telephone number; 

4. Social security number; 

5. Position title, job description and date employed; 

6. Verification that the [ employee staff person ] has 
received a copy of his job description and the 
organizational chart; 

7. Most recent previous employment; 

8. For persons employed after November 9, 1975, copies of 
at least two references or notations of verbal references, 
obtained prior to employment, reflecting the date of the 
reference, the source and the content; 

9. [ For persons employed after July 1, 1992, an An ] 
original criminal record report and a sworn disclosure 
statement; 

10. Previous experience or training or both; 
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11. Verification of current professional license, 
certification, registration, or completion of a required 
approved training course; 

12. Annual [ employee staff ] performance evaluations;  

13. Any disciplinary action taken; 

14. Name and telephone number of person to contact in an 
emergency; 

15. Documentation of formal training received following 
employment, including orientation, in-services and 
workshops; and 

16. Date and reason for termination of employment, when 
applicable. 

D. Health information required by these standards shall be 
maintained at the facility and [ be ] included in the 
[ employee staff ] record for the administrator and each 
[ employee staff person ], and also shall be maintained at the 
facility for each household member who comes in contact 
with residents. 

1. Initial tuberculosis examination and report. 

a. Each [ employee staff person ] at the time of hire and 
each household member prior to coming in contact with 
residents shall submit the results of a risk assessment, 
documenting the absence of tuberculosis in a 
communicable form as evidenced by the completion of 
the current screening form published by the Virginia 
Department of Health or a form consistent with it. The 
risk assessment shall be no older than 30 days.  

b. An evaluation shall not be required for [ an employee a 
staff person ] who (i) has separated from employment 
with a facility licensed or certified by the Commonwealth 
of Virginia, (ii) has a break in service of six months or 
less, and (iii) submits a copy of the original statement of 
tuberculosis screening to his new employer. 

2. Subsequent tuberculosis evaluations and reports. 

a. Any [ employee staff person ] or household member 
required to be evaluated who comes in contact with a 
known case of infectious tuberculosis shall be screened 
as determined appropriate based on consultation with the 
local health department. 

b. Any [ employee staff person ] or household member 
required to be evaluated who develops chronic 
respiratory symptoms of three weeks duration shall be 
evaluated immediately for the presence of infectious 
tuberculosis. 

c. Each [ employee staff person ] or household member 
required to be evaluated shall annually submit the results 
of a risk assessment, documenting that the individual is 
free of tuberculosis in a communicable form as 
evidenced by the completion [ of ] the current screening 

form published by the Virginia Department of Health or 
a form consistent with it. 

3. Any individual suspected to have infectious tuberculosis 
shall not be allowed to return to work or have any contact 
with the residents and personnel of the facility until a 
physician has determined that the individual is free of 
infectious tuberculosis. 

4. The facility shall report any active case of tuberculosis 
developed by [ an employee a staff person ] or household 
member required to be evaluated to the local health 
department. 

E. At the request of the administrator of the facility or the 
department, a report of examination by a licensed physician 
shall be obtained when there are indications that the safety of 
residents in care may be jeopardized by the physical or 
mental health of a [ specific individual staff person or 
household member ]. 

F. Any [ individual staff person or household member ] who, 
upon examination or as a result of tests, shows indication of a 
physical or mental condition that may jeopardize the safety of 
residents in care or that would prevent performance of duties: 

1. Shall be removed immediately from contact with 
residents; and 

2. Shall not be allowed contact with residents until the 
condition is cleared to the satisfaction of the examining 
physician as evidenced by a signed statement from the 
physician. 

22 VAC 40-72-300. First aid and CPR certification.  

A. There shall be at least one [ employee staff person ] on the 
premises at all times who has current certification in first aid 
from the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, 
National Safety Council, [ American Safety and Health 
Institute, ] or who has current first aid certification issued 
within the past three years by a community college, a 
hospital, a volunteer rescue squad, a fire department, or other 
designated program approved by the department, unless the 
facility has an on-duty registered nurse or licensed practical 
nurse. The certification must either be in Adult First Aid or 
include Adult First Aid. 

B. There shall be at least one [ employee staff person ] on the 
premises at all times who has current certification in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) from the American Red 
Cross, American Heart Association, National Safety Council, 
[ American Safety and Health Institute, ] or who has current 
CPR certification issued within the past two years by a 
community college, a hospital, a volunteer rescue squad, a 
fire department, or other designated program approved by the 
department. The certification must either be in Adult CPR or 
include Adult CPR. 
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C. Each direct care staff member shall receive certification in 
first aid from an organization listed in subsection A of this 
section [ within 60 days of employment ] and maintain 
current certification in first aid as specified in subsection A of 
this section [ unless the direct care staff member is a 
registered nurse or licensed practical nurse. 

The certification must either be in Adult First Aid or include 
Adult First Aid. 

1. Staff employed on or after December 28, 2006, shall 
receive the certification within 60 days of employment. 

2. Staff employed prior to December 28, 2006, who do not 
have current certification in first aid, shall receive the 
certification within 60 days of December 28, 2006. 

This subsection does not negate the requirement of 
subsection A to have at least one staff member on the 
premises at all times who has current certification in first 
aid, unless the facility has an on-duty registered nurse or 
licensed practical nurse ]. 

D. In facilities licensed for over 100 residents, at least one 
additional [ employee staff person ] who meets the 
requirements of subsection B of this section shall be available 
for every 100 residents, or portion thereof. More [ employees 
staff persons ] who meet the requirements [ in ] subsection B 
of this section shall be available if necessary to assure quick 
access to residents in the event of the need for CPR. 

E. A listing of all [ employees staff ] who have current 
certification in first aid or CPR, in conformance with 
subsections A, B, C, and D of this section shall be posted in 
the facility so that the information is readily available to all 
[ employees staff ] at all times. The listing must indicate by 
[ employee staff person ] whether the certification is in first 
aid or CPR or both and must be kept up to date. 

F. [ An employee A staff person ] with current certification in 
first aid and CPR shall be present [ during for the duration 
of ] facility-sponsored activities off the facility premises [ , 
when facility staff are responsible for oversight of one or 
more residents during the activity ]. 

[ G. An employee with current certification in first aid and 
CPR shall be present when an employee transports a 
resident. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-310. Direct care staff training when 
aggressive or restrained residents are in care. 

The following training is required for staff in assisted living 
facilities that accept, or have in care, residents who are or 
who may be aggressive or restrained: 

1. Aggressive residents. 

a. Direct care staff shall be trained in methods of dealing 
with residents who have a history of aggressive behavior 

or of dangerously agitated states prior to being involved 
in the care of such residents. 

b. This training shall include, at a minimum, information, 
demonstration, and practical experience in self-protection 
and in the prevention and de-escalation of aggressive 
behavior. 

2. Restrained residents. 

a. Prior to being involved in the care of residents in 
restraints, direct care staff shall be appropriately trained 
in caring for the health needs of such residents.  

b. This training shall include, at a minimum, information, 
demonstration and experience in: 

(1) The proper techniques for applying and monitoring 
restraints; 

(2) Skin care appropriate to prevent redness, 
breakdown, and decubiti; 

(3) Active and active assisted range of motion to 
prevent contractures; 

(4) Assessment of blood circulation to prevent 
obstruction of blood flow and promote adequate blood 
circulation to all extremities; 

(5) Turning and positioning to prevent skin breakdown 
and keep the lungs clear; 

(6) Provision of sufficient bed clothing and covering to 
maintain a normal body temperature; and 

(7) Provision of additional attention to meet the 
physical, mental, emotional, and social needs of the 
restrained resident. 

[ (8) Awareness of possible risks associated with 
restraint use and methods of reducing or eliminating 
such risks. ] 

3. The training described in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this 
section shall meet the following criteria: 

a. Training shall be provided by a qualified health 
professional. 

b. A written description of the content of this training, a 
notation of the [ person/agency/organization or institution 
entity ] providing the training and the names of direct 
care staff receiving the training shall be maintained by 
the facility except that, if the training is provided by the 
department, only a listing of direct care staff trained and 
the date of training are required. 

4. Refresher training for all direct care staff shall be 
provided at least annually or more often as needed. 

a. The refresher training shall encompass the techniques 
described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this section, or both. 
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b. A record of the refresher training and a description of 
the content of the training shall be maintained by the 
facility. 

PART IV. 
STAFFING AND SUPERVISION. 

22 VAC 40-72-320. Staffing. 

A. The assisted living facility shall have [ employees staff ] 
adequate in knowledge, skills, and abilities and sufficient in 
numbers to provide services to attain and maintain the 
physical, mental and psychosocial well-being of each resident 
as determined by resident assessments and individualized 
service plans, and to assure compliance with this chapter. 

B. The assisted living facility shall maintain a written plan 
that specifies the number and type of direct care staff required 
to meet the day-to-day, routine direct care needs and any 
identified special needs for the residents in care. This plan 
will not be fee-based but shall be directly related to actual 
resident acuity levels and individualized care needs.  

[ The direct care staffing plan shall: 

1. Meet all applicable minimum requirements as 
established in this chapter; 

2. Comply with any additional applicable state, federal, 
local law or regulation; 

3. Identify and utilize a system to address fluctuations in 
actual resident acuity levels and direct care requirements 
that might necessitate increased staffing levels above the 
minimums specified in the plan; 

4. Factor in other facility responsibilities such as 
admissions, transfers, discharges, laundry, meal 
preparation, housekeeping and maintenance, administrative 
and support tasks, structured/scheduled activities programs, 
medication administration and treatments that may be 
expected of direct care staff in addition to direct care 
services; 

5. Take into consideration the size and physical layout of 
the building; 

6. Include general number, working job titles, and 
qualifications of staff on each shift; and 

7. Identify the method that will be used to document actual 
staffing on a daily basis. In facilities with multiple floors, 
wings or units, this method must document dedicated staff 
for each operating unit and designate those who provide 
services across multiple units. ] 

C. There shall be an adequate number of [ employees staff 
persons ] on the premises at all times to implement the 
approved [ fire and ] emergency evacuation plan. 

D. There shall be at least one direct care staff member awake 
and on duty at all times in each building when at least one 
resident is present. 

[ EXCEPTION: In buildings that house 19 or fewer residents, 
the staff member on duty does not have to be awake during 
the night if none of the residents requires a staff member 
awake and on duty at night. ] 

E. Written work schedules shall be maintained and shall 
indicate the names and job classifications of all [ employees 
staff ] working each shift. Schedules shall indicate absences 
and substitutions. Schedules shall be retained for at least two 
years.  

22 VAC 40-72-330. Communication among [ direct care ] 
staff.  

[ A. Procedures shall be established for communication 
among administrators, designated assistant administrators, 
managers, and designated staff persons in charge, as 
applicable to a facility, to ensure stable operations and sound 
transitions. 

B. ] A method of written communication shall be utilized as a 
means of keeping direct care staff on all shifts informed of 
significant happenings or problems experienced by residents, 
including complaints, incidents or injuries related to physical 
or mental conditions. A record shall be kept of the written 
communication for at least the past two years. 

PART V. 
ADMISSION, RETENTION AND DISCHARGE OF 

RESIDENTS. 

22 VAC 40-72-340. Admission and retention of residents. 

A. No resident shall be admitted or retained: 

1. For whom the facility cannot provide or secure 
appropriate care; 

2. Who requires a level of care or service or type of service 
for which the facility is not licensed or which the facility 
does not provide; or 

3. If the facility does not have [ employees staff ] 
appropriate in numbers and with appropriate skill to 
provide the care and services needed by the resident. 

B. Assisted living facilities shall not admit an individual 
before a determination has been made that the facility can 
meet the needs of the resident. The facility shall make the 
determination based upon the following information at a 
minimum: 

1. The completed UAI; 

2. The physical examination report;  

3. A documented interview between the administrator or a 
designee responsible for admission and retention decisions, 
the resident and his legal representative, if any [ ; NOTE:. ] 
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In some cases, medical conditions may create special 
circumstances that make it necessary to hold the interview 
on the date of admission.  

4. [ An assessment A screening ] of psychological, 
behavioral, and emotional functioning, conducted by a 
qualified mental health professional, if recommended by 
the UAI assessor, a health care professional, or the 
administrator or designee responsible for the admission and 
retention decision. This includes meeting the requirements 
of 22 VAC 40-72-360. 

C. An assisted living facility shall only admit or retain 
residents as permitted by its [ use group use and occupancy ] 
classification and certificate of occupancy. The 
ambulatory/nonambulatory status of an individual is based 
upon: 

1. Information contained in the physical examination 
report; and 

2. Information contained in the most recent UAI. 

D. Upon receiving the UAI prior to admission of a resident, 
the assisted living facility administrator shall provide written 
assurance to the resident that the facility has the appropriate 
license to meet his care needs at the time of admission. 
Copies of the written assurance shall be given to the legal 
representative and case manager, if any, and a copy signed by 
the resident or his legal representative shall be kept in the 
resident’s record. 

E. All residents shall be 18 years of age or older. 

F. No person shall be admitted without his consent and 
agreement, or that of his legal representative with 
demonstrated legal authority to give such consent on his 
behalf.  

G. Assisted living facilities shall not admit or retain 
individuals with any of the following conditions or care 
needs: 

1. Ventilator dependency; 

2. Dermal ulcers III and IV except those stage III ulcers 
that are determined by an independent physician to be 
healing, as permitted in subsection H of this section; 

3. Intravenous therapy or injections directly into the vein, 
except for intermittent intravenous therapy managed by a 
health care professional licensed in Virginia as permitted in 
subsection I or J of this section; 

4. Airborne infectious disease in a communicable state that 
requires isolation of the individual or requires special 
precautions by the caretaker to prevent transmission of the 
disease, including diseases such as tuberculosis and 
excluding infections such as the common cold; 

5. Psychotropic medications without appropriate diagnosis 
and treatment plans; 

6. Nasogastric tubes; 

7. Gastric tubes except when the individual is capable of 
independently feeding himself and caring for the tube or as 
permitted in subsection J of this section; 

8. Individuals presenting an imminent physical threat or 
danger to self or others; 

9. Individuals requiring continuous licensed nursing care; 

10. Individuals whose physician certifies that placement is 
no longer appropriate; 

11. Unless the individual's independent physician 
determines otherwise, individuals who require maximum 
physical assistance as documented by the UAI and meet 
Medicaid nursing facility level of care criteria as defined in 
the State Plan for Medical Assistance (12 VAC 30-10); or 

12. Individuals whose physical or mental health care needs 
cannot be met in the specific assisted living facility as 
determined by the facility. 

H. When a resident has a stage III dermal ulcer that has been 
determined by an independent physician to be healing, 
periodic observation and any necessary dressing changes shall 
be performed by a licensed health care professional under a 
physician's [ or other prescriber's ] treatment plan.  

I. Intermittent intravenous therapy may be provided to a 
resident for a limited period of time on a daily or periodic 
basis by a licensed health care professional under a 
physician's [ or other prescriber's ] treatment plan. When a 
course of treatment is expected to be ongoing and extends 
beyond a two-week period, evaluation is required at 
two-week intervals by the licensed health care professional. 

J. At the request of the resident in an assisted living facility 
and when his independent physician determines that it is 
appropriate, (i) care for the conditions or care needs specified 
in subdivisions G 3 and 7 of this section may be provided to 
the resident by a physician licensed in Virginia, a nurse 
licensed in Virginia or a nurse holding a multistate licensure 
privilege under a physician's [ or other prescriber's ] treatment 
plan, or a home care organization licensed in Virginia or (ii) 
care for the conditions or care needs specified in subdivision 
G 7 of this section may also be provided to the resident by 
unlicensed direct care facility staff if the care is delivered in 
accordance with the regulations of the Board of Nursing for 
delegation by a registered nurse, 18 VAC 90-20-420 through 
18 VAC 90-20-460 and [ subsection K of this section 22 
VAC 40-72-460 D ]. 

[ NOTE: ] This standard does not apply to recipients of 
auxiliary grants. 

[ K. When care for gastric tubes is provided to the resident by 
unlicensed direct care facility staff as allowed in clause (ii) of 
subsection J of this section, the following criteria shall be 
met: 
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1. The care shall be provided by a direct care staff member 
who has successfully completed general and resident-
specific training requirements and competencies in tube 
care from the delegating registered nurse, which has been 
documented by the nurse, and includes the following: 

a. Type and amount of feeding and method of 
administration;  

b. Necessary equipment and supplies; 

c. Methods for determining the resident’s tube remains 
properly placed and patent; 

d. Acceptable parameters for residual contents – when to 
administer feedings and when to hold; 

e. When, how often and with what amounts of water 
direct care staff are to flush tube; 

f. How tube is to be clamped and secured; 

g. How site is to be cleansed and dressed including 
frequency; 

h. What information is to be documented; and  

i. What information is to be reported and how soon (e.g., 
tube out or displaced, drainage around tube, signs of 
infection, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, etc.). 

2. Whenever administering a tube feeding, the direct care 
staff member is responsible for all of the following: 

a. Confirming physician order for type and amount of 
feeding and method of administration; 

b. Confirming written instructions from RN; 

c. Gathering necessary equipment and supplies; 

d. Identifying resident; 

e. Explaining procedure to resident; 

f. Confirming that feeding tube is in place and patent; 

g. Elevating head of bed or positioning resident 
comfortably in chair; 

h. Washing hands; 

i. Preparing feeding according to physician order and 
written instructions from RN; 

j. Checking residual to confirm amount falls within 
parameters specified by RN; 

k. Administering feeding by gravity flow or other method 
as approved by physician and instructed by RN; 

l. Flushing feeding tube with the amount of water 
specified by the RN; 

m. Clamping and securing tube; 

n. Cleansing and covering site as instructed; 

o. Documenting feeding; 

p. Confirming patient comfort, e.g., leaving head of bed 
elevated or patient positioned comfortably in chair for 
30-60 minutes; and  

q. Documenting resident’s tolerance of feeding and any 
other observations related to the condition and care of the 
site. 

3. Prior to independently administering any tube feedings, 
the direct care staff person shall successfully demonstrate 
competency without prompting and without assistance in 
all of the procedures specified in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection. The delegating RN shall observe and document 
a minimum of two successful demonstrations before 
authorizing in writing the direct care staff member to 
perform the tube feeding independently. 

NOTE: The authorization only applies for more than one 
resident when the delegating RN has verified and 
documented that the same type of feeding tube, feeding, 
and method of administration are used for each resident. 

4. Written protocols that encompass the basic policies and 
procedures for the performance of gastric tube feedings 
shall be available to any direct care staff member 
responsible for tube feedings.  

5. Contact information for the delegating RN shall be 
readily available to all staff responsible for tube feedings 
when an RN or LPN is not present in the facility. 

6. The facility shall have a written back-up plan to ensure 
that a person who is qualified as specified in this subsection 
is available if the direct care staff member who usually 
provides the care is absent.  

L. K. ] When care for a resident's special medical needs is 
provided by licensed staff of a home care agency, the assisted 
living facility direct care staff may receive training from the 
home care agency staff in appropriate treatment monitoring 
techniques regarding safety precautions and actions to take in 
case of emergency. 

[ M. L. ] Notwithstanding § 63.2-1805 of the Code of 
Virginia, at the request of the resident, hospice care may be 
provided in an assisted living facility under the same 
requirements for hospice programs provided in Article 7 
(§ 32.1-162.1 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 32.1 of the Code 
of Virginia, if the hospice program determines that such 
program is appropriate for the resident. 

22 VAC 40-72-350. Physical examination and report. 

A. A person shall have a physical examination by an 
independent physician, including screening for tuberculosis, 
within 30 days prior to the date of admission. The report of 
such examination shall be on file at the assisted living facility 
and shall contain the following: 
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1. The date of the physical examination; 

2. Height, weight, and blood pressure; 

3. Significant medical history; 

4. General physical condition, including a systems review 
as is medically indicated; 

5. Any diagnosis or significant problems; 

6. Any allergies; 

7. Any recommendations for care including medication, 
diet and therapy; 

8. Results of a risk assessment documenting the absence of 
tuberculosis in a communicable form as evidenced by the 
completion of the current screening form published by the 
Virginia Department of Health or a form consistent with it; 

9. A statement that the individual does not have any of the 
conditions or care needs prohibited by 22 VAC 40-72-340 
G; 

10. A statement that specifies whether the individual is 
considered to be ambulatory or nonambulatory; and 

11. The signature of the examining physician or his 
designee. 

[ NOTE: See 22 VAC 40-72-10, definition of "licensed health 
care professional" for clarification regarding "physician." ] 

B. When a person is accepted for respite care [ or on an 
intermittent basis ], the physical examination report shall be 
valid for six months. 

C. Subsequent tuberculosis evaluations. 

1. A risk assessment for tuberculosis shall be completed 
annually on each resident as evidenced by the completion 
of the current screening form published by the Virginia 
Department of Health or a form consistent with it. 

2. Any resident who comes in contact with a known case of 
infectious tuberculosis shall be screened as deemed 
appropriate in consultation with the local health 
department. 

3. Any resident who develops respiratory symptoms of 
three or more weeks duration [ with no medical 
explanation ] shall be [ evaluated immediately referred for 
evaluation ] for the presence of infectious tuberculosis. 

4. If a resident develops an active case of tuberculosis, the 
facility shall report this information to the local health 
department. 

D. [ The department, at any time, may request a report of a 
current psychiatric or physical examination, giving the 
diagnoses or evaluation or both, for the purpose of 
determining whether the resident’s needs may continue to be 
met in the assisted living facility. When requested, this report 

shall contain information as specified by the department. As 
necessary to determine whether a resident's needs can 
continue to be met in the assisted living facility, the 
department may request a current physical examination or 
psychiatric evaluation, including diagnosis and assessments. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-360. Mental health [ assessment 
screening ]. 

[ A. If there are observed behaviors or patterns of behavior 
indicative of mental illness, mental retardation, substance 
abuse, or behavioral disorders, as documented in the uniform 
assessment instrument, the facility administrator or 
designated staff member shall ensure that an evaluation of the 
individual is or has been conducted by a qualified mental 
health professional. The evaluation shall include an 
assessment of the person’s psychological, behavioral, and 
emotional functioning. Conditions for which an evaluation is 
required include, but are not limited to: 

1. One or more acts of aggression against self, others, or 
property, that resulted in the resident being hospitalized, 
jailed, forced to leave a residence, or retained by the 
facility but managed using emergency measures; 

2. Alcohol or drug abuse; 

3. Noncompliant with psychotropic medications to the 
extent that intervention by a qualified mental health 
professional was required to prevent or reduce the risk of 
decompensation;  

4. Disturbance in thinking, reasoning, and judgment that 
placed the resident or others at risk for harm; 

5. Bizarre or maladaptive behavior such as reacting to 
irrational beliefs, visual or auditory hallucinations or 
engaging in behaviors such as pacing, rocking, mumbling 
to self, speaking incoherently, avoiding social interactions; 

6. Significant dysfunction in two or more of the following 
areas: interpersonal communication, problem-solving, 
personal care, independent living, education, vocation, 
leisure, community awareness, self-direction, and self-
preservation; and 

7. Any other condition for which an assessment is 
recommended by the administrator, a case manager or other 
assessor. 

B. The administrator or designated staff member shall ensure 
that an assessment of a person’s psychological, behavioral, 
and emotional functioning is or has been conducted by a 
qualified mental health professional when at least one of the 
behaviors or conditions noted in subsection A of this section 
has occurred within the past six months. The sources of such 
information regarding behaviors or conditions may include, 
but are not limited to, the uniform assessment instrument, 
family members, the referring agency, or a facility staff 
person.  
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C. The administrator shall ensure that the evaluation or 
assessment required by subsections A and B of this section 
meets the following criteria: 

1. If required for the purpose of making an admission 
decision, the assessment is not more than three months old. 

2. The assessment covers at least the following areas of the 
person’s current functioning and functioning for the six 
months prior to the date of the assessment: 

a. Cognitive functions; 

b. Thought and perception;  

c. Mood/affect; 

d. Behavior/psychomotor; 

e. Speech/language; 

f. Appearance; 

g. Alcohol and drug dependence/abuse; 

h. Medication compliance; and 

i. Psychosocial functioning. 

3. The assessment is completed by a qualified mental 
health professional having no financial interest in the 
assisted living facility, directly or indirectly as an owner, 
officer, employee, or as an independent contractor with the 
facility. 

4. A copy of the assessment, if the person is admitted or is 
a current resident, is filed in the resident's record. 

D. If the evaluation or assessment indicates a need for mental 
health, mental retardation, substance abuse, or behavioral 
disorder services, the facility shall provide: 

1. A notification of the resident’s need for such services to 
the authorized contact person of record when available; and 

2. A notification of the resident’s need for such services to 
the community services board or behavioral health 
authority that serves the city or county in which the facility 
is located, or other appropriate licensed provider. 

E. As part of the process for determining appropriateness of 
admission, when a person with a mental health disability is 
referred by a state or private hospital, community services 
board, behavioral health authority, or long-term care facility, 
collateral information and supporting documentation, e.g., 
progress notes, shall be collected on the person’s 
psychological, behavioral, and emotional functioning. In the 
case where the person is coming from a private residence, 
only collateral information shall be required and may be 
gathered from an interview with someone involved in the 
primary care of the person. 

1. The collateral information and supporting documentation 
shall cover a period of not less than six months of the 

person’s care or treatment at the referring facility, or if the 
person’s stay at the facility is less than six months, then the 
collateral information and documentation shall cover the 
person’s entire stay. 

2. The administrator shall document that the collateral 
information and supporting document were reviewed and 
used to help determine the appropriateness of the person’s 
admission. 

3. The administrator shall ensure that a copy of collateral 
information and supporting documentation, if the person is 
admitted, is filed in the resident's record. 

NOTE: When applicable, see 22 VAC 40-72-510 regarding 
high risk behavior.  

A. A mental health screening shall be conducted prior to 
admission if behaviors or patterns of behavior occurred 
within the previous six months that were indicative of mental 
illness, mental retardation, substance abuse or behavioral 
disorders and that caused, or continue to cause, concern for 
the health, safety, or welfare either of that individual or others 
who could be placed at risk of harm by that individual.  

EXCEPTION:  If it is not possible for the screening to be 
conducted prior to admission, the individual may be admitted 
if all other admission requirements are met.  The reason for 
the delay shall be documented and the screening shall be 
conducted as soon as possible. 

B.  A mental health screening shall be conducted when a 
resident displays behaviors or patterns of behavior indicative 
of mental illness, mental retardation, substance abuse, or 
behavioral disorders that cause concern for the health, safety 
or welfare of either that individual or others who could be 
placed at risk of harm by the individual. 

C. The mental health screening shall be conducted by a 
qualified mental health professional having no financial 
interest in the assisted living facility, directly or indirectly as 
an owner, officer, employee, or as an independent contractor 
with the facility; 

D. A copy of the screening shall be filed in the resident’s 
record. 

E. If the screening indicates a need for mental health, mental 
retardation, substance abuse, or behavioral disorder services 
for the resident, the facility shall provide: 

1. Notification of the resident’s need for such services to 
the community services board, behavioral health authority, 
or other appropriate licensed provider identified by the 
resident or his legal representative; and  

2. Notification to the resident, authorized contact person of 
record, and physician of record that mental health services 
have been recommended for the resident. 
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22 VAC 40-72-365. Psychosocial and behavioral history. 

A.  When determining appropriateness of admission for an 
individual with a mental health disability, the following 
information shall be obtained by the facility: 

1.  If the prospective resident is referred by a state or 
private hospital, community services board, behavioral 
health authority, or long-term care facility, documentation 
of the individual’s psychosocial and behavioral functioning 
shall be acquired.   

2.  If the prospective resident is coming from a private 
residence, information about the individual’s psychosocial 
and behavioral functioning shall be gathered from primary 
sources, such as family members or friends.  There is no 
requirement for written information from primary sources. 

B. The administrator or his designee shall document that the 
individual’s psychosocial and behavioral history were 
reviewed and used to help determine the appropriateness of 
the admission, and if the person is admitted, to develop an 
individualized service plan. 

C. If the individual is admitted, documentation of the 
psychosocial and behavioral history shall be filed in the 
resident’s record. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-370. Emergency placement. 

A. An emergency placement shall occur only when the 
emergency is documented and approved by a Virginia adult 
protective services worker or case manager for public pay 
individuals or an independent physician or a Virginia adult 
protective services worker for private pay individuals. 

B. When an emergency placement occurs, the person shall 
remain in the assisted living facility no longer than seven 
working days unless all the requirements for admission have 
been met and the person has been admitted. 

22 VAC 40-72-380. Resident personal and social 
information. 

A. Prior to or at the time of admission to an assisted living 
facility, the following personal and social information on a 
person shall be obtained and placed in the individual's record: 

1. Name; 

2. Last home address, and address from which resident was 
received, if different; 

3. Date of admission; 

4. Social security number; 

5. Birthdate (if unknown, estimated age); 

6. Birthplace, if known; 

7. Marital status, if known; 

8. Name, address and telephone number of all legal 
representatives, if any; 

9. Copies of current legal documents that show proof of 
each legal representative’s authority to act on behalf of the 
resident and that specify the scope of the representative’s 
authority to make decisions and to perform other functions; 

10. Name, address and telephone number of next of kin, if 
known (two preferred); 

11. Name, address and telephone number of designated 
contact person authorized by the resident or legal 
representative, if appropriate, for notification purposes, 
including emergency notification and notification of the 
need for mental health, mental retardation, substance abuse, 
or behavioral disorder services (if resident or legal 
representative willing to designate an authorized contact 
person) [ ; NOTE: . ] There may be more than one 
designated contact person. [ NOTE: ] The designated 
contact person may also be listed under another category, 
such as next of kin or legal representative [ . ; ] 

12. Name, address and telephone number of the responsible 
individual stipulated in 22 VAC 40-72-550 G, if needed; 

13. Name, address and telephone number of personal 
physician, if known; 

14. Name, address and telephone number of personal 
dentist, if known; 

15. Name, address and telephone number of clergyman and 
place of worship, if applicable; 

16. Name, address and telephone number of local 
department of social services or any other agency, if 
applicable, and the name of the assigned case manager or 
caseworker; 

17. Service in the armed forces, if applicable; 

[ 18. Lifetime vocation, career, or primary role; ] 

[ 18. 19. ] Special interests and hobbies; 

[ 19. 20. ] Information concerning advance directives, Do 
Not Resuscitate (DNR) orders, or organ donation, if 
applicable; and 

[ 20. 21. ] For residents who meet the criteria for assisted 
living care, additional information to be included:  

[ a. Description of family structure and relationships; 

b. a. ] Previous mental health/mental retardation services 
history, if any, and if applicable for care or services; 

[ c. b. ] Current behavioral and social functioning 
including strengths and problems; and 

[ d. c. ] Any substance abuse history if applicable for care 
or services. 
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22 VAC 40-72-390. Resident agreement with facility. 

A. At or prior to the time of admission, there shall be a 
written agreement/acknowledgment of notification dated and 
signed by the resident/applicant for admission or the 
appropriate legal representative, and by the licensee or 
administrator. This document shall include the following: 

1. Financial arrangement for accommodations, services and 
care that specifies: 

a. Listing of specific charges for accommodations, 
services, and care to be made to the individual resident 
signing the agreement, the frequency of payment, and 
any rules relating to nonpayment; 

b. Description of all accommodations, services, and care 
that the facility offers and any related charges; 

c. The amount and purpose of an advance payment or 
deposit payment and the refund policy for such payment; 

d. The policy with respect to increases in charges and 
length of time for advance notice of intent to increase 
charges; 

e. If the ownership of any personal property, real estate, 
money or financial investments is to be transferred to the 
facility at the time of admission or at some future date, it 
shall be stipulated in the agreement; and 

f. The refund policy to apply when transfer of ownership, 
closing of facility, or resident transfer or discharge 
occurs. 

2. Requirements or rules to be imposed regarding resident 
conduct and other restrictions or special conditions and 
signed acknowledgment that they have been reviewed by 
the resident or his legal representative.  

3. Acknowledgment that the resident or his legal 
representative has been informed of the policy regarding 
the amount of notice required when a resident wishes to 
move from the facility. 

4. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed of 
the policy required by 22 VAC 40-72-840 J regarding 
weapons. 

5. Those actions, circumstances, or conditions that would 
result or might result in the resident's discharge from the 
facility. 

6. Acknowledgment that the resident or his legal 
representative or responsible individual as stipulated in 
22 VAC 40-72-550 G has reviewed a copy of § 63.2-1808 
of the Code of Virginia, Rights and Responsibilities of 
Residents of Assisted Living Facilities, and that the 
provisions of this statute have been explained to him. 

7. Acknowledgment that the resident or his legal 
representative or responsible individual as stipulated in 

22 VAC 40-72-550 G has reviewed and had explained to 
him the facility's policies and procedures for implementing 
§ 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia, including the 
grievance policy and the transfer/discharge policy. 

8. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed 
that interested residents may establish and maintain a 
resident council, that the facility is responsible for 
providing assistance with the formation and maintenance of 
the council, whether or not such a council currently exists 
in the facility, and the general purpose of a resident 
council. (See 22 VAC 40-72-810.) 

9. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed of 
the bed hold policy in case of temporary transfer, if the 
facility has such a policy. 

10. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed of 
the rules and restrictions regarding smoking on the 
premises of the facility, including but not limited to that 
which is required by 22 VAC 40-72-800. 

11. Acknowledgment that the resident has been informed of 
the policy regarding the administration and storage of 
medications and dietary supplements. 

[ 12. Acknowledgment that the resident has received 
written assurance that the facility has the appropriate 
license to meet his care needs at the time of admission, as 
required by 22 VAC 40-72-340 D. ] 

B. Copies of the signed agreement/acknowledgment of 
notification shall be provided to the resident and as 
appropriate, his legal representative and shall be retained in 
the resident's record. 

[ C. The facility shall review annually with the resident the 
terms of the written agreement/acknowledgement of 
notification required in subsection A of this section. Evidence 
of this review shall be the resident’s written 
acknowledgement of having been so informed, which shall 
include the date of the review and which shall be filed in his 
record. 

D. A new agreement shall be signed or the C. The ] original 
agreement shall be updated [ and signed by the licensee or 
administrator and the resident or his legal representative when 
whenever ] there are changes in financial arrangements, 
[ accommodations, ] services, [ care provided by the facility, ] 
or requirements governing the resident's conduct [ , and 
signed by the licensee or administrator and the resident or his 
legal representative ]. If the original agreement provides for 
specific changes in financial arrangements, services, or 
requirements, this standard does not apply [ to those 
changes ]. 
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22 VAC 40-72-400. Orientation and related information 
for residents. 

A. Upon admission, the assisted living facility shall provide 
an orientation for new residents and their legal representatives 
including but not limited to emergency response procedures, 
mealtimes, and use of the call system. If needed, the 
orientation shall be modified as appropriate for residents with 
serious cognitive impairments. Acknowledgement of having 
received the orientation shall be signed and dated by the 
resident and as appropriate, his legal representative and such 
documentation shall be kept in the resident’s record. 

B. Upon admission and upon request, the assisted living 
facility shall provide to the resident and, if appropriate, his 
legal representative, a written description of the types of 
[ employees staff persons ] working in the facility and the 
services provided, including the hours such services are 
available. 

22 VAC 40-72-410. Acceptance back in facility. 

A. An assisted living facility shall establish [ a process 
procedures ] to ensure that any resident [ temporarily detained 
in an inpatient facility detained by an emergency custody 
order pursuant to § 37.2-808 of the Code of Virginia or by a 
temporary detention order ] pursuant to § 37.2-809 of the 
Code of Virginia is accepted back in the assisted living 
facility if the resident is not involuntarily committed pursuant 
to § 37.2-814 through 37.2-816 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. If an assisted living facility allows for temporary 
movement of a resident with agreement to hold a bed, it shall 
develop and follow a written bed hold policy, which includes, 
but is not limited to, the conditions for which a bed will be 
held, any time frames, terms of payment, and circumstances 
under which the bed will no longer be held. 

22 VAC 40-72-420. Discharge of residents. 

A. When actions, circumstances, conditions, or care needs 
occur that will result in the discharge of a resident, discharge 
planning shall begin immediately [ , and there shall be 
documentation of such, including the beginning date of 
discharge planning ]. The resident shall be moved within 30 
days, except that if persistent efforts have been made and the 
time frame is not met, the facility shall document the reason 
and the efforts that have been made.  

B. As soon as discharge planning begins, the assisted living 
facility shall notify the resident and the resident's legal 
representatives and designated contact person if any, of the 
planned discharge, the reason for the discharge, and that the 
resident will be moved within 30 days unless there are 
extenuating circumstances as referenced in subsection A of 
this section. [ Notification Written notification ] of the actual 
discharge date shall [ occur be given to the resident and the 
resident's legal representatives and contact person if any, ] at 

least 14 calendar days prior to the date that the resident will 
be discharged. 

C. The assisted living facility shall adopt and conform to a 
written policy regarding the number of calendar days notice 
that is required when a resident wishes to move from the 
facility. Any required notice of intent to move shall not 
exceed 30 days. 

D. The facility shall assist the resident and his legal 
representative, if any, in the discharge or transfer [ processes 
process ]. The facility shall help the resident prepare for 
relocation, including discussing the resident's destination. 
Primary responsibility for transporting the resident and his 
possessions rests with the resident or his legal representative. 

E. When a resident's condition presents an immediate and 
serious risk to the health, safety or welfare of the resident or 
others and emergency discharge is necessary, 14-day 
notification of planned discharge does not apply, although the 
reason for the relocation shall be discussed with the resident 
and, when possible, his legal representative prior to the move. 

F. Under emergency conditions, the resident’s legal 
representative, designated contact person, the family, 
caseworker, social worker or other agency personnel, as 
appropriate, shall be informed as rapidly as possible, but by 
the close of the business day following discharge, of the 
reasons for the move. 

G. If the resident’s uniform assessment instrument has been 
completed by a public human services agency assessor, the 
assisted living facility shall notify such assessor of the date 
and place of discharge as well as when a resident dies, within 
10 days of the resident’s discharge or death. 

H. Discharge statement. 

1. At the time of discharge, except as noted in subdivision 2 
of this subsection, the assisted living facility shall provide 
to the resident and, as appropriate, his legal representative 
and designated contact person a dated statement signed by 
the licensee or administrator that contains the following 
information: 

a. The date on which the resident, his legal representative 
or designated contact person was notified of the planned 
discharge and the name of the legal representative or 
designated contact person who was notified; 

b. The reason or reasons for the discharge; 

c. The actions taken by the facility to assist the resident 
in the discharge and relocation process; and 

d. The date of the actual discharge from the facility and 
the resident's destination. 

2. When the termination of care is due to emergency 
conditions, the dated statement shall contain the above 
information as appropriate and shall be provided or mailed 
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to the resident, his legal representative, or designated 
contact person as soon as practicable and within 48 hours 
from the time of the decision to discharge. 

3. A copy of the written statement shall be retained in the 
resident's record. 

I. When the resident is discharged and moves to another 
caregiving facility, the assisted living facility shall provide to 
the receiving facility such information related to the resident 
as is necessary to ensure continuity of care and services. 
Original information pertaining to the resident shall be 
maintained by the assisted living facility from which the 
resident was discharged. The assisted living facility shall 
maintain a listing of all information shared with the receiving 
facility. 

J. Within 60 days of the date of discharge, each resident or his 
legal representative shall be given a final statement of 
account, any refunds due, and return of any money, property 
or things of value held in trust or custody by the facility. 

PART VI. 
RESIDENT CARE AND RELATED SERVICES. 

22 VAC 40-72-430. Uniform assessment instrument (UAI). 

A. All residents of and applicants to assisted living facilities 
shall be assessed face-to-face using the uniform assessment 
instrument pursuant to the requirements in Assessment in 
Adult Care Residences (22 VAC 40-745). Assessments shall 
be completed prior to admission, annually, and whenever 
there is a significant change in the resident’s condition.  

1. For private pay individuals, the UAI shall be completed 
by one of the following qualified assessors: 

a. An assisted living facility [ employee staff person ] 
who has successfully completed state-approved training 
on the uniform assessment instrument and level of care 
criteria for either public or private pay assessments, 
provided the administrator or the administrator’s 
designated representative approves and then signs the 
completed UAI, and the facility maintains documentation 
of the completed training;  

EXCEPTION: An assisted living facility [ employee staff 
person ] who began employment at the facility prior to 
[ (insert the effective date of the standards) December 28, 
2006, ] and who had documented training that was not 
state-approved in the completion of the UAI and 
application of level of care criteria shall meet the 
requirements for state approved training within one year 
from [ (insert the effective date of the standards) 
December 28, 2006 ]; 

b. An independent physician; 

c. A qualified public human services agency assessor. 

2. For public pay individuals, the UAI shall be completed 
by a case manager or qualified assessor as specified in 
22 VAC 40-745. 

B. The UAI shall be completed within 90 days prior to the 
date of admission to the assisted living facility except that if 
there has been a change in the resident's condition since the 
completion of the UAI that would affect the admission, a new 
UAI shall be completed. 

C. When a resident moves to an assisted living facility from 
another assisted living facility or other long-term care setting 
that uses the UAI, if there is a completed UAI on record, 
another UAI does not have to be completed except that a new 
UAI shall be completed whenever: 

1. There is a significant change in the resident’s condition; 
or  

2. The [ previous ] assessment [ was completed is ] more 
than 12 months [ ago old ]. 

D. The assessor is responsible for being knowledgeable of the 
criteria for level of care and authorizing the individual for the 
appropriate level of care for admission to and for continued 
stay in an assisted living facility based on the information in 
the UAI. 

[ E. Annual reassessments and reassessments due to a 
significant change in the resident's condition, using the UAI, 
shall be utilized to determine whether a resident's needs can 
continue to be met by the facility and whether continued 
placement in the facility is in the best interest of the 
resident. ] 

[ E. F. ] For private pay individuals, the assisted living facility 
shall ensure that the uniform assessment instrument is 
completed as required by 22 VAC 40-745.  

[ F. G. ] For [ a ] private pay [ residents resident, if the UAI is 
completed by an independent physican or a qualified human 
services agency assessor ], the assisted living facility shall be 
responsible for coordinating with [ an independent the ] 
physician or [ a qualified human services the ] agency 
assessor to ensure that [ UAIs are the UAI is ] completed as 
required.  

[ G. H. ] The assisted living facility shall be in compliance 
with all requirements set forth in 22 VAC 40-745. 

[ H. I. ] The facility shall maintain the completed UAI in the 
resident’s record.  

[ I. J. ] At the request of the assisted living facility, the 
resident, the resident's legal representative, the resident's 
physician, the department, or the local department of social 
services, an independent assessment using the UAI shall be 
completed to determine whether the resident's care needs are 
being met in the assisted living facility. The assisted living 
facility shall assist the resident in obtaining the independent 
assessment as requested. 
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[ NOTE: ] An independent assessment is one that is 
completed by a qualified entity other than the original 
assessor. 

[ J. K. ] During an inspection or review, staff from the 
department, the Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
or the local department of social services may initiate a 
change in level of care for any assisted living facility resident 
for whom it is determined that the resident’s UAI is not 
reflective of the resident’s current status.  

[ K. L. ] The facility shall ensure that facility [ employees 
staff ] and independent physicians who are qualified assessors 
advise orally and in writing all applicants to and residents of 
assisted living facilities of the right to appeal the outcome of 
the assessment, the annual reassessment, or determination of 
level of care. 

22 VAC 40-72-440. Individualized service plans. 

A. The licensee/administrator who has completed an 
individualized service plan (ISP) training program approved 
by the department or his designee who has completed such a 
program shall develop [ and implement ] an individualized 
service plan to meet the resident's service needs. The 
licensee/administrator or designee shall develop [ and 
implement ] the ISP in conjunction with the resident, and as 
appropriate, with the resident's family, legal representative, 
direct care staff members, case manager, health care 
providers [ , qualified mental health professionals, ] or other 
persons. The plan shall be designed to maximize the resident's 
level of functional ability. 

[ NOTE: ] An individualized service plan is not required for 
those residents who are assessed as capable of maintaining 
themselves in an independent living status. 

B. The service plan to address the immediate needs of the 
resident shall be completed within 72 hours of admission. The 
comprehensive plan shall be completed within 30 days after 
admission and shall include the following: 

1. Description of identified needs based upon the (i) UAI; 
(ii) admission physical examination; (iii) interview with 
resident; (iv) assessment of psychological, behavioral and 
emotional functioning, if appropriate; and (v) other 
sources; 

2. A written description of what services will be provided 
and who will provide them; 

3. When and where the services will be provided; [ and ] 

4. The expected outcome and date of expected outcome [ . 
and 

5. If a resident lives in a building housing 19 or fewer 
residents, a statement that specifies whether the person 
does need or does not need to have a staff member awake 
and on duty at night. ] 

C. The individualized service plan shall reflect the resident's 
assessed needs and support the principles of individuality, 
personal dignity, freedom of choice and home-like 
environment and shall include other formal and informal 
supports that may participate in the delivery of services. 
Whenever possible, residents shall be given a choice of 
options regarding the type and delivery of services. 

[ D. The intervention plan developed to address high risk 
behavior, as specified in 22 VAC 40-72-510, shall be 
incorporated into the individualized service plan. 

E. D. ] When hospice care is provided to a resident, the 
assisted living facility and the licensed hospice organization 
shall communicate, establish and agree upon a coordinated 
plan of care for the resident. The services provided by each 
shall be included on the individualized service plan. 

[ F. E. ] The individualized service plan shall be signed and 
dated by the licensee/administrator or his designee, i.e., the 
person who has developed the plan, and by the resident or his 
legal representative. The plan shall also be signed and dated 
by any other individuals who contributed to the development 
of the plan. Each person signing the plan shall note his title or 
relationship to the resident next to his signature. These 
requirements shall also apply to reviews and updates of the 
plan. 

[ EXCEPTION: The signature of an individual who 
contributed to the plan without being present at the facility 
shall not be required, although his name, date of participation, 
and title or relationship shall be indicated on the plan. ] 

[ G. F. ] The master service plan shall be filed in the 
resident’s record. A current copy shall be maintained in a 
location accessible at all times to direct care staff, but that 
protects the confidentiality of the contents of the service plan. 
Extracts from the plan may be filed in locations specifically 
identified for their retention, e.g., dietary plan in kitchen. 

[ H. G. ] The facility shall ensure that the care and services 
specified in the individualized service plan are provided to 
each resident. 

EXCEPTION: There may be a deviation from the plan when 
mutually agreed upon between the facility and the resident or 
the resident’s legal representative at the time the care or 
services are scheduled or when there is an emergency that 
prevents the care or services from being provided. Deviation 
from the plan shall be documented in writing, including a 
description of the circumstances, the date it occurred, and the 
signatures of the parties involved, and the documentation 
shall be retained in the resident’s record.  

[ NOTE TO EXCEPTION: ] The facility may not start, 
change or discontinue medications, [ dietary supplements, ] 
diets, medical procedures or treatments without an order from 
[ the a ] physician [ or other prescriber ]. 
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[ I. H. ] Outcomes shall be noted on the individualized plan or 
on a separate document as outcomes are achieved, and 
progress toward reaching expected outcomes shall be noted 
on the service plan or other document at least annually. 
Personnel making such notes shall sign and date them. 

[ J. I. ] Individualized service plans shall be reviewed and 
updated at least once every 12 months and as needed as the 
condition of the resident changes. The review and update 
shall be performed by a staff person who has completed an 
ISP training program approved by the department, in 
conjunction with the resident, and as appropriate, with the 
resident’s family, legal representative, direct care staff, case 
manager, health care providers or other persons.  

22 VAC 40-72-450. Personal care services and general 
supervision and care. 

A. The facility shall assume general responsibility for the 
health, safety and well-being of the residents. 

B. Care provision and service delivery shall be resident-
centered to the maximum extent possible, and include: 

1. Resident participation in decisions regarding the care and 
services provided to him; and 

2. Personalization of care and services tailored to the 
resident’s circumstances and preferences. 

C. Care shall be furnished in a way that fosters the 
independence of each resident and enables him to fulfill his 
potential. 

D. The facility shall provide supervision of resident 
schedules, care and activities, including attention to 
specialized needs, such as prevention of falls and wandering 
off the premises. 

E. The facility shall regularly observe each resident for 
changes in physical, mental, emotional and social 
functioning. 

1. Any notable change in a resident's condition or 
functioning, including illness, injury, or altered behavior 
and action taken shall be documented in the resident's 
record. 

2. The facility shall provide appropriate assistance when 
observation reveals unmet needs. 

F. [ Employees Staff ] shall promptly respond to resident 
needs as reasonable to the circumstances. 

G. The facility shall notify the next of kin, legal 
representative, designated contact person, [ and or if 
applicable, ] any responsible social agency [ , as appropriate, ] 
of any incident of a resident falling or wandering from the 
premises, whether or not it results in injury. This notification 
shall occur as soon as possible but at least within 24 hours 
from the time of initial discovery or knowledge of the 
incident. The resident’s record shall include documentation of 

the notification, including date, time, caller, and person [ or 
agency ] notified. 

EXCEPTION: If the whereabouts of a resident are unknown 
and there is reason to be concerned about his safety, the 
facility shall immediately notify the appropriate law-
enforcement agency [ ,. The facility shall also immediately 
notify ] the resident’s next of kin, legal representative, 
designated contact person, [ and or if applicable, ] any 
responsible social agency [ , as appropriate ]. 

H. The facility shall provide care and services to each resident 
by [ employees staff ] who are able to communicate with the 
resident in a language the resident understands; or the facility 
shall make provisions for communications between 
[ employees staff ] and residents to ensure an accurate 
exchange of information. 

I. The facility shall ensure that personal assistance and care 
are provided to each resident as necessary so that the needs of 
the resident are met, including but not limited to assistance or 
care with: 

1. The activities of daily living: 

a. Bathing (at least twice a week, but more often if 
needed or desired); 

b. Dressing; 

c. Toileting; 

d. Transferring; 

e. Bowel control; 

f. Bladder control; and 

g. Eating/feeding; 

2. The instrumental activities of daily living: 

a. Meal preparation; 

b. Housekeeping; 

c. Laundry; and 

d. Managing money; 

3. Ambulation; 

4. Hygiene and grooming: 

a. Shampooing, combing and brushing hair; 

b. Shaving; 

c. Trimming fingernails and toenails (certain medical 
conditions necessitate that this be done by a licensed 
health care professional); 

d. Daily tooth brushing and denture care; and 

e. Skin care at least twice daily for those with limited 
mobility; 
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5. Functions and tasks: 

a. Arrangements for transportation; 

b. Arrangements for shopping; 

c. Use of the telephone; and 

d. Correspondence. 

J. Each resident shall be dressed in clean clothing and be free 
of odors [ related to hygiene ]. Each resident shall be 
encouraged to wear day clothing when out of bed. 

K. Residents who are incontinent shall have a full or partial 
bath, clean clothing and linens each time their clothing or bed 
linen is soiled or wet. 

L. The facility shall ensure each resident is able to obtain 
individually preferred personal care items when: 

1. The preferred personal care items are reasonably 
available; and 

2. The resident is willing and able to pay for the preferred 
items. 

22 VAC 40-72-460. Health care services. 

A. The facility shall ensure, either directly or indirectly, that 
the health care service needs of residents are met. The ways 
in which the needs may be met include, but are not limited to: 

1. [ Employees Staff ] of the facility providing health care 
services; 

2. Persons employed by a resident providing health care 
services; or 

3. The facility assisting residents in making appropriate 
arrangements for health care services. 

a. When a resident is unable to participate in making 
appropriate arrangements, the resident’s family, legal 
representative, designated contact person, cooperating 
social agency or personal physician shall be notified of 
the need. 

b. When mental health care is needed or desired by a 
resident, this assistance shall include securing the 
services of the local community [ mental health and 
mental retardation ] services board, state or federal 
mental health clinic or similar facility or agent in the 
private sector.  

B. A resident's need for skilled nursing treatments within the 
facility shall be met by the facility’s employment of a 
licensed nurse or contractual agreement with a licensed nurse, 
or by a home health agency or by a private duty licensed 
nurse. 

C. Services shall be provided to prevent clinically avoidable 
complications, including, but not limited to: 

1. Pressure ulcer development or worsening of an ulcer;  

2. Contracture;  

3. Loss of continence;  

4. Dehydration; and  

5. Malnutrition. 

[ D. When care for gastric tubes is provided to the resident by 
unlicensed direct care facility staff as allowed in 22 VAC 40-
72-340 J (ii), the following criteria shall be met: 

1. The care shall be provided by a direct care staff member 
who has successfully completed general and resident-
specific training requirements and competencies in tube 
care from the delegating registered nurse, which has been 
documented by the nurse, and includes the following: 

a. Type and amount of feeding and method of 
administration;  

b. Necessary equipment and supplies; 

c. Methods for determining that the resident’s tube 
remains properly placed and unobstructed; 

d. Acceptable parameters for residual contents – when to 
administer feedings and when to hold; 

e. When, how often and with what amounts of water 
direct care staff are to flush tube; 

f. How tube is to be clamped and secured; 

g. How site is to be cleansed and dressed including 
frequency; 

h. What information is to be documented; and  

i. What information is to be reported and how soon (e.g., 
tube out or displaced, drainage around tube, signs of 
infection, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, etc.). 

2. Whenever administering a tube feeding, the direct care 
staff member is responsible for all of the following: 

a. Confirming physician or other presciber order for type 
and amount of feeding and method of administration; 

b. Confirming written instructions from RN; 

c. Gathering necessary equipment and supplies; 

d. Identifying resident; 

e. Explaining procedure to resident; 

f. Confirming that feeding tube is in place and 
unobstructed; 

g. Elevating head of bed or positioning resident 
comfortably in chair; 

h. Washing hands; 

i. Preparing feeding according to physician or other 
prescriber order and written instructions from RN; 
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j. Checking residual to confirm amount falls within 
parameters specified by RN; 

k. Administering feeding by gravity flow or other method 
as approved by physician or other prescriber and 
instructed by RN; 

l. Flushing feeding tube with the amount of water 
specified by the RN; 

m. Clamping and securing tube; 

n. Cleansing and covering site as instructed; 

o. Documenting feeding; 

p. Confirming patient comfort, e.g., leaving head of bed 
elevated or patient positioned comfortably in chair for 30 
to 60 minutes; and  

q. Documenting resident’s tolerance of feeding and any 
other observations related to the condition and care of the 
site. 

3. Prior to independently administering any tube feedings, 
the direct care staff person shall successfully demonstrate 
competency without prompting and without assistance in 
all of the procedures specified in subdivision 2 of this 
subsection. The delegating RN shall observe and document 
a minimum of two successful demonstrations before 
authorizing in writing the direct care staff member to 
perform the tube feeding independently.  The authorization 
only applies for more than one resident when the delegating 
RN has verified and documented that the same type of 
feeding tube, feeding, and method of administration are 
used for each resident. 

4. Written protocols that encompass the basic policies and 
procedures for the performance of gastric tube feedings 
shall be available to any direct care staff member 
responsible for tube feedings.  

5. Contact information for the delegating RN shall be 
readily available to all staff responsible for tube feedings 
when an RN or LPN is not present in the facility. 

6. The facility shall have a written back-up plan to ensure 
that a person who is qualified as specified in this subsection 
is available if the direct care staff member who usually 
provides the care is absent. ] 

[ D. E. ] When the resident suffers serious accident, injury, 
illness, or medical condition, or there is reason to suspect that 
such has occurred, medical attention from a licensed health 
care professional shall be secured immediately. The 
circumstances involved and the medical attention received 
shall be documented in the resident’s record. The date and 
times of occurrence, as well as the personnel involved shall 
be included in the documentation. 

1. The resident’s physician (if not already involved), next 
of kin, legal representative, designated contact person, case 

manager, and any responsible social agency, as appropriate, 
shall be notified as soon as possible but at least within 24 
hours of the situation and action taken. 

2. A notation shall be made in the resident's record of such 
notice, including the date, time, caller and person notified. 

[ E. F. ] If a resident refuses medical attention, the facility 
shall notify the resident’s physician immediately, and next of 
kin, legal representative, designated contact person, case 
manager, and any responsible social agency, as appropriate, 
as soon as possible but at least within 24 hours. A notation 
shall be made in the resident’s record of such refusal and 
notification, including the date, time, caller and person 
notified. 

[ F. G. ] If a resident refuses medical attention, the facility 
shall assess whether it can continue to meet the resident’s 
needs. 

22 VAC 40-72-470. Restorative, habilitative and 
rehabilitative services. 

A. Facilities shall assure that all restorative care and 
habilitative service needs of the residents are met. 
[ Employees Staff ] who are responsible for planning and 
meeting the needs shall have been trained in restorative and 
habilitative care. Restorative and habilitative care includes, 
but is not limited to, range of motion, assistance with 
ambulation, positioning, assistance and instruction in the 
activities of daily living, psychosocial skills training, and 
reorientation and reality orientation. 

B. In the provision of restorative and habilitative care, staff 
shall emphasize services such as the following: 

1. Making every effort to keep residents active, within the 
limitations set by physicians' [ or other prescribers' ] orders; 

2. Encouraging residents to achieve independence in the 
activities of daily living; 

3. Assisting residents to adjust to their disabilities, to use 
their prosthetic devices, and to redirect their interests if 
they are no longer able to maintain past involvement in 
particular activities;  

4. Assisting residents to carry out prescribed physical 
therapy exercises between appointments with the physical 
therapist; and 

5. Maintaining a bowel and bladder training program. 

C. Facilities shall arrange for specialized rehabilitative 
services by qualified personnel as needed by the resident. 
Rehabilitative services include physical therapy, occupational 
therapy and speech-language pathology services. 
Rehabilitative services may be indicated when the resident 
has lost or has shown a change in his ability to respond to or 
perform a given task and requires professional rehabilitative 
services in an effort to regain lost function. Rehabilitative 
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services may also be indicated to evaluate the appropriateness 
and individual response to the use of assistive technology. 

D. All rehabilitative services rendered by a rehabilitative 
professional shall be performed only upon written medical 
referral by a physician or other qualified health care 
professional. 

E. The physician's orders, services provided, evaluations of 
progress, and other pertinent information regarding the 
rehabilitative services shall be recorded in the resident's 
record. 

F. Direct care staff who are involved in the care of residents 
using assistive devices shall know how to operate and utilize 
the devices. 

22 VAC 40-72-480. Health care oversight. 

A. Each assisted living facility shall retain a licensed health 
care professional who has at least two years of experience [ in 
adult residential or day care as a health care professional in an 
adult residential facility, adult day care center, acute care 
facility, nursing home, or licensed home care or hospice 
organization ], either by direct employment or on a 
contractual basis, to provide health care oversight.  

1. For residents who meet the criteria for residential living 
care, the licensed health care professional, acting within the 
scope of the requirements of his profession, shall be on-site 
at least every six months and more often if indicated, based 
on his professional judgment of the seriousness of a 
resident's needs or the stability of a resident's condition.  

2. For residents who meet the criteria for assisted living 
care, the licensed health care professional, acting within the 
scope of the requirements of his profession, shall be on-site 
at least every three months and more often if indicated, 
based on his professional judgment of the seriousness of a 
resident's needs or the stability of a resident's condition. 

B. [ The responsibilities of the licensed health care 
professional while on-site shall include at least every three 
months or every six months as specified in subsection A of 
this section While on-site, as specified in subsection A of this 
section, the licensed health care professional shall ]: 

1. [ Recommending Recommend ] in writing changes to a 
resident's service plan [ whenever if ] the plan does not 
appropriately address the current health care needs of the 
resident. 

2. [ Monitoring of Monitor ] direct care staff performance 
of health-related activities [ , including the identification of 
any significant gaps in the staff person's ability to function 
competently ]. 

3. [ Advising Advise ] the administrator of the need for 
[ employee staff ] training [ in health-related activities or 
the need for other actions when appropriate to eliminate 
problems in competency level , as necessary ]. 

4. [ Providing Provide ] consultation and technical 
assistance to [ employees staff ] as needed. 

5. [ Directly observing every resident Observe residents ] 
for whom the assisted living facility is receiving 
reimbursement from the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services for intensive assisted living services and 
[ recommending recommend ] in writing any needed 
changes in the care provided or in the resident's service 
plan. [ The monitoring will be in accordance with the 
specifications of the Department of Medical Assistance 
Services. ] 

6. [ Reviewing Review ] documentation regarding health 
care services, including medication and treatment records 
to assess that services are being provided in accordance 
with physicians' [ or other prescribers' ] orders, and 
[ informing keep ] the administrator [ of any problems 
appropriately informed ]. 

7. [ Monitoring of Monitor ] conformance to the facility’s 
medication management plan and the maintenance of 
required medication reference materials, and [ advising 
advise ] the administrator of any concerns.  

8. [ Monitoring of Monitor ] infection control measures and 
[ advising advise ] the administrator of any concerns. 

9. [ Reviewing Review ] the current condition and the 
records of restrained residents to assess the appropriateness 
of the restraint and progress toward its reduction or 
elimination, and [ advising advise ] the administrator of any 
concerns. 

10. [ Documenting that the requirements of this section 
were met, including the signature(s) of the licensed health 
care professional(s) who provided each of the services and 
the date(s) the service was provided. Documentation for the 
past two years shall be maintained at the facility Certify in 
writing that the requirements of subdivisions 1 through 9 of 
this subsection were met, including the date(s) the health 
care oversight was provided. The certification shall be 
provided to the facility within 10 days of the completion of 
the oversight and maintained in the facility files for at least 
two years ]. 

22 VAC 40-72-490. Community services board access. 

All assisted living facilities shall provide reasonable access to 
staff or contractual agents of community services boards, 
local government departments with policy-advisory 
community services boards or behavioral health authorities as 
defined in § 37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia for the purposes 
of: 

1. Assessing or evaluating clients residing in the facility;  

2. Providing case management or other services or 
assistance to clients residing in the facility; or  

3. Monitoring the care of clients residing in the facility.  
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Such staff or contractual agents also shall be given reasonable 
access to other facility residents who have previously 
requested their services. 

22 VAC 40-72-500. Mental health services coordination, 
support, and agreement. 

A. For each resident requiring mental health services, the 
services of the local community [ mental health, mental 
retardation and substance abuse ] services board, or a public 
or private mental health clinic, rehabilitative services agency, 
treatment facility or agent shall be secured as appropriate 
based on the resident's current evaluation. 

B. The assisted living facility shall assist the resident in 
obtaining the services recommended in the initial evaluation 
and in the progress reports. 

C. The facility shall enter into a written agreement with all 
providers of mental health services utilized by residents in the 
facility to assure that the services outlined in subsection D of 
this section are provided. 

1. [ Providers Licensed or credentialed providers ] of 
mental health services shall include the local community 
[ mental health, mental retardation, and substance abuse ] 
services board; public or private mental health clinic, 
treatment facility or agent; private psychiatrist, 
psychologist, therapist, or other [ appropriate qualified ] 
mental health professional.  

2. The facility shall maintain contact information for 
providers currently serving residents as a resource for other 
residents who may need mental health services. 

3. A copy of the agreement shall remain on file in the 
assisted living facility. 

[ 4. If the facility is unable to secure an agreement with the 
mental health services provider that comports with 
subsection D of this section, the facility shall document the 
reason for the failure and all efforts made to secure the 
agreement. ] 

D. Services to be included in the agreement shall at least be 
the following: 

1. Diagnostic, evaluation and referral services in order to 
identify and meet the needs of the resident; 

2. Appropriate community-based mental health, mental 
retardation and substance abuse services; 

3. Services and support to meet emergency mental health 
needs of a resident; and 

4. Completion of written progress reports as follows: 

a. The facility shall obtain written progress reports on 
each resident receiving services from the local 
community [ mental health, mental retardation and 
substance abuse ] services board, or a public or private 

mental health clinic, treatment facility or agent; private 
psychiatrist, psychologist, therapist, or other 
[ appropriate qualified ] mental health professional. 

b. The progress reports shall be obtained at least every 
six months until it is stated in a report that services are no 
longer needed. 

c. The progress reports shall contain at a minimum: 

(1) A statement that continued services are or are not 
needed.  

[ (a) (2) ] If continued services are still required, a 
summary of progress.  

[ (b) The status of any identified high risk behavior. ] 

[ (2) (3) ] Recommendations, if any, for continued 
services and the expected therapeutic outcomes; 

[ (3) (4) ] A statement that the resident's needs can 
continue to be met in an assisted living facility; and 

[ (4) (5) ] A statement of any recommended services to 
be provided by the assisted living facility. 

d. Copies of the progress reports shall be filed in the 
resident's record. 

E. If the facility is unsuccessful in obtaining the 
recommended services, it must document: 

1. Whether it can continue to meet all other needs of the 
resident. 

2. How it plans to ensure that the failure to obtain the 
recommended services will not compromise the health, 
safety, or rights of the resident and others who come in 
contact with the resident. 

3. The offices, agencies and individuals who were 
contacted and explanation of outcomes. 

4. Details of additional steps the facility will take to find 
alternative [ services providers ] to meet the resident’s 
needs. 

22 VAC 40-72-510. [ Intervention for high risk behavior. 
(Reserved.) ] 

[ A. At any time that facility staff observe that the resident is 
exhibiting or verbalizing an intent to engage in high risk 
behavior, and it is:  

1. Believed that a crisis situation has occurred as a result of 
the person’s behaviors or thinking that has caused harm or 
presents the potential to cause harm to the person or others, 
the administrator shall ensure that the local community 
services board (CSB) is immediately contacted to request 
an evaluation for emergency intervention services; or 

2. Believed that the person’s behaviors or thinking may not 
rise to the level that would require professional emergency 
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intervention, the administrator shall ensure that the 
responsible mental health professional is contacted 
regarding the concerns with the person’s behaviors or 
thinking within 24 hours of observation. 

a. If there is no one currently responsible for the 
treatment of the person exhibiting the mental health 
disturbance, a referral shall be made within 24 hours of 
observing the disturbance to the local CSB, or to a 
qualified mental health professional of the resident’s 
choice, to determine whether there is a need for mental 
health services.  

b. The facility shall document the referral made to the 
CSB or other mental health agency and note the 
availability and date that services can be rendered.  

B. Following the initial notification of the CSB or other 
qualified mental health professional, the facility and the 
mental health treatment provider shall decide on the need for 
an intervention plan that shall be designed for and 
implemented by the facility. If there is a need for an 
intervention plan, the plan shall: 

1. Include a behavioral management tracking form that:  

a. Is developed, in consultation with the facility, by a 
qualified mental health treatment provider and when 
possible, in consultation with the resident or his legal 
representative. 

b. Incorporates, at a minimum, the following 
information: 

(1) Target or problem behaviors identified; 

(2) Identified triggers, motivators, behaviors or 
conditions associated with target behaviors, including 
medication side effects; 

(3) Interventions prescribed by mental health 
professionals or a facility supervisor to be employed 
by direct care staff; 

(4) Dates and times behaviors were last observed; 

(5) Impact of interventions on behaviors, or if 
prescribed interventions were not used, an explanation 
of the reason; 

(6) General description of, and detailed when possible, 
any subsequent actions that must be considered by the 
facility following a negative outcome of the prescribed 
interventions;  

(7) General description of, and detailed when possible, 
any subsequent actions that must be considered by the 
mental health treatment provider based on the 
presentation of the problems by the facility; 

(8) Consideration of the need for an updated mental 
health evaluation. 

c. Is maintained at the facility with: 

(1) The original being filed in the record with the ISP 
for each resident. 

NOTE: Should the tracking forms exceed five, the 
facility may choose to maintain the five most recent 
forms in the resident’s current record and all others in 
an overflow record maintained for each resident. 

(2) A duplicate copy being filed for each resident, in 
an identifiable binder to permit timely access to 
information by facility employees so that it might be 
used to help manage or prevent problem behaviors 
from escalating or recurring. 

2. Be referenced in the ISP. 

3. Be reviewed and incorporated, to include information 
obtained from the behavioral management tracking form, in 
the written progress report required by 22 VAC 40-72-500 
D 4.  

C. The facility shall have procedures in place to ensure that 
direct care staff members who have direct care 
responsibilities for residents with high risk behaviors are: 

1. Provided training on monitoring (such as when using the 
behavioral management tracking form) and intervening 
when high-risk behaviors are exhibited;  

2. Kept informed of the status of high-risk behaviors 
exhibited by residents; 

D. The facility shall not implement a restrictive behavioral 
management plan, which limits or prevents a person from 
freely exercising targeted rights or privileges, unless: 

1. The resident or legal representative has been informed of 
the need and description of the plan; and 

2. The plan is approved and supervised by a qualified 
mental health professional with no financial interest in the 
facility. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-520. Activity/recreational requirements. 

A. In facilities licensed for residential living care only, there 
shall be at least 11 hours of scheduled activities available to 
the residents each week for no less than one hour each day.  

B. In facilities licensed for both residential and assisted living 
care, there shall be at least 14 hours of scheduled activities 
available to the residents each week for no less than one hour 
each day.  

C. Activities shall be varied and shall include, but not 
necessarily be limited to, the following categories: physical, 
social, cognitive/intellectual/creative, productive, sensory, 
reflective/contemplative, outdoor, and nature/natural world. 
Community resources as well as facility resources may be 
used to provide activities. [ NOTE: ] Any given activity may 
fall under more than one category. 
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D. Activities shall be planned under the supervision of the 
administrator or [ his designee other qualified staff person ] 
who shall encourage involvement of residents and 
[ employees staff ] in the planning. 

E. The activities shall take into consideration individual 
differences in age, health status, sensory deficits, lifestyle, 
ethnicity, religious affiliation, values, experiences, needs, 
interests, abilities, and skills by providing opportunities for a 
variety of types of activities and levels of involvement. 

F. Activities shall: 

1. Meaningfully support the physical, social, mental, and 
emotional abilities and skills of residents; and 

2. Promote or maintain the resident’s highest level of 
independence or functioning. 

G. There shall be a written schedule of activities that meets 
the following criteria: 

1. The schedule of activities shall be developed at least 
monthly. 

2. The schedule shall include: 

a. Group activities for all residents or small groups of 
residents; and 

b. The name, type, date and hour of the activity. 

3. If one activity is substituted for another, the change shall 
be noted on the schedule. 

4. The current month's schedule shall be posted in a 
conspicuous location in the facility or otherwise be made 
available to residents and their families. 

5. The schedule of activities for the past [ six months two 
years ] shall be kept at the facility. 

6. If a resident requires an individual schedule of activities, 
that schedule shall be a part of the individualized service 
plan. 

H. Adequate supplies and equipment appropriate for the 
program activities shall be available in the facility. 

I. Resident participation in activities.  

1. Residents shall be encouraged but not forced to 
participate in activity programs offered by the facility and 
the community.  

2. During an activity, each resident shall be encouraged but 
not coerced to join in at his level, to include observing. 

3. Any restrictions on participation imposed by a physician 
shall be documented in the resident's record.  

J. During a programmed activity, there shall be an adequate 
number of [ employees staff persons ] or volunteers to lead 
the activity, to assist the residents with the activity, to 

supervise the general area, and to re-direct any individuals 
who require different activities. 

K. All equipment and supplies used shall be accounted for at 
the end of the activity so that a safe environment can be 
maintained. 

L. The [ employee staff person ] or volunteer leading the 
activity shall have a general understanding of the following: 

1. Attention spans and functional levels of the residents in 
the group; 

2. Methods to adapt the activity to meet the needs and 
abilities of the residents; 

3. Various methods of engaging and motivating individuals 
to participate; and 

4. The importance of providing appropriate instruction, 
education, and guidance throughout the activity. 

22 VAC 40-72-530. Freedom of movement. 

A. Any resident who does not have a serious cognitive 
impairment with an inability to recognize danger or protect 
his own safety and welfare shall be allowed to freely leave the 
facility. A resident who has a serious cognitive impairment 
and an inability to recognize danger or protect his own safety 
and welfare shall be subject to the provisions set forth in 
22 VAC 40-72-1020 A or 22 VAC 40-72-1130 A. 

B. Doors leading to the outside shall not be locked from the 
inside or secured from the inside in any manner that amounts 
to a lock, except that doors may be locked or secured in a 
manner that amounts to a lock in special care units as 
provided in 22 VAC 40-72-1130 A. [ NOTE: ] Any devices 
used to lock or secure doors in any manner must be in 
accordance with applicable building and fire codes. 

C. The facility shall provide freedom of movement for the 
residents to common areas and to their personal spaces. The 
facility shall not lock residents out of or inside their rooms. 

22 VAC 40-72-540. Visiting in the facility. 

A. Daily visits to residents in the facility shall be permitted. 

B. If visiting hours are restricted, daily visiting hours shall be 
posted in a place conspicuous to the public. 

C. The facility shall encourage regular family involvement 
with the resident and shall provide ample opportunities for 
family participation in activities at the facility. 

22 VAC 40-72-550. Resident rights. 

A. The resident shall be encouraged and informed of 
appropriate means as necessary to exercise his rights as a 
resident and a citizen throughout the period of his stay at the 
facility. 

B. The resident has the right to voice or file grievances, or 
both, with the facility and to make recommendations for 
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changes in the policies and services of the facility. The 
residents shall be protected by the licensee or administrator, 
or both, from any form of coercion, discrimination, threats, or 
reprisal for having voiced or filed such grievances. 

C. Any resident of an assisted living facility has the rights and 
responsibilities as provided in § 63.2-1808 of the Code of 
Virginia and this chapter. 

D. The operator or administrator of an assisted living facility 
shall establish written policies and procedures for 
implementing § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The rights and responsibilities of residents shall be printed 
in at least 12-point type and posted conspicuously in a public 
place in all assisted living facilities. The facility shall also 
post the name, title and telephone number of the appropriate 
regional licensing supervisor of the department, the Adult 
Protective Services' toll-free telephone number, the toll-free 
telephone number of the Virginia Long-Term Care 
Ombudsman Program and any substate (local) ombudsman 
program serving the area, and the toll-free telephone number 
of the Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy.  

F. The rights and responsibilities of residents in assisted 
living facilities shall be reviewed annually with each resident 
or his legal representative or responsible individual as 
stipulated in subsection G of this section and each [ employee 
staff person ]. Evidence of this review shall be the resident's, 
his legal representative’s or responsible individual’s, or 
[ employee’s staff person's ] written acknowledgment of 
having been so informed which shall include the date of the 
review and shall be filed in the resident’s or [ employee’s 
staff person's ] record. 

G. If a resident is unable to fully understand and exercise the 
rights and responsibilities contained in § 63.2-1808 of the 
Code of Virginia, the facility shall require that a legal 
representative or a responsible individual, of the resident’s 
choice when possible, designated in writing in the resident’s 
record, annually be made aware of each item in § 63.2-1808 
and the decisions that affect the resident or relate to specific 
items in § 63.2-1808.  

1. A resident shall be assumed capable of understanding 
and exercising these rights unless a physician determines 
otherwise and documents the reasons for such 
determination in the resident’s record. 

2. The facility shall seek a determination and reasons for 
the determination from a resident’s physician regarding the 
resident’s capability to understand and exercise these rights 
when there is reason to believe that the resident may not be 
capable of such. 

H. The facility shall make its policies and procedures for 
implementing § 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia available 
and accessible to residents, relatives, agencies, and the 
general public. 

22 VAC 40-72-560. Resident records. 

A. The facility shall establish written policy and procedures 
for documentation and recordkeeping to ensure that the 
information in resident records is accurate and clear and that 
the records are well-organized. 

[ B. Resident records shall be identified and easily located by 
resident name, including when a resident's record is kept in 
more than one place. This shall apply to both electronic and 
hard copy material.  

C. A back-up and security system shall be utilized for 
electronic documents that are part of the resident's record. ] 

[ B. D. ] Any forms used for recordkeeping shall contain at a 
minimum the information specified in this chapter. Model 
forms, which may be copied, will be supplied by the 
department upon request [ , and are also available on the 
department's website ]. 

[ C. E. ] Any physician's notes and progress reports in the 
possession of the facility shall be retained in the resident's 
record. 

[ D. F. ] Copies of all agreements between the facility and the 
resident and official acknowledgment of required 
notifications, signed by all parties involved, shall be retained 
in the resident's record. Copies shall be provided to the 
resident, and to persons whose signatures appear on the 
document. 

[ E. G. ] All records that contain the information required by 
these standards for residents shall be retained at the facility 
and kept in a locked area, except that information shall be 
made available as noted in subsection [ F H ] of this section. 

[ F. H. ] The licensee shall assure that all records are treated 
confidentially and that information shall be made available 
only when needed for care of the resident. All records shall be 
made available for inspection by the department's 
representative. 

[ G. I. ] Residents shall be allowed access to their own 
records. 

[ H. J. ] The resident's record shall be kept current and the 
complete record shall be retained for at least two years after 
the resident leaves the facility. 

[ I. K. ] A current picture of each resident shall be readily 
available for identification purposes, or if the resident refuses 
to consent to a picture, there shall be a narrative physical 
description, which is annually updated, maintained in his file. 

22 VAC 40-72-570. Release of information from resident's 
record.  

A. The resident or the appropriate legal representative has the 
right to release information from the resident's record to 
persons or agencies outside the facility.  
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B. The licensee is responsible for making available to 
residents and legal representatives, a form which they may 
use to grant their written permission to release information to 
persons or agencies outside the facility. The facility shall 
retain a copy of any signed release of information form in the 
resident’s record. 

[ NOTE: ] A model form, which may be copied, may be 
obtained from the department [ , and is also available on the 
department's website ].  

C. Only under the following circumstances is a facility 
permitted to release information from the resident's records or 
information regarding the resident's personal affairs without 
the written permission of the resident or his legal 
representative, where appropriate:  

1. When records have been properly subpoenaed;  

2. When the resident is in need of emergency medical care 
and is unable or unwilling to grant permission to release 
information or his legal representative is not available to 
grant permission; 

3. When the resident moves to another caregiving facility;  

4. To representatives of the department; or  

5. As otherwise required by law. 

D. When a resident is hospitalized or transported by 
emergency medical personnel, information necessary to the 
care of the resident, on such matters as medications, advance 
directives, and organ donation, shall be furnished by the 
facility to the hospital or emergency medical personnel, if 
appropriate.  

[ NOTE: See previous subsections in this section to determine 
whether or not written permission from the resident or his 
legal representative is needed. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-580. Food service and nutrition. 

A. When any portion of an assisted living facility is subject to 
inspection by the State Department of Health, the facility 
shall be in compliance with those regulations, as evidenced 
by an initial and subsequent annual reports from the State 
Department of Health. The report shall be retained at the 
facility for a period of at least two years. 

B. All meals shall be served in the dining area as designated 
by the facility, except that: 

1. If the facility [ , through its policies and procedures, ] 
offers routine or regular room service, residents shall be 
given the option of having meals in the dining area or in 
their rooms, provided that: 

a. [ If a resident chooses to have meals in his room, there 
There ] is a written agreement to this effect, signed and 
dated by both the resident and the licensee or 

administrator, and [ the agreement is ] filed in the 
resident’s record. 

b. If a resident’s individualized service plan, physical 
examination report, mental health status report or any 
other document indicates that the resident has a 
psychiatric condition that contributes to self-isolation, a 
qualified mental health professional shall make a 
determination in writing whether the person should have 
the option of having meals in his room. If the 
determination is made that the resident should not have 
this option, then the resident shall have his meals in the 
dining area. 

2. Under special circumstances, such as temporary illness 
[ or, ] temporary incapacity, [ or ] temporary agitation of a 
resident with serious cognitive impairment, [ , or 
occasional, infrequent requests due to a resident's personal 
preference, ]  meals may be served in a resident's room. 
[ Documentation in the resident's file will reflect these 
circumstances. ] 

3. When meals are served in a resident’s room, a sturdy 
table must be used. 

C. Residents with independent living status who have 
kitchens equipped with stove, refrigerator and sink within 
their individual apartments may have the option of obtaining 
meals from the facility or from another source. 

1. The facility must have an acceptable health monitoring 
plan for these residents and provide meals both for other 
residents and for residents identified as no longer capable 
of maintaining independent living status. 

2. An acceptable health monitoring plan includes assurance 
of adequate resources, accessibility to food, a capability to 
prepare food, and availability of meals when the resident is 
sick or temporarily unable to prepare meals for himself. 

D. Personnel shall be available to help any resident who may 
need assistance in reaching the dining room or when eating. 

E. A minimum of 30 minutes shall be allowed for each 
resident to complete a meal. If a resident has been assessed on 
the UAI as dependent in eating/feeding, his individualized 
service plan shall indicate an approximate amount of time 
needed for meals to ensure needs are met. 

F. Facilities shall develop and implement a policy to monitor 
each resident’s food consumption for: 

1. Warning signs of changes in physical or mental status 
related to nutrition; and 

2. Compliance with any needs determined by the 
individualized service plan or prescribed by a physician [ or 
other prescriber ], nutritionist or health care professional. 

G. Facilities shall implement [ automatic ] interventions as 
soon as a nutritional problem is suspected. These 
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interventions shall include, but are not limited to the 
following: 

1. Weighing residents at least monthly to determine 
whether the resident has significant weight loss (5.0% 
weight loss in one month, 7.5% in three months, or 10% in 
six months); and 

2. Notifying the attending physician if a significant weight 
loss is identified in any resident who is not on a physician-
approved weight reduction program, and obtain, document 
and follow the physician’s instructions regarding 
nutritional care. 

22 VAC 40-72-590. Observance of religious dietary 
practices. 

A. The resident's religious dietary practices shall be 
respected. 

B. Religious dietary laws (or practices) of the administrator or 
licensee shall not be imposed upon residents unless mutually 
agreed upon in the admission agreement between 
administrator or licensee and resident.  

22 VAC 40-72-600. Time interval between meals. 

A. Time between the evening meal and breakfast the 
following morning shall not exceed 15 hours. 

B. There shall be at least four hours between breakfast and 
lunch and at least four hours between lunch and supper. 

C. When multiple seatings are required due to limited dining 
space, scheduling shall ensure that these time intervals are 
met for all residents. Schedules shall be made available to 
residents, legal representatives, [ employees staff ], volunteers 
and any other persons responsible for assisting residents in 
the dining process. 

22 VAC 40-72-610. Number of meals. 

A. At least three well-balanced meals, served at regular 
intervals, shall be provided daily to each resident, unless 
contraindicated as documented by the attending physician in 
the resident’s record or as provided for in 22 VAC 40-72-580 
C. 

B. Bedtime and between meal snacks shall be made available 
for all residents desiring them, or in accordance with their 
[ service plans, and shall be listed on the daily menu. Vending 
machines shall not be used as the only source for snacks 
physician's or other prescriber's orders ].  

[ 1. Appropriate adjustments in the provision of snacks to a 
resident shall be made when there are orders from the 
resident's physician or other prescriber in the resident's 
record limiting the receipt or type of snacks.  

2. Vending machines shall not be used as the only source 
for snacks. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-620. Menus for meals and snacks. 

A. Food preferences of residents shall be considered when 
menus are planned.  

B. Menus [ for meals and snacks ] for the current week shall 
be dated and posted in an area conspicuous to residents.  

C. Any menu substitutions or additions shall be recorded on 
the posted menu.  

D. A record shall be kept of the menus served for [ three 
months two years ].  

E. Minimum daily menu.  

1. Unless otherwise ordered in writing by the resident's 
physician [ or other prescriber ], the daily menu, including 
snacks, for each resident shall meet the current guidelines 
of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's food guidance 
system or the dietary allowances of the Food and 
Nutritional Board of the National Academy of Sciences, 
taking into consideration the age, sex and activity of the 
resident.  

2. Other foods may be added.  

3. Second servings and snacks shall be provided, if 
requested, at no additional charge.  

4. At least one meal each day shall include a hot main dish.  

F. Special diets. When a diet is prescribed for a resident by 
his physician [ or other prescriber ], it shall be prepared and 
served according to the physician's [ or other prescriber's ] 
orders.  

G. There shall be on-site quarterly oversight of special diets 
by a dietitian or nutritionist, each of whom must meet the 
requirements of § 54.1-2731 of the Code of Virginia and 
18 VAC 75-30, Regulations Governing Standards for 
Dietitians and Nutritionists. The quarterly oversight shall 
include a review of the physician’s [ or other prescriber's ] 
order and the preparation and delivery of the special diet for 
each resident who has such a diet. The quarterly oversight 
shall also include an evaluation of the adequacy of each 
resident’s special diet and the resident’s acceptance of the 
diet. The dietitian or nutritionist shall provide a written report 
within two weeks to the facility administrator of his findings 
and recommendations, and include the date of the oversight, 
the date of the report, and his signature. The report shall be 
retained at the facility for at least two years. [ NOTE: ] 
Special diets may also be referred to as medical nutrition 
therapy or diet therapy. 

H. A copy of a diet manual containing acceptable practices 
and standards for nutrition shall be kept current and on file in 
the dietary department.  

I. Hydration. The facility shall make drinking water readily 
available to all residents. Direct care staff shall know which 
residents need help getting water or other fluids and drinking 
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from a cup or glass. Direct care staff shall encourage and 
assist residents who do not have medical conditions 
with physician [ or other prescriber ] ordered fluid restrictions 
to drink water or other beverages frequently. 

22 VAC 40-72-630. Medication management plan and 
reference materials. 

A. The facility shall have, and keep current, a written plan for 
medication management. The facility’s medication plan shall 
address procedures for administering medication and shall 
include: 

1. Methods to ensure an understanding of the 
responsibilities associated with medication management; 

2. Standard operating procedures and any general 
restrictions specific to the facility; 

3. Methods to prevent the use of outdated, damaged or 
contaminated medications;  

4. Methods to [ maintain an adequate supply of medication 
ensure that each resident's prescription medications and any 
over-the-counter drugs and supplements ordered for the 
resident are filled and refilled in a timely manner to avoid 
missed dosages ]; 

5. Methods for verifying that medication orders have been 
accurately transcribed to Medication Administration 
Records (MARs); 

6. Methods for monitoring medication administration and 
the effective use of the MARs for documentation; 

7. Methods to ensure that [ employees staff ] who are 
responsible for administering medications meet the 
qualification and training requirements of [ this section 
22 VAC 40-72-660 ]; 

8. Methods to ensure that [ employees staff ] who are 
responsible for administering medications are adequately 
supervised; 

9. A plan for proper disposal of medication [ ; and  

10. Methods to ensure that residents do not receive 
medications or dietary supplements to which they have 
known allergies; and ] 

[ 10. 11. ] Identification of the [ employee medication aide 
or the person licensed to administer drugs ] responsible for 
routinely communicating [ the effectiveness of prescribed 
medications and any adverse reactions or suspected side 
effects issues or observations related to medication 
administration ] to the prescribing physician [ or other 
prescriber ].  

B. The facility’s written medication management plan and 
any subsequent changes shall be approved by the department.  

[ C. The plan and subsequent changes shall be reviewed as 
part of the department's regular inspection process. ] 

[ C. D. ] In addition to the facility’s written medication 
management plan, the facility shall maintain, as reference 
materials for medication aides, a current copy of "A Resource 
Guide for Medication Management for Persons Authorized 
Under the Drug Control Act," approved by the Virginia Board 
of Nursing [ until such time as registration of medication 
aides is enforced ], and at least one pharmacy reference book, 
drug guide or medication handbook for nurses that is no more 
than two years old. [ Other information shall also be 
maintained to assist with safe administration of medication, 
such as pharmacy information sheets, product information 
from drug packages, or printed information from prescribing 
physicians. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-640. Physician’s [ or other prescriber's ] 
order. 

A. No medication, dietary supplement, diet, medical 
procedure or treatment shall be started, changed or 
discontinued by the facility without a valid order from [ the 
a ] physician [ or other prescriber ]. [ NOTE: ] Medications 
include prescription, over-the counter and sample 
medications. 

[ NOTE: Whenever a resident is admitted to a hospital for 
treatment of any condition, the facility shall obtain new 
orders for all medications and treatments prior to or at the 
time of the resident’s return to the facility. The facility shall 
ensure that the primary physician, if not the prescribing 
physician, is aware of all new medication orders. ] 

B. The resident's record shall contain the physician’s [ or 
other prescriber's ] written order or a dated notation of the 
physician's [ or other prescriber's ] oral order.  

C. Physician [ or other prescriber ] orders, both written and 
oral, for administration of all prescription and over-the-
counter medications and dietary supplements shall include the 
name of the resident, the date of the order, the name of the 
drug, route, dosage, strength, how often medication is to be 
given, and identify the diagnosis, condition, or specific 
indications for administering each drug. 

D. Physician’s [ or other prescriber's ] oral orders shall: 

1. Be charted by the individual who takes the order. That 
individual must be one of the following: 

a. A licensed health care professional acting within the 
scope of his profession; or 

b. [ An individual who has successfully completed the 
medication training program developed by the 
department and approved by the Board of Nursing A 
medication aide ]. 

2. Be reviewed and signed by a physician [ or other 
prescriber ] within 10 working days.  

[ E. Whenever a resident is admitted to a hospital for 
treatment of any condition, the facility shall obtain new 
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orders for all medications and treatments prior to or at the 
time of the resident's return to the facility. The facility shall 
ensure that the primary physician is aware of all medication 
orders. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-650. Storage of medications. 

A. A medicine cabinet, container or compartment shall be 
used for storage of medications and dietary supplements 
prescribed for residents when such medications and dietary 
supplements are administered by the facility.  

1. The storage area shall be locked.  

2. [ Controlled substances Schedule II drugs and any other 
drugs subject to abuse ] must be kept [ under a double lock 
in a separate storage compartment ], e.g., a locked cabinet 
within a locked storage area or a locked container within a 
locked cabinet [  or cart, except when the facility uses a 
unit dose packaging system in which the quantity stored is 
minimal and a missing dose can be readily detected ]. 

3. The individual responsible for medication administration 
shall keep the keys to the storage area on his person. 

4. When in use, the storage area shall have adequate 
illumination in order to read container labels [ , but it shall 
remain darkened when closed ].  

5. The storage area shall not be located in the kitchen or 
bathroom, but in an area free of dampness or abnormal 
temperatures unless the medication requires refrigeration.  

6. When required, medications shall be refrigerated.  

a. It is permissible to store dietary supplements and foods 
and liquids used for medication administration in a 
refrigerator that is dedicated to medication storage, if the 
refrigerator is in a locked storage area. 

b. When it is necessary to store medications in a 
refrigerator that is routinely used for food storage, the 
medications shall be stored together in a locked container 
in a clearly defined area. 

B. A resident may be permitted to keep his own medication in 
a secure place in his room if the UAI has indicated that the 
resident is capable of self-administering medication. The 
medication and any dietary supplements shall be stored so 
that they are not accessible to other residents. This does not 
prohibit the facility from storing or administering all 
medication and dietary supplements [ . ]  

22 VAC 40-72-660. Qualifications, training, and 
supervision of staff administering medications. 

When staff administers medications to residents, the 
following standards shall apply: 

1. Each staff person who administers medication shall be 
authorized by § 54.1-3408 of the Virginia Drug Control 

Act. All staff responsible for medication administration 
shall: 

a. Be licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to 
administer medications; or 

b. (i) Have successfully completed one of the five 
requirements specified in 22 VAC 40-72-250 C 1 
through 5 and (ii) have successfully completed the 
medication training program developed by the 
department and approved by the Board of Nursing. 

EXCEPTION: Staff responsible for medication 
administration prior to [ (insert the effective date of these 
standards) December 28, 2006, ] who would otherwise be 
subject to completion of one of the five requirements 
specified in 22 VAC 40-72-250 C 1 through 5 do not have 
to meet any of the requirements listed in 22 VAC 40-72-
250 C 1 through 5 in order to administer medication. 

2. All staff who have met the requirements of 
[ subdivisions subdivision ] 1 b [ and c ] of this section 
shall be listed in the department’s database for medication 
aides.  

3. All staff who have successfully completed the 
medication training program approved by the Board of 
Nursing shall also successfully complete: 

a. Annual in-service training provided by a licensed 
health care professional, acting within the scope of the 
requirements of his profession, on side effects of the 
medications prescribed to the residents in care and on 
recognizing and reporting adverse medication reactions. 

b. The most current refresher course developed by the 
department that is based on the curriculum approved by 
the Board of Nursing. The refresher course shall be 
completed every three years. 

4. [ Staff who have successfully completed the medication 
training program approved by the Board of Nursing 
Medication aides ] shall be supervised [ on-site on all 
shifts ] by: 

a. A licensed health care professional, acting within the 
scope of the requirements of his profession; 

b. The administrator who has successfully completed the 
medication training program approved by the Board of 
Nursing; [ or ]  

c. The designated assistant administrator [ , who meets 
the qualifications of the administrator, ] who has 
successfully completed the medication training program 
approved by the Board of Nursing [ ; . ] 

[ d. The manager as specified in this chapter who has 
successfully completed the medication training program 
approved by the Board of Nursing; or 
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e. The person in charge as specified in this chapter who 
has successfully completed the medication training 
program approved by the Board of Nursing. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-670. Administration of medications and 
related provisions. 

A. Drugs shall be administered to those residents who are 
dependent in medication administration as documented on the 
UAI.  

B. All medications shall be removed from the pharmacy 
container by an authorized person and administered by the 
same authorized person [ not earlier than one hour before and 
not later than one hour after the facility's standard dosing 
schedules, except those drugs that are ordered for specific 
times, such as before, after or with meals ]. Pre-pouring [ for 
later administration ] is not permitted. 

C. All medications shall be administered in accordance with 
the physician's [ or other prescriber's ] instructions and 
consistent with the standards of practice outlined in the 
current [ "A Resource Guide for Medication Management for 
Persons Authorized Under the Drug Control Act," 
curriculum ] approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing. 

D. All medications shall remain in the pharmacy issued 
container, with the legible prescription label or direction label 
attached, until administered.  

E. Sample medications shall remain in the original packaging, 
labeled by a physician [ or other prescriber ] or pharmacist 
with the resident’s name, the name of the medication, the 
strength, dosage, route and frequency of administration, until 
administered. 

F. Over-the-counter medication shall remain in the original 
container, labeled with the resident’s name, or in a pharmacy-
issued container [ if unit dose packaging is used ], until 
administered. 

G. In the event of an adverse drug reaction or a medication 
error: 

1. First aid shall be administered as directed by a physician, 
pharmacist or the Virginia Poison Control Center. 

2. The resident's physician of record shall be notified as 
soon as possible. 

3. The direct care staff person shall document [ actions 
taken ] in the resident’s record [ actions taken ].  

H. The facility shall document on a medication administration 
record (MAR) all medications administered to residents, 
including over-the-counter medications, and dietary 
supplements. The MAR shall include:  

1. Name of the resident;  

2. Date prescribed;  

3. Drug product name;  

4. Strength of the drug; 

5. Dosage;  

6. Diagnosis, condition, or specific indications for 
administering the drug or supplement; 

7. Route (for example, by mouth);  

8. How often medication is to be taken;  

9. Date and time given and initials of direct care staff 
administering the medication;  

10. Dates the medication is discontinued or changed;  

11. Any medication errors or omissions;  

12. [ Significant Description of significant ] adverse effects 
[ suffered by the resident ];  

13. For PRN medications: 

a. Symptoms for which medication was given; 

b. Exact dosage given; and 

c. Effectiveness; and 

14. The name, signature and initials of all [ direct care ] 
staff administering medications. 

I. The performance of all medical procedures and treatments 
ordered by a physician [ or other prescriber ] shall be 
documented and the documentation shall be retained in the 
resident's record. 

J. The use of PRN (as needed) medications is prohibited, 
unless one or more of the following conditions exist:  

1. The resident is capable of determining when the 
medication is needed;  

2. Licensed health care professionals are responsible for 
medication administration and management; or  

3. The facility has obtained from the resident’s physician 
[ or other prescriber ] detailed written instructions or a staff 
person as allowed in 22 VAC 40-72-640 D has telephoned 
the [ doctor physician or other prescriber ] prior to 
administering the medication, explained the symptoms and 
received a documented oral order to assist the resident in 
self-administration. The physician's [ or other prescriber's ] 
instructions shall include symptoms that might indicate the 
use of the medication, exact dosage, the exact timeframes 
the medication is to be given in a 24-hour period, and 
directions as to what to do if symptoms persist.  

K. Medications ordered for PRN administration shall be 
available, properly labeled [ for the specific resident ] and 
properly stored at the facility. 

L. [ An additional drug box called a stat-drug box may be 
prepared by a pharmacy to provide for initiating therapy prior 
to the receipt of ordered drugs from the pharmacy. A stat-
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drug box may be used in those facilities in which only those 
persons licensed to administer are administering drugs and 
shall be subject to the conditions specified in 18 VAC 110-
20-550 of the regulations of the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 
NOTE: Stat-drug boxes may not be used in facilities in which 
medication aides administer medications. Medication aides 
hold a certificate, but are not licensed. Stat-drug boxes may 
only be used when the following conditions are met: 

1.There is an order from the prescriber for any drug 
removed from the stat-drug box; and 

2.The drug is removed from the stat-drug box and 
administered by a nurse, pharmacist or prescriber licensed 
to administer medications. 

A stat-drug box may be prepared by a pharmacy prior to the 
receipt of ordered drugs from the pharmacy.  Stat-drug boxes 
are subject to the conditions specified in 18 VAC 110-20-550 
of the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-680. Medication review. 

A. For each resident assessed for residential living care, 
except for those who self-administer all of their medications, 
a licensed health care professional, acting within the scope of 
the requirements of his profession, shall perform an annual 
review of all the medications of the resident.  

B. For each resident assessed for assisted living care, a 
licensed health care professional, acting within the scope of 
the requirements of his profession, shall perform a review 
every six months of all the medications of the resident. 

C. The medication review shall include [ both ] prescription 
[ and drugs, ] over-the-counter medications and [ dietary ] 
supplements [ ordered for the resident ].  

D. If deemed appropriate by the licensed health care 
professional, the review shall include observation of or 
interview with the resident. 

E. The review shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following: 

1. All medications that the resident is taking and 
medications that he could be taking if needed (PRNs). 

2. An examination of the dosage, strength, route, how 
often, prescribed duration, and when the medication is 
taken.  

3. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 
interactions of drugs with one another. 

4. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 
interactions of drugs with foods or drinks. 

5. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 
negative affects of drugs resulting from a resident’s 
medical condition other than the one the drug is treating. 

6. Consideration of whether PRNs, if any, are still needed 
and if clarification regarding use is necessary. 

7. Consideration of whether the resident needs additional 
monitoring or testing. 

8. Documentation of actual and consideration of potential 
adverse effects or unwanted side effects of specific 
medications. 

9. Identification of that which may be questionable, such as 
(i) similar medications being taken, (ii) different 
medications being used to treat the same condition, (iii) 
what seems an excessive number of medications, and (iv) 
what seems an exceptionally high drug dosage. 

F. Any concerns or problems or potential problems shall be 
reported to the resident's attending physician and to the 
facility administrator. 

G. The results of the review shall be documented, signed and 
dated by the health care professional, and retained in the 
resident's record. The health care professional shall also 
document any reports made as required in subsection F of this 
section. Action taken in response to the report shall also be 
documented. The documentation required by this subsection 
shall be retained in the resident's record.  

22 VAC 40-72-690. Oxygen therapy. 

When oxygen therapy is provided, the following safety 
precautions shall be met and maintained:  

1. The facility shall have a valid physician’s [ or other 
prescriber's ] order that includes the following: 

a. The oxygen source (such as compressed gas or 
concentrators); 

b. The delivery device (such as nasal cannula, reservoir 
nasal cannulas or masks); and 

c. The flow rate deemed therapeutic for the resident. 

2. The facility shall post "No Smoking-Oxygen in Use" 
signs and enforce the smoking prohibition in any room of a 
building where oxygen is in use.  

3. The facility shall ensure that only oxygen from a 
portable source shall be used by residents when they are 
outside their rooms. The use of long plastic tether lines to 
the source of oxygen is not permitted.  

4. The facility shall make available to [ employees staff ] 
the emergency numbers to contact the resident's physician 
[ or other prescriber ] and the oxygen vendor for 
emergency service or replacement.  

5. The facility shall demonstrate that all direct care staff 
responsible for assisting residents who use oxygen supplies 
have had training or instruction in the use and maintenance 
of resident-specific equipment. 
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22 VAC 40-72-700. Restraints. 

A. Restraints shall not be used for purposes of discipline or 
convenience. Restraints may only be used to treat a resident's 
medical symptoms or symptoms from mental illness or 
mental retardation.  

B. The facility may only impose physical restraints when the 
resident's medical symptoms or symptoms from mental 
illness or mental retardation warrant the use of restraints, if 
the restraint is:  

1. Necessary to ensure the physical safety of the resident or 
others; 

2. Imposed in accordance with a physician's written order 
that specifies the condition, circumstances and duration 
under which the restraint is to be used, except in emergency 
circumstances until such an order can reasonably be 
obtained; and  

3. Not ordered on a standing, blanket, or "as needed" 
(PRN) basis.  

C. Whenever physical restraints are used, the following 
conditions shall be met:  

1. A restraint shall be used only to the minimum extent 
necessary to protect the resident or others; 

2. Restraints shall only be applied by direct care staff who 
have received training in their use as specified by 
subdivision 2 of 22 VAC 40-72-310; 

3. The facility shall closely monitor the resident's 
condition, which includes checking on the resident at least 
every 30 minutes;  

4. The facility shall assist the resident as often as necessary, 
but no less than 10 minutes every hour, for his hydration, 
safety, comfort, range of motion, exercise, elimination, and 
other needs;  

5. The facility shall release the resident from the restraint as 
quickly as possible;  

6. Direct care staff shall keep a record of restraint usage, 
outcomes, checks, any assistance required in subdivision 4 
of this subsection, and note any unusual occurrences or 
problems;  

7. In nonemergencies (as defined in 22 VAC 40-72-10): 

a. Restraints shall be used as a last resort and only if the 
facility, after completing, implementing and evaluating 
the resident's comprehensive assessment and service 
plan, determines and documents that less restrictive 
means have failed; 

b. Restraints shall be used in accordance with the 
resident’s service plan, which documents the need for the 
restraint and includes a schedule or plan of rehabilitation 
training enabling the progressive removal or the 

progressive use of less restrictive restraints when 
appropriate; 

c. The facility shall explain the use of the restraint and 
potential negative outcomes to the resident or his legal 
representative and the resident's right to refuse the 
restraint; and shall obtain the written consent of the 
resident or his legal representative; 

d. Restraints shall be applied so as to cause no physical 
injury and the least possible discomfort; and 

e. The facility shall notify the resident’s legal 
representative or designated contact person as soon as 
practicable, but no later than 24 hours after the initial 
administration of a nonemergency restraint. The facility 
shall keep the legal representative or designated contact 
person informed about any changes in restraint usage. A 
notation shall be made in the resident’s record of such 
notice, including the date, time, caller and person 
notified. 

8. In emergencies (as defined in 22 VAC 40-72-10):  

a. Restraints shall not be used unless they are necessary 
to alleviate an unanticipated immediate and serious 
danger to the resident or other individuals in the facility;  

b. An oral or written order shall be obtained from a 
physician within one hour of administration of the 
emergency restraint and the order shall be documented; 

c. In the case of an oral order, a written order shall be 
obtained from the physician as soon as possible;  

d. The resident shall be within sight and sound of direct 
care staff at all times;  

e. If the emergency restraint is necessary for longer than 
two hours, the resident shall be transferred to a medical 
or psychiatric inpatient facility or monitored in the 
facility by a mental health crisis team until his condition 
has stabilized to the point that the attending physician 
documents that restraints are not necessary; and  

f. The facility shall notify the resident’s legal 
representative or designated contact person as soon as 
practicable, but no later than 12 hours after 
administration of an emergency restraint. A notation shall 
be made in the resident’s record of such notice, including 
the date, time, caller and person notified. 

D. The use of chemical restraints is prohibited. 

22 VAC 40-72-710. Do Not Resuscitate (DNR) Orders. 

A. Do Not Resuscitate Orders for withholding 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation from an individual in the event 
of cardiac or respiratory arrest shall only be carried out in a 
licensed assisted living facility when: 
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1. A valid written order has been issued by the resident's 
attending physician;  

2. The written order is included in the individualized 
service plan; and 

3. There is [ an employee a staff person ] with a current 
certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) (See 
provision from § 63.2-1807 of the Code of Virginia in this 
section) or a licensed nurse available to implement the 
order. 

B. Durable DNR Orders shall not authorize the withholding 
of other medical interventions, such as intravenous fluids, 
oxygen or other therapies deemed necessary to provide 
comfort care or to alleviate pain. 

C. Section 63.2-1807 of the Code of Virginia states that the 
owners or operators of any assisted living facility may 
provide that their [ employees staff ] who are certified in CPR 
shall not be required to resuscitate any resident for whom a 
valid written order not to resuscitate in the event of cardiac or 
respiratory arrest has been issued by the resident’s attending 
physician and has been included in the resident's 
individualized service plan. 

PART VII. 
RESIDENT ACCOMMODATIONS AND RELATED 

PROVISIONS. 

22 VAC 40-72-720. Personal possessions. 

A. Each resident shall be permitted to keep reasonable 
personal property in his possession at a facility in order to 
maintain individuality and personal dignity. These 
possessions may include, but are not limited to: 

1. Clothing. A facility shall ensure that each resident has 
his own clothing.  

a. The use of a common clothing pool is prohibited.  

b. If necessary, resident's clothing shall be 
inconspicuously marked with his name to avoid getting 
mixed with others.  

c. Residents shall be allowed and encouraged to select 
their daily clothing and wear clothing to suit their 
activities and appropriate to weather conditions.  

2. Personal care items. Each resident shall have his own 
personal care items. Toilet paper and soap shall be 
provided for residents at all commonly shared face/hand 
washing sinks and bathrooms at no additional charge. 

B. Each facility shall develop and implement a written policy 
regarding procedures to be followed when a resident’s 
clothing or other personal possession, such as jewelry, 
television, radio or other durable property, is reported 
missing. Attempts shall be made to determine the reason for 
the loss and any reasonable actions shall be taken to recover 
the item and to prevent or discourage future losses. 

Documentation shall be maintained [ for at least two years ] 
regarding [ all ] items that were reported missing and 
resulting actions that were taken. 

22 VAC 40-72-730. Resident rooms. 

A. The resident shall be encouraged to furnish or decorate his 
room as space and safety considerations permit and in 
accordance with this chapter. 

B. Bedrooms shall contain the following items: 

1. A separate bed with comfortable mattress, springs and 
pillow for each resident. Provisions for a double bed for a 
married couple shall be optional; 

2. A table or its equivalent accessible to each bed; 

3. An operable bed lamp or bedside light accessible to each 
resident; 

4. A sturdy chair for each resident (wheelchairs do not meet 
the intent of this standard); 

5. Drawer space for clothing and other personal items. If 
more than one resident occupies a room, ample drawer 
space shall be assigned to each individual; 

6. At least one mirror; and 

7. Window coverings for privacy. 

C. Adequate and accessible closet or wardrobe space shall be 
provided for each resident. [ As of December 28, 2006, in all 
buildings approved for construction of change in use and 
occupancy classification, the closet or wardrobe space shall 
be in the resident's bedroom. ] 

D. The facility shall have sufficient bed and bath linens in 
good repair so that residents always have clean: 

1. Sheets; 

2. Pillowcases; 

3. Blankets; 

4. Bedspreads; 

5. Towels; 

6. Washcloths; and 

7. Waterproof mattress covers when needed. 

22 VAC 40-72-740. Living room or multipurpose room.  

A. Sitting rooms or recreation areas or both shall be equipped 
with:  

1. Comfortable chairs (e.g., overstuffed, straight-backed, 
and rockers);  

2. Tables;  

3. Lamps;  
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4. Television (if not available in other areas of the facility);  

5. Radio (if not available in other areas of the facility); 

6. Current newspaper; and  

7. Materials appropriate for the implementation of the 
planned activity program, such as books or games.  

B. Space other than sleeping areas shall be provided for 
residents for sitting, for visiting with one another or with 
guests, for social and recreational activities, and for dining. 
These areas may be used interchangeably. 

22 VAC 40-72-750. Dining areas. 

Dining areas shall have a sufficient number of sturdy dining 
tables and chairs to serve all residents, either all at one time or 
in reasonable shifts.  

22 VAC 40-72-760. Laundry and linens. 

A. Residents' clothing shall be kept clean and in good repair.  

B. Table coverings and napkins shall be clean at all times.  

C. Bed and bath linens shall be changed at least every seven 
days and more often if needed. In facilities with common 
bathing areas, bath linens shall be changed after each use.  

D. Table and kitchen linens shall be laundered separately 
from other washable goods.  

E. When bed, bath, table and kitchen linens are washed, the 
water shall be above 140°F or the dryer shall heat the linens 
above 140°F as verified by the manufacturer or a sanitizing 
agent shall be used according to the manufacturer’s 
instructions.  

22 VAC 40-72-770. Transportation. 

The resident shall be assisted in making arrangements for 
transportation as necessary.  

22 VAC 40-72-780. Incoming and outgoing mail. 

A. Incoming and outgoing mail shall not be censored. 

B. Incoming mail shall be delivered promptly. 

C. Mail shall not be opened by [ employees staff ] or 
volunteers except upon request of the resident or written 
request of the legal representative. 

22 VAC 40-72-790. Telephones. 

A. Each building shall have at least one operable, nonpay 
telephone easily accessible to [ employees staff ]. There shall 
be additional telephones or extensions as may be needed to 
summon help in an emergency.  

B. The resident shall have reasonable access to a nonpay 
telephone on the premises.  

C. Privacy shall be provided for residents to use a telephone. 

22 VAC 40-72-800. Smoking. 

A. Smoking by residents, [ employees staff ], volunteers, and 
visitors shall be done only in areas designated by the facility 
and approved by the State Fire Marshal or local fire official. 
Smoking shall not be allowed in a kitchen or food preparation 
areas. [ NOTE: ] A facility may prohibit smoking on its 
premises. 

B. All designated smoking areas shall be provided with 
suitable ashtrays.  

C. Residents shall not be permitted to smoke in or on their 
beds.  

D. All common areas shall have smoke-free areas designated 
for nonsmokers.  

22 VAC 40-72-810. Resident councils. 

A. The facility shall permit and encourage the formation of a 
resident council by residents, and shall assist the residents in 
its establishment. 

B. The resident council shall be composed of residents of the 
facility and the council may extend membership to family 
members, advocates, friends, and others. Residents shall be 
encouraged, but shall not be compelled [ , ] to attend 
meetings. 

C. The facility shall assist residents in maintaining the 
resident council, including, but not limited to: 

1. Scheduling regular meetings; 

2. Providing space for meetings; 

3. Posting notice for meetings; 

4. Providing assistance in attending meetings for those 
residents who request it; and  

5. Preparing written reports of meetings for dissemination 
to all residents. 

D. In order to promote a free exchange of ideas, at least part 
of each meeting shall be allowed to be conducted without the 
presence of any facility personnel. 

E. The purposes of the resident council shall be to: 

1. Work with the administration in improving the quality of 
life for all residents [ by enriching the activity program ]; 

2. Discuss the services offered by the facility and make 
recommendations for resolution of identified problems or 
concerns; [ and ] 

[ 3. Review the facility’s policies and procedures, and 
recommend changes or additions; and  

4. 3. ] Perform other functions as determined by the 
council. 



Regulations 

Volume 23, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 27, 2006 

940 

F. If there is no council, the facility shall annually remind 
residents that they may establish a resident council and that 
the facility would assist in its formation and maintenance. 
The general purpose of the council shall also be explained at 
this time. 

22 VAC 40-72-820. Pets living in the assisted living 
facility. 

If an assisted living facility allows pets to live on the 
premises, the facility shall: 

1. Develop, implement and disclose to potential and current 
residents policies regarding: 

a. The types of pets that are permitted in the assisted 
living facility; and 

b. The conditions under which pets may be in the assisted 
living facility. 

2. Maintain documentation of disclosure of pet policies in 
the resident’s record. 

3. Ensure that before being allowed to live on the premises, 
the animal shall have had all recommended or required 
immunizations and shall be certified by a licensed 
veterinarian to be free of diseases transmittable to humans. 

4. Ensure that animals living on the assisted living facility 
premises: 

a. Have regular examinations and immunizations, 
appropriate for the species, by a licensed veterinarian. 

b. Are restricted from central food preparation areas. 

5. Ensure that common household pets, exotic pets, 
animals, birds, insects, reptiles, and fish are well treated 
and cared for in compliance with state regulations and local 
ordinances. 

6. Ensure that any resident's rights, preferences, and 
medical needs are not compromised by the presence of an 
animal. 

7. Ensure any animal living on the premises has a suitable 
temperament, is healthy, and otherwise poses no significant 
health or safety risks to residents, [ employees staff ], 
volunteers, or visitors. 

[ 8. Maintain documentation of immunizations and 
examinations at the facility. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-830. Pets visiting the assisted living facility. 

If an assisted living facility allows pets to visit the premises, 
the [ facility shall following shall apply ]: 

1. [ Ensure that any Any ] pet or animal present at the 
[ home, indoors or outdoors, is facility shall be ] in good 
health and [ shows show ] no evidence of carrying any 
disease; 

2. [ Ensure The facility shall ensure ] that any resident's 
rights, preferences, and medical needs are not compromised 
by the presence of an animal; and 

3. [ Ensure The facility shall ensure ] any animal is well-
treated while visiting on the premises, has a suitable 
temperament and otherwise poses no significant health or 
safety risks to residents, [ employees staff ], volunteers, or 
visitors. 

PART VIII. 
BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS. 

22 VAC 40-72-840. General requirements. 

A. Buildings licensed for ambulatory residents or 
nonambulatory residents shall be classified by and meet the 
specifications for the proper use [ group and occupancy 
classification ] as required by the Virginia [ Uniform ] 
Statewide Building Code (13 VAC 5-63). 

B. A certificate of occupancy shall be obtained as evidence of 
compliance with the applicable edition of the Virginia 
[ Uniform ] Statewide Building Code. 

C. Before construction begins or contracts are awarded for 
any new construction, remodeling, or alterations, plans shall 
be submitted to the department for review. 

D. Doors and windows. 

1. All doors shall open and close readily and effectively. 

2. Any doorway or window that is used for ventilation shall 
be effectively screened. 

E. There shall be enclosed walkways between residents' 
rooms and dining and sitting areas that are adequately lighted, 
heated, and ventilated. 

F. There shall be an ample supply of hot and cold water from 
an approved source available to the residents at all times. 

G. Hot water at taps available to residents shall be maintained 
within a range of 105°F to 120°F. 

H. Where there is an outdoor area accessible to residents, 
such as a porch or lawn, it shall be equipped with furniture in 
season. 

I. Cleaning supplies and other hazardous materials shall be 
stored in a locked area. This safeguard shall be optional in an 
independent living environment. 

J. Each facility shall develop and implement a written policy 
regarding weapons on the premises of the facility that will 
ensure the safety and well-being of all residents and staff. 
Any facility permitting any type of firearm on the premises 
must include procedures to ensure that ammunitions and 
firearms are stored separately and in locked locations. 
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22 VAC 40-72-850. Maintenance of buildings and 
grounds. 

A. The interior and exterior of all buildings shall be 
maintained in good repair. 

B. The interior and exterior of all buildings shall be kept 
clean and shall be free of rubbish. 

C. All buildings shall be well-ventilated and free from foul, 
stale and musty odors.  

D. Adequate provisions for the collection and legal disposal 
of garbage, ashes and waste material shall be made.  

1. Covered, vermin-proof, watertight containers shall be 
used.  

2. Containers shall be emptied and cleaned at least once a 
week.  

E. Buildings shall be kept free of flies, roaches, rats and other 
vermin. The grounds shall be kept free of their breeding 
places.  

F. All furnishings and equipment, including [ , but not limited 
to, furniture, window coverings, ] sinks, toilets, bathtubs, and 
showers, shall be kept clean and in good repair.  

G. Heating, cooling, and lighting features required by 
22 VAC 40-72-860 and 22 VAC 40-72-870 shall be kept in 
safe, operable condition. 

H. All inside and outside steps, stairways and ramps shall 
have nonslip surfaces.  

I. Grounds shall be properly maintained to include mowing of 
grass and removal of snow and ice.  

J. Handrails shall be provided on all stairways, ramps, 
elevators, and at changes of floor level.  

K. Elevators, where used, shall be kept in good running 
condition and shall be inspected at least annually. [ Elevators 
shall be inspected in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code (13 VAC 5-63). ] The signed and 
dated certificate of inspection issued by the local authority, by 
the insurance company, or by the elevator company shall be 
evidence of such inspection. 

[ L. The facility shall develop and implement a schedule of 
inspection and preventive maintenance and a schedule for 
inspection and cleaning and housekeeping tasks to ensure that 
the requirements of this section are met. ] 

22 VAC 40-72-860. Heating, ventilation, and cooling. 

A. Rooms extending below ground level shall not be used for 
residents unless they are dry and well-ventilated. Bedrooms 
below ground level shall have required window space and 
ceiling height.  

B. At least one movable thermometer shall be available in 
each building for measuring temperatures in individual rooms 

that do not have a fixed thermostat that shows the temperature 
in the room.  

C. Heat.  

1. Heat shall be supplied from a central heating plant or by 
an approved electrical heating system.  

2. Provided their installation or operation has been 
approved by the state or local [ building or ] fire 
authorities, space heaters, such as but not limited to, wood 
burning stoves, coal burning stoves, and oil heaters, or 
portable heating units either vented or unvented, may be 
used only to provide or supplement heat in the event of a 
power failure or similar emergency. These appliances shall 
be used in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions.  

3. When outside temperatures are below 68°F, a 
temperature of at least 72°F shall be maintained in all areas 
used by residents during hours when residents are normally 
awake. During night hours, when residents are asleep, a 
temperature of at least 68°F shall be maintained. This 
standard applies unless otherwise mandated by federal or 
state authorities. 

D. Cooling devices.  

1. Cooling devices shall be made available in those areas of 
buildings used by residents when inside temperatures 
exceed [ 82 80 ]°F.  

2. Cooling devices shall be placed to minimize drafts.  

3. Any electric fans shall be screened and placed for the 
protection of the residents.  

4. When air conditioners are not provided in all areas used 
by residents, the facility shall develop and implement a 
plan to protect residents from heat-related illnesses.  

5. As of [ (insert six months after the effective date of these 
regulations) June 28, 2007, ] the largest common area used 
by residents shall have air conditioning equipment. The 
temperature in this common area shall not exceed [ 82 80 ] 
°F. 

6. As of [ (insert the effective date of these regulations) 
December 28, 2006 ], in all buildings approved for [ new ] 
construction or change in use [ group and occupancy 
classification ], [ or in additions approved for new 
construction as referenced in the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code (13 VAC 5-63) ], the facility shall 
provide an air conditioning system for all areas used by 
residents, including residents’ bedrooms and common 
areas. Temperatures in all areas used by residents shall not 
exceed [ 82 80 ] °F. 

7. As of [ six years after the effective of these regulations 
December 28, 2012 ], the facility shall provide in all 
buildings an air conditioning system for all areas used by 
residents, including residents’ bedrooms and common 
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areas. Temperatures in all areas used by residents shall not 
exceed [ 82 80 ] °F. 

a. The facility shall develop an implementation plan, 
which includes the type of system to be utilized [ , and ] 
equipment needed [ , and costs and funding resources for 
equipment, installation and operation ]. 

b. The implementation plan shall be filed with the 
department’s licensing inspector by [ (insert two years 
after the effective date of these standards) December 28, 
2008 ]. 

22 VAC 40-72-870. Lighting and lighting fixtures. 

A. Artificial lighting shall be by electricity.  

B. All areas shall be well lighted for the safety and comfort of 
the residents according to the nature of activities.  

C. Outside entrances and parking areas shall be lighted for 
protection against injuries and intruders.  

D. Hallways, stairwells, foyers, doorways, and exits utilized 
by residents shall be kept well-lighted at all times residents 
are present in the building.  

E. Additional lighting, as necessary to provide and ensure 
presence of contrast, shall be available for immediate use in 
areas that may present safety hazards, such as, but not limited 
to, stairways, doorways, passageways, changes in floor level, 
kitchen, bathrooms and basements. 

F. Glare shall be kept at a minimum in rooms used by 
residents. When necessary to reduce glare, coverings shall be 
used for windows and lights.  

G. If used, fluorescent lights shall be replaced if they flicker 
or make noise.  

22 VAC 40-72-880. Sleeping areas. 

Resident sleeping quarters shall provide: 

1. For not less than 450 cubic feet of air space per resident; 

2. For square footage as provided in this subdivision: 

a. As of February 1, 1996, all buildings approved for 
construction or change in use [ group and occupancy 
classification ], as referenced in the Virginia [ Uniform ] 
Statewide Building Code (13 VAC 5-63), shall have not 
less than 100 square feet of floor area in bedrooms 
accommodating one resident; otherwise not less than 80 
square feet of floor area in bedrooms accommodating one 
resident shall be required. 

b. As of February 1, 1996, all buildings approved for 
construction or change in use [ group and occupancy 
classification ], as referenced in the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code, shall have not less than 80 
square feet of floor area per person in bedrooms 
accommodating two or more residents; otherwise not less 

than 60 square feet of floor area per person in bedrooms 
accommodating two or more persons shall be required; 

3. For ceilings at least 7-1/2 feet in height; 

4. For window areas as provided in this subdivision: 

a. There shall be at least eight square feet of glazed 
window area above ground level in a room housing one 
person; and 

b. There shall be at least six square feet of glazed 
window area above ground level per person in rooms 
occupied by two or more persons; 

5. For occupancy as provided in this subdivision: 

a. As of [ (insert the effective date of these regulations) 
December 28, 2006 ], in all buildings approved for 
[ new ] construction or change in use [ group and 
occupancy classification ], [ or in additions approved for 
new construction as referenced in the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code (13 VAC 5-63) ], there shall be 
no more than two residents residing in a bedroom. 

b. Unless the provisions of subdivision a of this 
subdivision apply, there shall be no more than four 
residents residing in a bedroom; 

6. For at least three feet of space between sides and ends of 
beds that are placed in the same room; 

7. That no bedroom shall be used as a corridor to any other 
room; 

8. That all beds shall be placed only in bedrooms; and 

9. That household members and [ employees staff ] shall 
not share bedrooms with residents. 

22 VAC 40-72-890. Toilet, face/hand washing and bathing 
facilities. 

A. In determining the number of toilets, face/hand washing 
sinks, bathtubs or showers required, the total number of 
persons residing on the premises shall be considered. Unless 
there are separate facilities for household members or 
[ employees staff ], they shall be counted in determining the 
required number of fixtures, except that for bathtubs or 
showers, the [ employee staff ] count shall include only live-
in [ employees staff ]. 

1. As of [ (insert the effective date of these standards) 
December 28, 2006 ], in all buildings [ or parts thereof ] 
approved for [ new ] construction or change in use [ group 
and occupancy classification ], [ as referenced in the 
Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13 VAC 5-
63), ] on each floor where there are residents’ bedrooms, 
there shall be: 

a. At least one toilet for each four persons, or portion 
thereof; 
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b. At least one face/hand washing sink for each four 
persons, or portion thereof; 

c. At least one bathtub or shower for each seven persons, 
or portion thereof; 

d. Toilets, face/hand washing sinks and bathtubs or 
showers in separate rooms for men and women where 
more than four persons live on a floor. Bathrooms 
equipped to accommodate more than one person at a time 
shall be labeled by gender. Gender designation of 
bathrooms shall remain constant during the course of a 
day. 

2. Unless the provisions of subdivision 1 of this subsection 
apply, on each floor where there are residents' bedrooms, 
there shall be: 

a. At least one toilet for each seven persons, or portion 
thereof; 

b. At least one face/hand washing sink for each seven 
persons, or portion thereof; 

c. At least one bathtub or shower for each 10 persons, or 
portion thereof; 

d. Toilets, face/hand washing sinks and bathtubs or 
showers in separate rooms for men and women where 
more than seven persons live on a floor. Bathrooms 
equipped to accommodate more than one person at a time 
shall be labeled by gender. Gender designation of 
bathrooms shall remain constant during the course of a 
day. 

3. As of [ (insert the effective date of these standards 
December 28, 2006 ], in all buildings [ or parts thereof ] 
approved for [ new ] construction or change in use [ group 
and occupancy classification ], [ as referenced in the 
Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13 VAC 5-
63), ] when residents’ rooms are located on the same floor 
as the main living or dining area, in addition to the 
requirements of subdivision 1 of this [ section subsection ], 
there shall be at least one more toilet and face/hand 
washing sink, which is available for common use. The 
provisions of subdivision 4 c of this subsection shall also 
apply. 

4. On floors used by residents where there are no residents' 
bedrooms there shall be: 

a. At least one toilet; 

b. At least one face/hand washing sink; 

c. Toilets and face/hand washing sinks in separate rooms 
for men and women in facilities where there are 10 or 
more residents. Bathrooms equipped to accommodate 
more than one person at a time shall be designated by 
gender. Gender designation of bathrooms must remain 
constant during the course of a day. 

B. Bathrooms shall provide for privacy for such activities as 
bathing, toileting, and dressing.  

C. There shall be ventilation to the outside in order to 
eliminate foul odors. 

D. The following sturdy safeguards shall be provided [ , with 
installation in compliance with the Virginia Uniform 
Statewide Building Code (13 VAC 5-63) ]: 

1. Handrails by bathtubs; 

2. Grab bars by toilets; and 

3. Handrails inside and stools available to stall showers. 

EXCEPTION: These safeguards shall be optional for 
individuals with independent living status. 

E. Bathtubs and showers shall have nonskid surfacing or 
strips. 

F. The face/hand washing sink shall be in the same room as 
the toilet or in an adjacent private area that is not part of a 
common use area of the assisted living facility. 

G. The assisted living facility shall provide private or 
common-use toilet, face/hand washing and bathing facilities 
to meet the needs of each resident. 

22 VAC 40-72-900. Toilet and face/hand washing sink 
supplies. 

A. The facility shall have an adequate supply of toilet tissue 
and soap. Toilet tissue shall be accessible to each commode 
and soap shall be accessible to each face/hand washing sink. 

B. Common face/hand washing sinks shall have paper towels 
or an air dryer, and liquid soap for hand washing. 

22 VAC 40-72-910. Provisions for signaling/call systems. 

A. All assisted living facilities shall have a signaling device 
that is easily accessible to the resident in his bedroom or in a 
connecting bathroom that alerts the direct care staff that the 
resident needs assistance. 

B. In facilities licensed to care for 20 or more residents under 
one roof, there shall be a signaling device that terminates at a 
central location that is continuously staffed and permits 
[ employees staff ] to determine the origin of the signal or is 
audible and visible in a manner that permits [ employees 
staff ] to determine the origin of the signal.  

C. In facilities licensed to care for 19 or fewer residents, if the 
signaling device does not permit [ employees staff ] to 
determine the origin of the signal as specified in subsection B 
of this section, direct care staff shall make rounds at least 
once each hour to monitor for emergencies or other 
unanticipated resident needs. These rounds shall begin when 
the majority of the residents have gone to bed each evening 
and shall terminate when the majority of the residents have 
arisen each morning, and shall be documented as follows: 
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1. A written log shall be maintained showing the date and 
time rounds were made and the signature of the direct care 
staff member who made rounds. 

2. Logs for the past [ three months two years ] shall be 
retained. 

22 VAC 40-72-920. Fire safety: compliance with state 
regulations and local fire ordinances. 

A. An assisted living facility shall comply with the Virginia 
Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13 VAC 5-51) as 
determined by at least an annual inspection by the appropriate 
fire official. Reports of the annual inspections shall be 
retained at the facility for at least two years. 

B. An assisted living facility shall comply with any local fire 
ordinance. 

PART IX. 
EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS. 

22 VAC 40-72-930. Emergency preparedness and 
response plan. 

A. The facility shall develop [ , in accordance with a 
department-approved manual, ] a written emergency 
preparedness and response plan that shall address:  

1. Documentation of contact with the local emergency 
coordinator to determine local disaster risks and 
communitywide plans to address different disasters and 
emergency situations.  

2. Analysis of the facility’s potential hazards, including 
severe weather, fire, loss of utilities, flooding, work place 
violence or terrorism, severe injuries, or other emergencies 
that would disrupt the normal course of service delivery. 

3. Written emergency management policies outlining 
specific responsibilities for provision of: 

a. Administrative direction and management of response 
activities; 

b. Coordination of logistics during the emergency; 

c. Communications; 

d. Life safety of residents, [ employees staff ], volunteers, 
and visitors; 

e. Property protection; 

f. Continued provision of services to residents; 

g. Community [ outreach resource accessibility ]; and  

h. Recovery and restoration.  

4. Written emergency response procedures for assessing the 
situation; protecting residents, [ employees staff ], 
volunteers, visitors, equipment, medications, and vital 
records; and restoring services. Emergency procedures 
shall address:  

a. Alerting emergency personnel and [ employees facility 
staff ];  

b. Warning and notification of residents, including 
sounding of alarms when appropriate;  

c. Providing emergency access to secure areas and 
opening locked doors;  

d. Conducting evacuations or sheltering in place, as 
appropriate, and accounting for all residents; 

e. Locating and shutting off utilities when necessary; 

f. Operating the emergency generator, and if available 
on-site, testing it periodically; 

g. Communicating with [ employees staff ] and 
community emergency responders during the emergency; 
and  

h. Conducting relocations to emergency shelters or 
alternative sites when necessary and accounting for all 
residents. 

5. Supporting documents that would be needed in an 
emergency, including emergency call lists, building and 
site maps necessary to shut off utilities, memoranda of 
understanding with relocation sites, and list of major 
resources such as suppliers of emergency equipment.  

[ 6. Written procedures for quarterly testing of the 
implementation of the plan. The testing shall be divided 
evenly among shifts and the facility shall maintain a record 
of the dates of the tests for two years.  

7. Written procedures for an evaluation immediately 
following each quarterly test of the plan in order to 
determine the effectiveness of the test. The licensee or 
administrator shall immediately correct any problems 
identified in the evaluation. ] 

B. [ Employees Staff ] and volunteers shall be knowledgeable 
in and prepared to implement the emergency preparedness 
plan in the event of an emergency.  

C. The [ provider facility ] shall develop and implement an 
orientation and quarterly review on [ the ] emergency 
preparedness and response [ plan ] for all [ employees staff ], 
residents, and volunteers. The orientation and review shall 
cover responsibilities for:  

1. Alerting emergency personnel and sounding alarms;  

2. Implementing evacuation, shelter in place, and relocation 
procedures;  

3. Using, maintaining, and operating emergency 
equipment;  

4. Accessing emergency medical information, equipment, 
and medications for residents;  

5. Locating and shutting off utilities; and  
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6. Utilizing community support services.  

D. The [ provider facility ] shall review the emergency 
preparedness plan annually or more often as needed and make 
necessary revisions. Such revisions shall be communicated to 
[ employees staff ], residents, and volunteers and incorporated 
into the orientation and quarterly review for [ employees 
staff ], residents, and volunteers.  

E. In the event of a disaster, fire, emergency or any other 
condition that may jeopardize the health, safety and welfare 
of residents, the [ provider facility ] shall take appropriate 
action to protect the health, safety and welfare of the residents 
and take appropriate actions to remedy the conditions as soon 
as possible. 

F. After the disaster/emergency is stabilized, the [ provider 
facility ] shall: 

1. Notify family members and legal representatives; and 

2. Report the disaster/emergency to the licensing office by 
the next working day as specified in 22 VAC 40-72-100. 

22 VAC 40-72-940. [ Emergency Fire and emergency ] 
evacuation plan. 

A. Assisted living facilities shall have a written plan for [ fire 
and ] emergency [ building ] evacuation that is to be followed 
in the event of a fire or other emergency [ that requires 
evacuation ]. The plan shall be approved by the appropriate 
fire official.  

B. [ An A fire and ] emergency evacuation drawing shall be 
posted in a conspicuous place on each floor of each building 
used by residents. The drawing shall show primary and 
secondary escape routes, areas of refuge, assembly areas, 
telephones, fire alarm boxes, and fire extinguishers, as 
appropriate.  

C. The telephone numbers for the fire department, rescue 
squad or ambulance, [ and ] police [ , and Poison Control 
Center ] shall be posted by each telephone shown on the [ fire 
and emergency ] evacuation plan. 

[ NOTE: D. ] In assisted living facilities where all outgoing 
telephone calls must be placed through a central switchboard 
located on the premises, this information may be posted by 
the switchboard rather than by each telephone, providing this 
switchboard is manned 24 hours each day.  

[ D. Employees E. Staff ] and volunteers shall be fully 
informed of the approved [ fire and emergency ] evacuation 
plan, including their duties, and the location and operation of 
fire extinguishers, fire alarm boxes, and any other available 
emergency equipment. 

22 VAC 40-72-950. [ Evacuation Fire and emergency 
evacuation ] drills. 

[ A. At least one evacuation drill shall be held each month for 
the staff on duty and all residents who are in the building at 

the time of the drill to practice meeting the requirements of 
the approved emergency evacuation plan. During a 
three-month period: 

1. At least one evacuation drill shall be held between the 
hours of 7 a.m. and 3 p.m.; 

2. At least one evacuation drill shall be held between the 
hours of 3 p.m. and 11 p.m.; and 

3. At least one evacuation drill shall be held between the 
hours of 11 p.m. and 7 a.m. 

[ A. Fire and emergency evacuation drill frequency and 
participation shall be in accordance with the current edition of 
the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13 VAC 5-51).  
The drills required for each shift in a quarter shall not be 
conducted in the same month.] 

B. Additional [ fire and emergency ] evacuation drills may be 
held at the discretion of the administrator or licensing 
inspector and must be held when there is any reason to 
question whether [ all residents can meet ] the requirements 
of the approved [ fire and ] emergency evacuation plan [ can 
be met ]. 

C. Each required [ fire and emergency evacuation ] drill shall 
be unannounced. 

D. Immediately following each required [ fire and 
emergency ] evacuation drill, there shall be an evaluation of 
the drill by the staff in order to determine the effectiveness of 
the drill. The licensee or administrator shall immediately 
correct any problems identified in the evaluation. 

E. A record of the required [ fire and emergency ] evacuation 
drills shall be kept in the facility for two years. Such record 
shall include: 

1. The date and time of the drill; 

2. The number of [ employees staff ] participating; 

3. The number of residents participating;  

[ 4. The names of any residents who were present in the 
facility who did not take part in the drill, and the reasons; 

5. 4. ] The time it took to complete the drill; 

[ 6. 5. ] Weather conditions; and 

[ 7. 6. ] Problems encountered, if any. 

22 VAC 40-72-960. Emergency equipment and supplies. 

A. A complete first aid kit shall be on hand at the facility, 
located in a designated place that is easily accessible to 
[ employees staff ] but not to residents. The kit shall include, 
but not be limited to, the following items:  

1. Activated charcoal (use only if instructed by physician or 
Poison Control Center);  

2. Adhesive tape;  
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3. Antiseptic ointment; 

4. Band-aids (assorted sizes); 

5. Blankets (disposable or other); 

6. Disposable single use breathing barriers/shields for use 
with rescue breathing or CPR (CPR mask or other type); 

7. Cold pack; 

8. Disposable single use waterproof gloves; 

9. Gauze pads and roller gauze (assorted sizes); 

10. Hand cleaner (e.g., waterless hand sanitizer or 
antiseptic towelettes); 

11. Plastic bags; 

12. Scissors; 

13. Small flashlight and extra batteries; 

14. Syrup of ipecac (use only if instructed by physician or 
Poison Control Center); 

15. Thermometer; 

16. Triangular bandages; 

17. Tweezers; and 

18. The first aid instructional manual. 

[ Items with expiration dates must not have dates that have 
already passed. ] 

B. In facilities that have a motor vehicle that is used to 
transport residents [ and in a motor vehicle used for a field 
trip ], there shall be a first aid kit on the vehicle, located in a 
designated place that is accessible to [ employees staff ] but 
not residents, that includes items as specified in subsection A 
of this section. 

C. First aid kits shall be checked at least [ quarterly monthly ] 
to assure that all items are present and items with expiration 
dates are [ replaced as necessary not past their expiration 
date ]. 

D. Each facility with six or more residents shall be able to 
connect by July 1, 2007, to a temporary emergency electrical 
power source for the provision of electricity to provide the 
services listed below in the event of an emergency that 
disrupts electrical power to the facility. The installation of the 
emergency power source shall be in compliance with the 
Virginia [ Uniform ] Statewide Building Code, 13 VAC 5-63. 

1. The emergency electrical power shall be sufficient to 
provide the following services: 

a. Heating and cooling as required by 22 VAC 40-72-860 
in an area that provides no less than 40 square feet of 
floor area per resident; 

b. Lighting as required by 22 VAC 40-72-870 in an area 
that provides no less than 40 square feet of floor area per 
resident;  

c. Refrigeration adequate to preserve food and 
medications that require refrigeration; and 

d. Operation of any necessary medical equipment. 

2. The provision of emergency electrical power may be 
supplied by: 

a. An emergency generator available on-site; or 

b. A written [ contractual ] agreement with a company 
[ or other entity ] that will provide an emergency 
generator within four hours of notification. 

E. The following emergency lighting shall also be available at 
all times:  

1. Flashlights or battery lanterns with one light for each 
employee directly responsible for resident care who is on 
duty between [ 6 5 ] p.m. and [ 6 7 ] a.m.  

2. One operable flashlight or battery lantern for each 
bedroom used by residents and for the living and dining 
area unless there is a provision for emergency lighting in 
the adjoining hallways.  

3. Open flame lighting is prohibited. 

F. There shall be an alternative form of communication in 
addition to the telephone such as a cell phone, two-way radio, 
or ham radio. 

G. The facility shall ensure the availability of a 96-hour 
supply of emergency food and drinking water, emergency 
generator fuel, and oxygen for residents using oxygen. 

22 VAC 40-72-970. Plan for resident emergencies and 
practice exercise. 

A. Assisted living facilities shall have a [ written ] plan for 
resident emergencies that includes:  

1. Procedures for handling medical emergencies including 
identifying the [ employee staff person ] responsible for (i) 
calling the rescue squad, ambulance service, [ or ] 
resident’s physician [ , or Poison Control Center, ] and (ii) 
providing first aid and CPR, [ if appropriate when 
indicated ]. 

2. Procedures for handling mental health emergencies such 
as, but not limited to, catastrophic reaction or the need for a 
temporary detention order. 

3. Procedures for making pertinent medical information 
and history available to the rescue squad and hospital, 
including but not limited to information on medications and 
any advance directives. 

4. Procedures to be followed in the event that a resident is 
missing, including but not limited to (i) involvement of 
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facility [ employees staff ], appropriate law-enforcement 
agency, and others as needed; (ii) areas to be searched; (iii) 
expectations upon locating the resident; and (iv) 
documentation of the event. 

5. Procedures for notifying the resident’s family, legal 
representative, designated contact person, and any 
responsible social agency. 

6. Procedures for notifying the licensing office as specified 
in 22 VAC 40-72-100. 

B. At least once every six months, all [ employees staff ] on 
each shift shall participate in [ a an ] exercise in which the 
procedures for resident emergencies are practiced. 
Documentation of each exercise shall be maintained in the 
facility for at least two years. 

C. The plan for resident emergencies shall be readily 
available to all [ employees staff ]. 

PART X. 
ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR FACILITIES THAT 

CARE FOR ADULTS WITH SERIOUS COGNITIVE 
IMPAIRMENTS WHO CANNOT RECOGNIZE DANGER 
OR PROTECT THEIR OWN SAFETY AND WELFARE. 

Article1. 
Subjectivity. 

22 VAC 40-72-980. Subjectivity. 

All facilities that care for residents with serious cognitive 
impairments due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 
dementia who cannot recognize danger or protect their own 
safety and welfare shall be subject to either Article 2 
(22 VAC 40-72-990 et seq.) or Article 3 (22 VAC 40-72-
1060 et seq.) of this part. All facilities that care for residents 
with serious cognitive impairments due to any other diagnosis 
who cannot recognize danger or protect their own safety and 
welfare shall be subject to Article 2 of this part. [ NOTE: 
Serious cognitive impairment is defined in 
22 VAC 40-72-10. ] 

Article 2. 
Mixed Population. 

22 VAC 40-72-990. Applicability. 

The requirements in this article apply when there is a mixed 
population consisting of any combination of (i) residents who 
have serious cognitive impairments due to a primary 
psychiatric diagnosis of dementia who are unable to 
recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare and 
who are not in a special care unit as provided for in Article 3 
(22 VAC 40-72-1060 et seq.) of this part; (ii) residents who 
have serious cognitive impairments due to any other 
diagnosis who cannot recognize danger or protect their own 
safety and welfare; and (iii) other residents. The requirements 
in this article also apply when all the residents have serious 
cognitive impairments due to any diagnosis other than a 

primary psychiatric diagnosis of dementia and cannot 
recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare. 
Except for special care units covered by Article 3 of this part, 
these requirements apply to the entire facility unless specified 
otherwise. 

EXCEPTION: The requirements in this article do not apply 
when facilities are licensed for 10 or fewer residents if no 
more than three of the residents have serious cognitive 
impairments, when the residents cannot recognize danger or 
protect their own safety and welfare. Each prospective 
resident or his legal representative shall be notified of this 
exception prior to admission. 

22 VAC 40-72-1000. Staffing. 

A. When residents are present, there shall be at least two 
direct care staff members awake and on duty at all times in 
each building who shall be responsible for the care and 
supervision of the residents. 

B. During trips away from the facility, there shall be 
sufficient direct care staff to provide sight and sound 
supervision to all residents who cannot recognize danger or 
protect their own safety and welfare. 

22 VAC 40-72-1010. [ Employee Staff ] training. 

A. Commencing immediately upon employment and within 
three months, the administrator shall attend 12 hours of 
training in cognitive impairment that meets the requirements 
of subsection C of this section. This training is counted 
toward the annual training requirement for the first year. 
Previous training that meets the requirements of subsection C 
of this section and was completed in the year prior to 
employment is transferable if there is documentation of the 
training. The documented previous training is counted toward 
the required 12 hours but not toward the annual training 
requirement. 

B. Commencing immediately upon employment and within 
[ six four ] months, direct care staff shall attend four hours of 
training in cognitive impairment that meets the requirements 
of subsection C of this section. This training is counted 
toward meeting the annual training requirement for the first 
year. Previous training that meets the requirements of 
subsection C of this section and was completed in the year 
prior to employment is transferable if there is documentation 
of the training. The documented previous training is counted 
toward the required four hours but not toward the annual 
training requirement. 

C. Curriculum for the training in cognitive impairment for 
direct care staff and administrators shall be developed by a 
qualified health professional or by a licensed social worker, 
shall be relevant to the population in care and shall include, 
but need not be limited to: 

1. Explanation of cognitive impairments; 
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2. Resident care techniques; 

3. Behavior management; 

4. Communication skills;  

5. Activity planning; and 

6. Safety considerations. 

D. Within the first month of employment, [ employees staff ] 
other than the administrator and direct care staff shall 
complete one hour of training on the nature and needs of 
residents with cognitive impairments relevant to the 
population in care. 

22 VAC 40-72-1020. Doors and windows. 

A. Doors leading to the outside shall have a system of 
security monitoring of residents with serious cognitive 
impairments who cannot recognize danger or protect their 
own safety and welfare, such as door alarms, cameras, 
constant [ employee staff ] oversight, security bracelets that 
are part of an alarm system, or delayed egress mechanisms. 
Residents with serious cognitive impairments who cannot 
recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare may 
be limited but not prohibited from exiting the facility or any 
part thereof. Before limiting any resident from freely leaving 
the facility, the resident’s record shall reflect the behavioral 
observations or other bases for determining that the resident 
has a serious cognitive impairment and an inability to 
recognize danger or protect his own safety and welfare. 

B. There shall be protective devices on the bedroom and the 
bathroom windows of residents with serious cognitive 
impairments who cannot recognize danger or protect their 
own safety and welfare and on windows in common areas 
accessible to these residents to prevent the windows from 
being opened wide enough for a resident to crawl through. 

22 VAC 40-72-1030. Outdoor area. 

The facility shall have a secured outdoor area for the 
residents' use or provide direct care staff supervision while 
residents with serious cognitive impairments who cannot 
recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare are 
outside. 

22 VAC 40-72-1040. Indoor walking area. 

The facility shall provide to residents free access to an indoor 
walking corridor or other indoor area that may be used for 
walking. 

22 VAC 40-72-1050. Environmental precautions. 

A. Special environmental precautions shall be taken by the 
facility to eliminate hazards to the safety and well-being of 
residents with serious cognitive impairments who cannot 
recognize danger or protect their own safety and welfare. 
Examples of environmental precautions include signs, carpet 

patterns and arrows that point the way, and reduction of 
background noise. 

B. When there are indications that ordinary materials or 
objects may be harmful to a resident with a serious cognitive 
impairment who cannot recognize danger or protect his own 
safety and welfare, these materials or objects shall be 
inaccessible to the resident except under [ employee staff ] 
supervision. 

Article 3. 
Safe, Secure Environment. 

22 VAC 40-72-1060. Applicability. 

In order to be admitted or retained in a safe, secure 
environment as defined in 22 VAC 40-72-10, a resident must 
have a serious cognitive impairment due to a primary 
psychiatric diagnosis of dementia and be unable to recognize 
danger or protect his own safety and welfare. The 
requirements in this article apply when such residents reside 
in a safe, secure environment. These requirements apply only 
to the safe, secure environment. 

EXCEPTION: A resident’s spouse, parent, adult sibling or 
adult child who otherwise would not meet the criteria to 
reside in a safe, secure environment may reside in the special 
care unit if the spouse, parent, sibling or child so requests in 
writing, the facility agrees in writing and the resident, if 
capable of making the decision, agrees in writing. The written 
request and agreements must be maintained in the resident’s 
file. The spouse, parent, sibling or child is considered a 
resident of the facility and as such 22 VAC 40-72 applies. 
The requirements of this article do not apply for the spouse, 
parent, adult sibling, or adult child since the individual does 
not have a serious cognitive impairment due to a primary 
psychiatric diagnosis of dementia with an inability to 
recognize danger or protect his own safety and welfare. 

22 VAC 40-72-1070. Assessment. 

A. Prior to his admission to a safe, secure environment, the 
resident shall have been assessed by an independent clinical 
psychologist licensed to practice in the Commonwealth or by 
an independent physician as having a serious cognitive 
impairment due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 
dementia with an inability to recognize danger or protect his 
own safety and welfare. The physician shall be board certified 
or board eligible in a specialty or subspecialty relevant to the 
diagnosis and treatment of serious cognitive impairments, 
e.g., family practice, geriatrics, internal medicine, neurology, 
neurosurgery, or psychiatry. The assessment shall be in 
writing and shall include, but not be limited to, the following 
areas: 

1. Cognitive functions, e.g., orientation, comprehension, 
problem-solving, attention/concentration, memory, 
intelligence, abstract reasoning, judgment, insight; 

2. Thought and perception, e.g., process, content; 
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3. Mood/affect; 

4. Behavior/psychomotor; 

5. Speech/language; and 

6. Appearance. 

B. The assessment required in subsection A of this section 
shall be maintained in the resident’s record. 

22 VAC 40-72-1080. Approval. 

A. Prior to placing a resident with a serious cognitive 
impairment due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 
dementia in a safe, secure environment, the facility shall 
obtain the written approval of one of the following persons, in 
the following order of priority: 

1. The resident, if capable of making an informed decision; 

2. A guardian or other legal representative for the resident 
if one has been appointed; 

3. A relative who is willing and able to take responsibility 
to act as the resident’s representative, in the following 
specified order: (i) spouse, (ii) adult child, (iii) parent, (iv) 
adult sibling, (v) adult grandchild, (vi) adult niece or 
nephew, (vii) aunt or uncle; or 

4. If the resident is not capable of making an informed 
decision and a guardian, legal representative or relative is 
unavailable, an independent physician who is skilled and 
knowledgeable in the diagnosis and treatment of dementia. 

B. The obtained written approval shall be retained in the 
resident’s file. 

C. The facility shall document that the order of priority 
specified in subsection A of this section was followed and the 
documentation shall be retained in the resident's file. 

[ NOTE: D. ] As soon as one of the persons in the order as 
prioritized above disapproves of placement or retention in the 
safe, secure environment, then the assisted living facility shall 
not place or retain the resident or prospective resident in the 
special care unit. If the resident is not to be retained in the 
unit, the discharge requirements specified in 22 VAC 40-72-
420 apply. 

22 VAC 40-72-1090. Appropriateness of placement and 
continued residence. 

A. Prior to admitting a resident with a serious cognitive 
impairment due to a primary psychiatric diagnosis of 
dementia to a safe, secure environment, the 
licensee/administrator or designee shall determine whether 
placement in the special care unit is appropriate. The 
determination and justification for the decision shall be in 
writing and shall be retained in the resident’s file.  

B. Six months after the completion of the initial uniform 
assessment instrument and thereafter at the time of 

completion of each subsequent uniform assessment 
instrument as required in 22 VAC 40-72-430, the 
licensee/administrator or designee shall perform a review of 
the appropriateness of each resident's continued residence in 
the special care unit. The licensee/administrator or designee 
shall also perform a review of the appropriateness of 
continued residence in the unit whenever warranted by a 
change in a resident's condition. The review shall be 
performed in consultation with the following persons, as 
appropriate: (i) the resident, (ii) a responsible family member, 
(iii) a guardian or other legal representative, (iv) designated 
contact person, (vi) direct care staff who provide care and 
supervision to the resident, (vi) the resident’s mental health 
provider, (vii) the licensed health care professional required 
in 22 VAC 40-72-480, (viii) the resident’s physician, and (ix) 
any other professional involved with the resident. The 
licensee/administrator or designee shall make a determination 
as to whether continued residence in the special care unit is 
appropriate at the time of each review required by this 
subsection. The determination and justification for the 
decision shall be in writing and shall be retained in the 
resident's file. 

22 VAC 40-72-1100. Activities. 

A. Each week [ there shall be at least 16 hours of ] a variety 
of scheduled activities [ shall be ] available [ that to the 
residents. The 16-hour activity requirement replaces the 
number of hours per week specified in 22 VAC 40-72-520. 
The activities ] shall include, but not necessarily be limited to, 
the following categories: 

1. Cognitive/mental stimulation/creative activities, e.g., 
discussion groups, reading, story telling, writing; 

2. Physical activities (both gross and fine motor skills), 
e.g., exercise, dancing, gardening, cooking; 

3. Productive/work activities, e.g., practicing life skills, 
setting the table, making decorations, folding clothes; 

4. Social activities, e.g., games, music, arts and crafts; 

5. Sensory activities, e.g., auditory, visual, scent and tactile 
stimulation; 

6. Reflective/contemplative activities, e.g., meditation, 
reminiscing, and poetry readings;  

7. Outdoor activities, weather permitting; e.g., walking 
outdoors, field trips; and 

8. Nature/natural world activities, such as interaction with 
pets, making flower arrangements, watering indoor plants, 
and having a picnic. 

[ NOTE: Several of the examples listed above may fall under 
more than one category. 

NOTE: These activities do not require additional hours 
beyond those specified in 22 VAC 40-72-520. ] 
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B. If appropriate to meet the needs of the resident with a short 
attention span, there shall be multiple short activities. 

C. [ Employees Staff ] shall regularly encourage residents to 
participate in activities and provide guidance and assistance, 
as needed. 

D. In addition to the [ required ] scheduled activities 
[ required by 22 VAC 40-72-520 ], there shall be unscheduled 
[ employee staff ] and resident interaction throughout the day 
that fosters an environment that promotes socialization 
opportunities for residents. 

E. Residents shall be given the opportunity to be outdoors on 
a daily basis, weather permitting. 

F. As appropriate, residents shall be encouraged to participate 
in supervised activities or programs outside the special care 
unit. 

G. There shall be a designated [ employee staff person ] 
responsible for managing or coordinating the structured 
activities program. This [ employee staff person ] shall be on-
site in the special care unit at least 20 hours a week, shall 
maintain personal interaction with the residents and 
familiarity with their needs and interests, and shall meet at 
least one of the following qualifications: 

1. Be a qualified therapeutic recreation specialist or an 
activities professional; 

2. Be eligible for certification as a therapeutic recreation 
specialist or an activities professional by a recognized 
accrediting body; 

3. Have one year full-time work experience, within the last 
five years, in an activities program in an adult care setting; 

4. Be a qualified occupational therapist or an occupational 
therapy assistant; or 

5. Prior to or within six months of employment, have 
successfully completed 40 hours of department-approved 
training in adult group activities and in recognizing and 
assessing the activity needs of residents. 

[ NOTE: 6. ] The required 20 hours on-site does not have to 
be devoted solely to managing or coordinating activities 
[ ,; ]  neither is it required that the person responsible for 
managing or coordinating the activities program conduct 
the activities. 

H. The facility shall obtain documentation of the 
qualifications as specified in subsection G of this section for 
the designated [ employee staff person ] responsible for 
managing or coordinating the structured activities program. 
The documentation shall be retained in the [ employee’s staff 
person's ] file. Written confirmation of department approval 
of training provided for in subdivision G 5 of this section 
shall also be retained in the [ employee’s staff person's ] file, 
as appropriate. 

22 VAC 40-72-1110. Staffing. 

A. When residents are present, there shall be at least two 
direct care staff members awake and on duty at all times in 
each special care unit who shall be responsible for the care 
and supervision of the residents. 

EXCEPTION: Only one direct care staff member has to be 
awake and on duty in the unit if sufficient to meet the needs 
of the residents, if (i) there are no more than five residents 
present in the unit and (ii) there are at least two other direct 
care staff members in the building, one of whom is readily 
available to assist with emergencies in the special care unit, 
provided that supervision necessary to ensure the health, 
safety and welfare of residents throughout the building is not 
compromised. 

B. During trips away from the facility, there shall be 
sufficient direct care staff to provide sight and sound 
supervision to residents. 

22 VAC 40-72-1120. [ Employee Staff ] training. 

A. Commencing immediately upon employment and within 
two months, the administrator and direct care staff shall 
attend at least four hours of training in cognitive impairments 
due to dementia. This training is counted toward meeting the 
annual training requirement for the first year. The training 
shall cover the following topics: 

1. Information about the cognitive impairment, including 
areas such as cause, progression, behaviors, management of 
the condition; 

2. Communicating with the resident; 

3. Managing dysfunctional behavior; and 

4. Identifying and alleviating safety risks to residents with 
cognitive impairment. 

Previous training that meets the requirements of this 
subsection and subsections C and D of this section that was 
completed in the year prior to employment is transferable if 
there is documentation of the training. The documented 
previous training is counted toward the required four hours 
but not toward the annual training requirement. [ NOTE: ] In 
this subsection, for direct care staff, employment means 
employment in the safe, secure environment. 

B. Within the first year of employment, the administrator and 
direct care staff shall attend at least six more hours of 
training, in addition to that required in subsection A of this 
section, in caring for residents with cognitive impairments 
due to dementia. The training is counted toward meeting the 
annual training requirement for the first year. The training 
shall cover the following topics: 

1. Assessing resident needs and capabilities and 
understanding and implementing service plans; 
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2. Resident care techniques for persons with physical, 
cognitive, behavioral and social disabilities; 

3. Creating a therapeutic environment; 

4. Promoting resident dignity, independence, individuality, 
privacy and choice; 

5. Communicating with families and other persons 
interested in the resident; 

6. Planning and facilitating activities appropriate for each 
resident; and 

7. Common behavioral problems and behavior management 
techniques. 

Previous training that meets the requirements of this 
subsection and subsections C and D of this section that was 
completed in the year prior to employment is transferable if 
there is documentation of the training. The documented 
previous training is counted toward the required six hours but 
not toward the annual training requirement. [ NOTE: ] In this 
subsection, for direct care staff, employment means 
employment in the safe, secure environment. 

C. The training required in subsections A and B of this 
section shall be developed by: 

1. A licensed health care professional acting within the 
scope of the requirements of his profession who has at least 
12 hours of training in the care of individuals with 
cognitive impairments due to dementia; or 

2. A person who has been approved by the department to 
develop the training. 

D. The training required in subsections A and B of this 
section shall be provided by a person qualified under 
subdivision C 1 of this section or a person who has been 
approved by the department to provide the training. 

E. Within the first month of employment, [ employees staff ], 
other than the administrator and direct care staff, who will 
have contact with residents in the special care unit shall 
complete one hour of training on the nature and needs of 
residents with cognitive impairments due to dementia. 

22 VAC 40-72-1130. Doors and windows. 

A. Doors that lead to unprotected areas shall be monitored or 
secured through devices that conform to applicable building 
and fire codes, including but not limited to, door alarms, 
cameras, constant [ employee staff ] oversight, security 
bracelets that are part of an alarm system, pressure pads at 
doorways, delayed egress mechanisms, locking devices or 
perimeter fence gates. Residents who reside in safe, secure, 
environments may be prohibited from exiting the facility or 
the special care unit, if applicable building and fire codes are 
met. 

B. There shall be protective devices on the bedroom and 
bathroom windows of residents and on windows in common 
areas accessible to residents to prevent the windows from 
being opened wide enough for a resident to crawl through. 

C. As of October 9, 2001, buildings approved for construction 
or change in use [ group and occupancy classification ], as 
referenced in 13 VAC 5-63, the Virginia [ Uniform ] 
Statewide Building Code, shall have a glazed window area 
above ground level in at least one of the common rooms, e.g., 
living room, multipurpose room, dining room. The square 
footage of the glazed window area shall be at least 8.0% of 
the square footage of the floor area of the common room. 

22 VAC 40-72-1140. Outdoor area. 

The facility shall have a secured outdoor area for the 
residents’ use or provide direct care staff supervision while 
residents are outside. 

22 VAC 40-72-1150. Indoor walking area. 

The facility shall provide to residents free access to an indoor 
walking corridor or other indoor area that may be used for 
walking. 

22 VAC 40-72-1160. Environmental precautions. 

A. Special environmental precautions shall be taken by the 
facility to eliminate hazards to the safety and well-being of 
residents. Examples of environmental precautions include 
signs, carpet patterns and arrows that point the way, high 
visual contrast between floors and walls, and reduction of 
background noise. 

B. When there are indications that ordinary materials or 
objects may be harmful to a resident, these materials or 
objects shall be inaccessible to the resident except under 
[ employee staff ] supervision. 

C. Special environmental enhancements, tailored to the 
population in care, shall be provided by the facility to enable 
residents to maximize their independence and to promote 
their dignity in comfortable surroundings. Examples of 
environmental enhancements include memory boxes, activity 
centers, rocking chairs, and visual contrast between 
plates/eating utensils and the table. 

[ DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 
Fourth Edition, Text Revision (DMS-IV-TR), Copyright 
2000, American Psychiatric Association, 1400 K Street NW, 
Washington, DC 20005, www.psych.org. ] 

NOTICE:  The forms used in administering 22 VAC 40-72, 
Standards and Regulations for Licensed Assisted Living 
Facilities, are not being published; however, the name of each 
form is listed below.  The forms are available for public 
inspection at the Department of Social Services, 7 North 
Eighth Street, Richmond, Virginia, or at the office of the 
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Registrar of Regulations, General Assembly Building, 2nd 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

FORMS 

Initial Application for a State License to Operate an Assisted 
Living Facility, 032-05-009/4 (rev. 9/02). 

Renewal Application for a State License to Operate an 
Assisted Living Facility, 032-05-025/4 (rev. 9/02). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-134; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:43 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  22 VAC 40-80. General Procedures 
and Information for Licensure (amending 22 VAC 40-80-
60, 22 VAC 40-80-120, 22 VAC 40-80-340, 22 VAC 40-80-
370, 22 VAC 40-80-430; adding 22 VAC 40-80-345). 

Statutory Authority:  §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1733 and 
63.2-1734 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date:  December 28, 2006. 

Agency Contact:  Richard Martin, Manager, Office of 
Legislative and Regulatory Affairs, Department of Social 
Services, 7 North Eighth Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7902, FAX (804) 726-7906. 

Summary: 

The amendments add a requirement regarding notification 
to the department when a licensee plans to close or sell a 
facility; add additional items to the list of documents that 
must be posted in a facility; add additional administrative 
sanctions that the commissioner may impose upon licensed 
facilities when they fail to maintain compliance with 
regulations or laws; and add a new section that provides 
procedures for summary orders of suspension.  Also 
included are minor changes to procedures for consent 
agreements, for clarification and to remove unnecessary 
detail. One change was made to the proposed regulation in 
order to update a Code of Virginia citation. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

22 VAC 40-80-60. General. 

A. A license to operate a facility or agency is issued to a 
specific person or organization to provide out-of-home care to 
children or adults. An organization may be a partnership, 
association, corporation, limited liability company, or public 
entity. 

B. Pursuant to § 63.2-1712 of the Code of Virginia, any 
person, officer, or member of a governing board of any 
association or corporation that operates an assisted living 

facility, adult day care center, or child welfare agency shall be 
guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor if he: 

1. Interferes with any representative of the commissioner in 
the discharge of his licensing duties; 

2. Makes to the commissioner or any representative of the 
commissioner any report or statement with respect to the 
operation of any assisted living facility, adult day care 
center, or child welfare agency that is known by such 
person to be false or untrue; 

3. Operates or engages in the conduct of these facilities 
without first obtaining a license as required or after such 
license has been revoked or has expired and not been 
renewed; or 

4. Operates or engages in the conduct of one of these 
facilities serving more persons than the maximum 
stipulated in the license. 

C. When a licensee plans to close or sell a facility, the 
licensee shall notify the appropriate licensing office at least 
60 days prior to the anticipated closure or sale date. When the 
facility closes or the sale is finalized, the license shall be 
returned to the appropriate licensing office. 

22 VAC 40-80-120. Terms of the license. 

A. A facility or agency shall operate within the terms of its 
license, which are: 

1. The operating name of the facility or agency; 

2. The name of the individual, partnership, association, 
corporation, limited liability company, or public entity 
sponsoring the facility or agency; 

3. The physical location of the facility or agency; 

4. The maximum number of children or adults who may be 
in care at any time; 

5. The period of time for which the license is effective; 

6. For child care facilities or agencies, the age range of 
children for whom care may be provided; and 

7. Any other limitations that the department may prescribe 
within the context of the regulations for any facility or 
agency. 

B. The provisional license cites the standards with which the 
licensee is not in compliance. 

C. The conditional license cites the standards with which the 
licensee must demonstrate compliance when operation 
begins, and also any standards with which the licensee is not 
in compliance. 

D. Prior to changes in operation that would affect the terms of 
the license, the licensee shall secure a modification to the 
terms of the license from the department. (See 22 VAC 40-
80-190.) 
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E. The following documents shall be posted, when applicable, 
in a conspicuous place on the licensed premises so that they 
are visible to the public:  Certain documents related to the 
terms of the license are required to be posted on the premises 
of each facility. These are: 

1. The most recently issued license. Any provisional 
license shall be posted at each public entrance of the 
facility and a notice shall be prominently displayed next to 
the license that states that a description of specific 
violations of licensing standards to be corrected and the 
deadline for completion of such corrections is available for 
inspection at the facility or on the facility’s website, if 
applicable; 

2. The most recent violation notice findings of the most 
recent inspection of the facility; 

3. Probationary status announcements; 

4. Denial and revocation notices; and 3. Notice of the 
commissioner’s intent to revoke or deny renewal of the 
license of an assisted living facility. Such notice will be 
provided by the department and shall be posted in a 
prominent place at each public entrance of the facility to 
advise consumers of serious or persistent violations. 

4. A copy of any final order of summary suspension of all 
or part of an assisted living facility’s license shall be 
prominently displayed by the provider at each public 
entrance of the facility, or the provider may display a 
written statement summarizing the terms of the order, 
printed in clear and legible size and typeface, in a 
prominent location and  identifying the location within the 
facility where the final order of summary suspension may 
be reviewed. 

5. Notice of the commissioner’s intent to take any of the 
actions enumerated in subdivisions B 1 through B 6 of § 
63.2-1709.2 of the Code of Virginia. Such notice will be 
provided by the department and a copy of the notice shall 
be posted in a prominent place at each public entrance of 
the facility to advise consumers of serious or persistent 
violations. 

6. A copy of any special order issued by the department 
shall be posted in a prominent place at each public entrance 
of the licensed premises to advise consumers of serious or 
persistent violations. 

5. 7. Any other documents required by the commissioner. 

22 VAC 40-80-340. Administrative sanctions. 

The commissioner may impose administrative sanctions or 
initiate court proceedings, severally or jointly, when 
appropriate in order to ensure prompt correction of violations 
involving noncompliance with state law or regulation in 
assisted living facilities, adult day care centers and child 
welfare agencies as discovered through any inspection or 

investigation conducted by the Department of Social 
Services, the Virginia Department of Health, the Virginia 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services, or by state and local building or 
fire prevention officials. These administrative sanctions 
include: 

1. Petitioning the court to appoint a receiver for any 
assisted living facility or adult day care center; 

2. Revoking or denying renewal of a license for any 
assisted living facility or adult day care center that fails to 
comply with the limitations and standards set forth in its 
license for violation that adversely affects, or is an 
imminent and substantial threat to, the health, safety or 
welfare of residents, or for permitting, aiding or abetting 
the commission of any illegal act in an adult care facility; 

3. Revoking or denying renewal of a license for any child 
welfare agency that fails to comply with the limitations and 
standards set forth in its license; 

4. Requiring an assisted living facility to contract with an 
individual licensed by the Board of Long-Term Care 
Administrators to administer, manage or operate the facility 
on an interim basis if the commissioner receives 
information from any source indicating imminent and 
substantial risk of harm to residents. This action shall be an 
attempt to bring the facility into compliance with all 
relevant requirements of law, regulation or any plan of 
correction approved by the commissioner. The contract 
shall be negotiated in accordance with the provisions of § 
63.2-1709 of the Code of Virginia; 

5. Issuing a summary order of suspension of the license to 
operate an assisted living facility pursuant to proceedings 
set forth in § 63.2-1709 C of the Code of Virginia in 
conjunction with any proceedings for revocation, denial, or 
other action when conditions or practices exist that pose an 
imminent and substantial threat to the health, safety and 
welfare of residents; and 

4. 6. Imposing administrative sanctions through the 
issuance of a special order as provided in § [ 63.2-1709 D 
63.2-1709.2 ] of the Code of Virginia. These include: 

a. Placing a licensee on probation upon finding that the 
licensee is substantially out of compliance with the terms 
of the license and that the health and safety of residents, 
participants or children are at risk; 

b. Reducing the licensed capacity or prohibiting new 
admissions when the commissioner has determined that 
the licensee cannot make necessary corrections to 
achieve compliance with the regulations except by a 
temporary restriction of its scope of service; 

c. Requiring that probationary status announcements, 
provisional licenses and denial and revocation notices be 
posted in a conspicuous place on the licensed premises 
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and be of sufficient size and distinction to advise 
consumers of serious or persistent violation; 

d. c. Mandating training for the licensee or licensee's 
employees, with any costs to be borne by the licensee, 
when the commissioner has determined that the lack of 
such training has led directly to violations of regulations; 

e. d. Assessing civil penalties of not more than $500 per 
inspection upon finding that the licensee of an adult day 
care center or child welfare agency is substantially out of 
compliance with the terms of its license and the health 
and safety of residents, participants or children are at 
risk; 

e. Assessing a civil penalty for each day an assisted 
living facility is or was out of compliance with the terms 
of its license and the health, safety, and welfare of 
residents are at risk. The aggregate amount of such civil 
penalties shall not exceed $10,000 in any 24-month 
period. Criteria for imposition of civil penalties and 
amounts, expressed in ranges, are developed by the board 
and are based upon the severity, pervasiveness, duration 
and degree of risk to the health, safety, or welfare of 
residents. Such civil penalties shall be applied by the 
commissioner in a consistent manner; 

f. Requiring licensees to contact parents, guardians or 
other responsible persons in writing regarding health and 
safety violations; and 

g. Preventing licensees who are substantially out of 
compliance with the licensure terms or in violation of the 
regulations from receiving public funds. 

22 VAC 40-80-345. Summary suspension procedures. 

A. In conjunction with any proceeding for revocation, denial, 
or other action when conditions or practices exist that pose an 
imminent and substantial threat to the health, safety and 
welfare of the residents, the commissioner may issue a 
summary suspension of the license to operate an assisted 
living facility or of certain authority of the licensee to provide 
certain services or perform certain functions. 

B. Upon determining that summary suspension is appropriate, 
the hearing coordinator will select a hearing officer from a list 
prepared by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of 
Virginia and will schedule the time, date, and location of the 
hearing to determine whether the suspension is appropriate as 
required by § 63.2-1709 C of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Simultaneously with the issuance of a notice of revocation, 
denial or other action, the commissioner will issue to the 
licensee a notice of summary order of suspension setting forth 
the following: 

1. The procedures for the summary order of suspension; 

2. The hearing and appeal rights as set forth below; 

3. Facts and evidence that formed the basis for which the 
summary order of suspension is sought; and 

4. The time, date, and location of the hearing. 

D. Notice of the summary order of suspension will be served 
on the licensee or his designee by personal service or by 
certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address of 
record of the licensee as soon as practicable after issuance 
thereof. 

E. The hearing shall take place in the locality where the 
assisted living facility operates unless the licensee or his 
designee expressly waives this venue provision. 

1. The hearing shall be held no later than 15 business days 
after service of notice on the licensee.  The hearing officer 
may grant a continuance upon written request and for good 
cause shown. In no event shall any continuance exceed 10 
business days after the initial hearing date. 

2. The hearing coordinator will forward a copy of the 
relevant licensing standards to the hearing officer. 

3. The hearing will be conducted in accordance with the 
procedures set forth in 22 VAC 40-80-480 through 22 VAC 
40-80-500. 

4. The department may be represented either by counsel or 
by agency staff authorized by § 2.2-509 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

F. Within 10 days of the conclusion of the hearing, the 
hearing officer shall provide to the commissioner written 
findings and conclusions, together with a recommendation as 
to whether the license should be summarily suspended. The 
department shall have the burden of proof in any summary 
suspension hearing. The decision of the hearing officer shall 
be based on the preponderance of the evidence presented by 
the record and relevant to the basic law under which the 
agency is operating. 

G. Within 10 days of receipt of the hearing officer’s report 
and recommendation, the commissioner shall either (i) adopt 
the hearing officer’s recommendation or (ii) reject the hearing 
officer’s recommendation if it would be an error of law or 
department policy to accept it. 

H. The commissioner shall issue and shall serve on the 
licensee or his designee by personal service or by certified 
mail, return receipt requested either: 

1. A final order of summary suspension including (i) a 
detailed statement of the basis for rejecting the hearing 
officer’s recommendation, if applicable, and (ii) notice that 
the licensee may appeal the commissioner’s decision to the 
appropriate circuit court no later than 10 days following 
service of the order; or 

2. A final order that summary suspension is not warranted 
by the facts and circumstances presented. 
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I. A copy of any final order of suspension shall be 
prominently displayed at each public entrance of the facility 
as required in 22 VAC 40-80-120. 

J. The signed, original case decision shall remain in the 
custody of the agency as a public record, subject to the 
agency’s records retention policy. 

22 VAC 40-80-370. Appeal process. 

A. The applicant or licensee will receive a notice of the 
department's intent to impose an administrative sanction. This 
notice will describe the sanction or sanctions and the reasons 
for the imposition. Service of the notice of adverse action is 
achieved by certified mailing of the notice to the applicant or 
licensee, unless service is made by other means and 
acknowledged by the applicant or licensee. If the applicant or 
licensee wishes to appeal the notice of adverse action, he shall 
have 15 days after service receipt of the notice to note his 
appeal. If service is accomplished by mail, three days shall be 
added to the 15-day period. 

B. Upon receipt of the notice to impose an administrative 
sanction, the applicant or licensee has the right to appeal the 
decision in accordance with the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The procedures 
for filing an appeal will be outlined in the notice. The 
applicant or licensee shall submit any appeal of imposition of 
an administrative sanction in writing within 15 days of receipt 
of the notice. 

C. If the applicant or licensee fails to appeal the notice of 
adverse action within 15 days of receipt of the notice, the 
notice will constitute the department's final decision final 
order will be entered. The decision will take effect 30 days 
after receipt of the notice. 

D. The appeal process available is governed by law. Where 
the sanction is imposed by means of a special order as 
provided in § 63.2-1709 of the Code of Virginia, the case 
decision is issued by the commissioner following findings 
and conclusions resulting from the informal conference. 
Other sanctions include a provision for an administrative 
hearing, which is described in § 2.2-4020 of the Code of 
Virginia, prior to the issuance of the case decision. For ease 
of reference, the process steps are displayed in the following 
chart: 

List of Sanctions with Appeal Provisions 
 

 

Informal 
Conference 

Administrative 
Hearing 

Circuit 
Court 

Review of 
Case 

Decision 
ADMINISTRATIVE 
SANCTION 

   

Place licensee on 
probation 

X  X 

Reduce licensed capacity X  X 
Restrict admissions X  X 

Mandate training for 
licensee or staff 

X  X 

Assess civil penalty X  X 
Require written contact 
with responsible persons 

X  X 

Prevent receipt of public 
funds 

X  X 

Deny application for new 
or renewal license 

X X X 

Revoke license X X X 
File petition for 
appointment of a receiver 

  X 

Require assisted living 
facility to contract with 
administrator 

X X X 

22 VAC 40-80-430. Consent agreements. 

A. A consent agreement may be proposed by a licensee in 
lieu of adverse action. The proposed consent agreement shall 
be submitted no later than five work days prior to the 
conference unless different arrangements are agreed upon 
with the chair. In no case may a proposed consent agreement 
be submitted later than the day of the informal conference. 
The duration and terms of the consent agreement are 
negotiable. A licensing representative will negotiate the 
proposed agreement with the licensee and submit the 
proposed agreement to the division director, who will make 
the decision to accept or reject the consent agreement on 
behalf of the department or recommend such acceptance or 
rejection to the commissioner. 

B. An acceptable consent agreement shall contain the 
following specific elements: 

1. Dates of key actions, such as letter of sanction, timely 
appeal, the informal conference (if already held), and the 
names of the parties; 

2. The assertion that all violations detailed in the letter of 
denial or revocation have been corrected or will be 
corrected by a time specified in the proposed agreement; 

3. A description in detail of the case-specific systemic 
solution proposed that addresses the causes of the past 
history of violations, includng the methods the licensee has 
in place to prevent violations and to monitor results; 

4. A statement agreeing to future maintenance of 
substantial compliance with all regulations; 

5. Statements outlining and acknowledging the process and 
timelines for moving the proposed agreement through the 
steps that will follow submission of the proposal signed by 
the provider, including statements that (i) the Director of 
the Division of Licensing Programs will evaluate the 
proposal and respond by letter and (ii) the licensee 
understands that if the proposal is conditionally accepted, 
final approval and the division director's signature will be 
withheld until after satisfactory on-site verification of 
results, including the information that the duration of the 
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agreement will begin when the director accepts and signs 
the document; 

4. A stipulation by the licensee to the validity of the 
violations enumerated in the specified correspondence and 
waiver of right to hearing under the Administrative Process 
Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) solely with 
respect to those violations. 

6. 5. The duration of the consent agreement, including the 
information that the period begins when the division 
director signs; 

7. 6. A statement that when the division director signs the 
agreement, signifying final acceptance, the division 
director is also agreeing to rescind the outstanding adverse 
action and that the licensee is agreeing to withdraw all 
appeals to that action; and 

8. 7. A statement outlining conditions for termination of the 
final agreement for cause and the nature of the licensee's 
appeal rights in that event. 

C. Recommendation and approval process. 

1. The department appointed negotiator will review the 
draft agreement and either make a final suggestion or 
advise the licensee that a recommendation will be made to 
the division director. 

2. Two originals of the final proposal, signed by the 
licensee and dated, shall be mailed to the negotiator. 

3. The negotiator will review the submissions to assure 
conformity with his expectations and return them to the 
division director with any recommendations. 

4. The division director will review the proposal and write 
to the licensee, copying the negotiator, either affirming 
conditional approval to proceed to verification stage or 
stating changes required before the proposal will be 
conditionally approved. 

5. Licensing staff will perform on-site verification, advise 
the division director of results, and submit a written 
recommendation with rationale. 

6. If the results warrant it, the division director will prepare 
a cover letter enclosing one of the original signed consent 
agreements, and will forward a copy to the licensing unit 
and all other parties who were copied on the adverse action 
letter. 

7. If the on-site inspection is unsatisfactory, the division 
director will advise the licensee by letter. 

D. C. Throughout the duration of the consent agreement, 
licensing staff will make frequent inspections to determine 
whether the terms of the consent agreement are being 
implemented and whether its intended results are being 
achieved. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R05-222; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:42 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 23. TAXATION 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-70. Virginia Slaughter Hog 
and Feeder Pig Excise Tax Regulations (Repealed). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that have been made obsolete by changes in state 
and federal law.  As these regulations are obsolete, they are 
being repealed.  As these regulations are obsolete, their repeal 
will have no effect on the health, safety and welfare of 
citizens.  Repeal of these regulations does not reflect a change 
in existing departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are obsolete, their repeal is not expected to be 
controversial. 

Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal the Virginia 
Slaughter Hog and Feeder Pig Excise Tax Regulations. 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department's administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating obsolete regulations.  As these 
regulations are obsolete their repeal will result in no 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (department) proposes to repeal these 
regulations. 
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Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  Effective November 1, 1986, 
the federal "Pork, Promotion, Research, and Consumer 
Information Act of 1985," 7 USC § 4801, ceded to the federal 
government the sole right to levy an excise tax on pork. As a 
result, the Virginia Slaughter Hog and Feeder Pig Excise Tax 
provided for by § 3.1-763.9 of the Code of Virginia has not 
been imposed since that date.  Consequently, the 
department’s proposal to repeal these regulations will have no 
impact, other than perhaps to prevent confusion for those who 
find and read the regulations. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not affect the use 
and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 

the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

Effective November 1, 1986, federal law (The Pork, 
Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 
1985, 7 USC § 4801) ceded to the federal government the 
sole right to levy an excise tax on pork.  As a result, the 
Virginia Slaughter Hog and Feeder Pig Excise Tax 
provided for by § 3.1-763.9 of the Code of Virginia is no 
longer imposed.  This regulatory action will repeal the 
Virginia Slaughter Hog and Feeder Pig Excise Tax 
Regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-36; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:32 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-75. Virginia Soybean 
Excise Tax Regulations (repealing 23 VAC 10-75-30 
through 23 VAC 10-75-60). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, these 
regulations are being repealed.  As these regulations are 
unnecessary, their repeal will have no effect on the health, 
safety and welfare of citizens.  Repeal of these regulations 
does not reflect a change in existing departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are unnecessary, their repeal is not expected to 
be controversial. 
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Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal four Soybean 
Excise Tax Regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous. 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department's administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating unnecessary regulations.  As these 
regulations are unnecessary their repeal will result in no 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (department) proposes to repeal four 
sections of these regulations. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  The department proposes to 
repeal 23 VAC 10-75-30, 23 VAC 10-75-40, 23 VAC 10-75-
50, and 23 VAC 10-75-60 of these regulations.  23 VAC 10-
75-40 and 23 VAC 10-75-50 are "reserved" and have no 
content.  Thus repealing 23 VAC 10-75-40 and 23 VAC 10-
75-50 will have no impact. 

Regulation 23 VAC 10-75-30 and 23 VAC 10-75-60 pertain 
to Code of Virginia Sections 3.1-684.16 and 3.1-684.19, 
respectively.  None of these regulation sections contain rules 
that either go beyond or contradict their respective related 
Code of Virginia sections.  Repealing these regulation 
sections will therefore have no impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not significantly 
affect the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not significantly affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 

number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, 
these regulations are being repealed.  Repeal of these 
regulations does not reflect a change in existing 
departmental policy. 

23 VAC 10-75-30. Interest on assessment; collection of 
delinquent assessment. (Repealed.) 

A. If the handler fails to timely pay the soybean excise tax 
due, interest shall accrue on the unpaid tax.  

B. Interest at a rate determined in accordance with § 58.1-15 
of the Code of Virginia will accrue on the unpaid amount of 
the tax from the due date until the time of payment.  

C. If any person defaults in paying the tax or interest, the 
amount shall be collected by civil action in the name of the 
Commonwealth.  

1. The person adjudged in default shall pay the cost of the 
civil action.  

2. The Tax Commissioner shall request the Attorney 
General to institute the civil action for collection in the 
proper court and such action shall be in the amount of the 
past due tax and interest.  
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23 VAC 10-75-40. [ Reserved ] (Repealed.) 

23 VAC 10-75-50. [ Reserved ] (Repealed.) 

23 VAC 10-75-60. Misdemeanors. (Repealed.) 

It shall be a misdemeanor if any handler knowingly files a 
false report to the Virginia Department of Taxation on the 
quantity of soybeans handled by him or falsifies the records 
of the soybeans handled by him, or fails to preserve the 
records for a period of not less than two years from the time 
the soybeans are handled.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-37; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:31 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-112. Declaration of 
Estimated Income Tax by Individuals (repealing 23 VAC 
10-112-50 through 23 VAC 10-112-90). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, these 
regulations are being repealed.  As these regulations are 
unnecessary, their repeal will have no effect on the health, 
safety and welfare of citizens.  Repeal of these regulations 
does not reflect a change in existing departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are unnecessary, their repeal is not expected to 
be controversial. 

Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal selected 
Declaration of Estimated Income Tax By Individuals Tax 
Regulations that provide no additional guidance to clear and 
unambiguous statutes. 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department's administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating unnecessary regulations.  As these 

regulations are unnecessary, their repeal will result in no 
disadvantage to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (department) proposes to repeal 
23 VAC 10-112-50 (Declarations of estimated tax to be filed 
with commissioner of revenue of county or city), 23 VAC 10-
112-60 (Payment of estimated tax; notice of installment due), 
23 VAC 10-112-70 (Reserved), 23 VAC 10-112-80 (Virginia 
Code Section 58.1-306 applicable to declaration of estimated 
tax), and 23 VAC 10-112-90 (Oaths or affirmations 
unnecessary on returns, declarations and reports; 
misdemeanor to subscribe false return, declaration or report; 
penalty) of these regulations. 

Result of Analysis.  The proposed amendments are not likely 
to have any significant impact. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  23 VAC 10-112-60 (Payment 
of estimated tax; notice of installment due), 23 VAC 10-112-
80 (Virginia Code Section 58.1-306 applicable to declaration 
of estimated tax) and 23 VAC 10-112-90 (Oaths or 
affirmations unnecessary on returns, declarations and reports; 
misdemeanor to subscribe false return, declaration or report; 
penalty) are essentially identical in meaning to Code § 58.1-
495, § 58.1-497, and § 58.1-498, respectively.  Repealing 
23 VAC 10-112-60, 23 VAC 10-112-80, and 23 VAC 10-
112-90 will therefore have no impact.  23 VAC 10-112-70 is 
"reserved" and has no content.  Thus repealing 23 VAC 10-
112-70 will have no impact. 

Section 50 of these regulations concerns the declaration of 
estimated tax to be filed with the commissioner of revenue of 
counties and cities.  It is essentially identical in meaning to 
Code § 58.1-493, except for one clarifying sentence.  The 
Code states that "every nonresident individual who is required 
by this article to file a declaration of estimated tax shall file 
his declaration with the commissioner of the revenue for the 
county or city in which all or a part of his income from 
sources within the Commonwealth was derived."  Section 50 
of these regulations, but not the Code, further states that "A 
declaration is not required to be filed with more than one 
commissioner of the revenue."  Without this clarifying 
sentence a nonresident taxpayer could reasonably 
misunderstand the Code to mean that a declaration of 
estimated tax is required for each county or city 
commissioner of the revenue in which income was derived.  
According to the department, individuals filing declarations 
of estimated tax are provided with instructions that make it 
clear that it is not necessary to file with more than one local 
commissioner of the revenue.  Thus, repealing Section 50 will 
most likely not have a significant impact. 
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Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not significantly 
affect the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not significantly affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, 

these regulations are being repealed.  Repeal of these 
regulations does not reflect a change in existing 
departmental policy. 

23 VAC 10-112-50. Declarations of estimated tax to be 
filed with commissioner of revenue of county or city. 
(Repealed.) 

Every resident individual who is required by these regulations 
to file a declaration of estimated tax shall file his declaration 
with the commissioner of the revenue for the county or city in 
which he resides. Every nonresident individual who is 
required by these regulations to file a declaration of estimated 
tax shall file such declaration with the commissioner of the 
revenue for the county or city in which all or a part of his 
income from sources within Virginia was derived. A 
declaration is not required to be filed with more than one 
commissioner of the revenue. The Department of Taxation 
will supply forms for preparing declarations of estimated tax. 
The commissioners of the revenue shall mail or deliver them 
not later than January 15 of each year to the taxpayers 
needing them as far as can be determined. Failure of any 
taxpayer to receive any such form shall not relieve him of his 
obligation to file a declaration of estimated tax. 

23 VAC 10-112-60. Payment of estimated tax; notice of 
installment due. (Repealed.) 

The estimated tax with respect to which a declaration is 
required by these regulations shall be paid as specified in 
23 VAC 10-112-30 to the treasurer of the county or city with 
whose commissioner of the revenue the taxpayer files his 
declaration of estimated tax.  

In every case the taxpayer may make his first payment to the 
treasurer of the county or city by attaching such payment to 
the declaration when the taxpayer files it with the 
commissioner of the revenue.  

23 VAC 10-112-70. [ Reserved ] (Repealed.) 

23 VAC 10-112-80. Virginia Code Section 58.1-306 
applicable to declaration of estimated tax. (Repealed.) 

Va. Code § 58.1-306 (relating to special instances in which an 
individual taxpayer may file an income tax return with the 
Department of Taxation) shall also apply to a declaration of 
estimated tax.  

23 VAC 10-112-90. Oaths or affirmations unnecessary on 
returns, declarations and reports; misdemeanor to 
subscribe false return, declaration or report; penalty. 
(Repealed.) 

Returns, declarations, and reports filed under these 
regulations do not need to be verified by the oath or 
affirmation of the person or persons who are required by law 
to sign the same. The signature of such person or persons to 
any such return, declaration or report is sufficient. It is a Class 
1 misdemeanor for any such person willfully to subscribe any 
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such return, declaration or report which he does not believe to 
be true and correct as to every material matter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-38; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:29 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-115. Fiduciary Income Tax 
(repealing 23 VAC 10-115-30, 23 VAC 10-115-120 and 
23 VAC 10-115-130). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, these 
regulations are being repealed.  As these regulations are 
unnecessary, their repeal will have no effect on the health, 
safety and welfare of citizens.  Repeal of these regulations 
does not reflect a change in existing departmental policy. 
Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are unnecessary, their repeal is not expected to 
be controversial. 

Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal selected 
Fiduciary Income Tax Regulations that provide no additional 
guidance to clear and unambiguous statutes. 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department's administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating unnecessary regulations.  As these 
regulations are unnecessary, their repeal will result in no 
disadvantage to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (department) proposes to repeal 
23 VAC 10-115-30 (Imposition of tax), 23 VAC 10-115-120 

(Place of filing), and 23 VAC 10-115-130 (Extension of time 
for filing returns) of these regulations. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  23 VAC 10-115-30 of these 
regulations addresses the tax on the Virginia taxable income 
for each taxable year of estates and trusts.  The tax rates in the 
regulation are identical to the tax rates listed in Code of 
Virginia § 58.1-320, except for taxable income in excess of 
$12,000 but not in excess of $17,000.  The tax rate for this 
range of taxable income is lower in the Code than in the 
regulation.  When there is a conflict between the Code of 
Virginia and regulations, the Code of Virginia applies.  Thus, 
eliminating this regulation section will not change applicable 
tax rates.  The repeal will be beneficial nonetheless since the 
current contradictory information is misleading. 

23 VAC 10-115-120 (Place of filing) and 23 VAC 10-115-
130 (Extension of time for filing returns) of these regulations 
are essentially identical in meaning to Code § 58.1-382 and 
§ 58.1-383, respectively.  Repealing 23 VAC 10-115-120 and 
23 VAC 10-115-130 will therefore have no impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not significantly 
affect the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not significantly affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
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regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, 
these regulations are being repealed.  Repeal of these 
regulations does not reflect a change in existing 
departmental policy. 

23 VAC 10-115-30. Imposition of tax. (Repealed.) 

A tax is hereby annually imposed, at the following rates, on 
the Virginia taxable income for each taxable year of every 
estate and trust:  

Va. Taxable Income               Tax Rate 
$    0 - $ 3,000                  2% 
$3,001 - $ 5,000      $ 60 + 3% of excess over $3,000 
$5,001 - $12,000     $120 + 5% of excess over $5,000 
Over $12,000          $470 + 5.75% of excess over $12,000 

23 VAC 10-115-120. Place of filing. (Repealed.) 

Every fiduciary required to file a return on behalf of an estate 
or trust must file such return with the commissioner of the 
revenue having jurisdiction in the county or city in which the 
fiduciary qualified or, if there has been no qualification in 
Virginia, in the county or city in which such fiduciary resides, 
does business or has an office or wherein the beneficiary or 
any of them may reside. 

23 VAC 10-115-130. Extension of time for filing returns. 
(Repealed.) 

The provisions of § 58.1-344 of the Code of Virginia will 
apply to the extension of time for filing returns by a fiduciary 
on behalf of an estate or trust. See also Individual Income Tax 
Regulations, 23 VAC 10-110-270. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-39; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:30 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-140. Income Tax 
Withholding (repealing 23 VAC 10-140-20, 23 VAC 10-
140-30, 23 VAC 10-140-80, 23 VAC 10-140-90, 23 VAC 
10-140-120, 23 VAC 10-140-140 through 23 VAC 10-140-
180, 23 VAC 10-140-210, 23 VAC 10-140-220 and 23 VAC 
10-140-240 through 23 VAC 10-140-270). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, these 
regulations are being repealed.  As these regulations are 
unnecessary, their repeal will have no effect on the health, 
safety and welfare of citizens.  Repeal of these regulations 
does not reflect a change in existing departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are unnecessary, their repeal is not expected to 
be controversial. 

Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal selected Income 
Tax Withholding Regulations. 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department’s administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating unnecessary regulations.  As these 
regulations are unnecessary, their repeal will result in no 
disadvantage to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (department) proposes to repeal 
numerous sections of these regulations. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 
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Estimated Economic Impact.  The department proposes to 
repeal 23 VAC 10-140-20, 23 VAC 10-140-30, 23 VAC 10-
140-80, 23 VAC 10-140-90, 23 VAC 10-140-120, 23 VAC 
10-140-140, 23 VAC 10-140-150, 23 VAC 10-140-160, 
23 VAC 10-140-170, 23 VAC 10-140-180, 23 VAC 10-140-
210, 23 VAC 10-140-220, 23 VAC 10-140-250, 23 VAC 10-
140-260 and 23 VAC 10-140-270 of these regulations.  
23 VAC 10-140-120, 23 VAC 10-140-260 and 23 VAC 10-
140-270 were "reserved" and had no content.  Thus repealing 
23 VAC 10-140-120, 23 VAC 10-140-260 and 23 VAC 10-
140-270 will have no impact. 

Regulation 23 VAC 10-140-20, 23 VAC 10-140-30, 23 VAC 
10-140-80, 23 VAC 10-140-90, 23 VAC 10-140-140, 
23 VAC 10-140-150, 23 VAC 10-140-170, 23 VAC 10-140-
180, 23 VAC 10-140-210, 23 VAC 10-140-220 and 23 VAC 
10-140-250 pertain to Code of Virginia Sections 58.1-461, 
58.1-462, 58.1-467, 58.1-468, 58.1-473, 58.1-474, 58.1-476, 
58.1-477, 58.1-480, 58.1-481, 58.1-484, respectively.   None 
of these regulation sections contain rules that either go 
beyond or contradict their respective related Code of Virginia 
sections.  Repealing these regulation sections will therefore 
have no impact.   

23 VAC 10-140-160 addresses the penalty rates for 
employers who are required to deduct and withhold from 
wages and make returns and payments to the Tax 
Commissioner, but who fail to do so.  The penalty rates differ 
from those listed in Code of Virginia Section 58.1-475.  The 
penalty rates in the Code are higher.  When there is a conflict 
between the Code of Virginia and regulations, the Code of 
Virginia applies.  Thus the repealing of these regulations will 
not change penalty rates.  The repeal will be beneficial 
nonetheless since the current contradictory information is 
misleading. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not significantly 
affect the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not significantly affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 

regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, 
these regulations are being repealed.  Repeal of these 
regulations does not reflect a change in existing 
departmental policy. 

23 VAC 10-140-20. Requirement of withholding. 
(Repealed.) 

Every employer making payment of wages is required to 
deduct and withhold with respect to the wages of each 
employee for each payroll period the following amount (and 
on the assumption that an equal amount will be collected for 
each similar payroll period with respect to a similar amount 
of wages for each payroll period during an entire calendar 
year): An amount approximately equal to the Virginia income 
tax liability of such employee after allowing for the personal 
exemptions and standard deduction to which such employee 
could be entitled on the basis of his status during such payroll 
period and after allowing for any credit available to the 
employee as provided by § 58.1-332 of the Code of Virginia, 
but without allowing for any other deductions. In determining 
the amount to be deducted and withheld under these 
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regulations, the employer is permitted to compute wages to 
the nearest dollar.  

An employer shall not be required to deduct any amount upon 
a payment of wages to an employee if there is in effect with 
respect to such payment a withholding exemption certificate, 
in such form and containing such other information as the 
Commissioner may prescribe (currently Form VA-4a), 
furnished by the employee to the employer, certifying that the 
employee: (i) incurred no liability for Virginia income tax for 
his preceding taxable year; and (ii) anticipates that he will 
incur no liability for Virginia income tax for his current 
taxable year.  

23 VAC 10-140-30. Withholding tables. (Repealed.) 

The amount of tax to be withheld for each individual shall be 
based upon tables prepared and distributed by the 
Commissioner.  

Example: Employer A pays his employees every month. 
Employee Z, who is single and claimed one personal 
exemption on Form VA-4 filed with Employer A, earns an 
annual gross salary of $12,000, payable $1,000 per month. 
From each of Employee Z's monthly paychecks Employer A 
withholds Virginia income tax of $34.90, based on the 
monthly withholding table contained in the Employer Income 
Tax Withholding Instructions issued by the Department of 
Taxation.  

23 VAC 10-140-80. Failure of employer to withhold tax; 
payment by recipient of wages. (Repealed.) 

If an employer fails to deduct and withhold the tax under this 
chapter, and thereafter the income tax against which the 
withholding tax may be credited is paid, the employer will 
not be liable for the withholding tax. However, despite such 
payment of the withholding tax, the employer will still be 
liable for any penalties or additions to the tax otherwise 
applicable to the employer's failure to deduct and withhold.  

23 VAC 10-140-90. Failure of employer to pay over tax 
withheld. (Repealed.) 

If any employer deducts and withholds taxes from the 
compensation of an employee but fails to pay over the money 
so deducted and withheld to Virginia, such employee shall 
not be held liable for the payment of such taxes but shall be 
entitled to a credit for the moneys so deducted and withheld 
as if the same had been paid over by the employer as required 
by law. The burden of proving that such an employer 
deducted and lawfully withheld Virginia income tax shall rest 
upon the employee.  

23 VAC 10-140-120. [Reserved] (Repealed.) 

23 VAC 10-140-140. Jeopardy assessments. (Repealed.) 

If the Commissioner has reason to believe that the collection 
of moneys, required to be withheld by the employer, is in 
jeopardy, he may require the employer to make such return 

and pay to the Commissioner such amounts required to be 
withheld at any time the Commissioner may designate 
therefor after the time when such amounts should have been 
deducted from wages and withheld.  

23 VAC 10-140-150. Liability of employer for failure to 
withhold. (Repealed.) 

An employer shall be personally and individually liable for 
sums required to be withheld and paid to the Commissioner 
which the employer fails to withhold or pay. Any sum or 
sums withheld in accordance with the provisions of these 
regulations shall be deemed to be held in trust for the 
Commonwealth.  

23 VAC 10-140-160. Penalty for failure to withhold. 
(Repealed.) 

A. Any employer required under the provisions of this 
chapter to deduct and withhold from wages and make returns 
and payments of amounts withheld to the Commissioner, who 
fails to withhold such amounts, or to make such returns, or 
who fails to remit amounts collected to the Commissioner, or 
otherwise fails to remit to the Commissioner as required by 
these regulations, shall be subject to a penalty equal to 5% of 
the amount that should have been properly withheld and paid 
over to the Commissioner for each month or fraction thereof, 
until paid, not to exceed 25%. In no case shall the penalty be 
less than $10, even if no tax is due for the period for which 
the filing of such return was required.  

Interest at a rate determined in accordance with § 58.1-15 of 
the Code of Virginia, shall accrue on the tax until paid, or 
until an assessment is made, after which interest shall accrue 
as provided in § 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia. Such 
penalty and interest shall be assessed by the Commissioner 
and shall be collected by him in the same manner as the 
collection of taxes may be enforced under Title 58.1, Code of 
Virginia.  

Example: Employer W is a monthly filer and has a liability of 
$300 for the monthly period ending January 31, and $0 for 
the monthly period ending February 28. He files no returns 
until April 6. At that time he is liable for penalty and interest 
(assume an annual interest rate of 12%) as follows:  

Monthly period ending January 31                      
  (return due February 20; return filed               
  April 6)--$300 liability                                                       

Penalty--deemed to be 2 months late,                
at 5% per month             10% x $300 =  $30.00    
Interest--over a 45-day period between              
February 20 and April 6    1.5% x $300 =  $ 4.50    
                                                                       ------    
                                                                    $34.50    

Monthly period ending February 28                     
  (return due March 20; return filed                  
   April 6)--$0 liability                             
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  Penalty--deemed to be 1 month late                  
  at 5% per month, but 5% x $0 = $0,                  
  so $10 minimum penalty applies            $10.00    
  Interest--applied against $0 liability           0.00    
                                                                      ------    
                                                                    $10.00    
                                                                      ------    
                  Total as of April 6:                    $44.50    

B. Upon failure of any employer to pay over any amounts 
withheld or required to be withheld by the employer under 
this chapter, the Commissioner may make assessments and 
enforce the collection of such amounts, including penalties, 
by any legal process provided for the enforcement of the 
collection of taxes under Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

23 VAC 10-140-170. Continuation of employer liability 
until notice. (Repealed.) 

Once an employer has become liable to file a return of 
withholding, he must continue to file a return even though no 
tax has been withheld, until such time as he notifies the 
Commissioner, in writing, that he no longer has employees or 
that he is no longer required to file such returns. If an 
employer requests in writing that he be permitted to change 
from one filing status to another on the ground that his 
withholding liability has changed in dollar amount to the 
requirements of a different filing status, such change shall be 
permitted only at the beginning of a calendar year which is 
after the calendar year during which the request was made.  

23 VAC 10-140-180. Extensions. (Repealed.) 

The Commissioner may grant an employer a reasonable 
extension of time for filing any return under this chapter 
whenever in the Commissioner's judgment good cause exists. 
Whenever under the terms of such an extension the payment 
of any amount or amounts of money to the Commissioner by 
the employer is postponed for a longer period than 10 days 
from the time the same would be otherwise due and payable, 
the employer shall be charged with interest on such amount or 
amounts at a rate determined in accordance with § 58.1-15 of 
the Code of Virginia, from the time such amount or amounts 
were originally due and payable to the date of payment under 
the terms of the extension.  

23 VAC 10-140-210. Withheld amounts credited to 
individual taxpayer; withholding statement to be filed 
with return. (Repealed.) 

The amount deducted and withheld under this chapter during 
any calendar year from the wages of any individual shall be 
allowed to the recipient of the income as a credit against the 
individual income tax imposed for the taxable year beginning 
in such calendar year. If more than one taxable year begins in 
a calendar year, such amount shall be allowed as a credit 
against the tax for the last taxable year so beginning. As a 
prerequisite to obtaining such credit the individual taxpayer 
must file with his income tax return one copy of the 

withholding statement provided for by § 58.1-478 of the Code 
of Virginia.  

23 VAC 10-140-220. Withheld taxes not deductible in 
computing taxable income. (Repealed.) 

The tax deducted and withheld under this chapter shall not be 
allowed as a deduction either to the employer or to the 
recipient of the income in computing Virginia taxable 
income.  

23 VAC 10-140-240. Withholding state income taxes of 
federal employees by federal agencies. (Repealed.) 

Beginning January, 1983, federal civil service retirees who 
reside in Virginia are eligible to have Virginia income tax 
withheld from regular, recurring, monthly civil service 
annuity payments. The amount of withholding must be at 
least $5.00 and must be in whole dollar amounts. A retiree 
authorizes the amount of withholding by sending written 
notice to the Virginia Department of Taxation. The amount 
withheld can be changed or canceled at any time by the 
retiree's sending written notice to the department.  

State taxes can be withheld for only one state at a time and 
taxes can be withheld for no more than two states in any one 
calendar year. To change from one state to another, the retiree 
must first contact the old state to cancel his old request and 
contact the new state to request the new state to begin 
withholding.  

Amounts withheld under this provision are treated in the 
same manner as any other withholding. For example, any 
excess of withholding over liability for a taxable year can be 
refunded to a retiree only upon his filing an income tax return 
for such taxable year.  

23 VAC 10-140-250. Liability of employer for payment of 
tax required to be withheld. (Repealed.) 

The employer shall be liable for the payment to the 
Commissioner of the amounts required to be deducted and 
withheld under this chapter, whether or not the employer 
collects such amounts from the employee. An employer who 
has withheld and paid such amounts to the Commissioner is 
relieved of liability to any person for the amount of any such 
payment, and any excess of withholding over liability for a 
taxable year can be refunded to an employee only upon the 
employee's filing an income tax return for such taxable year.  

23 VAC 10-140-260. [Reserved] (Repealed.) 

23 VAC 10-140-270. [Reserved] (Repealed.) 
VA.R. Doc. No. R07-40; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:30 a.m. 
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Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-220. Aircraft Sales and 
Use Tax (repealing 23 VAC 10-220-80 and 23 VAC 10-
220-90). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, these 
regulations are being repealed.  As these regulations are 
unnecessary, their repeal will have no effect on the health, 
safety and welfare of citizens.  Repeal of these regulations 
does not reflect a change in existing departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are unnecessary, their repeal is not expected to 
be controversial. 

Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal two Aircraft 
Sales and Use Tax Regulations that address statutes that are 
clear and unambiguous. 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department's administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating unnecessary regulations.  As these 
regulations are unnecessary their repeal will result in no 
disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (department) proposes to repeal these 
regulations. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  The department proposes to 
repeal 23 VAC 10-220-80 and 23 VAC 10-220-90 of these 

regulations.  23 VAC 10-220-80 is repetitive of Code of 
Virginia § 58.1-1509.  Repealing 23 VAC 10-220-50 will 
have no impact. 

23 VAC 10-220-90 lists civil penalties for non-compliance 
with aircraft sales and use tax requirements. These include 
penalties for failing to make the return, failing to pay the tax, 
penalties for false or fraudulent return, and interest on unpaid 
taxes. However, the penalties in § 58.1-1510 of Code of 
Virginia are higher.  When there is a conflict between the 
Code of Virginia and regulations, the Code of Virginia 
applies.  Thus, the repealing of these regulations will not 
change penalties.  The repeal will be beneficial nonetheless 
since the current contradictory information is misleading. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not affect the use 
and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
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or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, 
these regulations are being repealed.  Repeal of these 
regulations does not reflect a change in existing 
departmental policy. 

23 VAC 10-220-80. Disposition of funds. (Repealed.) 

All funds collected under this chapter by the Commissioner 
will be paid forthwith into the State Treasury and the revenue 
derived from the collections, net of refunds, will be credited 
to the special fund created under § 5.1-51 of the Code of 
Virginia. The special fund is created for the purpose of the 
administration of the aviation laws, for the construction, 
maintenance and improvement of airports and landing fields 
and for the promotion of aviation in the interest of operators 
and in the interest of the public. 

23 VAC 10-220-90. Civil penalties. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally. When any person, firm or corporation fails to 
make any return or pay the full amount of tax due thereon or 
willfully files a false or fraudulent return with willful intent to 
defraud the state, penalties will be imposed. 

B. Failure to file or pay. When any person fails to file a return 
or pay the full amount of tax due thereon within thirty days 
from the time the aircraft was required to be licensed in 
Virginia, a specific penalty of five percent of the amount of 
unpaid tax will be added to the tax. An additional five percent 
penalty will be added to the tax for each additional thirty day 
period or fraction thereof during which the failure to file the 
return or pay the full amount of tax continues, such penalty 
not to exceed twenty-five percent in the aggregate. There is 
no minimum penalty. 

1. If the person fails to file a monthly return or pay the tax 
due in a timely manner and the Tax Commissioner is 
satisfied that such failure is due to providential or other 
good cause, the return may be accepted exclusive of 
penalties, but interest determined in accordance with 
§ 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia must be paid. Requests 
for waiver of penalty must be made in writing to the 
Department of Taxation and must include all pertinent facts 
to support the request. 

C. False or fraudulent return. Where willful intent exists to 
defraud the state of any tax due under this chapter, or in the 
case of willful failure to file a return with the intent to defraud 
the state of any such tax, a specific penalty of fifty percent of 
the amount of the proper tax will be assessed. It will be prima 
facie evidence of intent to defraud when a purchaser or user 
of an aircraft reports the sale price or current market value of 
his aircraft, as the case may be, at fifty percent or less of the 
actual amount. 

D. Collection of penalties. All penalties and interest imposed 
by this chapter will be payable by the dealer, purchaser or 
user of the aircraft and collectible by the Commissioner in the 
same manner as if they were a part of the tax imposed. 

E. Interest. Interest at a rate determined in accordance with 
§ 58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia on the unpaid amount of 
the tax will accrue from the original due date of the tax until 
the time of payment. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-41; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:31 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-230. Watercraft Sales and 
Use Tax (repealing 23 VAC 10-230-50). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the “Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department.”  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that have been made obsolete by changes in state 
or federal law.  As this regulation is obsolete, it is being 
repealed.  As this regulation is obsolete, its repeal will have 
no effect on the health, safety and welfare of citizens.  Repeal 
of this regulation does not reflect a change in existing 
departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulation 
being repealed is obsolete, its repeal is not expected to be 
controversial. 
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Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal this Watercraft 
Sales and Use Tax Regulation that is obsolete due to a 
statutory change. 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department’s administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating obsolete regulations that do not 
reflect the current law.  As these regulations are obsolete their 
repeal will result in no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (department) proposes to repeal the 
civil penalties section of these regulations. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  23 VAC 10-230-50 of these 
regulations addresses civil penalties when a person fails to 
file a return or pay the full amount of the tax due for the 
purchase of watercraft.  Code of Virginia § 58.1-1408 
addresses the same issue.  The penalty rates for failure to file 
a return or pay the full amount of the tax due for the purchase 
of watercraft are higher in the Code.  When there is a conflict 
between the Code of Virginia and regulations, the Code of 
Virginia applies.  Thus the repealing of these regulations will 
not change applicable penalty rates.  The repeal will be 
beneficial nonetheless since the current contradictory 
information is misleading. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not significantly 
affect the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not significantly affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 

analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that have been made obsolete by changes in 
state or federal law.  As these regulations are obsolete, 
they are being repealed.  Repeal of these regulations does 
not reflect a change in existing departmental policy. 

Effective July 1, 1991, the civil penalty for failure to pay 
the Watercraft Sales and Use Tax beyond the 30-day 
deadline increased from 5.0% of the tax amount to 6.0% 
(1991 Acts, Chapters 316, 331).  This regulatory action 
will repeal this regulation that is obsolete due to the 
statutory change. 

23 VAC 10-230-50. Civil penalties. (Repealed.) 

A. Failure to file or pay. When any person fails to file a return 
or pay the full amount of tax due thereon within 30 days from 
the time the watercraft was purchased in Virginia or required 
to be titled in Virginia, a specific penalty of 5.0% of the 
amount of unpaid tax will be added to the tax. An additional 
5.0% penalty will be added to the tax for each additional 30 
day period or fraction thereof during which the failure to file 
the return or pay the full amount of tax continues, such 
penalty not to exceed 25% in the aggregate. There is no 
minimum penalty.  

As to a purchaser of watercraft from a dealer authorized by 
the Commissioner to collect the two percent tax on his 
taxable transfers, payment of the tax made in good faith by 
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the purchaser to the dealer shall be deemed payment to the 
Department of Taxation. Accordingly, a purchaser having 
made such tax payment in good faith will not be subject to 
penalty because of the dealer's delinquency in remitting such 
tax to the Department of Taxation. See 23 VAC 10-230-90 
for penalties applicable to dealers.  

B. False or fraudulent return. Where willful intent exists to 
defraud the state of any tax due under this chapter, or in the 
case of willful failure to file a return with the intent to defraud 
the state of any such tax, a specific penalty of 50% of the 
amount of the proper tax will be assessed. It will be prima 
facie evidence of intent to defraud when a purchaser or user 
of a watercraft reports the sale price or current market value 
of his watercraft, as the case may be, at 50% or less of the 
actual amount.  

C. Collection of penalties. All penalties and interest imposed 
by this chapter will be payable by the purchaser or user of the 
watercraft and collectible by the Commissioner in the same 
manner as if they were a part of the tax imposed.  

D. Interest. Interest at a rate determined in accordance with § 
58.1-15 of the Code of Virginia on the unpaid amount of the 
tax will accrue from the day after the original due date until 
the time of payment.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-42; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:31 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-310. Tax on Wills and 
Administration (repealing 23 VAC 10-310-10 and 23 VAC 
10-310-40). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, these 
regulations are being repealed.  As these regulations are 
unnecessary, their repeal will have no effect on the health, 

safety and welfare of citizens.  Repeal of these regulations 
does not reflect a change in existing departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are unnecessary, their repeal is not expected to 
be controversial. 

Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal two sections of 
the Tax on Wills and Administration Regulation: 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department’s administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating unnecessary regulations.  As these 
regulations are unnecessary, their repeal will result in no 
disadvantage to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (department) proposes to repeal 
Sections 10 (Preface) and 40 (Filing of return) of these 
regulations. 

Result of Analysis.  The proposed amendments are not likely 
to have any significant impact.   

Estimated Economic Impact.  23 VAC 10-310-10 (Preface) of 
these regulations describes information pertaining to Code of 
Virginia §§ 58.1-1712 and 58.1-1713, while 23 VAC 10-310-
40 (Filing of return) describes information pertaining to Code 
of Virginia § 58.1-1714. Neither 23 VAC 10-310-10 nor 
23 VAC 10-310-40 contain text that is significantly different 
in meaning from text in the Code.  Thus, repeal of these 
sections will produce no significant impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not affect the use 
and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
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analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, 
these regulations are being repealed.  Repeal of these 
regulations does not reflect a change in existing 
departmental policy. 

23 VAC 10-310-10. Preface. (Repealed.) 

The tax is on the privilege of submitting a will for probate or 
requesting a grant of administration. It is measured by the 
decedent's gross estate, within the Commonwealth's 
jurisdiction, passing by will or intestacy. It is imposed as a 
precedent to qualification of a personal representative.  

23 VAC 10-310-40. Filing of return. (Repealed.) 

The return is to be filed by the person submitting the will for 
probate or requesting the grant of administration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-43; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:29 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-350. Forest Products Tax 
Regulations (repealing 23 VAC 10-350-50, 23 VAC 10-
350-60, 23 VAC 10-350-90 and 23 VAC 10-350-100). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that have been made obsolete by changes in state 
or federal law.  As these regulations are obsolete, they are 
being repealed.  As these regulations are obsolete, their repeal 
will have no effect on the health, safety and welfare of 
citizens.  Repeal of these regulations does not reflect a change 
in existing departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are obsolete, their repeal is not expected to be 
controversial. 

Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal four Forest 
Products Tax Regulations that are obsolete due to a statutory 
change. 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department’s administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating obsolete regulations that do not 
reflect the current law.  As these regulations are obsolete their 
repeal will result in no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (TAX) proposes to repeal 23 VAC 
10-350-50, 23 VAC 10-350-60, 23 VAC 10-350-90, and 
23 VAC 10-350-100 of the Forest Product Tax Regulations 
(23 VAC 10-350). These sections do not address changes in 
the statutes and have been obsolete.  

Result of Analysis.  The proposed repeals are not likely to 
have any significant impact 

Estimated Economic Impact.  TAX proposes to repeal 
23 VAC 10-350-50, 23 VAC 10-350-60, 23 VAC 10-350-90, 
and 23 VAC 10-350-100 of the existing Forest Product Tax 
Regulations (23 VAC 10-350) that do not address the 
previous statutory changes. 
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House Bill 657 passed by the 1998 General Assembly 
provided an alternative method of paying the forest products 
tax based on weight. Previously, the tax was based on various 
volume measurements, such as board footage, cords, number 
of pieces, bundle size, etc. 23 VAC 10-350-50 and 23 VAC 
10-350-60 of the existing Forest Product Tax Regulations 
(23 VAC 10-350) do not address this alternative method, 
rendering these sections obsolete.  

House Bill 657 passed by the 1998 General Assembly also 
changed the method used by the State Forester in determining 
the revenues to be collected from the tax each biennium from 
an estimate of future revenues to the actual past revenues 
collected. At the election of the taxpayer, the amounts 
credited to the Reforestation of Timberlands State Fund may 
be based on weight.  23 VAC 10-350-90 and 23 VAC 10-
350-100 of the existing Forest Product Tax Regulations (23 
VAC 10-350) do not address these changes and have been 
obsolete.  

Repeals of these obsolete regulations do not reflect a change 
in existing TAX policy and will likely not have any 
significant impact.  

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not significantly 
affect the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not significantly affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-

4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that were made obsolete by changes in state or 
federal law.  Chapter 420 of the 1998 Acts of Assembly 
provided alternative methods for the computation of the 
Forest Products Tax. As these regulations are obsolete, 
they are being repealed.  Repeal of these regulations does 
not reflect a change in existing departmental policy.  

23 VAC 10-350-50 and 23 VAC 10-350-60 do not address 
an alternative method for computing the Forest Products 
Tax authorized by Chapter 420, rendering the existing 
regulations obsolete. 

23 VAC 10-350-90 and 23 VAC 10-350-100 are silent 
regarding a modified standard, created by Chapter 420, for 
calculating the General Fund appropriation for 
reforestation, from estimated tax collections to actual tax 
collections, rendering the existing regulations obsolete. 

23 VAC 10-350-50. Tax rates. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally. The rates herein set forth are effective July 1, 
1984, and shall continue, unless subsequently amended, until 
July 1, 1990.  

B. Tax rates. The statutory classifications of forest products 
and the tax rates imposed thereon are set forth below:  

                 Kind of Products                 Tax Rates         
 1.   Lumber in various sizes,               a.  Pine--$1.15 per        
      and forms including                      1000 feet board        
      railroad switch ties,                       measure                
      bridge timber and:                                                       
      dimension stock                            b.  Hardwood, cypress, 
                                                            and other species--    
                                                            22 1/2¢ per 1000  
                                                            feet board measure    
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 2.   Logs:                                                                    
      Note: Applicable only to                a.  Pine--$1.15 per 
      timber sold as logs and not             1000 feet log          
      converted into lumber                     scale, Inter-          
      or other products in this state          national 1/4           
                                                       Kerf Rule              

                                                       b. Other Species--     
                                                       22 1/2¢ per       
                                                       1000 feet log          
                                                       scale, international   
                                                       1/4  Kerf Rule         
                                                                        

 3.   Veneer Logs:                           a.  Pine--$1.15 per        
                                                        1000 board feet        
                                                        log scale, Inter-      
                                                        national 1/4           
                                                        Kerf Rule              

                                                        b. Other Species--        
                                                        22 1/2¢ per 1000  
                                                        board feet log scale,  
                                                        International 1/4      
                                                        Kerf Rule              

4. Pulpwood, excelsior wood,        a. Pine--47 1/2¢ 
chemical wood, wood, bolts and    per standard cord 
billets, fuel wood, and other 
other products customarily sold by the cord: of 128 cubic feet 
      cord:                                      b. Other Species--11 1/4¢  
                                                     per standard           
                                                     cord of 128 cubic      
                                                     feet                   
                                                                      

5. Chips manufactured from        a.  Pine--0.986¢ per 
round wood and customarily        100 lbs 
sold by the pound: 
                                                    b.  Other Species--        
                                                    0.234¢ per 100 lbs.        

 6.   Railroad crossties                 a.  Pine--3.8¢ per    
                                                     piece                  
                                                    b.  Other Species--1¢ 
                                                    per piece              

7. Posts, and mine ties, mine props,     a. Pine-4'length or 
round mine collars and other types       less, 38¢ per     
of timber used in connection with          100 pieces             
mining and ordinarily sold by the :        b. Other Species--4'  
piece                                                       length or less, 9¢ 
                                                                per 100 pieces  

                                                        c.  Pine--over 4' but not  
                                                        over 8', 61 3/4¢  
                                                        per 100 pieces         

                                                        d.  Other Species--over    
                                                        4' but not over 8',    

                                                        14 1/4¢ per 100   
                                                        pieces                 

                                                        e.  Pine--over 8', 76¢ 
                                                        per 100 pieces         

                                                        f.  Other Species--over    
                                                        8', 18¢ per 100   
                                                        pieces                 

Taxpayer may elect to pay             g. Pine--$1.045 per 
taxes on products in this item          
as follows:                                       1000 lineal ft. 

                                                         h.  Other Species--        
                                                         24 3/4¢ per 1000  
                                                        lineal ft.             
 8.   Piling and poles of all types:   2.31% invoice value 
                                                       f.o.b. loading point     

 9.   Keg staves:                              a.  Pine--3.8¢ per    
                                                       standard 400 inch bundle 

                                                       b.  Other Species--        
                                                       1 1/2¢ per standard 
                                                       400 inch bundle        

      Keg heads:                            c.  Pine--11 1/2¢ per 
                                                    100 heads              

                                                    d.  Other Species--        
                                                    4 1/2¢ per 100 heads    

      Tight cooperage:                   e.  4 1/2¢ per        
                                                    100 staves             

      Tight cooperage:                       f.  9¢ per 100 heads  
10. Any other type of forest           The Tax Commissioner 
products not above enumerated:     shall determine a fair 
                                                         unit tax rate, based on    
                                                        the cubic foot wood        
                                                        volume relationship        
                                                        between the product and    
                                                        the cubic foot volume      
                                                        of 1000 feet board         
                                                        measure of pine when       
                                                        the product is pine or     
                                                        on the unit rate of        
                                                      hardwood lumber when       
                                                       the product is a           
                                                       species other than         
                                                       pine.                      

11. Annual tax for small  of           a. 300,000 to 500,000 
manufacturers of rough lumber:     board feet--$460.      

                                                         b. less than 300,000      
                                                         board feet--$230.      

Note: The above alternative rates are applicable only in the 
event that the General Assembly fails to appropriate Forest 
Products Tax revenue for reforestation of pine timberland 
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activity. In such event, notification of applicable rates will be 
provided by the Department of Taxation.  

23 VAC 10-350-60. Alternative for rates. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally. The contingent alternative rates are set out for 
information purposes only. In the event the General 
Assembly fails to appropriate from the state's general fund an 
amount which at least equals the revenue estimated to be 
collected from the pine reforestation program, the alternative 
rates shall be imposed in lieu of the tax rates in 23VAC10-
350-50.  

B. Alternative rates. (For information purposes only)  

             Kind of Products                        Tax Rates          
 :                                             b.  Hardwood, cypress, and  
                                                other species--22 1/2¢  
                                                per 1000 feet           
                                                board measure           

 2. Logs:                                 a. Pine--15¢ per 1000      
      Note: Applicable only to timber         feet log scale,         
      sold as logs and not converted            International 1/4      
      into lumber or other products             Kerf Rule               
      in this state.                                                    

                                                b. Other species--22 1/2¢  
                                                per 1000 feet           
                                                log scale,              
                                                International 1/4      
                                                Kerf Rule               

 3. Veneer Logs:                   a. Pine--15¢ per 1000      
                                                board feet log scale,   
                                                International 1/4      
                                                Kerf Rule               

                                                b. Other Species--22 1/2¢  
                                                per 1000 board          
                                                feet log scale,         
                                                International 1/4      
                                                Kerf Rule               

 4. Pulpwood, excelsior wood,            a. Pine--7 1/2¢ per   
      chemical wood, bolts and              standard cord of 128 
      billets, fuel wood, and                   cubic feet              
      other products customarily                                        
      sold by the cord:       

                                                      b. Other species--11 1/4¢  
                                                      per standard            
                                                      cord of 128 cubic feet  

 5. Chips manufactured from round   a. Pine--0.156¢ per   
      wood and customarily sold by     100 lbs.                
      the pound:                            b. Other Species--0.234¢   
                                                   per 100 lbs.            

 6. Railroad crossties:             a. Pine-- 1/2¢ per piece   

                                                b. Other Species--1¢   
                                                per piece               

 7.   Posts, and mine ties, mine props,      a.  Pine--4' length or 
      round mine collars and other types     less, 6¢ per 100  
      of timber used in connection with      pieces                  
      mining and ordinarily sold by the                                 
      piece:                                 b. Other Species--4'   
                                                length or less, 9¢      
                                                per 100 pieces          

                                                c. Pine--over 4' but not   
                                                over 8', 9 3/4¢         
                                                per 100 pieces          

                                                d. Other Species--over 4'  
                                                but not over 8',        
                                               14 1/4¢ per 100         
                                                pieces                  

                                                e. Pine--over 8', 12¢      
                                                per 100 pieces          

                                                f. Other Species--over 8', 
                                                18¢ per 100             
                                                pieces                  
      Taxpayer may elect to pass taxes     g. Pine--16 1/2¢ per 
      on products in this item as follows:  1000 lineal ft.         

                                                h. Other Species--24 3/4¢  
                                                per 1000 lineal         
                                                ft.                     
 8. Piling and poles of all types:    286% invoice value         
                                                      f.o.b. loading point        

 9. Keg staves:                         a. Pine--1 1/2¢ per        
                                                standard 400 inch       
                                                bundle                  

                                                b. Other Species--1 1/2¢   
                                                per standard 400        
                                                inch bundle             

      Keg heads:                        c.  Pine--4 1/2¢ per        
                                                100 heads               

                                               d. Other Species--4 1/2¢   
                                               per 100 heads           

      Tight cooperage:              e. 4 1/2¢ per 100          
                                                staves                  

      Tight cooperage:              f. 9¢ per 100 heads        

10. Any other type of forest             The Tax Commissioner 
products not above enumerated:       shall determine a fair  
                                                           unit tax rate, based 
                                                           on the cubic foot wood 
                                                           volume relationship 
                                                           between the product and 
                                                           the cubic foot volume of 
                                                          1000 feet board measure 
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                                                          of pine lumber when the 
                                                          product is pine or on the  
                                                          unit rate of hardwood       
                                                          lumber when the product 
                                                          is a species other than     
                                                           pine.        

11. Annual tax for small                  a. 300,000 to 500,000 
  manufacturers of rough lumber     board feet--$60.     

                                                         b. less than 300,000       
                                                         board feet--$30. 

Note: The above alternative rates are applicable only in the 
event that the General Assembly fails to appropriate Forest 
Products Tax revenue for reforestation of pine timberland 
activity. In such event, notification of applicable rates will be 
provided by the Department of Taxation.  

23 VAC 10-350-90. Payment, collection and disposition of 
tax. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally. The tax imposed upon forest products is 
payable to the Department of Taxation by the manufacturer or 
shipper as defined by 23 VAC 10-350-20. The tax is payable 
quarterly except by a manufacturer or severer who qualifies 
and elects to pay an annual tax under the alternative 
provisions of 23 VAC 10-350-70. 

B. Disposition of tax. The tax collected by the Department of 
Taxation shall be paid into the State Treasury and the specific 
amounts as listed below for pine shall be credited to a special 
fund titled "Reforestation of Timberlands State Fund," and 
shall be used for reforesting the privately owned pine 
timberlands of the state. The remainder of the tax as regulated 
in 23 VAC 10-350-50 shall be credited by the Comptroller to 
the "Protection and Development of Forest Resources of the 
State Fund." Taxes credited as special revenues for protection 
and development of forest resources shall be used for the 
purpose of raising, planting and propagating seedling trees, 
both hardwood and softwood. In addition, the protection and 
development funds will be used for forest fire protection, 
forestry education of the public in the use of forest harvesting 
methods, and rendering forestry service to the timber 
landowners of the state.  

The proceeds of the tax imposed by § 58.1-602 of the Code of 
Virginia which are used in pine reforestation of timberlands 
are as follows:  

Kind of Pine Products                   Tax Rates           
Pine lumber                                   $1.00 per 1000 feet board  
                                                       measure                       

Pine Logs                                  $1.00 per 1000 board feet,    
NOTE: Applicable only to the timber International 1/4 Kerf R
ule 
sold as logs and not converted into                                
lumber or other products in this                                   
state.                                                             

Pine veneer logs              $1.00 per 1000 board feet     
                                        scale, International 1/4     
                                        Kerf Rule.                    

Pine pulpwood, excelsior wood,     40¢ per standard cord 
chemical wood, bolts or billets,     of 128 cubic feet             
fuel wood, and other products                                      
customarily sold by the cord.                                      

Pine chips manufactured from         .83¢ per 100 pounds       
round wood and customarily                                         
sold by the pound.                                                 

Pine railroad crossties                 3.3¢ per piece                

Pine posts, and mine ties, mine      4' length or less, 32¢        
props, round mine collars and other per 100 pieces, over 4' but 
types of timber used in connection not over 8', 52¢ per 100  
with mining and ordinarily sold      pieces, over 8, 64¢ per      
by the piece                          100 pieces or 88¢ per         
                                             1000 lineal feet              

Pine piling and poles           2.02% invoice value f.o.b.    
                                             loading out point             
Pine keg staves                    3.3¢ per standard 400         
                                             inch bundle                   

Pine keg heads                     10¢ per 100 heads             

Any other type of pine forest        A proportionate amount     
products not above enumerated:     between tax paid per item 
as in 23VAC10-350-50 and  the rate per item above.      

23 VAC 10-350-100. Alternative payment, collection and 
disposition of tax. (Repealed.)  

A. Generally. The alternative tax imposed upon forest 
products is payable to the Department of Taxation in the same 
manner as the tax regulated in 23 VAC 10-350-90.  

B. Disposition of alternative tax. The tax collected by the 
Department of Taxation shall be paid into the State Treasury 
and credited to a special fund titled "Protection and 
Development of Forest Resources of the State Fund." Taxes 
credited as special revenues for protection and development 
of forest revenues will be used for the purpose of raising, 
planting, and propagating seedling trees, both hardwood and 
softwood. In addition, the protection and development funds 
will be used for forest fire protection, forestry education of 
the public in the use of forest harvesting methods, and 
rendering forestry service to timber landowners by the state.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-44; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:31 a.m. 
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Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-360. Litter Tax 
Regulations (Repealed). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, these 
regulations are being repealed.  As these regulations are 
unnecessary, their repeal will have no effect on the health, 
safety and welfare of citizens.  Repeal of these regulations 
does not reflect a change in existing departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are unnecessary, their repeal is not expected to 
be controversial. 

Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal Virginia’s 
Litter Tax Regulations. 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department’s administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating unnecessary regulations.  As these 
regulations are unnecessary, their repeal will result in no 
disadvantage to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (TAX) proposes to repeal the Litter 
Tax Regulations (23 VAC 10-360-10) that provide no 
additional guidance to clear and unambiguous statutes 
(Virginia Code Section 58.1-1706). 

Result of Analysis.  The proposed amendments are not likely 
to have any significant impact. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  The current Litter Tax 
Regulations (23 VAC 10-360-10) address the statutory 

languages in the Virginia Code Section 58.1-1706 that are 
clear and unambiguous. Since the current regulations provide 
no additional guidance to the statutes, TAX proposes to 
repeal these regulations. Repeal of these unnecessary 
regulations does not reflect a change in existing TAX policy 
and will likely not have any significant impact.  

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not significantly 
affect the use and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not significantly affect small 
businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not significantly affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
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the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, 
these regulations are being repealed.  Repeal of these 
regulations does not reflect a change in existing 
departmental policy. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-45; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:30 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-370. Cigarette Tax 
Regulations (repealing 23 VAC 10-370-50, 23 VAC 10-
370-60, and 23 VAC 10-370-150). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that have been made obsolete by changes in state 
or federal law.  As these regulations are obsolete, they are 
being repealed and their repeal will have no effect on the 
health, safety or welfare of the public.  Repeal of these 
regulations does not reflect a change in existing departmental 
policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are obsolete, their repeal is not expected to be 
controversial. 

Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal the following 
sections of the cigarette tax regulations: 

23 VAC 10-370-50 Retail dealers receiving cigarettes from 
outside state to mail duplicate invoice to department; penalty 

23 VAC 10-370-60 Duties of carriers, etc., transporting 
cigarettes; penalty 

23 VAC 10-370-150 Permits required for transporting or 
distributing cigarettes; penalty 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department’s administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating obsolete regulations that do not 
reflect the current law.  As these regulations are obsolete their 
repeal will result in no disadvantages to the public or the 
Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (department) proposes to repeal 
23 VAC 10-370-50 (Retail dealers receiving cigarettes from 
outside state to mail duplicate invoice to department; 
penalty), 23 VAC 10-370-60 (Duties of carriers, etc., 
transporting cigarettes; penalty), and 23 VAC 10-370-150 
(Permits required for transporting or distributing cigarettes; 
penalty) of these regulations. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  The 2004 Virginia Acts of 
Assembly, Chapter 1029 repealed Code of Virginia §§ 58.1-
1004, 58.1-1005 and 58.1-1014.  23 VAC 10-370-50, 
23 VAC 10-370-60, and 23 VAC 10-370-150 of these 
regulations are interpretations of the formally existing Code 
§§ 58.1-1004, 58.1-1005 and 58.1-1014, respectively.  As a 
consequence of the repeal of the above mentioned Code 
sections, these regulations are obsolete and do not reflect 
current department policy.  Thus, repeal of these regulations 
will have no impact other than perhaps to prevent confusion 
for those who find and read the regulations.  

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not affect the use 
and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
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Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that have been made obsolete by changes in 
state or federal law.  As these regulations are obsolete, 
they are being repealed.  Repeal of these regulations does 
not reflect a change in existing departmental policy.  
Chapter 1029 of the 2004 Acts of Assembly repealed 
§§ 58.1-1004, 58.1-1005 and 58.1-1014 of the Code of 
Virginia, which were interpreted by the regulations being 
repealed. 

23 VAC 10-370-50. Retail dealers receiving cigarettes 
from outside state to mail duplicate invoice to 
department; penalty. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally. Any retail dealer purchasing or receiving 
unstamped cigarettes from without Virginia shall mail, by 
registered mail, a duplicate invoice for such purchase or 
receipt to the Department.  

1. The duplicate invoice shall be required regardless of 
whether such cigarettes have been ordered or purchased 
through a wholesaler in this State, received by drop 
shipment or otherwise.  

2. The duplicate invoice shall be mailed to the Department 
of Taxation within twelve hours of receipt of such out of 
state cigarettes.  

3. The invoice shall contain the following information: (a) 
the name of the person from whom or through whom the 
purchase or shipment of the cigarettes was received, (b) 
kinds and quantities of cigarettes purchased or shipped.  

B. Penalty for failure to comply. Any retail dealer who fails 
or refuses to furnish duplicate invoices for out of state 
purchases or receipt of cigarettes, in both manner and time 
allowed, shall be, upon conviction, guilty of a Class 2 
misdemeanor.  

23 VAC 10-370-60. Duties of carriers, etc., transporting 
cigarettes; penalty. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally. All commercial transporters of cigarettes shall 
maintain a statement or record of all consignments or 
deliveries of cigarettes.  

Such statement or record shall show date, point of origin, 
point of delivery, to whom delivered, and the time of 
delivery.  

B. Periodic statement of consignments or deliveries. The 
Department of Taxation may request transporters of cigarettes 
to report such information relative to the transportation of 
cigarettes.  

C. Penalty for failure to comply. Any person who fails to 
maintain the statements or records required by this section or 
refuses to transmit to the Department of Taxation the 
statements requested on the transportation of cigarettes shall 
be, upon conviction, guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor.  

23 VAC 10-370-150. Permits required for transporting or 
distributing cigarettes; penalty. (Repealed.) 

A. Generally. Any person who is not properly licensed to 
purchase and stamp cigarettes as regulated in 23 VAC 10-
370-120 may be required to secure a permit or other 
authorization from the Department before transporting or 
distributing cigarettes in or through Virginia.  

1. A permit may be required for each vehicle used in 
transporting cigarettes.  

2. Prior to receiving the permit, the applicant must furnish 
to the Department the nature of his business, the names of 
each county or city where he desires to transport or 
distribute cigarettes.  

3. Such permit, when issued, must be conspicuously 
displayed on the vehicle for which it is specifically issued. 
Failure to properly display the permit is a violation of the 
requirements of this section.  

4. Upon application, duplicate permit cards will be issued 
to replace lost or damaged permits.  

B. Interstate transportation of cigarettes. The permit for 
transporting cigarettes through Virginia in interstate 
commerce may not be required when such transportation is 
done by a common carrier or by a vehicle owned and 
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operated by a manufacturer of cigarettes, so long as the driver 
of the vehicle has in his possession full documentation as to 
the nature and identity of the shipment. Full documentation 
includes, but is not limited to, bill of lading, transfer sheets, 
and shipping documents.  

C. Penalty for failure to obtain permit to transport or 
distribute cigarettes. Any person, required to obtain a permit, 
found transporting or distributing cigarettes without first 
obtaining such permit shall be, upon conviction, guilty of a 
Class 1 misdemeanor.  

D. Revocation of permit for transporting or distributing. The 
Department may revoke any issued permit if the practices of 
the person receiving the permit are deemed to jeopardize the 
collection of the tobacco tax.  

If a person's permit is revoked, no further permit shall be 
issued for six months. After such time, the Department must 
be satisfied that issuing another permit to such person is 
advisable.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-46; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:28 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 
Title of Regulation:  23 VAC 10-390. Virginia Soft Drink 
Excise Tax Regulations (repealing 23 VAC 10-390-10, 
23 VAC 10-390-30 and 23 VAC 10-390-50). 

Statutory Authority:  § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Date:  N/A -- Public comments may be 
submitted until 5 p.m. on January 26, 2007. 

(See Calendar of Events section 
for additional information) 

Effective Date:  February 10, 2007. 

Agency Contact:  Mark Haskins, Director, Policy 
Development, Department of Taxation, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 
371-2355, or email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

Basis:  Section 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia provides that 
the "Tax Commissioner shall have the power to issue 
regulations relating to the interpretation and enforcement of 
the laws of this Commonwealth governing taxes administered 
by the Department."  The authority for the current regulatory 
action is discretionary. 

Purpose:  As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, these 
regulations are being repealed.  As these regulations are 
unnecessary, their repeal will have no effect on the health, 
safety and welfare of citizens.  Repeal of these regulations 
does not reflect a change in existing departmental policy. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Process:  As the regulations 
being repealed are unnecessary, their repeal is not expected to 
be controversial. 

Substance:  This regulatory action will repeal selected Soft 
Drink Excise Tax Regulations. 

Issues:  This regulatory action will ease voluntary taxpayer 
compliance and the department’s administration of the state 
tax laws by eliminating unnecessary regulations.  As these 
regulations are unnecessary, their repeal will result in no 
disadvantage to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 
Analysis:   

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation.  The 
Department of Taxation (department) proposes to repeal these 
regulations. 

Result of Analysis.  The benefits likely exceed the costs for 
all proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact.  The department proposes to 
repeal 23 VAC 10-390-10, 23 VAC 10-390-30, and 23 VAC 
10-390-50 of these regulations.  23 VAC 10-390-10 was 
"reserved" and had no content.  Thus repealing 23 VAC 10-
390-10 will have no impact. 

23 VAC 10-390-30 lists taxes owed by wholesalers and 
distributors of carbonated soft drinks set by ranges of gross 
receipts.  The listed taxes owed by gross receipts in 23 VAC 
10-390-30 differ from the listed taxes owed by gross receipts 
in the Code of Virginia § 58.1-1702 for wholesalers and 
distributors who have soft drink receipts in excess of 
$10,000,000.  The tax rates in the Code of Virginia are 
higher.1  When there is a conflict between the Code of 
Virginia and regulations, the Code of Virginia applies.  Thus 
the repealing of these regulations will not change tax rates.  
The repeal will be beneficial nonetheless since the current 
contradictory information is misleading. 

23 VAC 10-390-50 is entirely repetitive of Code of Virginia 
§ 58.1-1704.  Repealing 23 VAC 10-390-50 will have no 
impact. 

Businesses and Entities Affected.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not significantly affect businesses and 
entities. 

Localities Particularly Affected.  No localities are particularly 
affected. 

Projected Impact on Employment.  The proposed repeal of 
these regulations will not affect employment. 

                                                           
1 The regulations set taxes owed at $6,000 for wholesalers and distributors with sales of 
soft drinks in excess of $10,000,000.  The Code of Virginia assesses $7,200 for gross 
receipts in excess of $10,000,000 but not above $25,000,000; $18,000,000 for gross 
receipts in excess of $25,000,000 but not above $50,000,000; and $33,000 for gross 
receipts in excess of $50,000,000. 
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property.  The 
proposed repeal of these regulations will not affect the use 
and value of private property. 

Small Businesses: Costs and Other Effects.  The proposed 
repeal of these regulations will not affect small businesses. 

Small Businesses: Alternative Method that Minimizes 
Adverse Impact.  The proposed repeal of these regulations 
will not affect small businesses. 

Legal mandate.  The Department of Planning and Budget 
(DPB) has analyzed the economic impact of this proposed 
regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4007 H of the 
Administrative Process Act and Executive Order Number 21 
(02).  Section 2.2-4007 H requires that such economic impact 
analyses include, but need not be limited to, the projected 
number of businesses or other entities to whom the regulation 
would apply, the identity of any localities and types of 
businesses or other entities particularly affected, the projected 
number of persons and employment positions to be affected, 
the projected costs to affected businesses or entities to 
implement or comply with the regulation, and the impact on 
the use and value of private property.  Further, if the proposed 
regulation has an adverse effect on small businesses, § 2.2-
4007 H requires that such economic impact analyses include 
(i) an identification and estimate of the number of small 
businesses subject to the regulation; (ii) the projected 
reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative costs 
required for small businesses to comply with the regulation, 
including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents; (iii) a 
statement of the probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses; and (iv) a description of any less intrusive 
or less costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of 
the regulation.  The analysis presented above represents 
DPB’s best estimate of these economic impacts. 

Agency's Response to the Department of Planning and 
Budget's Economic Impact Analysis:  The agency agrees with 
the Department of Planning and Budget’s economic impact 
analysis. 

Summary: 

As the result of a comprehensive review of all of its 
regulations, the department has identified numerous 
regulations that address statutes that are clear and 
unambiguous.  As they provide no additional guidance, 
these regulations are being repealed.  Repeal of these 
regulations does not reflect a change in existing 
departmental policy. 

23 VAC 10-390-10. [Reserved] (Repealed.) 

23 VAC 10-390-30. Tax levied. (Repealed.) 

A. In addition to all other taxes levied upon wholesalers or 
distributors of carbonated soft drinks, there is imposed an 
annual state soft drink excise tax.  

1. The tax is imposed on every wholesaler or distributor of 
carbonated soft drinks sold for consumption or use in 
Virginia.  

2. The tax is applicable to the gross receipts from all sales 
of carbonated soft drinks for consumption or use in 
Virginia regardless of the physical location of the business 
selling such soft drinks.  

3. The tax is imposed upon soft drinks only once and is 
imposed upon the first handler of such drinks who qualifies 
as a wholesaler or distributor as defined in 23VAC10-390-
20.  

B. The tax rate schedule applicable to the gross receipts from 
the wholesaler or distributor's sale of carbonated soft drinks is 
as follows:  

            Bracket of Gross Receipts                Tax 
            $100,000 or less                      $   50 
            100,001-250,000                         100 
            250,001-500,000                          250 
            500,001-1,000,000                        750 
            1,000,001-3,000,000                    1,500 
            3,000,001-5,000,000                    3,000 
            5,000,001-10,000,000                   4,500 
            10,000,001 and above                   6,000 

23 VAC 10-390-50. Tax segregated for state taxation. 
(Repealed.) 

The soft drink excise tax is segregated for Commonwealth 
taxation only and no county, city, town or other political 
subdivision of this Commonwealth shall impose a tax on such 
businesses measured by their gross receipts except for the tax 
authorized under Chapter 37, Title 58.1, Code of Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R07-47; Filed November 8, 2006, 10:32 a.m. 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) - Beaver Creek 
and Little Creek Watersheds 

The Department of Conservation and Recreation and the 
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) are seeking 
written and oral comments from interested persons on the 
development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 
implementation plan (IP) to address water quality 
impairments in the Beaver Creek and Little Creek watersheds.  
Little Creek was listed as impaired on Virginia’s 1998 303(d) 
Total Maximum Daily Load Priority List and Report due to 
violations of the state’s water quality standard for fecal 
coliform bacteria.  Beaver Creek was listed as impaired on 
Virginia’s Section 303(d) Total Maximum Daily Load and 
Priority List and Report 1998 and 2002 due to violations of 
the state’s water quality standards for fecal coliform bacteria 
and violations of the general standard (benthics). 

The impairments are as follows: Beaver Creek segment 
(13.46 miles) extends from the Route 611 bridge near the 
headwaters to the Tennessee state line.  Little Creek (4.81 
miles) segment consists of the mainstem from its headwaters 
to the Tennessee state line. Beaver Creek and Little Creek 
flow through the City of Bristol.  Total length of both 
impaired stream segments is 18.27 miles. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 
of the Code of Virginia requires DEQ to develop TMDLs for 
pollutants responsible for each impaired water body contained 
in Virginia’s 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report.  The 
TMDLs were completed and are available at 
www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 

Sections 62.1-44.19:7 A and 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of 
Virginia requires the development of an IP for approved 
TMDLs.  The IP should provide measurable goals and the 
date of expected achievement of water quality objectives.  
The IP should also include the corrective actions needed and 
their associated costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. 

A public meeting on the development of the TMDL IP for 
Beaver Creek and Little Creek will be held on Thursday, 
December 7, 2006, at 7 p.m. in the new Bristol Public 
Library.  The library is located on 701 Goode Street, Bristol, 
Virginia (276) 645-8780.  The purpose of the meeting is to 
discuss the proposed reductions needed in fecal bacteria and 
sediment and to present the draft IP. 

The public comment period for this phase of the IP 
development will end on January 12, 2007.  A fact sheet on 
the development of the Beaver Creek and Little Creek TMDL 
IP is available upon request or can be viewed on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl.  Questions or 
information requests should be addressed to Theresa Carter.  
Written comments should include the name, address, and 

telephone number of the person submitting the comments and 
should be sent to Theresa Carter, Department of Conservation 
and Recreation, 252 West Main Street, Ste. 3, Abingdon, VA 
24210, telephone (276) 676-5418, FAX (276) 676-5527 or 
email theresa.carter@dcr.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE DEAF AND HARD OF 
HEARING 

Notice of Periodic Review of Regulation 
The Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 
(VDDHH) invites public comment on 22 VAC 20-10, Public 
Participation Guidelines.  This review is being conducted 
under Executive Order 36 (2006).  The department welcomes 
written comments on the performance and effectiveness of 
this regulation in achieving the following goals: 

1. To protect public health, safety, and welfare with the 
least possible costs and intrusiveness to the citizens and 
businesses of the Commonwealth. 

2. To increase the number of Virginians who regularly 
receive information about VDDHH regulatory actions. 

The department also requests suggestions to improve the 
content and organization of the regulation to make it more 
understandable and useful to affected constituents. 

Copies of the regulation may be obtained from the 
department.  Written or faxed comments may be submitted 
through 5 p.m. on January 5, 2007.  Comments or questions 
should be sent to Leslie Hutcheson Prince, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard of 
Hearing, 1602 Rolling Hills Drive, Suite 203, Richmond, VA 
23229-5012, or via email to 
leslie.prince@vddhh.virginia.gov, or telephone (800) 552-
7917 (V/TTY). 

Notice of Periodic Review of Regulation 

The Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 
(VDDHH) invites public comment on 22 VAC 20-20, 
Regulations Governing Eligibility Standards and Application 
Procedures of the Distribution of Technological Assistive 
Devices.  This review is being conducted under Executive 
Order 36 (2006) The department welcomes written comments 
on the performance and effectiveness of this regulation in 
achieving the following goals: 

1. To protect public health, safety, and welfare with the 
least possible costs and intrusiveness to the citizens and 
businesses of the Commonwealth. 

2. To provide a program of technology assistance in which 
the financial contribution of program participants is based 
on clear economic guidelines. 
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3. To provide an application procedure for the program 
which requires minimal information needed to make a 
determination of eligibility. 

The department also requests suggestions to improve the 
content and organization of the regulation to make it more 
understandable and useful to affected constituents. 

Copies of the regulation may be obtained from the 
department.  Written or faxed comments may be submitted 
through 5 p.m. on January 5, 2007.  Comments or questions 
should be sent to Leslie Hutcheson Prince, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard of 
Hearing, 1602 Rolling Hills Drive, Suite 203, Richmond, VA 
23229-5012, or via email to 
leslie.prince@vddhh.virginia.gov, or telephone (800) 552-
7917 (V/TTY). 

Notice of Periodic Review of Regulation 

The Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing 
(VDDHH) invites public comment on 22 VAC 20-30, 
Regulations Governing Interpreter Services for the Deaf and 
Hard of Hearing.  This review is being conducted under 
Executive Order 36 (2006) The department welcomes written 
comments on the performance and effectiveness of this 
regulation in achieving the following goals: 

1. To protect public health, safety, and welfare with the 
least possible costs and intrusiveness to the citizens and 
businesses of the Commonwealth. 

2. To provide a mechanism that ensures that only Code-
defined qualified interpreters are listed in the Statewide 
Directory of Qualified Interpreters. 

3. To provide a framework for screening interpreters and 
transliterators that allows for maximum participation in a 
cost-effective manner. 

The department also requests suggestions to improve the 
content and organization of the regulation to make it more 
understandable and useful to affected constituents. 

Copies of the regulation may be obtained from the 
department.  Written or faxed comments may be submitted 
through 5 p.m. on January 5, 2007.  Comments or questions 
should be sent to Leslie Hutcheson Prince, Regulatory 
Coordinator, Virginia Department for the Deaf and Hard of 
Hearing, 1602 Rolling Hills Drive, Suite 203, Richmond, VA 
23229-5012, or via email to 
leslie.prince@vddhh.virginia.gov, or telephone (800) 552-
7917 (V/TTY). 

 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Study to Restore Water Quality in Lick Creek in 
Russell, Dickenson, and Wise Counties 

Public meeting location: Dante Lives On Community Center, 
off Route 63 in Dante, Virginia, on November 28, 2006, from 
7 p.m. to 9 p.m. 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy and the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation are announcing a 
study to restore water quality, a public comment opportunity, 
and public meeting. 

Meeting description: Final public meeting on a study to 
restore water quality. 

Description of study: DEQ is working to identify sources of 
pollutants affecting the aquatic organisms and sources of 
bacteria contamination in the waters of Lick Creek.  Lick 
Creek is in Russell County and flows along Route 63 to 
Clinch River near St. Paul, Virginia; tributaries are in Wise 
and Dickenson Counties. The "impaired" stream segments are 
estimated to be approximately 9.5 miles of Lick Creek, from 
the headwaters to the confluence with Clinch River, including 
Cigarette Hollow, Laurel Branch, and Right Fork. The stream 
is impaired for failing to meet the Aquatic Life Use based on 
violations of the general standard for aquatic organisms and 
failure to meet the recreational use because of fecal coliform 
bacteria violations, additionally 2006 data indicates violation 
of the E. coli standard. 

During the study, the pollutants impairing the aquatic 
community will be identified and total maximum daily loads, 
or TMDLs, developed for the impaired waters. A TMDL is 
the total amount of a pollutant a water body can contain and 
still meet water quality standards. DEQ will also determine 
the sources of bacteria contamination and develop a TMDL 
for bacteria.  To restore water quality, contamination levels 
must be reduced to the TMDL amount. 

How a decision is made: The development of a TMDL 
includes public meetings and a public comment period once 
the study report is drafted. After public comments have been 
considered and addressed, DEQ will submit the TMDL report 
to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for approval. 

How to comment:  DEQ accepts written comments by email, 
fax or postal mail. Written comments should include the 
name, address and telephone number of the person 
commenting and be received by DEQ during the comment 
period of November 28, 2006, to December 28, 2006. DEQ 
also accepts written and oral comments at the public meeting 
announced in this notice. 

To review fact sheets: Fact sheets are available on the 
impaired waters from the contacts below or on the DEQ 
website at www.deq.virginia.gov/tmdl. 
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Contact for additional information:  Allen J. Newman, P.E., 
Regional Water Permit Manager, Virginia Department of 
Environmental Quality-Southwest Regional Office, 355 
Deadmore Street, P.O. Box 1688, Abingdon, VA 24212-
1688, telephone (276) 676-4804, FAX (276) 676-4899, or 
email ajnewman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) - Looney Creek 
Watershed 

The Department of Conservation and Recreation and the 
Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) invite 
citizens to a public meeting to discuss the development of 
water quality implementation plan (IP) to address fecal 
bacteria impairments in the Looney Creek watershed. The 
Looney Creek watershed includes Mill Creek and Back Creek 
in Botetourt County.  Water quality monitoring indicates that 
bacteria levels in portions of the watershed violate Virginia’s 
water quality standards.  A total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) study for the impairments was approved by EPA in 
2004 and is available on DEQ’s website at 
www.deq.virginia.gov/TMDL.  The IP will identify ways to 
meet the pollution reductions outlined in the TMDL study. 

The public meeting to begin the development of the IP for the 
Looney Creek watershed will be held on Thursday, December 

7, 2006, at 7 p.m., Buchanan Elementary School, 225 
Schoolhouse Road, Buchanan, Virginia. 

The purpose of the meeting is to discuss the proposed 
reductions in bacteria needed in the Looney Creek watershed 
and to solicit public participation for the IP development. 

The IP will include the corrective actions needed to reduce 
bacteria and the associated costs, benefits and environmental 
impacts.  The IP will also provide measurable goals and a 
timeline of expected achievement of water quality objectives.  
A fact sheet on the development of the IP is available upon 
request. 

How to comment:  The public comment period on the IP will 
end on January 7, 2007.  Oral comments will be accepted and 
addressed at the public meeting.  Additional questions or 
information requests should be addressed to Jason Ericson.  
Written comments and inquires should include the name, 
address, and telephone number of the person submitting the 
comments and should be sent to Jason Ericson, Virginia 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 101 N. 14th 
Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
225-3389, FAX (804) 371-0771, or email 
jason.ericson@dcr.virginia.gov. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF FORENSIC SCIENCE 

Updated List of Approved Field Tests for Detection of Drugs 

In accordance with 6 VAC 40-30, the Regulations for the Approval of Field Tests for Detection of Drugs, and under the 
authority of the Code of Virginia, the following field tests for detection of drugs are approved field tests:  

O D V INCORPORATED 
13386 INTERNATIONAL PARKWAY 
JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA 32218-2383 

 

ODV NarcoPouch  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer’s Field Test:  

Heroin 902 – Marquis Reagent 
Amphetamine 902 – Marquis Reagent 
Methamphetamine 902 – Marquis Reagent 
3,4 – Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 902 – Marquis Reagent 
Cocaine Hydrochloride 904 or 904B – Cocaine HCl and Base Reagent 
Cocaine Base 904 or 904B – Cocaine HCl and Base Reagent 
Barbiturates 905 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 907 – Ehrlich’s (Modified) Reagent 
Marijuana 908 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Hashish Oil 908 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Marijuana 909 – K N Reagent 
Hashish Oil 909 – K N Reagent  
Phencyclidine (PCP) 914 – PCP Methaqualone Reagent 
Heroin 922 – Opiates Reagent 
Methamphetamine 923 – Methamphetamine/Ecstacy Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 923 – Methamphetamine/Ecstacy Reagent 
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Heroin 924 – Mecke’s (Modified) Reagent 
Diazepam 925 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 
Ketamine 925 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 
Ephedrine 927 – Ephedrine Reagent 
gamma – Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 928 – GHB Reagent 

ODV NarcoTest  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer’s Field Test:  

Heroin 7602 – Marquis Reagent 
Amphetamine 7602 – Marquis Reagent 
Methamphetamine 7602 – Marquis Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 7602 – Marquis Reagent 
Barbiturates 7605 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 7607 – Ehrlich’s (Modified) Reagent 
Marijuana 7608 – Duquenois Reagent 
Hashish Oil 7608 – Duquenois Reagent 
Marijuana 7609 – K N Reagent 
Hashish Oil 7609 – K N Reagent  
Cocaine Hydrochloride 7613 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 
Cocaine Base 7613 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 
Phencyclidine (PCP) 7614 – PCP Methaqualone Reagent 
Heroin 7622 – Opiates Reagent 
Methamphetamine 7623– Methamphetamine/Ecstacy Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 7623– Methamphetamine/Ecstacy Reagent 
Heroin 7624 – Mecke’s Reagent 
Diazepam 7625 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 
Ketamine 7625 – Valium/Ketamine Reagent 
Ephedrine 7627 – Chen’s Reagent - Ephedrine 
gamma – Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) 7628 – GHB Reagent 

SIRCHIE FINGERPRINT LABORATORIES 
100 HUNTER PLACE 
YOUNGSVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA 27596 

 

NARK  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer’s Field Test:  

Narcotic Alkaloids 1 – Mayer’s Reagent 
Heroin 1 – Mayer’s Reagent 
Morphine 1 – Mayer’s Reagent 
Amphetamine 1 – Mayer’s Reagent 
Methamphetamine 1 – Mayer’s Reagent 
Opium Alkaloids 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Heroin 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Morphine 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Amphetamine 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Methamphetamine 2 – Marquis Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Meperidine (Demerol) (Pethidine) 2 – Marquis Reagent 
Heroin 3 – Nitric Acid 
Morphine 3 – Nitric Acid 
Cocaine Hydrochloride 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 
Cocaine Base 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 
Procaine 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 
Tetracaine 4 – Cobalt Thiocyanate Reagent 
Barbiturates 5 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
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Heroin 6 – Mandelin Reagent 
Morphine 6 – Mandelin Reagent 
Amphetamine 6 – Mandelin Reagent 
Methamphetamine 6 – Mandelin Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 7 – Ehrlich’s Reagent 
Marijuana 8 – Duquenois Reagent 
Hashish 8 – Duquenois Reagent 
Hashish Oil 8 – Duquenois Reagent 
Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 8 – Duquenois Reagent 
Marijuana 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 
Hashish 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 
Hashish Oil 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 
Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 9 – NDB (Fast Blue B Salt) Reagent 
Cocaine Base 13 – Cobalt Thiocyanate/Crack Test 

NARK II  

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer’s Field Test:  

Narcotic Alkaloids 01 – Marquis Reagent 
Heroin 01 – Marquis Reagent 
Morphine 01 – Marquis Reagent 
Amphetamine 01 – Marquis Reagent 
Methamphetamine 01 – Marquis Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 01 – Marquis Reagent 
Morphine 02 – Nitric Acid 
Heroin 02 – Nitric Acid 
Barbiturates 03 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) 04 – Ehrlich’s Reagent 
Marijuana 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Hashish 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Hashish Oil 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 05 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Cocaine Hydrochloride 07 – Scott’s (Modified) Reagent 
Cocaine Base 07 – Scott’s (Modified) Reagent 
Phencyclidine (PCP) 09 – Phencyclidine Reagent  
Opiates 10 – Opiates Reagent 
Heroin 10 – Opiates Reagent 
Morphine 10 – Opiates Reagent 
Heroin 11 – Mecke’s Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) 11 – Mecke’s Reagent 
Pentazocine 12 – Talwin/ Pentazocine Reagent 
Ephedrine 13 – Ephedrine Reagent 
Diazepam 14 – Valium Reagent 
Methamphetamine 15 – Methamphetamine (Secondary Amines Reagent) 
Narcotic Alkaloids 19 – Mayer’s Reagent 
Heroin 19 – Mayer’s Reagent 
Morphine 19 – Mayer’s Reagent 
Amphetamine 19 – Mayer’s Reagent 
Methamphetamine 19 – Mayer’s Reagent 
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ARMOR HOLDINGS, INCORPORATED 
13386 INTERNATIONAL PARKWAY 
JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA 32218-2383 

 

NIK 
 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer’s Field Test:  

Heroin Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 
Amphetamine Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 
Methamphetamine Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Test A 6071 – Marquis Reagent 
Morphine Test B 6072 – Nitric Acid Reagent 
Barbiturates Test C 6073 – Dille-Koppanyi Reagent 
Lysergic Acid Diethylamide (LSD) Test D 6074 – LSD Reagent System 
Marijuana Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Hashish Oil Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Tetrahydrocannabinol Test E 6075 – Duquenois – Levine Reagent 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Test G 6077 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 
Cocaine Base Test G 6077 – Scott (Modified) Reagent 
Cocaine Hydrochloride 6500 or 6501 – Cocaine ID Swab 
Cocaine Base 6500 or 6501 – Cocaine ID Swab 
Phencyclidine (PCP) Test J 6079 – PCP Reagent System 
Heroin Test K 6080 – Opiates Reagent 
Heroin Test L 6081 – Brown Heroin Reagent System 
gamma – Hydroxybutyrate (GHB) Test O 6090 – GHB Reagent 
Ephedrine Test Q 6085 – Ephedrine Reagent 
Pseudoephedrine Test Q 6085 – Ephedrine Reagent 
Diazepam Test R 6085 – Valium Reagent 
Methamphetamine Test U 6087 – Methamphetamine Reagent 
3,4 – Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) Test U 6087 – Methamphetamine Reagent 
Methadone Test W 6088 – Mandelin Reagent System 

MISTRAL SECURITY INCORPORATED 
7910 WOODMONT AVENUE SUITE 820 
BETHESDA, MARYLAND 20814 

 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer’s Field Test:  

Heroin Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 
Amphetamine Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 
Methamphetamine Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 
Marijuana Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 
Hashish Oil Detect 4 Drugs Aerosol 
Methamphetamine Meth 1 and 2 Aerosol 
Heroin Herosol Aerosol 
Marijuana Cannabispray 1 and 2 Aerosol 
Hashish Oil Cannabispray 1 and 2 Aerosol 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Coca-Test Aerosol 
Cocaine Base Coca-Test Aerosol 

MILLENNIUM SECURITY GROUP 
8300 GREENSBORO DRIVE 
MCLEAN, VA 22102 

 

IDenta 
 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer’s Field Test:  

Marijuana Marijuana/Hashish (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) 
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Hashish Oil Marijuana/Hashish (Duquenois-Levine Reagent) 
Heroin Heroin Step 1 and Step 2 
Cocaine Hydrochloride Cocaine/Crack Step 1 and Step 2 
Cocaine Base Cocaine/Crack Step 1 and Step 2 
3,4–Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) MDMA Step 1 and Step 2 
Methamphetamine Methamphetamine (“Crystal”) Step 1 and Step 2  

COZART PLC 
92 MILTON PARK 
ABINGDON, OXFORDSHIRE ENGLAND OX14 4RY 

 

Drug or Drug Type: Manufacturer’s Field Test:  

Cocaine Cocaine Solid Field Test 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Mailing Address: Virginia Code Commission, 910 Capitol 
Street, General Assembly Building, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, FAX (804) 692-0625. 

Forms for Filing Material for Publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations 

All agencies are required to use the appropriate forms when 
furnishing material for publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations. The forms may be obtained from: Virginia Code 
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, General Assembly Building, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591. 

Internet: Forms and other Virginia Register resources may 
be printed or downloaded from the Virginia Register web 
page: http://register.state.va.us. 

FORMS: 

NOTICE of INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION-RR01 
NOTICE of COMMENT PERIOD-RR02 
PROPOSED (Transmittal Sheet)-RR03 
FINAL (Transmittal Sheet)-RR04 
EMERGENCY (Transmittal Sheet)-RR05 
NOTICE of MEETING-RR06 
AGENCY RESPONSE TO LEGISLATIVE 
OBJECTIONS-RR08 
RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR RULEMAKING-RR13 
FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING ACTION-RR14 

 



CALENDAR OF EVENTS 
Symbol Key 

† Indicates entries since last publication of the Virginia Register 
 Location accessible to persons with disabilities 

 Teletype (TTY)/Voice Designation 
 

NOTICE 

Only those meetings which are filed with the Registrar of Regulations by the filing deadline noted at the beginning of this 
publication are listed. Since some meetings are called on short notice, please be aware that this listing of meetings may be 
incomplete. Also, all meetings are subject to cancellation and the Virginia Register deadline may preclude a notice of such 
cancellation. If you are unable to find a meeting notice for an organization in which you are interested, please check the 
Commonwealth Calendar at www.virginia.gov or contact the organization directly. 

For additional information on open meetings and public hearings held by the standing committees of the legislature during 
the interim, please call Legislative Information at (804) 698-1500 or Senate Information and Constituent Services at (804) 
698-7410 or (804) 698-7419/TTY , or visit the General Assembly website's Legislative Information System 
(http://leg1.state.va.us/lis.htm) and select "Meetings." 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
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CALENDAR OF EVENTS 

EXECUTIVE 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

† November 28, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Marriott West/Innsbrook, 4240 Dominion 
Boulevard, Glen Allen, Virginia. 

A meeting of the Enforcement Committee to ascertain the 
fact basis for the board's decisions of cases through 
informal conference or consultation proceedings. 

Contact:  Jean Grant, Agency Enforcement Manager, Board 
of Accountancy, 3600 W. Broad St., Suite 378, Richmond, 
VA 23230-4923, telephone (804) 367-0725, FAX (804) 367-
2174, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
jean.grant@boa.virginia.gov. 

† November 28, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond Marriott West, 4240 Dominion Boulevard, Salon 
A, Glen Allen, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

A meeting to discuss general business matters and to 
conduct regulatory review. A public comment period will 
be held at the beginning of the meeting. All meetings are 
subject to change. Persons desiring to participate in the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Mark D'Amato, Agency Regulatory Coordinator, 
Board of Accountancy, 3600 W. Broad St., Suite 378, 
Richmond, VA 23230-4923, telephone (804) 367-0502, FAX 
(804) 367-2174, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
mark.damato@boa.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE AGING 

† December 6, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest Avenue, Suite 100, 
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A quarterly business meeting beginning to discuss 
legislative advocacy and set meeting dates and locations for 
2007. 

Contact:  Bill Peterson, Policy Analyst, Department for the 
Aging, 1610 Forest Ave., Suite 100, Richmond, VA 23229, 
telephone (804) 662-9325, toll-free (800) 552-3402, email 
bill.peterson@vda.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

December 7, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Oliver Hill Building, 102 Governor Street, 220 Board Room, 
2nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss issues related to Virginia agriculture 
and consumer services. Two regulations will be discussed: 
2 VAC 5-585, Retail Food Establishment Regulations, and 
2 VAC 5-490, Regulations Governing Grade "A" Milk. 
The board will entertain public comment at the conclusion 
of all other business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. 
Any person who needs any accommodation in order to 
participate at the meeting should contact Roy Seward at 
least five days before the meeting date so that suitable 
arrangements can be made.   

Contact:  Roy E. Seward, Board Secretary, Department of 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Oliver Hill Bldg., 102 
Governor St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-3538, FAX (804) 371-2945, email 
roy.seward@vdacs.virginia.gov. 
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Virginia Corn Board 

† December 12, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wallace Manor, 3821 North Courthouse Road, Providence 
Forge, Virginia.  

A meeting to (i) hear and approve previous meeting 
minutes; (ii) review checkoff revenues and the financial 
status resulting from sale of the 2006 Corn Crop; (iii) hear 
reports from the chairman, board member representation to 
the U.S. Grains Council, the National Corn Growers 
Association, and the Virginia Corn Growers' Association; 
and (iv) nominate and elect 2007 officers. The board will 
entertain public comment at the conclusion of all other 
business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any person 
who needs any accommodation in order to participate at the 
meeting should contact the person identified in this notice 
at least five days before the meeting date so that suitable 
arrangements can be made. 

Contact:  Philip T. Hickman, Program Director, Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor St., 3rd 
Floor, Room 319, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-6157, FAX (804) 371-7786, email 
phil.hickman@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Soybean Board 

† November 30, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Soybean Association, 11 Kristiansand Drive, Suite 
E, Williamsburg, Virginia.  

A meeting to (i) hear and approve previous meeting 
minutes; (ii) review checkoff revenues and the financial 
status resulting from sale of the 2006 Virginia Soybean 
crop; (iii) hear reports from the chairman, the United 
Soybean Board representative, and the Virginia Soybean 
Association; and (iv) nominate and elect 2007 officers. The 
board will entertain public comment at the conclusion of all 
other business for a period not to exceed 30 minutes. Any 
person who needs any accommodation in order to 
participate at the meeting should contact the Philip T. 
Hickman at least five days before the meeting date so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. 

Contact:  Philip T. Hickman, Program Director, Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor St., 3rd 
Floor, Room 319, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
371-6157, FAX (804) 371-7786, email 
phil.hickman@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

† November 29, 2006 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Environmental Quality, South Central 
Regional Office, 7705 Timberlake Road, Lynchburg, 
Virginia.  

A public hearing to receive comments on a draft 
construction permit to modify the Norcraft Companies 
facility in Lynchburg. The facility is a manufacturer of 
wooden kitchen and bath cabinetry. The public comment 
period began on October 31, 2006, and ends on December 
14, 2006. 

Contact:  Patrick Corbett, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 7705 Timberlake Rd., Lynchburg, VA 24502, 
telephone (434) 582-6230, FAX (434) 582-5125, email 
ptcorbett@deq.virginia.gov. 

December 6, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Sheraton Richmond West, 6624 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the board and the annual meeting with 
the advisory board. 

Contact:  Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, Department 
of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4346, 
email cmberndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL BOARD 

December 4, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 18, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Road, Richmond, Virginia.  

An executive staff meeting to receive and discuss reports 
and activities from staff members and to discuss other 
matters not yet determined. 

Contact:  W. Curtis Coleburn, III, Secretary to the Board, 
Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, 2901 Hermitage 
Rd., Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4409, FAX 
(804) 213-4411, (804) 213-4687/TTY , email 
curtis.coleburn@abc.virginia.gov. 

ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE AND RELATED 
DISORDERS COMMISSION 

† December 12, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest Avenue, Suite 102, 
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A quarterly meeting to discuss the ongoing activities of the 
Commonwealth's virtual Alzheimer's center and set the 
meeting schedule for 2007. 
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Contact:  Bill Peterson, Department for the Aging, 1610 
Forest Avenue, Suite 102, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 
(804) 662-9325, toll-free (800) 552-3402, email 
bill.peterson@vda.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

January 31, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Architects Section to conduct board 
business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

February 6, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Interior Designers Section to conduct 
board business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

February 8, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Professional Engineers Section to conduct 
board business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 

can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

February 13, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Landscape Architects Section to conduct 
board business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

† February 15, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Land Surveyors Section to conduct board 
business. A portion of the board's business may be 
discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified 
Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 3600 W. Broad 
St., Richmond, VA 23230-4917, telephone (804) 367-8514, 
FAX (804) 367-2475 or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

ART AND ARCHITECTURAL REVIEW BOARD 

December 1, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Science Museum of Virginia, 2500 West Broad Street, Forum 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A monthly meeting to review projects submitted by state 
agencies. Art and Architectural Review Board submittal 
forms and submittal instructions can be downloaded by 
visiting the DGS Forms Center at www.dgs.virginia.gov. 
Request form #DGS-30-905 or submittal instructions 
#DGS-30-906. The deadline for submitting project 
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datasheets and other required information is two weeks 
prior to the meeting date. 

Contact:  Brian Ohlinger, AIA, Chairman, Art and 
Architectural Review Board, 700 West Grace Street, Suite 
2200, Richmond, VA 23284, telephone (804) 828-9647, FAX 
(804) 828-1288, (804) 786-6152/TTY, or email 
bjohling@vcu.edu. 

VIRGINIA COMMISSION FOR THE ARTS 
December 7, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond, Virginia; location to be announced.  (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly meeting of the commissioners to review grant 
award recommendations by the Arts in Education Teacher 
Incentive Grant Panel, as well as grant award 
recommendations by the Technology Enhancement Grant 
Panel. 

Contact:  Peggy Baggett, Executive Director, Virginia 
Commission for the Arts, 223 Governor St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-3132, FAX (804) 225-4327, 
(804) 225-3132/TTY , email 
peggy.baggett@arts.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS  

December 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Room 453, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A licensing informal fact-finding conference. 

Contact:  David Dick, Assistant Director, Virginia Board for 
Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 3600 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (804) 
367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
asbestos@dpor.virginia.gov. 

February 1, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting including consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. A 
portion of the board's business may be discussed in closed 
session. Public comment will be heard at the beginning of 
the meeting. Persons desiring to participate in the meeting 
and requiring special accommodations or interpretive 
services should contact the department at least 10 days 
prior to the meeting so that suitable arrangements can be 
made. The department fully complies with the Americans 
with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  David Dick, Executive Director, Virginia Board for 
Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 3600 W. Broad St., 

Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8507, FAX (804) 
367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

January 18, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. A portion of the 
board's business may be discussed in closed session. Public 
comment will be heard at the beginning of the meeting. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpretive services should 
contact the department at least 10 days prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Marian H. Brooks, Regulatory Board 
Administrator, Auctioneers Board, 3600 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 
367-0795, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

† November 27, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting to discuss matters as they relate 
to the practice of audiology and speech-language 
pathology. 

Contact:  Lisa R. Hahn, Executive Director, Board of 
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Alcoa Building, 
6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, 
telephone (804) 662-9930, FAX (804) 662-9523, (804) 662-
7197/TTY , email lisa.hahn@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA AVIATION BOARD 

† December 12, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 13, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport, 4700 South Laburnum Avenue, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular bimonthly meeting. Applications for state 
funding will be presented to the board and other matters of 
interest to the Virginia aviation community will be 
discussed. Individuals with disabilities should contact 
Carolyn Toth 10 days prior to the meeting if assistance is 
needed. 

Contact:  Carolyn Toth, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Aviation Board, 5702 Gulfstream Rd., Richmond, VA 23250, 
telephone (804) 236-3626, FAX (804) 236-3635, email 
carolyn.toth@doav.virginia.gov. 
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BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

December 11, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

December 29, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board for Barbers and 
Cosmetology intends to adopt regulations entitled 18 VAC 
41-70, Esthetics Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to promulgate regulations governing the licensure 
and  practice of esthetics as directed by Chapter 829 of the 
2005 Acts of Assembly. In addition to any other comments, 
the board is seeking comments on the costs and benefits of 
the proposal and the potential impacts of this regulatory 
proposal.  Also, the board is seeking information on 
impacts on small businesses as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of 
the Code of Virginia.  Information may include (i) 
projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative 
costs, (ii) probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses, and (iii) description of less intrusive or 
costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 
regulation. Anyone wishing to submit written comments 
may do so by mail, email or fax to William H. Ferguson II, 
Executive Director, Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 
3600 West Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-6295, 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov.  In order to be 
considered, comments must be received by the last date of 
the public comment period.  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact:  William H. Ferguson, II, Executive Director, Board 
for Barbers and Cosmetology, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, 
VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-2474, 
(804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS 

December 4, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 5, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Pilot Association, 3329 Shore Drive, Virginia Beach, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct examinations for renewal of licenses. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Branch Pilots, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

December 11, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
February 2, 2007 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board’s business 
may be discussed in closed session. All meetings are 
subject to cancellation. Any person desiring to attend the 
meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpreter services should contact the board at least 10 
days prior to the meeting so suitable arrangements can be 
made. The board fully complies with the Americans with 
Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Branch Pilots, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

February 1, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Port Authority, 600 World Trade Center, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct examinations. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Branch Pilots, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 
December 5, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Science Museum of Virginia, 2500 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular board meeting. 

Contact:  Harry M. Durham, Interim Director, Department of 
Charitable Gaming, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 
17th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2598, 
FAX (804) 786-1079, email 
clyde.cristman@dcg.virginia.gov. 

CHESAPEAKE BAY LOCAL ASSISTANCE BOARD 

December 11, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced. 

A regular meeting to review local programs. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

OFFICE OF COMMONWEALTH PREPAREDNESS 

Secure Commonwealth Panel 
November 29, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.  
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A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Wendy Hoffman, Special Assistant, Office of 
Governor, Patrick Henry Building, 3rd Floor, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 692-2595, email 
wendy.hoffman@governor.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGES 

January 17, 2007 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Community College System, James Monroe 
Building, 101 North 14th Street, 15th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

Meetings of the Academic Committee, Student Affairs and 
Workforce Development Committee, Budget and Finance 
Committee, Facilities Committee, Audit Committee, and 
Personnel Committee.  

Contact:  D. Susan Hayden, Director of Public Affairs, 
Virginia Community College System, 101 N. 14th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 819-4961, FAX (804) 
819-4768, (804) 371-8504/TTY  

January 18, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Godwin-Hamel Board Room, James Monroe Building, 101 
North 14th Street, 15th Floor, James Monroe Building, 
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A meeting of the full board. Public comment may be 
received upon written notification at least five working 
days prior to the meeting. 

Contact:  D. Susan Hayden, Director of Public Affairs, 
Virginia Community College System, 101 N. 14th St., 15th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 819-4961, 
FAX (804) 819-4768, (804) 371-8504/TTY  

COMPENSATION BOARD 

December 20, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
102 Governor Street, Lower Level, Room LL22, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A monthly board meeting. 

Contact:  Cindy Waddell, Compensation Board, P.O. Box 
710, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-3308, FAX 
(804) 371-0235, email cindy.waddell@scb.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND 
RECREATION 

November 27, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 27, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Hampton Roads Planning District Commission Office 723 
Woodlake Drive, Chesapeake, Virginia.  

November 27, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 27, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 

Mount Rogers Planning District Commission Office, 1021 
Terrace Drive Marion, Virginia.  

November 27, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 27, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Region 2000 Local Government Council area (Planning 
District 11), Lynchburg Public Library, 2315 Memorial 
Avenue,  Lynchburg, Virginia.  

November 28, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 28, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission Office 
(Planning District 10), 401 East Water Street, Charlottesville, 
Virginia.  

November 28, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 28, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Roanoke Valley-Alleghany Regional Commission Office 
(Planning District 5), 313 Luck Avenue, S.W., Roanoke, 
Virginia.  

November 29, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 29, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Central Shenandoah Planning District Commission Office 
(Planning District 6), 1112 MacTanly Place, Staunton, 
Virginia.  

November 29, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 29, 2006 - 7 pm.. -- Open Meeting 
LENOWISCO Planning District Commission Office, 6913 
Duff-Patt Road, Duffield, Virginia.  

November 30, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 30, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Council (Planning District 
9), Culpeper County Library, 271 Southgate Shopping 
Center, Culpeper, Virginia.  

November 30, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 30, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Warren County Government Center (Northern Shenandoah 
Valley Regional Commission (Planning District 7)), 200 
North Commerce Avenue, Community Room, Front Royal, 
Virginia.  

November 30, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
November 30, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Cumberland Plateau Planning District Commission Office, 
950 Clydesway Road, Lebanon, Virginia.  

December 4, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 4, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
New River Valley Planning District Commission Office, 
6580 Valley Center Drive, Radford, Virginia.  

December 5, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 5, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
West Piedmont Planning District Commission Office, 1100 
Madison Street, Martinsville, Virginia.  
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December 6, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 6, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Southside Planning District Commission Office, 200 South 
Mecklenburg Avenue, South Hill, Virginia.  

The Virginia Outdoors Plan is the Commonwealth’s 
official conservation, outdoor recreation, and open space 
plan, and it is intended to serve as a guide to all levels of 
government and the private sector in meeting the land 
conservation, outdoor recreation, and open space needs of 
the state. The 2007 edition of the Virginia Outdoors Plan 
(VOP) will be the 9th produced in Virginia in accordance 
with § 10.1-200 of the Code of Virginia. In addition, the 
plan serves as a guidance document for the protection of 
lands through actions of the Virginia Land Conservation 
Foundation (VLCF). Its development is also necessary in 
order to meet requirements for Virginia’s participation in 
the federal Land and Water Conservation Fund (LWCF) 
program. Preparation of the 2007 VOP has been under 
development this past year, and now the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation has scheduled public 
meetings to introduce this coming year’s plan and 
specifically, regional sections. Areas discussed in the plan 
follow boundaries of Planning Districts (Regional 
Commissions). With this series of meetings, it is DCR’s 
intent to provide the public with an overview of the VOP, 
outline draft recommendations for local areas, receive 
comments on these recommendations, obtain additional 
ideas, and solicit any comments or recommendations for 
land conservation efforts in the region. DCR will also be 
accepting comments in writing at the address on this 
announcement (please put Attn: John Davy, Division 
Director, on the envelope), or email the office at the 
following address, vop@dcr.virginia.gov . To keep abreast 
of the latest developments, please visit 
www.dcr.virginia.gov. 

Contact:  Janit Llewellyn, Environmental Program Planner, 
Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 Governor 
Street, Suite 326 Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-
0887, FAX (804) 371-7899, email 
janit.llwellyn@dcr.virginia.gov. 

† November 27, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Chippokes Mansion, Chippokes Plantation State Park, 695 
Chippokes Park Road, Board Room, Surry, Virginia.  

A general business meeting of the Chippokes Plantation 
Farm Foundation. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

December 14, 2006 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Richmond City Hall, 900 East Broad Street, 5th Floor, 
Planning Commission Conference Room, Richmond, 
Virginia. 

A regular meeting of the Falls of the James Scenic River 
Advisory Committee to discuss river issues. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

Board of Conservation and Recreation 

November 30, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Bear Creek Lake State Park, 929 Oak Hill Road, Cumberland, 
Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 

Contact:  David C. Dowling, Policy, Planning, and Budget 
Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 203 
Governor St., Suite 302, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-2291, FAX (804) 786-6141, email 
david.dowling@dcr.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 
November 28, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 19, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting to address policy and procedural issues 
and review and render decisions on matured complaints 
against licensees. The meeting is open to the public; 
however, a portion of the board's business may be 
conducted in closed session. Persons desiring to participate 
in the meeting and requiring special accommodations or 
interpretive services should contact the department at least 
10 days prior to this meeting so that suitable arrangements 
can be made. The department fully complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

November 28, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting of the Board for Contractors 
Committee. The meeting starts after the Board for 
Contractors meeting. 

Contact:  Kevin Hoeft, Regulatory Boards Administrator, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
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3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804) 367-9753/TTY , 
email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

November 28, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† November 30, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 5, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Room 453, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

An informal fact-finding conference. 

Contact:  Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 
Contractors, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (804) 367-2474, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF CORRECTIONAL EDUCATION 

† December 15, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 7th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon 
request) 

A meeting to discuss general business. 

Contact:  Patty Ennis, Board Clerk, Board of Correctional 
Education, 101 N. 14th St., 7th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 225-3314, FAX (804) 786-7642, (804) 371-
8647/TTY , email patricia.ennis@dce.virginia.gov. 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

March 8, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Street, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  

January 12, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 
intends to adopt regulations entitled 6 VAC 20-250, 
Regulations Relating to Property and Surety Bail 
Bondsmen. The purpose of the proposed action is 
promulgate regulations for property and surety bail 
bondsmen. The regulation establishes a licensure process, 
training standards, fee schedule, and the administration of 
the regulatory system.  

Statutory Authority: § 9.1-102 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Leon D. Baker, Jr., Division Director, Department 
of Criminal Justice Services, Eighth Street Office Bldg., 805 
E. Broad St., 10th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 225-4086, FAX (804) 786-0588, or 
email lbaker@dcjs.virginia.gov.  

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

December 1, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 2, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 9, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Credentials Committee to hold informal 
conferences. There will not be a public comment period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

December 7, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

Formal hearings. There will not be a public comment 
period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss board business. There will be a 15-
minute public comment period at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

December 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 2, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Special Conference Committee A to hold 
informal conferences. There will not be a public comment 
period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† January 5, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 23, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
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Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

Informal conferences of Special Conference Committee B. 
There will not be a public comment period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† January 19, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

Informal conferences of Special Conference Committee C. 
There will not be a public comment period. 

Contact:  Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 
Dentistry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9906, FAX 
(804) 662-7246, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DESIGN BUILD/CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT 
REVIEW BOARD 

† December 21, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of General Services, 202 North Ninth Street, 
Room 412, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A general business meeting. 

Contact: Rhonda M. Bishton, Administrative Assistant, 
Division of Engineering and Buildings, Department of 
General Services, 202 N. Ninth St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3263, FAX (804) 371-7934, (804) 786-
6152/TTY , email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

December 21, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of General Services, 202 North Ninth Street, 
Room 412, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A monthly meeting to review requests submitted by 
localities to use the design build or construction 
management type contracts. Contact the Division of 
Engineering and Buildings to confirm this meeting. Board 
rules and regulations can be obtained on-line at 
www.dgs.virginia.gov under DGS Forms, Form #DGS-30-
904. 

Contact: Rhonda M. Bishton, Administrative Assistant, 
Division of Engineering and Buildings, Department of 
General Services, 202 N. Ninth St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3263, FAX (804) 371-7934, (804) 786-
6152/TTY , email rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
PARTNERSHIP 

† December 14, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Riverfront Plaza, 901 East Byrd Street, West Tower, 19th 
Floor Board Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A discussion of the Finance Committee will focus on 
financial matters pertaining to the Virginia Economic 
Development Partnership. 

Contact:  Kimberly M. Ellett, Senior Executive Assistant, 
Virginia Economic Development Partnership, P.O. Box 798, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 545-5610, FAX (804) 
545-5611, email kellett@yesvirginia.org. 

† December 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
901 East Byrd Street, Riverfront Plaza, West Tower, 20th 
Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

Discussion will focus on issues pertaining to the Virginia 
Economic Development Partnership. 

Contact:  Kimberly M. Ellett, Senior Executive Assistant, 
Virginia Economic Development Partnership, P.O. Box 798, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 545-5610, FAX (804) 
545-5611, email kellett@yesvirginia.org. 

BOARD OF EDUCATION 

November 29, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
January 10, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, Main Lobby 
Level, Conference Rooms C and D, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular business meeting of the board. Public comment 
will be received. The public is urged to confirm 
arrangements prior to each meeting by viewing the 
Department of Education's public meeting calendar at 
http://www.pen.k12.va.us/VDOE/meetings.html. This site 
will contain the latest information on the meeting 
arrangements and will note any last minute changes in time 
or location. Persons who wish to speak or who require the 
services of an interpreter for the deaf should contact the 
agency at least 72 hours in advance. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

† November 29, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, 22nd Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

† December 5, 2006 - 6:30 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Robinson Secondary School 5035 Sideburn Road Burke, 
Virginia. 
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A public hearing regarding Foreign Language Standards of 
Learning. Speakers will have three minutes to speak and 
should bring copies of their comments for the board. 
Additionally, comments may be sent via mail, fax, or email 
until December 22, 2006, to Helen Small, Department of 
Education, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218; 
helen.small@doe.virginia.gov; Fax: (804) 225-2524. The 
revisions may be viewed at: 
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/VDOE/VA_Board/Meetings/2
006/ItemL-oct.pdf. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

November 29, 2006 -  11 a.m. -- Public Hearing  
Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 
14th Street, 22nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

† December 5, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
3109 Prices Fork Road, Auditorium, Blacksburg, Virginia. 

† December 7, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Hampton High School, 1491 West Queen Street, Auditorium, 
Hampton, Virginia. 

December 15, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 8 VAC 20-21, Licensure 
Regulations for School Personnel and adopt regulations 
entitled 8 VAC 20-22, Licensure Regulations for School 
Personnel. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
propose substantive changes in the requirements for 
licensure of school personnel. In a concurrent action, the 
Board of Education proposes to repeal the text of the 
current regulations (8 VAC 20-21) and promulgate new 
regulations (8 VAC 20-22). Substantive new requirements 
are proposed for the following areas: (i) conditions for 
licensure; (ii) types of licenses; (iii) designations of career 
paths to teaching; (iv) added endorsements by examination; 
(v) conditions for licensure by reciprocity; (vi) names of a 
few endorsements and requirements for some teaching 
areas; (vii) endorsement areas by adding the mathematics 
specialist, school manager, and speech language assistants; 
and (viii) the administration and supervision endorsement.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-298.1 and 22.1-299 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

November 29, 2006 -  11 a.m. -- Public Hearing  
Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 
14th Street, 22nd Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

† December 5, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Robinson Secondary School Recital Hall 5035 Sideburn Rd 
Fairfax, Virginia. 

† December 5, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
3109 Prices Fork Road, Auditorium, Blacksburg, Virginia. 

† December 7, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Hampton High School, 1491 West Queen Street, Auditorium, 
Hampton, Virginia. 

December 15, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Education intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 8 VAC 20-541, Regulations 
Governing Approved Programs for Virginia 
Institutions of Higher Education and adopt regulations 
entitled 8 VAC 20-542, Regulations Governing the 
Review and Approval of Education Programs in 
Virginia. During recent years, national, state, and local 
educators as well as members of the general public have 
placed increased emphasis on the need to ensure in our 
nation’s schools the provision of highly qualified teachers 
who in turn make a positive impact on preK-12 student 
achievement. Federal legislation such as the 2001 No Child 
Left Behind Act (NCLB) and the 1998 Reauthorization of 
the Title II Higher Education Act (Title II HEA) clearly 
express the need for increased accountability from states 
and institutions of higher education in the preparation, 
certification, and licensure of teachers and other school 
personnel.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-298.1 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

January 22, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Location to be announced. 

A meeting of the Advisory Board on Teacher Education 
and Licensure. For additional information, contact Patty 
Pitts, Director of Teacher Licensure at the Department of 
Education, (804) 371-2471, email 
patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 
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Contact: Dr. Margaret N. Roberts, Office of Policy and 
Public Affairs, Department of Education, P.O. Box 2120, 
James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 14th St., 25th Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, FAX (804) 225-2524, 
email margaret.roberts@doe.virginia.gov. 

SECRETARY OF EDUCATION 

December 6, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Capital One West Creek Campus, Town Center Building, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A full council meeting of the Start Strong Pre-K Council. 

Contact: Kendall Tyree, Special Assistant to the Secretary of 
Education, 1111 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 692-2550, email 
kendall.tyree@governor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

† November 28, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Dante Lives On Community Center, Route 63, Dante, 
Virginia.  

A public meeting on the development of TMDLs to address 
impairments of Lick Creek in Russell, Dickenson and Wise 
Counties for failing to meet the Aquatic Life Use based on 
violations of the general standard for aquatic organisms and 
failure to meet the Recreational Use because of fecal 
coliform bacteria violations. The public notice appears in 
the Virginia Register of Regulations on November 27, 
2006. The public comment period begins on November 28, 
2006, and ends on December 28, 2006. 

Contact:  Allen J. Newman, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 355 Deadmore St., P.O. Box 1688, Abingdon, VA 
24212, telephone (276) 676-4804, FAX (276) 676-4899, 
email ajnewman@deq.virginia.gov. 

† November 29, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
1st Floor Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

The fifth meeting with stakeholders to discuss 
implementation of HB447/SB88, Removal of Mercury 
Switches from Automobiles Prior to Demolition. For more 
information go to 
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/waste/mercuryswitch.html. 
The meeting will focus on regulation language in support 
of the mercury switch program. 

Contact:  Steven E. Fraxier, HW Technical Advisory and 
Compliance Coordinator, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 629 E. Main St., P. O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4199, email 
sefrazier@deq.virginia.gov. 

November 30, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Scottsville Town Council Chambers, 401 Valley Street, 
Scottsville, Virginia.  

The first public meeting on the development of bacteria 
TMDLs for the Hardware and North Fork Hardware Rivers 
in Albemarle and Fluvanna Counties. The public notice 
appears in the Virginia Register of Regulations on 
November 13, 2006. The public comment period begins on 
November 30, 2006, and ends on January 2, 2007. 

Contact:  Robert Brent, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 4411 Early Rd., PO Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 
22801, telephone (540) 574-7848, FAX (540) 574-7878, 
email rnbrent@deq.virginia.gov. 

November 30, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Essex Public Library, 117 North Church Lane, 
Tappahannock, Virginia.  

The final public meeting and technical advisory committee 
meeting on a study to restore water quality in the waters of 
Occupacia Creek and it’s tributaries in Essex County. This 
stream is impaired for failure to meet the primary contact 
(recreational) designated use because of bacterial standard 
violations. The public notice appears in the Virginia 
Register on November 13, 2006. The public comment 
period begins on November 30, 2006, and ends on January 
2, 2007. 

Contact:  Chris French, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 4949-A Cox Rd., Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone 
(804) 527-5124, email rcfrench@deq.virginia.gov. 

† December 7, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Bristol Public Library, 701 Goode Street, Bristol, Virginia.  

A public meeting on the development of the TMDL 
implementation plan to address fecal bacteria and sediment 
impairments in the Beaver Creek and Little Creek 
watersheds. The public notice appears in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations on November 27, 2006. The public 
comment period begins on December 7, 2006, and ends on 
January 12, 2007. 

Contact:  Theresa Carter, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 252 W. Main St., Suite 3, Abingdon, VA 24210, 
telephone (276) 676-5418, FAX (276) 676-5527, email 
theresa.carter@deq.virginia.gov. 

† December 7, 2006 - 7 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Buchanan Elementary School, 225 Schoolhouse Road, 
Buchanan, Virginia.  

A public meeting on the development of the TMDL 
implementation plan to address bacteria impairments in the 
Looney Creek watershed, which includes Mill Creek and 
Back Creek in Botetourt County. The public notice appears 
in the Virginia Register of Regulations on November 27, 
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2006. The public comment period begins on December 7, 
2006, and ends on January 8, 2007. 

Contact:  Jason Ericson, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 101 N. 14th St., 11th Floor, Richmond, VA 23291, 
telephone (804) 225-3389, FAX (804) 371-0771, email 
jason.ericson@dcr.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA FIRE SERVICES BOARD 

December 13, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henry County Emergency Training Center, 1024 Dupont 
Road, Martinsville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

Orientation for new board members.  

Contact:  Brook M. Pittinger, Quality Assurance Chief, 
Virginia Fire Services Board, 1005 Technology Park Dr., 
Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 249-1970, toll-free 
(866) 482-3473, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

December 13, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henry County Emergency Training Center, 1024 Dupont 
Road, Martinsville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Executive Committee. 

Contact:  Brook M. Pittinger, Quality Assurance Chief, 
Virginia Fire Services Board, 1005 Technology Park Dr., 
Glen Allen, VA 23059telephone (804) 249-1970, toll-free 
(866) 482-3473, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

December 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henry County Emergency Training Center, 1024 Dupont 
Road, Martinsville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

Committee meetings will be held as follows:  

Education and Training - 10 a.m. 
Fire Prevention and Control - 2 p.m.  
Administration, Policy and Finance - 3 p.m. 

Contact:  Brook M. Pittinger, Quality Assurance Chief, 
Virginia Fire Services Board, 1005 Technology Park Dr., 
Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 249-1970, toll-free 
(866) 482-3473, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

December 15, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henry County Emergency Training Center, 1024 Dupont 
Road, Martinsville, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A full board meeting. 

Contact:  Brook M. Pittinger, Quality Assurance Chief, 
Virginia Fire Services Board, 1005 Technology Park Dr., 
Glen Allen, VA 23059, telephone (804) 249-1970, toll-free 
(866) 482-3473, email brook.pittinger@vdfp.virginia.gov. 

COUNCIL ON VIRGINIA'S FUTURE 

December 15, 2006 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Street, Senate 
Room A, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the members of the Council on Virginia's 
Future, related staff, members of the press, and the general 
public. 

Contact:  Gilbert M. An (Gigi), Executive Assistant to the 
Director, Virginia Research and Technology Advisory 
Commission, 1001 E. Broad St., Suite 430, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2346, FAX (804) 371-2347, 
email gma2n@virginia.edu. 

BOARD FOR GEOLOGY 
January 3, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting including consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. The 
meeting is open to the public; however, a portion of the 
board's business may be conducted in closed session. 
Persons desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpretive services should 
contact the department at least 10 days prior to this meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board for 
Geology, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8507, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
geology@dpor.virginia.gov. 

GEORGE MASON UNIVERSITY 
December 6, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
January 31, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Fairfax Campus, Mason Hall, Fairfax, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Board of Visitors. Agenda items will be 
posted 10 days prior to the meeting. 

Contact:  Mary Roper, Secretary Pro Tem, George Mason 
University, 4400 University Dr., Fairfax, VA 22030, 
telephone (703) 993-8703, toll-free (703) 993-8707, email 
mroper@gmu.edu. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

December 18, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 
amend regulations entitled 12 VAC 5-585, Biosolids Use 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
provide regulations and standards for site specific 
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management practices, including nutrient management 
plans for land applying Class B sewage sludge in the 
Commonwealth, and to provide for resolving disputes 
concerning permit compliance that may arise between land 
appliers and local governments. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-164.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: C.M. Sawyer, Division Director, Department of 
Health, 109 Governor St., 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7463, FAX (804) 864-7475 or email 
cal.sawyer@vdh.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

December 8, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association, 4200 Innslake 
Drive, Glen Allen, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Virginia Early Hearing Detection and 
Intervention Program Advisory Committee to assist the 
Department of Health in the implementation of the Virginia 
Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Program. Public 
comment will not be received. 

Contact:  Pat Dewey, M.Ed., Program Manager, Department 
of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7713, email 
pat.dewey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

December 10, 2006 -  Canceled 
Holiday Inn Tanglewood, 4468 Starkey Road SW, Roanoke, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to solicit public comment for the Virginia 
Department of Health use of Ryan White CARE Act Title 
II funds is canceled. 

Contact:  Ben Alonso, Health Care Planner, Department of 
Health, 109 Governor St., Room 326, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-8022, FAX (804) 864-8050, email 
ben.alonso@vdh.virginia.gov. 

† December 10, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Patrick Henry Building, House Room 1, Richmond, Virginia. 

The initial organizational meeting of the Virginia Cord 
Blood Bank Initiative Consortium to provide 
recommendations for the establishment of a Virginia Cord 
Blood Bank. 

Contact:  Kim Barnes, Policy Analyst, Department of 
Health, 109 Governor St., 7th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7661, FAX (804) 864-7670, email 
kim.barnes@vdh.virginia.gov. 

December 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads, 2535 
Turkey Creek Road, Oilville, Virginia.  

A regular meeting for the Regulation and Policy 
Committee for the EMS Advisory Board. 

Contact:  Michael D. Berg, Manager, Regulation and 
Compliance, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., Suite 
UB-55, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7600, 
FAX (804) 864-7580, toll-free (800) 523-6019, email 
michael.berg@vdh.virginia.gov. 

December 15, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 5th Floor, 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting of the Sewage Handling and Disposal 
Regulations Advisory Committee to make 
recommendations to the commissioner regarding sewage 
handling and disposal policies, procedures and programs of 
the department. 

Contact:  Donald Alexander, Division Director, Department 
of Health, 109 Governor St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 864-7452, FAX (804) 864-7476, email 
don.alexander@vdh.virginia.gov. 

† December 20, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 12th Floor, 
Conference Room 1218, Richmond, Virginia. 

The annual meeting of the Minority Health Advisory 
Committee. 

Contact:  Karen Reed, Health Workforce and Minority 
Health Manager, Department of Health, 109 Governor St., 
Suite 1016 East, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-
7427, FAX (804) 864-7440, toll-free (800) 694-7349, email 
karen.reed@vdh.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Historic Resources Board and State Review Board 

† December 6, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Historical Society, 428 North Boulevard, Halsey 
Lecture Hall, Richmond, Virginia.  

At a joint session in the morning, the Board of Historic 
Resources will consider proposed nominations to the 
Virginia Landmarks Register. The State Review Board will 
review the same nominations for possible designation on 
the National Register of Historic Places list. The boards 
will meet in separate sessions in the afternoon. The Historic 
Resources Board will consider proposed historic 
preservation easements and proposed historic highway 
markers. The State Review Board will consider preliminary 
applications for the state and federal registers. All meetings 
are open to the public. 

Contact:  Marc Wagner, State and National Registers 
Manager, Department of Historic Resources, 2801 
Kensington Ave., Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 
367-2323, FAX (804) 367-2391, email 
marc.wagner@dhr.virginia.gov. 



Calendar of Events 

Volume 23, Issue 6 Virginia Register of Regulations November 27, 2006 

1000 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

† November 29, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Norfolk Waterside Marriott, Hampton Room II, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 

Contact:  Stephen W. Calhoun, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, The 
Jackson Center, 501 N. 2nd St., Richmond, VA 23219-1321, 
telephone (804) 371-7000, FAX (804) 371-7090, (804) 371-
7089/TTY , email steve.calhoun@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY 

November 29, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
TowneBank, Community Room, 109 E. Main Street, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Board of Commissioners of the 
Virginia Housing Development Authority. The Board of 
Commissioners will review and, if appropriate, approve the 
minutes from the prior meeting; may consider for approval 
and ratification mortgage loan commitments under its 
various programs; will review the Authority’s operations 
for the prior months; and will consider such other matters 
and take such other actions as they may deem appropriate. 
Various committees of the Board of Commissioners, 
including the Programs Committee, the Audit Committee, 
the Operations Committee, the Executive Committee, and 
the Committee of the Whole may also meet before and 
after the meeting and may consider matters within their 
purview. The committees and the board may also meet 
during meals on the day of the meeting. The planned 
agenda of the meeting will be available at the offices of the 
Authority one week prior to the date of the meeting. 

Contact:  J. Judson McKellar, Jr., General Counsel, Virginia 
Housing Development Authority, 601 S. Belvidere St., 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5540, FAX (804) 
783-6701, toll-free (800) 968-7837, (804) 783-6705/TTY , 
email judson.mckellar@vhda.com. 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCE 
MANAGEMENT 

December 16, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Human Resource 
Management intends to adopt regulations entitled 1 VAC 
55-30, Long-Term Care Program. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to establish regulations used by the 
Department of Human Resource Management in the 
administration of the long-term care plan for state 
employees, retirees and terminated vested participants of 

the Virginia Retirement System, as well as employees of 
local governments that have chosen to offer the plan. The 
regulations define eligibility and underwriting provisions, 
as well as establish distinct insurance classifications for 
participants. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-1207 and 2.2-1208 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact:  Charles Reed, Associate Director, Department of 
Human Resource Management, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., 13th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-3124, FAX (804) 371-2505, email 
charles.reed@dhrm.virginia.gov.  

VIRGINIA COUNCIL ON HUMAN RESOURCES  
December 14, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
James Monroe Building, 101 North 14th Street, PDS 4, 
Richmond, Virginia. 

A quarterly meeting. 

Contact:  Charles Reed, Associate Director, Department of 
Human Resource Management, James Monroe Bldg., 101 N. 
14th St., 13th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-3124, FAX (804) 371-2505, email 
charles.reed@dhrm.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA INFORMATION TECHNOLOGIES AGENCY 

December 6, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 20, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
VRS Headquarters, 1200 East Main Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Council on Technology Services Mobile 
Workforce Workgroup. 

Contact:  Mike Hammel, Enterprise Architect, Virginia 
Information Technologies Agency, 110 S. 7th St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-4016, email 
mike.hammel@vita.virginia.gov. 

JAMESTOWN-YORKTOWN FOUNDATION 

December 6, 2006 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Richmond, Virginia. (call for specific location).  (Interpreter 
for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting of the Executive Committee of the 
Jamestown 2007 Steering Committee.  

Contact: Judith Leonard, Administrative Office Manager, 
Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation, 410 W. Francis St., 
Williamsburg, VA 23185, telephone (757) 253-4253, FAX 
(757) 253-4950, email judith.leonard@jyf.virginia.gov. 
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BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

January 29, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Juvenile Justice intends 
to adopt regulations entitled 6 VAC 35-180, Regulations 
Governing Mental Health Services Transition Plans for 
Incarcerated Juveniles. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to ensure continuity of necessary treatment and 
services for juveniles being released from incarceration.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-293.1 and 66-10 of the Code of 
Virginia  

Contact: Deron M. Phipps, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 E. Franklin St., P. O. Box 
1110, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 786-6407, 
FAX (804) 371-0773, or 
email deron.phipps@djj.virginia.gov.  

* * * * * * * * 

January 29, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Juvenile Justice intends 
to adopt regulations entitled 6 VAC 35-190, Regulations 
Governing Juvenile Work Release Programs. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to set forth the rules and 
criteria by which the Department may operate work release 
programs whereby committed juveniles (i) may be 
employed by private individuals, corporations, or state 
agencies at places of business; or (ii) may attend 
educational or other related community activity programs 
outside of a juvenile correctional facility. Chapter 648 
requires the Department to provide juveniles committed to 
the Department with opportunities to work and participate 
in career training or technical education programs as 
operated by DJJ or by the Department of Correctional 
Education (DCE) and sets forth requirements to be 
included in the regulation, including eligibility for work 
release, compensation, custody, and penalties for violating 
the terms of work release.   

Statutory Authority: §§ 66-10 and 66-25.1:3 of the Code of 
Virginia  

Contact: Deron M. Phipps, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Juvenile Justice, 700 E. Franklin St., P. O. Box 
1110, Richmond, VA 23218-1110, telephone (804) 786-6407, 
FAX (804) 371-0773, or 
email deron.phipps@djj.virginia.gov.  

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Virginia Apprenticeship Council 
December 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Confederate Hills Recreation Building, 302 Lee Avenue, 
Highland Springs, Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 

Contact:  Beverley Donati, Program Director, Department of 
Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2382, FAX (804) 
786-8418, (804) 786-2376/TTY , email 
bgd@doli.state.va.us. 

STATE LIBRARY BOARD 

January 19, 2007 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
The Library of Virginia, 800 East Broad Street, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss matters pertaining to the Library of 
Virginia and the Library Board. 

Contact:  Jean H. Taylor, Executive Secretary Senior, The 
Library of Virginia, 800 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219-
8000, telephone (804) 692-3525, FAX (804) 692-3594, (804) 
692-3976/TTY , email jtaylor@lva.lib.va.us. 

LONGWOOD UNIVERSITY 

† December 1, 2006 - 8:45 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 2, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Longwood University, Lancaster Hall 102, 201 High Street, 
Farmville, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct routine business of the Board of 
Visitors. 

Contact:  Jeanne Hayden, Longwood University, Office of 
the President, Longwood University, 201 High St., Farmville, 
VA 23909, telephone (434) 395-2004. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
November 28, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 19, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Marine Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Avenue, 
4th Floor, Newport News, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A monthly commission meeting. 

Contact:  Jane McCroskey, Commission Secretary, Marine 
Resources Commission, 2600 Washington Ave., 3rd Floor, 
Newport News, VA 23607, telephone (757) 247-2215, FAX 
(757) 247-8101, toll-free (800) 541-4646, (757) 247-
2292/TTY , email jane.mccroskey@mrc.virginia.gov. 
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BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

December 12, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, 13th Floor Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting. 

Contact:  Nancy Malczewski, Board Liaison, Department of 
Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. Broad St., Suite 1300, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8096, FAX (804) 
371-4981, (800) 343-0634/TTY , email 
nancy.malczewski@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

† December 7, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Capital One, West Creek Town Center, University Hall, 
15075 Capital One Drive, Richmond, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting of the Children's Health Insurance 
Program Advisory Committee. Time will be scheduled at 
the end of the meeting for public comment. 

Contact:  Diane Howard, FAMIS Marketing and Outreach 
Liaison, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 E. 
Broad St., Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-3359, FAX (804) 786-5799, email 
diane.howard@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 
November 29, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Williamsburg Marriott, 50 Kingsmill Road, Williamsburg, 
Virginia.  

† December 6, 2006 - 8:45 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A special conference committee will convene informal 
conferences to inquire into allegations that certain 
practitioners of medicine or other healing arts may have 
violated certain laws and regulations governing the practice 
of medicine. Further, the committee may review cases with 
board staff for case disposition, including consideration of 
consent orders for settlement. The committee will meet in 
open and closed sessions pursuant to the Code of Virginia. 
Public comment will not be received.  

Contact:  Renee S. Dixson, Discipline Case Manager, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-7009, 
FAX (804) 662-9517, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
renee.dixson@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† December 5, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 6, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 7, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 

Inn at Virginia Tech and Skelton Conference Center, 901 
Prices Fork Road, Blacksburg, Virginia.  

A formal hearing to inquire into allegations that a certain 
practitioner may have violated certain laws and regulations 
governing the practice of medicine and other healing arts. 
Further, the board may review cases with staff for case 
disposition; including consideration of consent orders for 
settlement of matter pending before the board. The board 
will meet in open and closed session pursuant to § 2.2-3711 
A(7),(15), and/or (28). Public comment will not be 
received.  

Contact:  Renee S. Dixson, Discipline Case Manager, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-7009, FAX 
(804) 662-9517, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
renee.dixson@dhp.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Executive Committee to consider 
regulatory and disciplinary matters as may be presented on 
the agenda. Public comment on agenda items will be 
received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Ad Hoc Committee on Competency to 
discuss the elements involved in initial competency. Public 
comment will be received on agenda items at the beginning 
of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

January 26, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

The Legislative Committee will consider regulatory matters 
as may be presented on the agenda. Public comment on 
agenda items will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
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(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† January 26, 2007 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
February 22, 2007 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

The Credentials Committee will meet to consider 
applicants for licensure and other matters of the board. 
Public comment on agenda items will be received at the 
beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† February 22, 2007 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

The board will consider regulatory and disciplinary matters 
as may be presented on the agenda. Public comment will be 
received on agenda items at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , e-mail 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Advisory Board on Athletic Training 

† February 8, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

The advisory board will consider issues related to the 
regulations of athletic training. Public comment on agenda 
items will be received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Advisory Board on Midwifery 

† December 4, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
Fifth Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

The workgroup will identify the laws and regulations of 
agencies other than the Board of Medicine about which 
midwives need to be knowledgeable and follow. A draft 
guidance document is the work product for the group. 
Public comment on agenda items will be received at the 
beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , e-mail 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

January 19, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

The advisory board will consider issues related to the 
regulations of midwifery. Public comment on agenda items 
will be received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Advisory Board on Occupational Therapy 

† February 6, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

The advisory board will consider issues related to the 
regulations of occupational therapy. Public comment on 
agenda items will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Advisory Board on Physician Assistants 
February 8, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

The advisory board will consider issues related to the 
regulations of physician assistants. Public comment on 
agenda items will be received at the beginning of the 
meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Advisory Board on Radiologic Technology 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING TIME 
February 7, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  
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The advisory board will consider issues related to the 
regulations of radiologic technologists and radiologic 
technologist-limited. Public comment on agenda items will 
be received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Advisory Board on Respiratory Care 

† February 6, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

The advisory board will consider issues related to the 
regulations of respiratory care. Public comment on agenda 
items will be received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, Board 
of Medicine, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9908, FAX 
(804) 662-9943, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL 
RETARDATION AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE 

SERVICES 
December 14, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Public Hearing 
Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank St., 8th Floor Conference 
Room, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A public hearing to receive comments on the Synar Annual 
Report for the Virginia Substance Abuse Prevention and 
Treatment Block Grant Application for federal fiscal year 
2006. Copies of the report are available for review at the 
Office of Substance Abuse Services, Room 818, Jefferson 
Building and at each community services board office. 
Comments may be made at the hearing or in writing by no 
later than December 14, 2006, to the Office of the 
Commissioner, Department of Mental Health, Mental 
Retardation and Substance Abuse Services 
(DMHMRSAS), P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218. 
Any person wishing to make a presentation at the hearing 
should contact Sterling Deal, Ph.D. Copies of oral 
presentations should be filed at the time of the hearing. 

Contact:  Sterling Deal, Ph.D., Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, P.O. Box 
1797, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-2148, FAX 
(804) 786-9248, (804) 371-8977/TTY , email 
sterling.deal@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Interagency Coordinating Council 

† November 28, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henrico Area Mental Health's East Center, East Wing 23, 
4825 South Laburnum Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The VICC meets quarterly to advise and assist the Virginia 
Department of Mental Health, Mental Retardation and 
Substance Abuse Services (DMHMRSAS) as lead agency 
for Part C (of IDEA), early intervention for infants and 
toddlers with disabilities and their families. Discussion 
focuses on issues related to Virginia's implementation of 
the Part C program. 

Contact:  LaKeishia White, Child and Family Services 
Office Services Specialist, Department of Mental Health, 
Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, Child and 
Family Services, 9th Floor, P.O. Box 1797, Richmond, VA 
23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-3710, FAX (804) 371-
7959. 

Virginia Mental Health Planning Council 

December 6, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Henrico CSB, 10299 Woodman Road, Conference Room C, 
Glen Allen, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

A meeting to review MHBG plan, review MHBG 
Implementation Report, develop plan for 2006 issues, and 
monitor and evaluate mental health programs. 

Contact:  Will Ferriss, LCSW, Director, Planning and 
Evaluation, Office of Mental Health, Department of Mental 
Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse Services, 
1220 Bank St., Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-
0363, FAX (804) 371-0091, email 
will.ferriss@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

STATE MENTAL HEALTH, MENTAL RETARDATION 
AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES BOARD 

† December 7, 2006 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
1200 Bank Street, 13th Floor, Richmond, Virginia. 

A meeting of the Development and Evaluation Committee 
to review and evaluate policies. 

Contact:  Wendy V. Brown, Policy Analyst, Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Jefferson Bldg., 1220 Bank St., 12th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 
371-0092, email wendy.brown@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov. 

† December 8, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Rappahannock CSB Stafford Clinic, 15 Hope Road, Stafford, 
Virginia.  

A regular business meeting. 
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Contact:  Jewel Booker, Executive Secretary, Department of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services, Jefferson Bldg., 1220 Bank St., 13th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7945, FAX (804) 
371-2308, email jewel.booker@co.dmhmrsas.gov. 

STATE MILK COMMISSION 

December 13, 2006 - 10:45 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Forestry, 900 Natural Resources Drive, Room 
2054, Charlottesville, Virginia.  

A regular meeting to consider industry issues, distributor 
licensing, base transfers, and reports from staff. The 
commission offers anyone in attendance an opportunity to 
speak at the conclusion of the agenda. Those persons 
requiring special accommodations should notify the agency 
meeting contact at least five working days prior to the 
meeting date so that suitable arrangements can be made. 

Contact:  Rodney Phillips, Administrator, State Milk 
Commission, 102 Governor St., Room 205, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-2013, FAX (804) 786-3779, 
email rodney.phillips@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

† December 7, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Buchanan-Smith 
Building, 3405 Mountain Empire Road, U.S. Route 23 South, 
Big Stone Gap, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Governor's Mined Land Reclamation 
Advisory Committee to review and discuss recent Interstate 
Mining Compact Commission issues with the coal industry, 
and to provide conflict of interest training for board 
members. Public comments will not be received at this 
meeting. Special accommodations for the disabled will be 
made available at the meeting on request. Anyone needing 
special accommodations should contact the Division of 
Mined Land Reclamation or the Virginia Relay Center at 
least seven days prior to the meeting. 

Contact:  Leslie S. Vincent, Customer Services Manager, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of 
Mined Land Reclamation, P.O. Drawer 900, Big Stone Gap, 
VA 24219, telephone (276) 523-8156, FAX (276) 523-8163, 
(800) 828-1120/TTY , email 
les.vincent@dmme.virginia.gov. 

December 11, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Oxbow Center, 16620 East Riverside Drive, St. Paul, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

The Permit Enhancement Work Group will meet first, 
followed with Regulatory Work Group to discuss potential 
enhancement to the Division of Mined Land Reclamation 
(DMLR) permitting process. The regulatory work group 
will discuss draft language to amend the DMLR 

regulations. Public comments will be received as the last 
item of the meeting. Special accommodations for the 
disabled will be made available at the public meeting on 
request. Anyone needing special accommodations should 
contact the DMME DMLR or Virginia Relay Center at 
least seven days prior to the meeting date. 

Contact:  Leslie S. Vincent, Customer Services Manager, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of 
Mined Land Reclamation, 3405 Mountain Empire Rd., Big 
Stone Gap, VA 23219-3402, telephone (276) 523-8156, FAX 
(275) 523-8163, (800) 828-1120/TTY , email 
les.vincent@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund Advisory 
Board 

† December 7, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Buchanan-Smith 
Building, 3405 Mountain Empire Road, U.S. Route 23 South, 
Big Stone Gap, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided 
upon request) 

A meeting to review and discuss the current status and 
administration of the Reclamation Fund and to provide 
mandatory conflict of interest training for board members. 
Public comments will not be received at this meeting. 
Special accommodations for the disabled will be made 
available at the public meeting. Anyone needing special 
accommodations should contact the Division of Mined 
Land Reclamation or Virginia Relay Center at least seven 
days prior to the meeting. 

Contact:  Gerald D. Collins, Technical Services Manager, 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, Division of 
Mined Land Reclamation, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219, 
telephone (276) 523-8166, FAX (276) 523-8141, (800) 828-
1120/TTY , email gerald.collins@dmme.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Governor's Motorcycle Advisory Council 

† December 12, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Audrey Odum, Management Analyst, Department 
of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 27412, Richmond, VA 23269-
0001, telephone (804) 367-8140, FAX (804) 367-6339, toll-
free (800) 272-9268, (800) 272-9268/TTY , email 
audrey.odum@dmv.virginia.gov. 
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VIRGINIA MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS 

† November 27, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, The Pauley Center Parlor, 200 
North Boulevard, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Robinson House Architect Search 
Committee for staff to update the committee in closed 
session. Public comment will not be received. 

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

December 5, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
January 2, 2007 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
February 6, 2007 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, The Pauley Center, 200 North 
Boulevard, Dining Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting for staff to update the Executive Committee. 
Public comment will not be received.   

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, FAX (804) 340-1502, 
(804) 340-1401/TTY , email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

December 13, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, The Pauley Center, 200 North 
Boulevard, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Statewide Task Force for staff to update 
the task force. Public comment will not be received. 

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

† December 15, 2006 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Pauley Center 2, 200 North 
Boulevard, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Nominating and Governance Committee 
for staff to update the committee in closed session. Public 
comment will not be received. 

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

† January 17, 2007 - 2:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 201 North Boulevard, 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Partnership for Virginia Task Force for 
staff to update the committee. Public comment will not be 
received. 

Contact:  Suzanne Broyles, Secretary of the Museum, 
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 200 N. Boulevard, Richmond, 
VA 23220, telephone (804) 340-1503, email 
suzanne.broyles@vmfa.museum. 

BOARD OF NURSING 
November 30, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 1, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 4, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 5, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
December 7, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
December 12, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
December 13, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting  
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Board Room 3, Richmond, Virginia.  

A Special Conference Committee comprised of two or 
three members of the Virginia Board of Nursing or agency 
subordinate will conduct informal conferences with 
licensees and certificate holders. Public comment will not 
be received. 

Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., M.S.M., C.S.A.C., Executive 
Director, Board of Nursing, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9909, 
FAX (804) 662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
nursebd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

December 15, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Board of Nursing intends to 
amend regulations entitled 18 VAC 90-25, Regulations 
Governing Certified Nurse Aides. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to clarify the intent and/or language in 
the regulation relating to nurse aide education and to add to 
the grounds for unprofessional conduct to include 
providing false information to staff or board members in 
the course of an investigation or proceeding. There is also a 
proposed new rule that a certificate holder can only petition 
the board one time for removal of a finding of abuse. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Public comments may be submitted until December 15, 2006, 
to Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, Board of 
Nursing, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712. 

Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 W. Broad St., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 662-9918, FAX (804) 
662-9114 or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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JOINT BOARDS OF NURSING AND MEDICINE 

December 6, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, Board of 
Nursing, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-9909, FAX 
(804) 662-9512, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY 

December 8, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 19, 2007 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Old Dominion University, Webb University Center, Norfolk, 
Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the executive committee of the 
governing board of the institution to discuss business of the 
board and the institution as determined by the rector and 
the president. Public comment will not be received by the 
board. 

Contact:  Donna Meeks, Executive Secretary to the Board of 
Visitors, Old Dominion University, 204 Koch Hall, Norfolk, 
VA 23529, telephone (757) 683-3072, FAX (757) 683-5679,  
email dmeeks@odu.edu. 

OLMSTEAD COMMUNITY INTEGRATION 
IMPLEMENTATION TEAM 

December 19, 2006 - Canceled 
Virginia Housing Development Authority, 601 South 
Belvidere Street, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the 
deaf provided upon request) 

The regular meeting is canceled. 

Contact: Julie A. Stanley, Director, Community Integration 
for People with Disabilities, Office of Governor, 1111 E. 
Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-0828, 
FAX (804) 786-6984, email 
julie.stanley@governor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR OPTICIANS 

December 8, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A general business meeting including consideration of 
regulatory issues as may be presented on the agenda. The 
meeting is open to the public; however, a portion of the 
board's business may be discussed in closed session. Public 
comment will be heard at the beginning of the meeting. 
Person desiring to participate in the meeting and requiring 
special accommodations or interpretive services should 

contact the department at least 10 days prior to the meeting 
so that suitable arrangements can be made. The department 
fully complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  William H. Ferguson, II, Executive Director, Board 
for Opticians, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230-
4917, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (804) 367-6295, (804) 
367-9753/TTY , email opticians@dpor.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

† December 13, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Alcoa Building, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Room 4, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Professional Designation Committee to 
review and consider disciplinary sanctions with regard to 
noncompliance with the professional designation 
regulations. Public comment will be received at the 
beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9910, FAX (804) 662-7098, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† December 13, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Alcoa Building, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to receive Professional Designation and CE 
Committee Reports, consider amendments to the CE 
Regulations, Sanction Reference Study Update and conduct 
other general board business as required. Public comment 
will be received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9910, FAX (804) 662-7098, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† December 13, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Alcoa Building, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Room 4, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A formal hearing. Public comment will not be received. 

Contact:  Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9910, FAX (804) 662-7098, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† December 13, 2006 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Alcoa Building, 6603 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Room 4, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

An informal conference hearing. Public comment will not 
be received. 
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Contact:  Elizabeth A. Carter, Ph.D., Executive Director, 
Board of Optometry, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9910, FAX (804) 662-7098, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
elizabeth.carter@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 

December 7, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 South Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

An Executive Committee meeting. 

Contact:  Sandra Smalls, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9368, FAX (804) 786-1118, 
toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-0016/TTY , email 
Sandra.Smalls@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 S Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

Community Integration is a submeeting of the VBPD 
quarterly board meeting. 

Contact:  Katherine Lawson, Outreach and Program 
Manager, Virginia Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 
9th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9376, 
FAX (804) 786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-
0016/TTY , email katherine.lawson@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 South Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

A quarterly board meeting. 

Contact:  Sandra Smalls, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., 9th Floor, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9368, FAX (804) 
786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-0016/TTY , 
email sandra.smalls@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 South Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

Community Living/Transportation is submeeting of the 
Quarterly Board Meeting. 

Contact:  Teri Barker-Morgan, Programs Manager, Virginia 
Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9371, FAX (804) 786-1118, 
toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-0016/TTY , email 
teri.barker@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 South Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

The Education Committee is a submeeting of the VBPD 
quarterly board meeting. 

Contact:  Linda Redmond, Research, Evaluation and 
Program Manager, Virginia Board for People with 
Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 
(804) 786-7333, FAX (804) 786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-
4464, (804) 786-0016/TTY , email 
linda.redmond@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

December 8, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wyndham Richmond Airport Hotel, 4700 South Laburnum 
Avenue, Richmond, Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf 
provided upon request) 

The Employment Committee is a submeeting of the VBPD 
quarterly board meeting. 

Contact:  Lynne Talley, Grants Administrative Manager, 
Virginia Board for People with Disabilities, 202 N. 9th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-9375, FAX (804) 
786-1118, toll-free (800) 846-4464, (804) 786-0016/TTY , 
email lynne.talley@vbpd.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

November 30, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

Formal hearings to discuss disciplinary matters. No public 
comments will be received.  

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9911, FAX (804) 662-9313, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

† December 1, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 6, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† December 7, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 1, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Special Conference Committee to discuss 
disciplinary matters. This is a public meeting; however, 
public comments will not be received. 

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9911, FAX (804) 662-9313, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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December 13, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions, 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 2, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to consider such regulatory and disciplinary 
matters as may be presented on the agenda. Public 
comment will be received at the beginning of the meeting. 

Contact:  Elizabeth Scott Russell, RPh, Executive Director, 
Board of Pharmacy, Alcoa Bldg., 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9911, FAX (804) 662-9313, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
scotti.russell@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

† December 1, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Health Professions 6603 West Broad Street, 
5th Floor, Conference Room 4, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Special Conference Committee will hear 
possible violations of the laws and regulations that govern 
the practice of physical therapy. 

Contact:  Elizabeth Young, Executive Director, Board of 
Physical Therapy, Alcoa Bldg. , 6603 W. Broad St., 5th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23230-1712, telephone (804) 662-
9924, FAX (804) 662-9523, (804) 662-7197/TTY , email 
elizabeth.young@dhp.virginia.gov. 

POLYGRAPH EXAMINERS ADVISORY BOARD 
December 7, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board's business 
may be discussed in closed session. Public comment will 
be heard at the beginning of the meeting. Person desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpretive services should contact the 
department  at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Kevin Hoeft, Regulatory Boards Administrator, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-2785, FAX (804) 367-0674, (804) 367-9753/TTY , 
email kevin.hoeft@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

December 11, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor Conference Room, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

December 15, 2006 - Public comments may be submitted 
until this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Professional and 
Occupational Regulations intends to amend regulations 
entitled 18 VAC 120-30, Regulations Governing 
Polygraph Examiners. The purpose of the proposed action 
is to amend current regulations to increase fees. In addition 
to any other comments, the agency is seeking comments on 
the costs and benefits of the proposal and the potential 
impacts of this regulatory proposal.  Also, the agency is 
seeking information on impacts on small businesses as 
defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia.  
Information may include: (i) projected reporting, 
recordkeeping and other administrative costs; (ii) probable 
effect of the regulation on affected small businesses; and 
(iii) description of less intrusive or costly alternative 
methods of achieving the purpose of the regulation. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-1802 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

Contact:  Kevin Hoeft, Regulatory Boards Administrator, 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 
367-2785, FAX (804) 367-0674, (804) 367-9753/TTY , 
email kevin.hoeft@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA PUBLIC GUARDIAN AND CONSERVATOR 
ADVISORY BOARD 

December 7, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest Avenue, Suite 100, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting. 

Contact:  Janet Dingle Brown, Esq., Public Guardianship 
Coordinator and Legal Services Developer, Department for 
the Aging, 1610 Forest Ave., Suite 100, Richmond, VA 
23229, telephone (804) 662-7049, FAX (804) 662-9354, toll-
free (800) 552-3402, (804) 662-9333/TTY , email 
janet.brown@vda.virginia.gov. 

† December 7, 2006 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest Avenue, Suite 100, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Ad Hoc Committee on Health Care 
Medical Decisions - Authority of Public Guardians. 

Contact:  Faye D. Cates, MSSW, Human Services Program 
Coordinator, Virginia Public Guardian and Conservator 
Advisory Board, Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest 
Ave., Suite 100, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-
9310, FAX (804) 662-9354, toll-free (800) 552-3402, (804) 
662-9333/TTY , email faye.cates@vda.virginia.gov. 

NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DESCRIPTION 
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January 25, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest Avenue, Suite 100, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

An Executive Committee meeting. 

Contact:  Faye D. Cates, MSSW, Human Services Program 
Coordinator, Virginia Public Guardian and Conservator 
Advisory Board, Department for the Aging, 1610 Forest 
Ave., Suite 100, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-
9310, FAX (804) 662-9354, toll-free (800) 552-3402, (804) 
662-9333/TTY , email faye.cates@vda.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

December 13, 2006 - 10:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

Informal fact-finding conferences. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Appraiser Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

December 4, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

An informal fact-finding conference. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-9753/TTY 

, email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

December 4, 2006 - 3 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Education Committee. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-9753/TTY 

, email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

December 5, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss fair housing cases. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone 
(804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-9753/TTY 

, email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

December 5, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to discuss board business. 

Contact:  Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real Estate 
Appraiser Board, 3600 W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, 
telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 367-6946, (804) 367-
9753/TTY , email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATIVE SERVICES 

† December 11, 2006 - 6 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Fairfax County Government Center, 12000 Government 
Center Parkway, Rooms 2 and 3, Fairfax, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to receive comments on the Department of 
Rehabilitative Services' Vocational Rehabilitation and 
Supported Employment Programs. Materials in alternate 
format will be provided upon prior request. Comments will 
be received until 8 p.m. 

Contact:  Elizabeth Smith, Policy and Planning Director, 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Dr., Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7071, FAX 
(804) 662-7696, toll-free (800) 552-5019, (804) 662-
9040/TTY , email elizabeth.smith@drs.virginia.gov. 

January 26, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Drive, Conference Rooms 103/105, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A quarterly meeting of the Virginia Brain Injury Council. 
Materials can be provided in alternate format upon request. 
Public comments will begin at approximately 1:15 p.m. 

Contact:  Kristie Chamberlain, Policy and Planning Director, 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Dr., P.O. Box K-300, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 
662-7154, FAX (804) 662-7663, toll-free (800) 552-5019, 
(800) 464-9950/TTY , email 
kristie.chamberlain@drs.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Assistive Technology System Advisory 
Council 

† December 6, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center, Fishersville, 
Virginia.  

A quarterly meeting. Public comments will be received at 
approximately 10:15 a.m.  Interpreters and materials in 
alternate format are provided upon prior request. 

Contact:  Jane Lively, Program Administrative Specialist, 
Department of Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 
Dr., Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 726-1904, FAX 
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(804) 662-9478, toll-free (800) 552-5019, (804) 662-
9040/TTY , email jane.lively@drs.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

December 6, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 1300 East 
Main Street, Courtroom A, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting to discuss selected chapters of regulations. 

Contact:  Regina P. Cobb, Agency Management Analyst 
Senior, Department of Labor and Industry, Powers-Taylor 
Bldg., 13 S. 13th St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
786-0610, FAX (804) 786-8418, (804) 786-2376/TTY , 
email regina.cobb@doli.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

January 12, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 
intends to repeal regulations entitled: 

22 VAC 40-200, Foster - Care Guiding Principles 
22 VAC 40-210, Foster Care- Assessing the Client's 
Service Needs 
22 VAC 40-240, Nonagency Placement for Adoption - 
Consent 
22 VAC 40-250, Agency Placement Adoptions - AREVA 
22 VAC 40-260, Agency Placement Adoptions - Subsidy 
22 VAC 40-280, Nonagency Placements for Adoption - 
Adoptive Home Study 
22 VAC 40-800, Family Based Social Services  

and adopt regulations entitled 8 VAC 22 VAC 40-201, 
Permanency Services - Prevention, Foster Care, 
Adoption and Independent Living. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal seven existing regulations and 
replace them with one new comprehensive regulation. The 
new regulation will incorporate all aspects of permanency - 
Foster Care Prevention, Foster Care, Independent Living, 
Agency Placement Adoptions - AREVA, Agency 
Placement Adoptions - Subsidy, and Nonagency Adoption 
Placement. It will also mandate new procedures integral to 
Virginia's compliance with federal regulations and in 
keeping with the federal Child and Family Services 
program outcome goals. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of 
Virginia. 

Contact: Lynette Isbell, Acting Director, Division of Family 
Services, Department of Social Services, 7 N. 8th St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7082, FAX (804) 
726-7895 or email lynette.idbell@dss.virginia.gov. 

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL SOIL SCIENTISTS 
AND WETLAND PROFESSIONALS 

January 30, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Broad Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board's business 
may be discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpretive services should contact the 
department at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  Mark N. Courtney, Executive Director, Board for 
Professional Soil Scientists and Wetland Professionals, 3600 
W. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-
8514, FAX (804) 367-0795, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
soilscientist@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-70, Virginia 
Slaughter Hog and Feeder Pig Excise Tax Regulations. 
The purpose of the proposed action is to repeal the 
regulation that has become obsolete due to statutory 
changes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-75, Virginia 
Soybean Excise Tax Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal certain sections of the Virginia 
Soybean Excise Tax Regulation that provide no additional 
guidance to clear and unambiguous statutes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 
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* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-112, Declaration 
of Estimated Income Tax by Individuals. The purpose of 
the proposed action is to amend certain sections of the 
Declaration of Estimated Income Tax by Individuals Tax 
Regulations that provide no additional guidance to clear 
and unambiguous statutes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-115, Fiduciary 
Income Tax Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend certain sections of the Fiduciary Income 
Tax Regulations that provide no additional guidance to 
clear and unambiguous statutes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-140, Income Tax 
Withholding. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
amend certain sections of the Income Tax Withholding 
Regulations that provide no additional guidance to clear 
and unambiguous statutes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-220, Aircraft 
Sales and Use Tax Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to amend certain sections of the Aircraft 
Sales and Use Tax Regulation that provides no additional 
guidance to clear and unambiguous statutes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-230, Watercraft 
Sales and Use Tax Regulations. The purpose of the 
proposed action is to repeal one Water Sales and Use Tax 
regulation that is obsolete due to a statutory change. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-310, Tax on 
Wills and Administration. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend certain sections of the Tax on Wills and 
Administration Regulations that provide no additional 
guidance to clear and unambiguous statutes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 
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* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-350, Forest 
Products Tax Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend certain sections of the Forest Products 
Tax Regulations that are obsolete due to statutory changes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-360, Litter Tax 
Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to 
repeal the Litter Tax Regulations, which provide no 
additional guidance to clear and unambiguous statutes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-370, Cigarette 
Tax. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 
certain sections of the Cigarette Tax Regulations that are 
obsolete due to statutory changes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Department of Taxation intends 
to repeal regulations entitled 23 VAC 10-390, Soft Drink 
Excise Tax Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 
action is to amend the Soft Drink Excise Tax Regulations 
that provide no additional guidance to clear and 
unambiguous statutes. 

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Contact: Mark C. Haskins, Director of Policy Development, 
Department of Taxation, 600 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 371-2296, FAX (804) 371-2355, or 
email mark.haskins@tax.virginia.gov. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

† November 27, 2006 - 5:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Southwest Virginia Community College, Route 19, 
Richlands, Virginia.  

† November 28, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Wytheville Residency, 2843 Chapman Road, Wytheville, 
Virginia.  

† November 28, 2006 - 5 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Mountain Empire Community College, 3341 Mountain 
Empire Road, Big Stone Gap, Virginia.  

A meeting to explain VDOT's plan to consolidate 91 
maintenance facilities by July 1, 2008, and discuss the local 
impacts and collect feedback from local elected officials 
and citizens. For more information, go to 
http://www.virginiadot.org/news/consol.asp 

Contact:  Donna Purcell Mayes, Assistant Public Affairs 
Director, Commonwealth Transportation Board, Public 
Affairs Division, 1401 E. Broad St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-2717, FAX (804) 786-6250, email 
donna.mayes@vdot.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF VETERANS SERVICES 

Board of Veterans Services 
January 8, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
American Legion Department of Virginia, 1708 
Commonwealth Avenue, Richmond, Virginia. 

A regular meeting. 

Contact:  Rhonda Earman, Special Assistant to the 
Commissioner, Department of Veterans Services, 900 E. 
Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0286, 
email rhonda.earman@dvs.virginia.gov. 

Veterans Services Foundation 

† December 6, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
American Legion Building, 1708 Commonwealth Avenue, 
Richmond, Virginia.  
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A regular meeting. Public comment will be heard at the 
conclusion of the meeting. Anyone wishing to provide 
comments should contact Roz Trent. Please list name 
and/or organization, telephone number and the nature of the 
comment. 

Contact:  Roz J. Trent, DVS Coordinator of Program 
Operations, Department of Veterans Services, 900 E. Main 
St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-0220, FAX 
(804) 786-0302, email roz.trent@dvs.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA MILITARY INSTITUTE 
November 30, 2006 - 4 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
December 1, 2006 - 8 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Military Institute, Meeting Rooms, Lexington, 
Virginia.  

Committee meetings of the whole and standing 
committees: Academic Affairs; Audit; Finance and 
Planning; Athletics; External Relations; Cadet/Military 
Affairs; Nominating and Governance; Executive. 

Contact: Colonel Michael M. Strickler, Superintendent's 
Office, Virginia Military Institute, Lexington, VA 24450, 
telephone (540) 464-7206. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 
December 11, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Department of Environmental Quality, 4949-A Cox Road, 
Glen Allen, Virginia. 

January 9, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted until 
5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management 
Board intends to amend regulations entitled 9 VAC 20-130, 
Solid Waste Planning and Recycling Regulations. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to revise the calculation 
of the mandatory recycling rate for localities and region 
revise the procedures for formation and dissolution of 
planning regions, clearly specify qualifications for 
variances, revise the requirements for plan approval, and 
eliminate duplicative language on the waste information 
and assessment program.  

The board is seeking comments from the general public 
about whether to retain a provision for converting volumes 
to weight in tons as a method for expressing amounts in the 
recycling rate formula (proposed 9 VAC 20-130-125 B 2).  
This provision has been used in the past by small 
businesses that do not maintain weight scales at the solid 
waste management facility.  Also, the board is seeking 
comments from the general public about whether to retain a 
provision allowing estimation of tonnage of recycling rate 
amounts on the basis of survey data on a case-by-case basis 
(existing 9 VAC 20-130-120 C 1 c). 

In addition to any other comments, the board is seeking 
comments on the costs and benefits of the proposal and on 
any impacts of the regulation on farm and forest land 
preservation.  Also, the board is seeking information on 
impacts on small businesses as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of 
the Code of Virginia.  Information may include (i) 
projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative 
costs, (ii) probable effect of the regulation on affected 
small businesses, and (iii) description of less intrusive or 
costly alternative methods of achieving the purpose of the 
regulation. 

Anyone wishing to submit written comments for the public 
comment file may do so at the public hearing or by mail, 
email or fax to Allen R. Brockman, P.O. Box 10009, 
Richmond, Virginia 23240-0009, telephone (804) 698-
4468, FAX (804) 698-4327 and 
arbrockman@deq.virginia.gov; comments must include the 
name and address of the commenter.  In order to be 
considered comments must be received by 5 p.m. on the 
date established as the close of the comment period. Both 
oral and written comments may be submitted at the public 
hearing. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1411 of the Code of Virginia  

Contact: Allen Brockman, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 
23240, telephone (804) 698-4468, FAX (804) 698-4327, or 
email arbrockman@deq.virginia.gov.  

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 
November 29, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional 
Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, Virginia.  

A meeting of a workgroup assisting in the development of 
implementation guidance for non-point source nutrient 
reductions, which are intended to offset new and expanded 
point source discharges of total nitrogen and total 
phosphorus in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed. 

Contact:  Kyle I. Winter, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4182, FAX (804) 698-4032, email 
kiwinter@deq.virginia.gov. 

December 1, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 21, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional 
Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, Virginia.  

A meeting of the advisory committee to be established to 
assist in the development of amendments to the water 
quality standards for the triennial review. The notice of 
intent appeared in the Virginia Register of Regulations on 
September 18, 2006. 
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Contact:  Elleanore M. Daub, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone 
(804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 698-4116, email 
emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 

† December 1, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional 
Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, Virginia.  

A meeting of the advisory committee to be established to 
assist in the development of amendments to the water 
quality standards. The notice of intent appeared in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations on September 18, 2006. 

Contact:  Elleanore M. Daub, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 10009, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone 
(804) 698-4111, FAX (804) 698-4116, email 
emdaub@deq.virginia.gov. 

December 5, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Environmental Quality, 629 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the advisory committee assisting in the 
development of a proposed regulation for water 
reclamation and reuse. 

Contact:  Valerie Rourke, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 698-4158, FAX (804) 698-4116, email 
varourke@deq.virginia.gov. 

December 14, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the board. 

Contact:  Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, Department 
of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 
23218, telephone (804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4346, 
email cmberndt@deq.virginia.gov. 

* * * * * * * * 

† January 4, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Public Hearing 
Regional Library Headquarters, 1201 Caroline Street, 
Fredericksburg, Virginia. 

† January 26, 2007 - Public comments may be submitted 
until 5 p.m. on this date. 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 
intends to amend regulations entitled 9 VAC 25-720, 
Water Quality Management Planning Regulation. The 
purpose of the proposed action is to amend the City of 
Fredericksburg nitrogen and phosphorus allocation in the 
water quality management planning regulation.  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia  

Contact: John M. Kennedy, Department of Environmental 
Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 629 East Main 
Street, Richmond, VA 23240, telephone (804) 698-4312 or 
email: jmkennedy@deq.virginia.gov.  

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS 

December 6, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 
3600 West Board Street, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting to conduct board business. The meeting is open 
to the public; however, a portion of the board's business 
may be discussed in closed session. Persons desiring to 
participate in the meeting and requiring special 
accommodations or interpretive services should contact the 
department at least 10 days prior to the meeting so that 
suitable arrangements can be made. The department fully 
complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

Contact:  David E. Dick, Executive Director, Board for 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators, 3600 W. 
Broad St., Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-8595, 
FAX (804) 367-2475, (804) 367-9753/TTY , email 
waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

INDEPENDENT 

VIRGINIA OFFICE FOR PROTECTION AND 
ADVOCACY 

December 11, 2006 - 11 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
VOPA Office, 1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, Richmond, 
Virginia.  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Finance and Resource Development 
Committee. Public comment is welcomed by the Finance 
and Resource Development Committee and will be 
received beginning at 11 a.m. Public comment will also be 
accepted by telephone. If you wish to provide public 
comment via telephone, you must call Lisa Shehi, 
Administrative Assistant at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) 
or via email at lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov no later than 
Monday, November 27, 2006. Ms. Shehi will take your 
name and phone number and you will be telephoned during 
the public comment period. If interpreter services or other 
accommodations are required, please contact Ms. Shehi no 
later than Monday, November 27, 2006.  

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Executive Assistant, Virginia Office 
for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 662-
7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 
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December 13, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Office for Protection and Advocacy, Byrd Building, 
1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting of the Disabilities Advisory Council. 
Public comment is welcomed by the council and will be 
received beginning at 10 a.m. Public comment will also be 
accepted by telephone. If you wish to provide public 
comment via telephone, call Tracy Manley, Administrative 
Assistant at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) or via email at 
tracy.manley@vopa.virginia.gov no later than November 
29, 2006. Ms. Manley will take your name and phone 
number and you will be telephoned during the public 
comment period.  If interpreter services or other 
accommodations are required, please contact Ms. Manley 
no later than November 29, 2006. 

Contact:  Tracy Manley, Administrative Assistant, Virginia 
Office for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email tracy.manley@vopa.virginia.gov. 

January 30, 2007 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
VOPA Office, 1910 Byrd Avenue, Suite 5, Richmond, 
Virginia  (Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A meeting of the Governing Board. Public comment is 
welcomed by the board and will be received beginning at 9 
a.m. on January 30, 2007. Public comment will also be 
accepted by telephone. If you wish to provide public 
comment via telephone, you must call Lisa Shehi, 
Administrative Assistant at 1-800-552-3962 (Voice/TTY) 
or via email at lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov no later than 
January 16, 2007. Ms. Shehi will take your name and 
phone number and you will be telephoned during the public 
comment period. For further information, please contact 
Ms. Shehi. If interpreter services or other accommodations 
are required, please contact Ms. Shehi no later than January 
16, 2007.  

Contact:  Lisa Shehi, Executive Assistant, Virginia Office 
for Protection and Advocacy, 1910 Byrd Ave., Suite 5, 
Richmond, VA 23230, telephone (804) 225-2042, FAX (804) 
662-7431, toll-free (800) 552-3962, (804) 225-2042/TTY , 
email lisa.shehi@vopa.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA RETIREMENT SYSTEM 

December 12, 2006 - Noon -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System, 1200 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Optional Retirement Plan for 
Higher Education Committee. No public comment will be 
received at the meeting. 

Contact:  Patty Atkins-Smith, Legislative Liaison and Policy 
Analyst, Virginia Retirement System, 1200 E. Main St., 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 344-3123, FAX (804) 
786-1541, toll-free (888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , 
email psmith@varetire.org. 

December 13, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System, 1200 East Main Street, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of the Benefits and Actuarial Committee. No 
public comment will be received at the meeting. 

Contact:  LaShaunda King, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Retirement System, 1200 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 344-3124, FAX (804) 786-1541, toll-free 
(888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , email 
lking@varetire.org. 

December 14, 2006 - 9 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 14, 2007 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System, 1111 East Main Street, 3rd Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Investment Advisory Committee. 
No public comment will be received at the meeting. 

Contact:  Linda Ritchey, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Retirement System, 1111 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 697-6673, FAX (804) 786-1541, toll-free 
(888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , email 
lritchey@varetire.org. 

December 14, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
† February 15, 2007 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Virginia Retirement System, 1111 East Main Street, 3rd Floor 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees. No public 
comment will be received at the meeting. 

Contact:  LaShaunda King, Executive Assistant, Virginia 
Retirement System, 1200 E. Main St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 344-3124, FAX (804) 786-1541, toll-free 
(888) 827-3847, (804) 344-3190/TTY , email 
lking@varetire.org. 

LEGISLATIVE 

JOINT COMMISSION ON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
December 6, 2006 - 2 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate 
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agenda, please contact Elizabeth Palen, Division of 
Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. Individuals 
requiring interpreter services or other accommodations 
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should telephone Senate Committee Operations at (804) 
698-7450, (804) 698-7419/TTY, or write to Senate 
Committee Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 
23218, at least seven days prior to the meeting. 

Contact: Rich Fiorella, Senate Committee Operations, 
General Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 698-7410. 

CHESAPEAKE BAY RESTORATION FUND 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE 

† December 1, 2006 - 9:30 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 4th Floor 
West Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agenda, please contact Martin Farber or Gwen Foley, 
Division of Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. 
Individuals requiring interpreter services or other 
accommodations should telephone Senate Committee 
Operations at (804) 698-7450, (804) 698-7419/TTY, or 
write to Senate Committee Operations, P.O. Box 396, 
Richmond, VA 23218, at least seven days prior to the 
meeting. 

Contact: Patty Lung, Senate Committee Operations, General 
Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 698-7410. 

VIRGINIA COMMISSION ON COAL AND ENERGY 

† November 28, 2006 - 10 a.m. - Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 
Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agency please contact Frank Munyan, Division of 
Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. 

Contact: Barbara L. Teague, House Committee Operations, 
910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
1540. 

HOUSE COMMITTEE FOR COURTS OF JUSTICE 

† December 1, 2006 - 8:30 a.m. - Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agency please contact Mary Kate Felch, Division of 
Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. 

Contact: Pam Burnham, House Committee Operations, 910 
Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-1540. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

† December 15, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 6th Floor, 
Speaker's Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  
(Interpreter for the deaf provided upon request) 

A regular meeting. Public comment will be received at the 
end of the meeting. 

Contact:  Jane Chaffin, Registrar of Regulations, Division of 
Legislative Services, 910 Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3591, FAX (804) 692-0625, 
email jchaffin@leg.state.va.us. 

COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 

† November 28, 2006 - 10 a.m. - Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, 9th Floor, 
Appropriations Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agency please contact Nikki Seeds, Division of Legislative 
Services at (804) 786-3591. 

Contact: Barbara L. Teague, House Committee Operations, 
910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
1540. 

COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND HEALTH 

† November 28, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Senate 
Room B, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agenda, please contact Jessica Eades, Division of 
Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. Individuals 
requiring interpreter services or other accommodations 
should telephone Senate Committee Operations at (804) 
698-7450, (804) 698-7419/TTY, or write to Senate 
Committee Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 
23218, at least seven days prior to the meeting. 

Contact: Hobie Lehman, Senate Committee Operations, 
General Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 698-7410. 

VIRGINIA FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ADVISORY 
COUNCIL 

December 15, 2006 - 1 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 910 Capitol Street, House Room 
C, Richmond, Virginia.   

The final meeting of the Freedom of Information Advisory 
Council in 2006. The meeting will include the annual 
legislative preview. 

Contact:  Maria J.K. Everett, Executive Director, Virginia 
Freedom of Information Advisory Council, General 
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Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol Street, 2nd Floor, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3056, FAX (804) 371-8705, 
toll-free (866) 448-4100, email foiacouncil@leg.state.va.us. 

HEALTH, WELFARE AND INSTITUTIONS 

† December 15, 2006 - 1 p.m. - Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting of the COPN task force. For questions 
regarding the meeting agency please contact Sarah Stanton, 
Division of Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. 

Contact: Lori L. Maynard, House Committee Operations, 
910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
1540. 

MANUFACTURING DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION 

† November 30, 2006 - 2:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Kingsmill Resort, 1010 Kingsmill Road, Williamsburg, 
Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agenda, please contact Frank Munyan, Division of 
Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. Individuals 
requiring interpreter services or other accommodations 
should telephone Senate Committee Operations at (804) 
698-7450, (804) 698-7419/TTY, or write to Senate 
Committee Operations, P.O. Box 396, Richmond, VA 
23218, at least seven days prior to the meeting. 

Contact: Hobie Lehman, Senate Committee Operations, 
General Assembly Bldg., 910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 698-7410. 

OPEN SPACE AND FARMLAND PRESERVATION 
November 28, 2006 - 1 p.m. - Open Meeting 
Graves Mountain Lodge, Syria, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agency please contact Mark Vucci, Division of Legislative 
Services at (804) 786-3591. 

Contact: Barbara L. Teague, House Committee Operations, 
910 Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-
1540. 

JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE STUDYING MEDICAL, 
ETHICAL AND SCIENTIFIC ISSUES RELATING TO 

STEM CELL RESEARCH 
NOTE: CHANGE IN MEETING DATE 
† November 27, 2006 - 10 a.m. - Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room C, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. For questions regarding the meeting 
agency please contact Jessica Eades or Nikki Seeds, 
Division of Legislative Services at (804) 786-3591. 

Contact: Pam Burnham, House Committee Operations, 910 
Capitol St., Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-1540. 

JOINT COMMISSION ON TECHNOLOGY AND 
SCIENCE 

November 28, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, Speaker's 
Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.  

A meeting of JCOTS Electronic Medical Records Advisory 
Committee. (Teleconference Site: 510 Cumberland Street, 
Suite 308, Bristol, VA 24201. In case of technical 
difficulties during the meeting, contact Lisa Wallmeyer at 
804-786-3591.) 

Contact:  Lisa Wallmeyer, Executive Director, Joint 
Commission on Technology and Science, General Assembly 
Bldg., 910 Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3591. 

November 29, 2006 - 1:30 p.m. -- Open Meeting 
Patrick Henry Building, House Room 1, Richmond, 
Virginia.  

A meeting of JCOTS Electronic Balloting Advisory 
Committee. 

Contact:  Lisa Wallmeyer, Executive Director, Joint 
Commission on Technology and Science, 910 Capitol St., 
General Assembly Bldg., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3591. 

November 30, 2006 - 10 a.m. -- Open Meeting 
General Assembly Building, 9th and Broad Streets, House 
Room D, Richmond, Virginia.  

A regular meeting. Teleconferenced site: 510 Cumberland 
Street, Suite 308, Bristol, Virginia. In case of technical 
difficulties during the meeting, contact Lisa Wallmeyer at 
(804) 786-3591. 

Contact:  Lisa Wallmeyer, Executive Director, Joint 
Commission on Technology and Science, General Assembly 
Bldg., 910 Capitol St., 2nd Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-3591. 

CHRONOLOGICAL LIST 

OPEN MEETINGS 
November 27 

† Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, Board of 
† Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
† Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
Stem Cell Research, Joint Subcommittee Studying 

Medical, Ethical and Scientific Issues Relating to 
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† Transportation Board, Commonwealth 
November 28 

† Accountancy, Board of 
† Coal and Energy, Virginia Commission on 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Contractors, Board for 
† Education, Committee on 
† Education and Health, Committee on 
† Environmental Quality, Department of 
Marine Resources Commission 
† Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 

Services, Department of 
Open Space and Farmland Preservation 
Technology and Science, Joint Commission on 
† Transportation Board, Commonwealth 

November 29 
Commonwealth Preparedness, Office of 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Education, Board of 
† Environmental Quality, Department of 
† Housing and Community Development, Board of 
Housing Development Authority, Virginia 
Medicine, Board of 
Technology and Science, Joint Commission on 
Water Control Board, State 

November 30 
† Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

- Virginia Soybean Board 
† Conservation and Recreation, Board of 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
† Contractors, Board for 
Environmental Quality, Department of 
† Manufacturing Development Commission 
Nursing, Board of 
Pharmacy, Board of 
Technology and Science, Joint Commission on 
Virginia Military Institute 

December 1 
Art and Architectural Review Board 
† Chesapeake Bay Restoration Fund Advisory Committee 
† Courts of Justice 
Dentistry, Board of 
† Longwood University 
Nursing, Board of 
† Pharmacy, Board of 
† Physical Therapy, Board of 
Virginia Military Institute 
Water Control Board, State 

December 2 
† Longwood University 

December 4 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 
Branch Pilots, Board for 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
† Medicine, Board of 

- Advisory Board on Midwifery 
Nursing, Board of 
Real Estate Board 

December 5 
Branch Pilots, Board for 
Charitable Gaming Board 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Contractors, Board for 
† Education, Board of 
† Medicine, Board of 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
Nursing, Board of 
Real Estate Board 
Water Control Board, State 

December 6 
Administrative Rules, Joint Commission on 
† Aging, Commonwealth Council on 
Air Pollution Control Board, State 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
Education, Secretary of 
George Mason University 
† Historic Resources, Department of 
Information Technologies Agency, Virginia 
Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation 
† Medicine, Board of 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 

Services, Department of 
Nursing and Medicine, Joint Boards of 
† Pharmacy, Board of 
† Rehabilitative Services, Department of 
Safety and Health Codes Board 
† Veterans Services, Department of 
Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators, Board for 

December 7 
Agriculture and Consumer Services, Board of 
Arts, Virginia Commission for the 
Dentistry, Board of 
† Education, Board of 
† Environmental Quality, Department of 
† Medical Assistance Services, Department of 
† Medicine, Board of 
† Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 

Services Board, State 
† Mines, Minerals and Energy, Department of 

- Coal Surface Mining Reclamation Fund Advisory 
Board 

Nursing, Board of 
People with Disabilities, Virginia Board for 
† Pharmacy, Board of 
Polygraph Examiners Advisory Board 
Public Guardian and Conservator Advisory Board 

December 8 
Dentistry, Board of 
Health, Department of 
Medicine, Board of 
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† Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 
Services Board, State 

Old Dominion University 
Opticians, Board for 
People with Disabilities, Virginia Board for 

December 10 
† Health, Department of 

December 11 
Branch Pilots, Board for 
Chesapeake Bay Local Assistance Board 
Mines, Minerals and Energy, Department of 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 
† Rehabilitative Services, Department of 

December 12 
† Agriculture and Consumer Services, Department of 

- Virginia Corn Board 
† Alzheimer's Disease and Related Disorders Commission 
† Aviation Board, Virginia 
Medical Assistance Services, Board of 
† Motor Vehicles, Department of 
Nursing, Board of 
Retirement System, Virginia 

December 13 
† Aviation Board, Virginia 
Fire Services, Virginia 
Milk Commission, State 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
Nursing, Board of 
† Optometry, Board of 
Pharmacy, Board of 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for 
Real Estate Appraiser Board 
Retirement System, Virginia 

December 14 
Conservation and Recreation, Department of 
† Economic Development Partnership, Virginia 
Fire Services Board, Virginia 
Health, Department of 
Human Resources, Virginia Council on 
Labor and Industry, Department of 

- Virginia Apprenticeship Council 
Retirement System, Virginia 
Water Control Board, State 

December 15 
Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, Virginia Board for 
† Code Commission, Virginia 
† Correctional Education, Board of 
† Dentistry, Board of 
Fire Services Board, Virginia 
Freedom of Information Advisory Council, Virginia 
Future, Council on Virginia's 
Health, Department of 
† Health, Welfare and Institutions 
† Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 

December 18 
Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 

December 19 
Contractors, Board for 
Marine Resources Commission 

December 20 
Compensation Board 
† Health, Department of 
Information Technologies Agency, Virginia 

December 21 
† Design-Build/Construction Management Review Board 

January 2, 2007 
Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 

January 3 
Geology, Board for 

January 5 
† Dentistry, Board of 

January 8 
Department of Veterans Services 

- Board of Veterans Services 
January 10 

Education, Board of 
January 17 

Community Colleges, State Board for 
† Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 

January 18 
Auctioneers Board 
Community Colleges, State Board for 

January 19 
† Dentistry, Board of 
Library Board, State 
Medicine, Board of 

- Advisory Board on Midwifery 
January 22 

Education, Board of 
January 25 

Public Guardian and Conservator Advisory Board 
January 26 

Medicine, Board of 
Rehabilitative Services, Department of 

January 30 
Protection and Advocacy, Virginia Office for  
Soil Scientists and Wetland Professionals, Board for 

January 31 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

George Mason University 
February 1 

Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, Board for 
Branch Pilots, Board for 

February 2 
Branch Pilots, Board for 
† Dentistry, Board of 
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February 6 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

† Medicine, Board of 
- Advisory Board on Occupational Therapy 
- Advisory Board on Respiratory Care 

Museum of Fine Arts, Virginia 
February 7 

† Medicine, Board of 
- Advisory Board on Radiologic Technology 

February 8 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

† Medicine, Board of 
- Advisory Board on Athletic Training 
- Advisory Board on Physician Assistants 

February 9 
† Dentistry, Board of 

February 13 
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

February 14 
† Retirement System, Virginia 

February 15 
† Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 
Board for 

† Retirement System, Virginia 
February 19 

† Old Dominion University 
February 21 

† Water Control Board State 
February 22 

Medicine, Board of 
February 23 

† Dentistry, Board of 

PUBLIC HEARINGS 
November 29 

† Air Pollution Control Board, State 
† Education, Board of 

December 5 
† Education, Board of 

December 7 
† Education, Board of 

December 11 
Barbers and Cosmetology, Board for 
Professional and Occupational Regulation, Department of 
Waste Management Board, Virginia 

December 14 
Mental Health, Mental Retardation and Substance Abuse 

Services, Department of 

January 4 
† Water Control Board, State 

March 8 
Criminal Justice Services Board 
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